Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nursing Leadership Topics
Leadership & Management -- Nursing
Essentials of Nursing Leadership and Management by Easy-to-read and understand coverage of the concepts essential to assuming leadership and management roles Comprehensive, practical advice on how to develop and sustain a successful nursing career Historical perspectives on nursing today Information on career mobility, advanced degrees, magnet status, practice levels, and professional organizations Beginning- and end-of-chapter case studies that promote clinical reasoning Content on evidence-based practice, situational leadership, staffing, diversity, and team building Self-assessment tools to identify personal strengths and empower the development of leadership skills Detailed information on the NCLEX exam Integrated coverage of Canadian nursing
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2019-04-05
Leadership for Evidence-Based Innovation in Nursing and Health Professions by Where Evidence-Based Practice Meets InnovationHealthcare organizations require both innovation and evidence-based practice to build systems that will support the future of improved care. Leadership for Evidence-Based Innovation in Nursing and Health Professions, Second Edition addresses the core competencies and behaviors required to be an innovative leader. This text fulfills the market need for an advanced practice resource focused on how to address new and emerging sources of evidence-based practice that can inform, translate and scale the complexity of leading innovation in healthcare organizations. The Second Edition has been heavily revised and updated to refine the focus on leadership of innovation and place less foundational focus on evidence-based practice process. In addition to a strong revision to the organization and updated content, this unique text features three new chapters discussing workarounds as a source of innovation, performance improvement leadership vs. innovation methodology and the use of evidence in both, and a technology primer for nusing leaders.Leadership for Evidence-Based Innovation in Nursing and Health Professions, Second Edition takes a patient-centered approach, discusses the perspectives on the dynamic of innovation and evidence as well as emerging competencies for leaders of healthcare innovation. To address the core competencies the text is expertly organized into four sections: Section 1 Addresses the current landscape of evidence in innovation, Section 2 Examines new sources of evidence including technology and big data, Section 3 Discusses strategies for measuring innovation at a variety of system levels, and Section 4 Provides strategies to synthesize and disseminate evidence to advance innovation in healthcare.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- ebook Central
Publication Date: 2019-10-14
Transformational Leadership in Nursing, Second Edition by This award-winning text guides nursing graduate students in developing the key skills they need to fulfill emerging leadership roles as our health care system experiences profound change and increasing complexity. The book provides a wealth of critical information, practical tools, creative vision, and inspiration that will help to facilitate leadership at the highest level of clinical practice. This second edition is expanded and updated to incorporate leadership challenges resulting from health care reform, changes in the current vision of health care, and innovations that foster leadership development. Two completely new chapters address transformational leadership regarding changing health care perspectives and emerging contexts for health care. The text helps graduate students to master the skills they need to work effectively with interdisciplinary colleagues, address challenges within the confines of budget constraints, and resolve health care disparities and improve outcomes in all settings. With contributions from expert scholars and clinicians in the humanities, natural and social sciences, organizational studies, business, nursing, and other health care sciences, this inspirational text fulfills the DNP core competencies as described in the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) Essentials of DNP Education. New to the Second Edition: Updated and expanded to incorporate new leadership challenges resulting from health care reformExpands the scope of leadership to encompass emerging health care contexts, transformation of vision, and practice innovations Includes a new chapter addressing transformative leadership vis-a-vis changing health care perspectives Presents a new chapter describing emerging contexts for health care and how to build a respectful culture in which emerging leaders can thriveIncludes updated tools, health care paradigms, and leadership inspiration Presents cases and reflective questions that help students apply the theoretical content to their own situations and generate discussion across cohorts of students Key Features: Written expressly for APRNs transitioning into leadership rolesGrounded in competencies and essentials of doctorate education for advanced nursing practiceTraces the trajectory from expert clinician to role of leader of complex organizations and patient populationsDraws from experts in the humanities, natural and social sciences, business, nursing, and health care"
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2016-09-28
Economics & Financial Management -- Nursing
