" Using the Fast Facts style of concise, easy-to-access information, this book is the only comprehensive guide to creating an outstanding professional academic portfolio for entry into, and promotion and tenure within, an academic nursing setting. It is designed for recent nursing graduates who want to teach, faculty who need to polish their academic portfolio, and individuals already established in academia who seek promotion or tenure. The book provides clear guidelines on what to include in a professional portfolio, and elements to highlight when seeking work in a specific discipline or academic role. It describes pitfalls to be avoided and how to insure effective coverage of teaching, scholarship, and service, as well as addresses the differences between systems and policies of academia, versus those of community college nursing programs and diploma schools of nursing. This guide also helps prepare nurses for the rigors of promotion and tenure by clarifying what to expect and how candidates are evaluated. Numerous examples illustrate actual professional faculty experience and include personal statements written by successful nurse educators. "
Online Education in Nursing
Watson's Caring in the Digital World by Kathleen Sitzman; Jean Watson (Editor)This innovative text, built on the foundations of Watson's Caring Science, demonstrates how nursing professionals can develop virtual relationships that encompass caring and understanding in professional, teaching/learning, and everyday cyber communications. It describes how caring and love can transcend distance, space, and time in our increasingly virtual world to preserve the basic fabric of humanity as we physically interact less and electronically interact more. Straightforward and concise, the text offers specific practices for teachers, students, and professionals to support caring in a digital world, along with practical examples that enable readers to envision ways to create their own caring online presence. The text provides examples of initiatives aimed at establishing ongoing intent to care on levels ranging from personal to global. Included are a variety of educational activities that rely on digital resources to facilitate interaction, collaboration, learning, and connection. Learning objectives and knowledge-check questions in each chapter reinforce information, and a corresponding MOOC and other free professional online trainings are available to readers to augment study. Key Features: Built on Watson's Caring Science and expanded through Sitzman's researchContains specific information and practical examples for faculty, students, and professionals who interact onlineProvides examples of online caring initiatives from personal to globalValidated by seven research studies and extensive online experience of the authors
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2016-10-28
Developing Online Courses in Nursing Education, Fourth Edition by Carol O'Neil; Cheryl Fisher; Matthew RietschelAddresses importance of new technology and changing structures of online learning This authoritative text shows nurse educators and students how to teach in the online environment, using best practices and the latest technology. The fourth edition discusses the importance of lifelong learning and the relationship to flexible online learning environments, which are changing the dynamics of education. This valuable resource provides updated strategies for organizing and disseminating course content and examines such topics as massive open online courses (MOOCs), certificates, badges, and stackable degrees. The fourth edition also provides the latest evidence-based research examining student-teacher interactions, course management, web-based resources, and best practices. Chapters include real-world examples and applications of these concepts. New to the Fourth Edition: Delivers four new chapters on the changing role of the nurse educator, changing faculty roles, designing flexible learning environments, and using technology to meet the needs of studentsAddresses the interaction between nurse educators and instructional designersProvides enhanced understanding of design, design strategies, and technologyIncludes updated best practices for pedagogy, interaction, reconceptualizing course content, student assessment, course evaluation, and moreUnderscores the importance of lifelong learning and flexible, creative learning environments Key Features: Demonstrates foundational concepts for using technology to teach onlineDelineates pathways for using online modalities to engineer learningDelivers theories and frameworks guiding the development and use of a flexible environmentIdentifies guiding structures for maximizing learning in online environmentsDefines the distinct role of the online educatorPromotes best use of technology according to the needs of the learnerIncludes abundant examples and reflective questionsSupplemental instructor's manual included
The New Nurse Educator: mastering academe, Second Edition by Deborah Dolan HuntThis unequaled resource guides novice nurse educators step by step through the challenging process of transitioning from service to academe. It comprehensively addresses not only the fundamentals of teaching, evaluation, and curriculum development, but also the entire spectrum of skills and duties required of the nurse educator. This second edition delivers two new chapters devoted to the hospital-based educator and global health issues, including the future of nursing education. It contains new clinical teaching models and pedagogies and emphasizes the use of technology in a variety of teaching and learning strategies. Key updates examine the current and future nursing workforce, emerging and evolving nursing programs, and innovative trends in curricular design, along with new information on infectious diseases, genomics, and legal and ethical concerns. Based on the author's personal journey from nursing practice to academe, the text addresses ways to "test the waters" of the new role. It outlines preparation requirements and discusses learning styles, curriculum development, theoretical frameworks, cultural diversity, and students with learning disabilities. It addresses tenure and promotion, collegiality, service, leadership, mentoring, writing for