Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Patient-Provider Communication -- Books
ABC of Clinical Communication by Clinical communication underpins safe patient care. The effective health professional sees illness through the patient's eyes and understands what matters most to him or her. Effectiveness means gathering hard clinical data about the physical changes affecting the patient, understanding why the patient is concerned, conveying this to other health care professionals and involving the patient at every stage of management decisions. The evidence for good clinical communication is well established, although there are challenges. While listening is the basis of sound diagnosis and clinical reasoning, its absence affects patient outcomes particularly when patients are not permitted to make their concerns known or when there are gaps in information flow or communication between the professionals caring for them. The ABC of Clinical Communication considers the evidence pertinent to individual encounters between patients and their health professionals, how to achieve efficient flow of information, the function of clinical teams and developing a teaching programme. Topics covered include: The consultation Clinical communication and personality type Shared decision making Communication in clinical teams Communication in medical records Communication in specific situations, including mental health and end of life Teaching clinical communication The chapter authors are clinicians involved in communicating with patients, research and training healthcare professionals of the future. This team reflects the multidisciplinary approach required to develop effective clinical communication.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2017-08-22
Clinical Communication Skills for Medicine by Clinical Communication Skills for Medicine is an essential guide to the core skills for effective patient-centered communication. In the twenty years since this book was first published the teaching of these skills has developed and evolved. Today's doctors fully appreciate the importance of communicating successfully and sensitively with people receiving health care and those close to them. This practical guide to developing communication skills will be of value to students throughout their careers. The order of the chapters reflects this development, from core skills to those required to respond effectively and compassionately in challenging situations. The text includes case examples, guidelines and opportunities to encourage the reader to stop and think. The contents of the book cover: The fundamental elements of clinical communication, including skills for effectively gathering and sharing information, discussing sensitive topics and breaking bad news. Shared decision making, reflecting the rapid changes in expectations of medical care and skills for supporting patients in making decisions which are right for them. Communicating with a patient's family, children and young people, patients from different cultural backgrounds, communicating via an interpreter and communicating with patients who have a hearing impairment. Diversity in communication, including examples of communicating with patients who have a learning disability, transgender patients, and older adult patients. Communicating about medical error, emphasising the importance of doctors being honest in the face of difficult situations. This is a practical guide to learning and developing communication skills throughout medical training. The chapters range from the development of basic skills to those dealing with challenging and difficult situations.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- ebook Central
Publication Date: 2018-04-17
Communication Skills for the Healthcare Professional by
Publication Date: 2011-02-09
Communication the Cleveland Clinic Way by Put relationship-centered communication at the forefront of care Today, physicians face a hypercompetitive marketplace in which they must meet unique and complex patient needs as efficiently as possible. But in a culture prioritizing clinical outcomes above all, there can be a tendency to lose sight of one of the most critical aspects of providing effective care: the communication skills that build and foster physician-patient relationships. Studies have shown that good communication between doctors and patients and among all caregivers who interface with patients directly results in better clinical outcomes, reduced costs, greater patient satisfaction, and lower rates of physician burnout. In Communication the Cleveland Clinic Way, Dr. Adrienne Boissy and her team tell the story of how Cleveland Clinic created and applied the R.E.D.E. to Communicate: Foundations of Healthcare program, making the world-renowned hospital system a leader in relationship-centered care. They provide a step-by-step guide for healthcare leaders and decision-makers to design, develop, and implement communication skills training in their own institutions. Learn how to: * Craft an effective, colleague-supported communication skills program to include veteran physicians, residents, and medical students * Leverage creative program design and data transparency to engage and facilitate staff physicians and advanced care providers * Identify common misperceptions and myths in healthcare communication and respond to them successfully * Cultivate a true sense of empathy--with patients and fellow caregivers alike--while maintaining professionalism In a field where difficult conversations and stressful relationships are commonplace, clinicians need a structured approach to enable them to deliver the best care possible. Communication the Cleveland Clinic Way is the blueprint for establishing a relationship-centered program that will improve patient experience, reinvigorate doctors' passion for their work, and elevate any organization.
