Academic Writer is a tool that helps share the APA Style rules, provides examples, offers a place to write your paper and guide you through the paper format using APA Style. This tool was created by the American Psychological Association (APA).
There is a link directly to Academic Writer and a link to the APA Resource guide that has additional videos, handout and other helpful links.
RefWorks is a citation manager. This tool can help organize your resources found during your research project. There are videos from the library and from the vendor sharing how to use this tool.
Links below are videos created by the AHU Library team members.
Videos below were created by the different vendors and are focused on finding journal articles in their tool/database.
Literature Review and Synthesis : A Guide for Nurses and Other Healthcare Professionals by
Awarded first place in the 2022 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Nursing Research This innovative text helps nursing students and working nurses to master the essential skill of synthesizing diverse forms of literature to inform research, practice, and policy in Nursing and the Health Science disciplines. Focusing on the significance of synthesis as a critical component of the literature review process, this book walks readers through each step of completing an exemplary literature review and synthesis. The text provides detailed guidance to each of the rigorous steps needed to design, execute, and synthesize the results of a literature review. This book focuses on the literature review process intended to inform research, quality improvement efforts, clinical practice, and healthcare policy decisions, with discussion of how literature reviews and syntheses inform public conversation. Designed to simplify a complex topic, the text is also a platform for discussing the rapidly expanding need for rigorous literature review approaches across diverse settings and professional groups. Concise formatting, objectives, step-by-step instructions, publication example, activities, and key summaries, further contribute to helping novice and more experienced learners to assess and synthesize existing research to ensure a firm foundation for creating unique and meaningful PhD dissertations, DNP projects, and other scholarly work conducted by nurses and other healthcare professionals. Key Features: Provides a step-by-step guide to completing different types of literature reviews and syntheses, illuminated by examples from the literature Formatted concisely and consistently for ease of use Includes objectives, activities, key summaries, and references to simplify learning Focuses on synthesis of literature regarding research, quality improvement, clinical activities, health policy, and public media in separate chapters Addresses data synthesis for quantitative, qualitative, and other literature review types
Designing and Proposing Your Research Project by
Designing your own study and writing your research proposal takes time, often more so than conducting the study. This practical, accessible guide walks you through the entire process. You will learn to identify and narrow your research topic, develop your research question, design your study, and choose appropriate sampling and measurement strategies. The figures, tables, and exhibits offer a wealth of relatable examples, and students can use the many activities and worksheets to explore and apply concepts, as individuals or in groups. This book is part of the American Psychological Association's Concise Guides to Conducting Behavioral, Health, and Social Science Research series. Aimed at undergraduate students in research methods courses or others with a lab or research project, each book describes a key stage in the research process. Collectively, these books provide a solid grounding in research from start to finish. Book jacket.
The DNP Project Workbook: A Step-By-Step Process for Success by
Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. Streamlines the DNP Project into clear, concrete, and manageable steps Authored by nurse educators with an in-depth understanding of the challenges of the DNP Project, this text provides sequential, guided activities designed to jump-start and project students forward through the DNP Project process. By incorporating active learning activities into project development, the workbook delivers a proven method for developing, implementing, evaluating, and sustaining the DNP Project. It fosters critical thinking and innovation, while also providing a means for faculty to measure and document the progress of project milestones. The DNP Project Workbook offers more than 100 activities that address all facets of the DNP Project, including the identification, investigation, and framing of problems; project team assembly; research; methodology; implementation; and dissemination. This resource also includes examples of a variety of DNP Projects to demonstrate the successful integration of all elements. The activities may be completed within the workbook or in online, editable PDFs for easy submission to faculty. Supplemental resources include PowerPoint slides, a DNP Essentials mapping document, and blank activities and templates.Key Features: Provides sequential, guided activities designed to jump-start and project students forward through the DNP Project processOffers more than 100 active learning activities that address all facets of the DNP ProjectDelivers a proven method for developing, implementing, evaluating, and sustaining DNP ProjectsFacilitates measurement and documentation of project milestonesFeatures examples of a variety of DNP ProjectsIncludes a robust resources package, including PowerPoint slides, a DNP Essentials mapping document, and editable activity formsPurchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers
A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Publishing a Dissertation or DNP Project by Resources listed on these guides are compiled by librarians at the R.A. Williams Library. We accept content recommendations, and after review, may include suggested resources on a guide. Our time is limited, so we generally do not reply to unsolicited recommendations from individuals not affiliated with AdventHealth University or notify them regarding whether or not we have linked to suggested content.