publication, and scholarship. Additionally, the text prepares students for the interview process and includes sample curricula vitae (CVs), patient education handouts, and course objectives. Learning objectives, review questions, and critical thinking vignettes in each chapter, along with tables and bulleted information, further contribute to the text's value as an outstanding resource for both academic and hospital settings. New to the Second Edition: A chapter devoted to the role of the hospital-based educatorA chapter on global health and education, health care policy, and the future of nursing educationNoted experts discuss simulation, gaming and education, legal concerns, and global health nursingNew clinical teaching models and pedagogiesEmphasizes the use of technologyExamines the current and future nursing workforceEmerging and evolving nursing programsInnovative trends in curricular design Key Features: Provides highly practical, step-by-step information on all components of being a nurse educator/faculty memberHelps nurses transition from service roles to educator/faculty rolesIncludes advice from novice and seasoned nurse educators, nurse leaders, and nursing theoristsIncludes learning objectives and review questions in each chapterProvides sample forms and documents for CVs and developing course content
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2017-10-28
Pathways to a Nursing Education Career, Second Edition by Judith A. HalsteadFirst Edition Winner of the Journal of Nursing Education's Top Teaching Tools Award This award-winning text presents top-notch guidance and a host of practical tools for nursing clinicians transitioning into a faculty role. The second edition is updated to address the many significant innovations taking place in nursing education and how they affect the faculty role including expanding emphasis on interprofessional education, increasing use of interactive teaching strategies and technology enhanced learning, acquiring research funding in a competitive environment, and the growing importance of fostering faculty leadership and succession. Enriching new chapter features include examples of tools, rubrics, and strategies to illustrate concept application; "Getting Started" callouts offering "first step" strategies/activities to help novice educators apply chapter concepts in their faculty role--also serving as ready-made faculty assignments. The second edition also includes real life case examples that guide novice educators in managing common challenges in academia. Extensive resources, strategies and tips along with guidance for self-assessment help new educators to adapt and even excel during the challenging first year in a faculty role. Content New to the Second Edition: Discusses key changes and challenges in the nursing profession, health care, higher education, and nursing educationCovers teaching in interprofessional education environmentsAddresses teaching in technology enhanced learning environments and evolving curricular modelsExplains how to establish teaching "presence"Emphasizes developing faculty leaders and leadership successionAddresses acquiring funding to support researchIncludes new chapter on establishing student-faculty relationships Key Features: Delivers proven strategies to help novice educators assume the faculty roleProvides real-life case studies describing how to manage common challengesIncludes resources, tips, and strategies on navigating the first faculty yearHelps novice educators to engage in self-assessment to determine "best fit" in the academic environment
Call Number: Online / ebook -- Ebook Central
Publication Date: 2017-08-28
Nursing Peer Review
Nursing Peer Review : A Practical, Nonpunitive Approach to Case Review, Second Edition by Laura Cook Harrington; Marla SmithNursing Peer Review, Second Edition: A Practical, Nonpunitive Approach to Case Review Laura Harrington, RN, BSN, MHA, CPHQ, CPCQM Marla Smith, MHSA Nursing Peer Review, Second Edition, is a comprehensive guide for establishing a formal case-based nursing peer review program, including all the tools and procedures organizations need to build and manage a structure to conduct systematic evaluation of clinical care. The book takes nurse managers through every step of the process: explaining nonpunitive nursing peer review, creating a system, identifying cases, conducting reviews, and taking appropriate action based on the outcomes of the reviews. Nurse leaders are responsible for upholding the ANA Code of Ethics, which concerns issues of accountability for the professional nurse and includes requirements for peer review to ensure high-quality patient care. This book offers them the processes to help do this. It provides a framework for nurses to hold them accountable for their practice, reveal educational gaps, help identify system and process errors, and indicate whether changes in practice are necessary to improve patient outcomes. Inside this book, you will find all the resources you need to get your nursing case-based peer review program up and running, including: Details of the benefits and rationale of case-based nursing peer review Easy-to-follow, multi-step system for implementing a case-based peer review program In-depth content on how to conduct chart reviews Sample case studies to illustrate the case-based peer review process Tips on using case-based peer review data to benchmark performance and track and trend peer review results A comprehensive set of downloadable, customizable tools to create a structured evidence-based case-based peer review process The formal structure to conduct a systematic evaluation of clinical care Inside this book, you will find all the resources you need to get your nursing case-based peer review program up and running, including: Details of the benefits and rationale of case-based nursing peer review Easy-to-follow, multi-step system for implementing a case-based peer review program In-depth content on how to conduct chart reviews Sample case studies to illustrate the case-based peer review process Tips on using case-based peer review data to benchmark performance and track and trend peer review results A comprehensive set of downloadable, customizable tools to create a structured, evidence-based, case-based peer review process The formal structure