Publication Date: 2016-05-04
Field Guide to the Difficult Patient Interview by Written by physicians skilled at coaching colleagues in physician-patient communication, this pocket guide presents practical strategies for handling a wide variety of difficult patient interviews. Each chapter presents a hypothetical scenario, describes effective communication techniques for each phase of the interaction, and identifies pitfalls to avoid. The presentation includes examples of physician-patient dialogue, illustrations showing body language, and key references. This edition includes new chapters on caring for physician-patients, communicating with colleagues, disclosing unexpected outcomes and medical errors, shared decision making and informed consent, and teaching communication skills. Other new chapters describe clinical attitudes such as patience, curiosity, and hope.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- OVID
Publication Date: 2004-03-22
Health Professional and Patient Interaction by
Publication Date: 2014
See Me As a Person by The therapeutic relationship between clinicians and patients is what brings Relationship-Based Care to life. Within the world of health care, the act of therapeutic connection is not owned by any one profession. The responsibility to offer authentic and compassionate care to another human being is something we all share. In our chaotic and time constrained environments in which technical and complex demands prevail, clinicians struggle as they strive every day to connect with the patients and families in their care. This national award winning book offers guiding principles and a practical methodology that facilitate the clinician's ability to form authentic relationships which improve patient safety and the overall experience of care. Therapeutic relationships are the very heart of Relationship-Based Care. The purpose of the therapeutic relationship is to facilitate the capacity of patients and their loved ones to cope with illness and to take ownership for their healing and health. It is grounded in medical, nursing, and psychological research, and it is also plainly built on the healing power of authentic connection.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2012-09-15
Skills for Communicating with Patients by Skills for Communicating with Patients, Third Edition is one of two companion books on improving communication in medicine, which together provide a comprehensive approach to teaching and learning communication skills throughout all levels of medical education in both specialist and family medicine. Since their publication, the first edition of this book and its companion, Teaching and Learning Communication Skills in Medicine, have become established standard texts in communication skills teaching throughout the world. This substantially expanded third edition has been fully updated in relation to the current literature and revised to reflect the explosion of research on healthcare communication. It incorporates considerable evidence in support of the skills of the Calgary-Cambridge Guides, offering a comprehensive and now even more evidence-based delineation of the skills that make a difference when communicating with patients. The book explores the specific skills of doctor-patient communication and provides wide-ranging evidence of the improvement that those skills can make to health outcomes and everyday clinical practice.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- ebook Central
Publication Date: 2013-09-28
Talking with Patients and Families about Medical Error by
Publication Date: 2010-12-15
Databases to Find Articles
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Provides full-text access to more than 4,000 journals covering most areas of study.
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) Academic Video Online is Alexander Street’s most comprehensive video subscription, an ever-growing resource that comprises content from 32 full video collections and 8 bonus discipline clusters. Academic Video Online: Premium currently contains more than 26,000 full video titles (not just clips) and well over 11,000 hours of content.
CINAHL Complete (Ebsco) CINAHL Complete is an authoritative resource for nursing and allied health articles. It searches an indexed collection of nearly 3 million articles from more than 3000 journals covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, rehabilitation, radiography, sonography, and more. CINAHL Complete also includes the full text of articles from nearly 600 of the journals in the index.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) Healthcare information from full-text nursing and health journals and dissertations.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition (Elsevier) Access an index of millions of journal articles covering a broad range of topics in science, technology, and medicine.
Possible Terms to Use:
Nurse-patient communication or relations
Empathy in healthcare
Empathy in Health Professions, Education, and Patient Care by This welcome updated and expanded edition offers new findings and insights into this cornerstone of practice as well as effective tools for its clinical use. Spanning psychodynamic theory to neuroscience and evolution to medicine, the book defines empathy in the context of patient care, and both in its critical role as a human attribute and in its necessity in promoting change and healing. Theory and data link practitioner empathy with patients' positive outcomes in areas such as provider trust, treatment adherence, clinical improvements, and quality of life. Author also provide convincing evidence in support of validity and reliability of the Jefferson Scale of Empathy for measuring the empathy of practitioners and students in the healing professions, and detail obstacles to developing and strategies for enhancing empathy among care providers. Among the topics covered: * Definition of empathy in patient care. * Conceptualization and consequences of empathy and sympathy in patient care. * An evolutionary perspective, sociophysiology, and heritability of empathy. * Measurement of empathy in the general population and in health professions-in-training, and in-practice. * Interpersonal dynamics in clinician-patient relationships. * Ten approaches to enhance empathy in Health professions education and patient care. * Exploration of neurological underpinnings of empathy. * Plus in-depth discussion of development, psychometrics, and correlates of the Jefferson Scale of Empathy. An essential text in theory and applications, Empathy in Health Professions Education and Patient Care enhances the work of health professions students, faculty, and practitioners in a variety of disciplines such as medicine, nursing, dentistry, psychology, clinical social work, and other health professions.
