Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibilography

 

ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY defined:
An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

 

Resources on how to write an anotated bibliography.

Comparing -- Annotated Bibliography vs Other Writings

Annotated Bibliography in Academic Writer and APA 7th

The WRITE tab also has an Annotated Bibliography assistance. Look under Research Lab Book.

Definitions

What is an ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY?
An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.

What is a BOOK REVIEW?
A brief critical discussion about the merits and weaknesses of a particular book. Book reviews of creative works are sometimes called literary reviews. Scholarly books are also reviewed by other scholars. Scholarly book reviews are often published in scholarly journals.

What is A LITERARY REVIEW?
A literary review is a brief critical discussion about the merits and weaknesses of a literary work such as a play, novel or a book of poems.

What is a LITERATURE REVIEW?

It is literally that: a "re" view or "look again" at what has already been written about the topic.  A compilation of the research that has been published on a topic by recognized scholars and researchers.

Source: American University Library