In June of 2018, Aura Lee approached the library about donating a collection of books that her husband, Fred Lee had collected over the years. Fred Lee was a former executive of Florida Hospital (now AdventHealth). She wanted others to have access to this collection so they could increase their knowledge just as her husband did through extensive reading. The R.A. Williams Library is excited to have this collection which includes a copy of Fred Lee's book If Disney Ran Your Hospital (2004) and other wonderful classic business titles. If one chooses to peruse the book collection note how Mr. Lee made notes in the front covers of many titles, often writing page numbers to refer to, or making specific notes of important statements to remember. One can get a feel for how Mr. Lee loved to read and continue to expand his knowledge.
Below are a few titles in the collection. Click on the link below to browse the full collection. You can also use the Library Catalog, go to advanced under Location select Fred Lee Collection.
The Quality Playbook : a step-by-step guide for healthcare leaders by 
Living the 7 Habits : stories of courage and inspiration by
This text shows how the 7 Habits have touched readers lives. The people, institutions, companies and even governments that have incorporated them into their lives are profiled. The book demonstrates through examples how to put the seven habits to work in the individual, family and business realms.
The Leadership Pill: the missing ingredient in motivating people today by 
Dying for a Chat by
Winner of the 2013 Human Rights Literature Award Medical oncologist Ranjana Srivastava contends that the best medicine begins with a good chat, to guide the decision-making of both doctors and patients. Increasingly, people are unable to properly comprehend the complex treatment choices on offer, or are self-diagnosing and demanding unnecessary or risky procedures. Doctors, in turn, feel unable to deny the requests of patients and their families. Narrow specialisation also means no-one is discussing the overall picture of a patient's health. Srivastava warns that people are suffering - even dying - as a result, and the medical profession should be taking responsibility. In a frank and clear-eyed assessment of an unacknowledged crisis, she makes an impassioned case for healthcare training to incorporate effective communication skills.
Fred Lee (1939 - 2017) was a lecturer, author, and healthcare executive. He was a former senior vice president at Florida Hospital before he started his own consulting company. Mr. Lee was known for his expertise in helping hospital health care executives achieve a culture that inspires compassion and shares ways to generate loyalty from both patients and employees. He also spent a short time at Disney helping them grow and change Disney University. Mr. Lee's book If Disney Ran Your Hospital : 9 1/2 Things You Would Do Differently won the 2005 ACHE James A. Hamilton healthcare book of the year award. To learn more about Mr. Fred Lee please click on the links below.
“It’s human nature to be dissatisfied with one’s self. It’s also human nature to defend oneself against anyone who would try to make one dissatisfied with one’s self.” – Fred Lee
Fred Lee on TEDx -- Published April, 6, 2011 --
Resources listed on these guides are compiled by librarians at the R.A. Williams Library. We accept content recommendations, and after review, may include suggested resources on a guide. Our time is limited, so we generally do not reply to unsolicited recommendations from individuals not affiliated with AdventHealth University or notify them regarding whether or not we have linked to suggested content.