Publication Date: 2016-04-21
An Epidemic of Empathy in Healthcare by The best strategies in healthcare begin with empathy Revolutionary advances in medical knowledge have caused doctors to become so focused on their narrow fields of expertise that they often overlook the simplest fact of all: their patients are suffering. This suffering goes beyond physical pain. It includes the fear, uncertainty, anxiety, confusion, mistrust, and waiting that so often characterize modern healthcare. One of healthcare's most acclaimed thought leaders, Dr. Thomas H. Lee shows that world-class medical treatment and compassionate care are not mutually exclusive. In An Epidemic of Empathy in Healthcare, he argues that we must have it both ways--that combining advanced science with empathic care is the only way to build the health systems our society needs and deserves. Organizing providers so that care is compassionate and coordinated is not only the right thing to do for patients, it also forms the core of strategy in healthcare's competitive new marketplace. It provides business advantages to organizations that strive to reduce human suffering effectively, reliably, and efficiently. Lee explains how to develop a culture that treats the patient, not the malady, and he provides step-by-step guidance for unleashing an "epidemic of empathy" by: Developing a shared understanding of the overarching goal--meeting patients' needs and reducing their suffering Making empathic care a social norm rather than the focus of economic incentives Pinpointing and addressing the most significant causes of patient suffering Collecting and using data to drive improvement Healthcare is entering a new era driven by competition on value--meeting patients' needs as efficiently as possible. Leaders must make the choice either to move forward and build a new culture designed for twenty-first-century medicine or to maintain old models and practices and be left behind. Lee argues that empathic care resonates with the noblest values of all clinicians. If healthcare organizations can help caregivers live up to these values and focus on alleviating their patients' suffering, they hold the key to improving value-based care and driving business success. Join the compassionate care movement and unleash an epidemic of empathy! Thomas H. Lee, MD, is Chief Medical Officer of Press Ganey, with more than three decades of experience in healthcare performance improvement as a practicing physician, a leader in provider organizations, researcher, and health policy expert. He is a Professor (Part-time) of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Professor of Health Policy and Management at the Harvard School of Public Health.
Publication Date: 2015-11-16
Communication for Healthcare Professionals by Promotes an interdisciplinary approach to the study of health communication According to the Joint Commission, over 75% of all serious medical errors in this country result from miscommunication. Based in these adverse realities and the author philosophy that communication is a clinical skill integral to effective health care delivery, this comprehensive text addresses thetheories and abilities needed by all health care providers. The only text written specifically for students of nursing, medicine, physical therapy, pharmacy, dentistry, physician assistants and opticians, this book incorporates recommendations for specific multimedia, suggestions for class discussion and interactive case studies to provide a rich and multi-perspective learning experience for gaining optimal expertise in effective health communication The author underscores the importance of developing and maintaining successful relationships with patients, peers, and colleagues as a cornerstone ofeffective health care outcomes. With an emphasis on interactive learning, the text utilizescommunication theories to analyze verbal and non-verbalbehaviors in diverse health care contexts and assess which are more effective and why. Summaries at the end of each chapter discuss health communicationoutcomes. Chapters cover interpersonal and gendered communication, provider-patient communication, intercultural communication, organizationalcommunication, team communication, malpractice, palliative care, end-of-life communication, and many other topics. Key Features: Fosters a patient-centered, interdisciplinary, multidimensional learning experience for health care students Recommends experiential learning using videos, films, and related discussion exercises Presents case study role-plays Provides companion case study resource to enhance learning objectives
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2016-09-28