The Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP) was developed in Oxford in 1993 and has since helped to develop an evidence based approach in health and social care, working with local, national and international partner organisations.
Up-To-Date -- Nursing
UpToDate is a clinical support tool that provides evidence-based material that has been digested and summarized for the clinical professional to use at the bedside.
UpToDate (Wolters Kluwer)UpToDate is a clinical decision support tool of evidence-based information on drugs, medical specialties, and treatment recommendations.
CINAHL (Ebsco)CINAHL is an authoritative resource for nursing and allied health articles. It searches a collection of nearly 3 million articles from more than 3000 journals covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, rehabilitation, radiography, sonography, and more. Includes the ability to limit searches to articles written by a nurse.
Cochrane Collection Plus (Ebsco)A collection of evidence-based medicine resources that includes journal articles, clinical trials, and systematic reviews. Allows searching of Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews and Effects, the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the NHS Economic Evaluation Database, the Health Technology Assessments, and the Cochrane Methodology Register.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database (Ovid)This database covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes a unique suite of information that’s been analyzed, appraised, and prepared by expert reviewers at JBI, as well as tools to help healthcare professionals implement an effective evidence–based practice program.
Joanna Briggs Institute SUMARI Tool (Ovid)The System for the Unified Management, Assessment and Review of Information (SUMARI) is the Joanna Briggs Institute's premier software for the systematic review of literature.
It is designed to assist researchers and practitioners in fields such as health, social sciences and humanities to conduct systematic reviews. SUMARI supports 10 review types, including:
Reviews of effectiveness
Diagnostic test accuracy
It facilitates the entire review process, from protocol development, team management, study selection, critical appraisal, data extraction, data synthesis and writing your systematic review report. Essentially, it is a word processor, reference management program, statistical and qualitative data analysis program all in one easy to use web application.
MEDLINE (Ovid)Search the National Librarian of Medicine database of biomedical and health sciences journals using the OVID SP search interface.
Cochrane Reviews investigate the effects of interventions for prevention, treatment and rehabilitation in a healthcare setting. They also assess the accuracy of a diagnostic test for a given condition in a specific patient group and setting. Cochrane Reviews are internationally recognized as the highest standard in evidence-based health care. [AHU has Cochrane Collection via EBSCO]
NHS Evidence is a new service which will develop, enhance and expand the services that were previously provided by the National Library for Health (NLH). The NLH and its specialist libraries became part of NHS Evidence on 1 April 2009.
Resources listed on these guides are compiled by librarians at the R.A. Williams Library. We accept content recommendations, and after review, may include suggested resources on a guide. Our time is limited, so we generally do not reply to unsolicited recommendations from individuals not affiliated with AdventHealth University or notify them regarding whether or not we have linked to suggested content.