Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Video on the different Nursing Theorists
Videos on famous Nursing Theorists.
Famous Nursing Theorists / Nursing Theories
Theoretical Foundations of Nursing
Analyzing and Constructing the Conceptual and Theoretical Foundations of Nursing by Delivers all information required for the Theoretical Foundations of Nursing course By embracing the major conceptual and theoretical contributions to nursing research that are outside of traditional nursing theory, this book serves as a vital resource for nurse researchers, and one that is indispensable for doctoral nursing students embarking on their dissertations. Containing the full complement of information required for the Theoretical Foundations of Nursing course for PhD programs, the text supports the foundational skills needed for excellence in research and scholarship. The book examines in depth the components of nursing theory and the types of theory used in nursing research and practice, and teaches students about the nature and use of concepts and the development of critical thinking skills that are essential for nursing research. This text contains information for developing concepts and middle-range theory, using a variety of qualitative research methods, broadening theoretical scope by linking middle-range theories, and moving knowledge toward certainty by use of evidence. It also illustrates the construction of frameworks for quantitative inquiry, exploring theory in mixed-method design and how theory develops knowledge. Each method includes a description of the methodological approach and examples of subsequent concept or theory development. The text includes several methods for the development of concepts, micro- and mid-range theories using qualitative research, and a discussion of the new trend of moving these qualitative theories toward practice-based evidence. Each section of the book contains practical examples and supplementary activities that encourage inquiry. An instructor s manual is included for adopters of the text. Key Features: Teaches the significance of and foundations of perspective, concepts, qualitatively derived theory, quantitative frameworks, quantitative theoretical development, knowledge development from research, application, and evidenceFocuses on current nursing research and how it is used in practice todayDemonstrates the significant relationship between theory, research, knowledge development, evidence, and practice Promotes excellence in scholarship and researchIncludes an extensive instructor s manual"
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2016-07-01
Applying Conceptual Models of Nursing by This practical resource for nursing students, educators, researchers, and practitioners provides content about the conceptual models of nursing that are used as organizing frameworks for nursing practice, quality improvement projects, and research. Chapters break these abstract models down into their core concepts and definitions. Discussions of each model provide examples of practical application so readers can employ these organizing frameworks. This is the only book to apply these models to quality improvement projects, particularly those in DNP programs and clinical agencies. For every conceptual model, diagrams, information boxes, and other visual elements clarify and reinforce information. Each chapter features applications of the conceptual models to a wide variety of examples, including nursing practice assessment and an intervention, a literature review and descriptive qualitative, instrument development, correlational, experimental, and mixed-method studies. Other valuable features include faculty templates for practice, quality improvement, and research methodologies for each conceptual model, along with extensive references. Key Features: Focuses on applying conceptual models in practiceDemonstrates how a wide range of nursing conceptual models are applied to nursing practice, quality improvement, and researchPowerPoint templates for each conceptual model avaliable to facultyProvides abundant diagrams, boxes, and other visual elements to clarify and reinforce informationIncludes an extensive list of references for each conceptual model
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2016-10-01
Watson's Caring in the Digital World by This innovative text, built on the foundations of Watson's Caring Science, demonstrates how nursing professionals can develop virtual relationships that encompass caring and understanding in professional, teaching/learning, and everyday cyber communications. It describes how caring and love can transcend distance, space, and time in our increasingly virtual world to preserve the basic fabric of humanity as we physically interact less and electronically interact more. Straightforward and concise, the text offers specific practices for teachers, students, and professionals to support caring in a digital world, along with practical examples that enable readers to envision ways to create their own caring online presence. The text provides examples of initiatives aimed at establishing ongoing intent to care on levels ranging from personal to global. Included are a variety of educational activities that rely on digital resources to facilitate interaction, collaboration, learning, and connection. Learning objectives and knowledge-check questions in each chapter reinforce information, and a corresponding MOOC and other free professional online trainings are available to readers to augment study. Key Features: Built on Watson's Caring Science and expanded through Sitzman's researchContains specific information and practical examples for faculty, students, and professionals who interact onlineProvides examples of online caring initiatives from personal to globalValidated by seven research studies and extensive online experience of the authors
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2016-10-28
Selected book titles
Selected nursing theory books. Check the library catalog for more titles, both print and ebooks are available.
WY 86 Nursing Theorists
Nursing Theories and Nursing Practice by Presents 25 major theories written by the original theorists or eminent scholars to help students understand the interrelationship between nursing theories and nursing practice. Covers the middle range theories and practice models that define the best outcomes and links theory to clinical practice. Addresses how to implement theory-based practice. Explores the historical and contemporary theories that are the foundation of nursing practice today. Features in-depth coverage of the development of the theories that guide nursing practice.
Publication Date: 2019-10-02
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by A classic text is back with fresh, comprehensive nursing theories, critiques, and philosophies. Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 9th Edition provides you with an in-depth look at 39 theorists of historical, international, and significant importance. This new edition has been updated with an improved writing style, added case studies, critical thinking activities, and in-depth objective critiques of nursing theories that help bridge the gap between theory and application. In addition, the six levels of abstraction (philosophy, conceptual models, grand theory, theory, middle-range theory, and future of nursing theory) are graphically depicted throughout the book to help you understand the context of the various theories. Each theorist chapter is written by a scholar specializing in that particular theorist's work, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information possible. A case study at the end of each theorist chapter puts the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. Critical Thinking Activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you process the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical practice situations. Diagrams for theories help you visualize and better understand inherently abstract concepts. A Brief Summary in each theorist chapter helps you review for tests and confirm their comprehension. A Major Concepts & Definitions box included in each theorist chapter outlines the theory's most significant ideas and clarifies content-specific vocabulary. Points for Further Study at the end of each chapter directs you to assets available for additional information. Quotes from the theorist make each complex theory more memorable. An extensive bibliography at the conclusion of each theorist chapter outlines numerous primary and secondary sources of information for further study. NEW! Improved writing style and increased use of subheadings make the narrative more concise, direct, and accessible. NEW! Updated research and findings incorporate new content along with more examples and clinical correlations. NEW! History of Nursing Science chapter emphasizes nursing science updates UNIQUE! Graphical depiction of the six levels of abstraction (philosophy, conceptual models, grand theory, theory, middle-range theory, and future of nursing theory) helps you to understand the context of the various theories.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- ebook Central
Publication Date: 2017-08-15