Economics and Financial Management for Nurses and Nurse Leaders, Third Edition by Written by and for nurses, this key foundational text helps to build the fundamental economics and financial management skills nurses and nurse leaders need for daily use. This third edition delivers several new features, adding to its value as the only timely and relevant text written for the full spectrum of RN-to-BSN, BSN, and MSN students. It has been significantly revised to simplify content, to address the vast changes in and increasing complexity of U.S. health care financing, and to be useful in both traditional in-class format and hybrid and online programs. Two new and refocused chapters address assessing financial health and nurse entrepreneurship and practice management, and new material illuminates recent research findings and statistics. Chapters feature worksheets such as business plan checklists and text boxes expanding on key chapter content. The book is distinguished by its provision of case examples based on nurse-run clinic and inpatient nursing unit financial issues. It provides multiple opportunities for experiential learning, such as writing business plans and health program grant proposals. It delivers cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness analyses, discusses budget preparation, offers strategies for controlling budget costs, and updates relevant health policies and statistics. The text s engaging format promotes the synthesis of economics and finance across the nursing curriculum through the use of end-of-chapter exercises, discussion questions, and games based on concepts within the text. Additionally, tips throughout the book alert students about the need to apply concepts from other aspects of their education to economic and financial situations. Also included are online supplemental materials for teachers and students, including Excel spreadsheets, grant proposals, a test bank, and PowerPoint slides. New to the Third Edition: Updates health reform, health care spending, and other relevant policies and statistics Includes two new and refocused chapters that address assessing the financial health of a business and nurse entrepreneurship and practice management Highlights recent research findings and key concepts in text boxes Provides blank and completed worksheets, such as business plan checklists, so nurses can apply financial concepts in their clinical settings Fosters understanding of key concepts with enhanced explanations and samples of business plans and other reports Key Features: Aligned with AACN and AONE guidelines, the CNL certification exam, and QSEN competencies Serves as a primary financial management text for multiple nursing academic programs Facilitates experiential learning through end-of-chapter exercises, games, tips for synthesizing knowledge, worksheets, and case examples Designed for use in traditional classrooms and in hybrid and online learning programs Includes a chapter on measuring nursing care with indicators for capacity, staffing, patient acuity, performance, and patient flow NEW a FREE Q&A App is availabel (see inside front cover) "
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2016-08-28
Nursing Leaders -- bio
Nursing's Great Leaders by This book is perfect for men and women who aspire to lead nursing and society into a better future. It will equally benefit undergraduate students enrolled in leadership courses, graduate students preparing for leadership roles, and nurses already established in leadership roles. This book] deepened my love for nursing and reinforced why nursing is repeatedly ranked the most trusted profession. Au AiSusan B. Hassmiller, PhD, RN, FAAN Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Senior Adviser for Nursing Director, Campaign for Action With an emphasis on the qualities that have fostered strong nursing leadership, this book provides a unique perspective on the lives and achievements ofthe most revered nurses throughout history. It is comprised of biographies of many of nursing Aos most important activist agents of change, with a focus onthose characteristics that enabled them to accomplish their goals and implement changes that improved nursing, health, health care, and society. Thesebiographies examine the evolution of nursing and society around the globe and underscore the resourcefulness and political savvy these nurses used to meetthe increasingly complex needs of society. Using Kouzes and Posner Aos five practices of exemplary leadership as a framework, the biographies demonstrate how the nurses used these processes to achievetheir goals. Placed within the context and dynamics of each nurse leader Aos lifetime Aiincluding gender roles, science and technology, religion, politics, andeconomics Aieach biography includes a personal history, timeline, accomplishments, anecdotes, and legacy. The book honors such well-known nurse leaders asFlorence Nightingale, Clara Barton, and Dorothea Dix, along with lesser known nurse leaders. By telling the stories of these luminaries, the book showcasesnursing Aos rich history and its influence on society. Ultimately fostering an understanding of the very nature of leadership, it provides a strongfoundation and inspiration for nurses to lead nursing, health care, and society into a better future. KEY FEATURES: Focuses on nursing history through the lens of leadership Uses the framework of Kouzes and Posner Aos five practices of exemplary leadership to analyze the achievements of nurse luminaries Considers the lives of well-known and lesser known figures in nursing history Focuses on leadership characteristics that enabled historic nurse leaders to implement important changes in global health care "
Publication Date: 2016-02-26
Nursing Priorities & Future
Search Library Catalog by subject Nursing, Supervisory
The link below will search for books in the library catalog with the subject of Nursing, Supervisory. Realize other good subjects exist ---
- Nursing administrators
- Nursing leadership
- Nursing management