to conduct a systematic evaluation of clinical care Table of Contents: Introduction Chapter 1: Defining Incident-Based Peer Review The Rise of Peer Review How Facilities Use Peer Review Chapter 2: Benefits, Rationale, and Setting Clear Expectations The Roots of Peer Review The Nursing Performance Pyramid Applying the Pyramid to Nursing Culture Chapter 3: Immunity, Confidentiality, and Protecting Information From Discovery Peer Review Protection Laws Immunity Privilege: Protection From Discovery Confidentiality: Security of Information Chapter 4: Step 1: Design a Formal Committee to Support the Peer Review Process Functions of Peer Review Identify a Formal Structure That Works for You Define Committee Roles and Responsibilities Set and Communicate Nursing Expectations Protect Confidential Information Chapter 5: Step 2: Establish the Nursing Peer Review Process Drafting a Peer Review Policy Peer Review Process and Timelines Case Identification, Screening, and Assignment of Nurse Reviewer Review Ratings Communicating Findings Tracking Findings Chapter 6: Step 3: Educate Nurse and Non-Nurse Stakeholders Communicating the Mission Involving Non-Nurse Stakeholders Obtaining Buy-In Conducting a Formal Presentation Chapter 7: Step 4: Implement the Nursing Peer Review Process Choose an Implementation Date Conducting Chart Review Scoring the First Case Drafting the First Agenda Holding the First Meeting Final Determinations Chapter 8: Step 5: Track and Trend Your Data Peer Review as a Performance Improvement Tool Measuring Performance and Understanding Indicator Types Donabedian Indicators Identifying Nursing Indicators Benchmarking and Using Performance-Based Data Chapter 9: Step 6: Use Data to Drive Improvement Collecting Comprehensive Indicator Data Feedback Report Formats Managing Performance With Outcomes Chapter 10: Driving Forces
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2015
Creative Teaching Strategies for the Nurse Educator by Judith W. HerrmanBe more creative in any setting. Here are more than 130 practical, relevant, and easy-to-implement teaching strategies that will help you to be more creative in any classroom setting. Dr. Judith Herrman offers techniques gathered over many years from her own teaching experiences that are adaptable to personal teaching content, meet the needs of a variety of learning styles, and demonstrate innovation in nursing education. Redeem the Plus Code inside new, printed texts to access your Davis Digital Version on DavisPlus.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2015-03-18
Curriculum Development in Nursing Education by Carroll L. Iwasiw; Mary-Anne Andrusyszyn; Dolly GoldenbergCurriculum Development in Nursing Education, Fourth Edition is designed for novice and experienced faculty, presenting logical processes to develop, implement, and evaluate a curriculum. The Fourth Edition has an updated version of the Model of Evidence-Informed, Context-Relevant, Unified Curriculum Development in Nursing Education with separate chapters explicating each aspect of the model. Additional content is devoted to nursing education by distance delivery. The Fourth Edition attends more meticulously to concept-based curricula and the accompanying teaching-learning processes, than in previous editions. Faculty development, ongoing appraisal, and scholarship are efmphasized as core components of all curriculum work. This comprehensive text encompasses a combination of original concepts, current and classic literature and research, and the practicalities of curriculum work to guide readers in their own curriculum endeavors. The cases presented are new and can be used as a springboard for teaching and learning in courses as well as for faculty development.New to the Fourth Edition: Simulated learning experiences as part of curriculum designHow the NCLEX exam and external reviews influence undergraduate curriculum New case studies and synthesis activities Updated references across all chapters
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2018-09-04
Fast Facts for Curriculum Development in Nursing, Second Edition by Jan L. McCoyUpdated and revised to meet all current standards This is a concise step-by-step guide for novice nurse educators on the development of new programs and curricula--or the revision of existing ones--that meet the standards of the National Council of State Boards of Nursing, the CNEA, the ACEN, and the CCNE. The second edition of this quickaccess guide is updated to meet all new and revised standards for program approval and covers the full scope of the development process from conception through evaluation. The resource's thoughtful organization and bullet-point format enable users to access the information they need in seconds, and an abundance of updated examples clarify each step of the way. The book uses concepts and principles of Systems Theory to guide curriculum development and evaluation. It addresses the major components of the educator role: teaching, curriculum, developing a mission statement and program philosophy, selecting an organizational framework, using information technology, and evaluating both students and programs. It stresses use of evaluation procedures in which decisions are based on data. Each step of the process is organized into manageable parts that build upon each other, instilling the confidence and knowhow to build quality programs. Chapters define key terms, summarize important points, and list resources for additional study. New to the Second Edition: Meets all of the new and revised standards for program approval according to the National State Boards of Nursing, the CNEA, the ACEN, and the CCNEFeatures updated examples demonstrating each step of the development processHighlights collaborative curriculum developmentIntroduces the career ladder experience and the concept of learning designsDiscusses educational/competency outcomes
Resources listed on these guides are compiled by librarians at the R.A. Williams Library. We accept content recommendations, and after review, may include suggested resources on a guide. Our time is limited, so we generally do not reply to unsolicited recommendations from individuals not affiliated with AdventHealth University or notify them regarding whether or not we have linked to suggested content.