AHU Resource Guides: Consumer Health: Websites

Consumer Health Resources

MedlinePlus
Website to provide consumer health information. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health sponsor.
Consumer Information
US Drug and Food Administration

Whole Health Hub
Provides resources to our community. Directly connecting patients and community members to social services.

Access Medicine -- Drug Info (LogIn may be needed)
Allow you to select a drug name and gives pertinent info such as indications & usage, contraindications, warnings, dosing, monitoring and more
Dailymed
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. Created by National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health.
Easy to Read Drug Facts, National Institutes of Health
This website is here to help you understand drugs and addiction. Short videos included
Drugs@FDA : FDA Approved Drugs
Pill Identifier / Drugs Info

Databases

AccessMedicine (McGraw-Hill) This link opens in a new window AccessMedicine is a compendium of more than 130 medical titles, full length drug monographs, and self-assessment tools that provide wide coverage of medical information. AccessMedicine also features a unique collection of  examination and procedural videos, patient safety modules, audio files, animations, and case studies.
UpToDate Lexidrug (Wolters Kluwer) This link opens in a new window UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) is an evidence-based drug reference tool that offers a comprehensive collection of drug information databases. Lexidrug includes drug comparisons, reports, and reviews, interaction checkers, dosage calculators, patient education resources, and more for hundreds of medications and natural remedies. To learn more about Lexidrug and how to navigate the tool, visit the UpToDate Lexidrug User Academy.

what is Citizen Science?

Citizen science enables people from all walks of life to advance scientific research.

SciStarter
SciStarter is a globally acclaimed, online citizen science hub where more than 3,000 projects, searchable by location, topic, age level, etc, have been registered by individual project leaders or imported through partnerships with federal governments, NGOs, and universities.

Health coalition for LGBTQ health
The Coalition is committed to improving the health and well-being of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals through federal and local advocacy, education, and research.
National Resource Center on LGBTQ+ Aging
The National Resource Center on LGBTQ+ Aging, a program of SAGE, is the country's first and only technical assistance resource center focused on improving the quality of services and supports offered to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and/or transgender older adults, families and caregivers.

NIAMS - National Institutes of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases

NIH - National Institutes of Health