Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American History -- Books -- print & ebook
Civil War Almanac by
Call Number: Online / ebook -- infobase
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Encyclopedia of American Military History by Praise for the previous edition:Outstanding Academic Title--Choice Editors' Choice Reference Source--Booklist...does an excellent job...The entries are easy to read...This work would make an excellent addition to high-school, public, and academic libraries.--Booklist ...[an] excellent work...all entries are accessibly written and reflect the knowledge and clear writing style of the author. Highly recommended for larger high school and public libraries.--Library Journal ...a superb work...easily accessible to general educated readers of virtually any age as well as to specialists...Highly recommended.--Choice...a comprehensive and informative overview of the subject...A comprehensive, user-friendly resource.--School Library Journal ...easily accessible to general educated readers of virtually any age as well as to specialists...Highly recommended.--Choice...this work is well organized, has an easy-to-use format, and presents clear and well-written entries...wide-ranging coverage...Librarians and patrons alike should find this encyclopedia extremely useful.--American Reference Books AnnualThe United States boasts a colorful and varied military history. From the first English settlements in North America to the present, the U.S. military has evolved from poorly trained militia formations into the world's most powerful professional military establishment. During that time our nation has fought almost every type of war, from guerrilla engagements to global conflicts.In many ways the U.S. military reflects the society from which it evolves; in more recent years, especially, the military has also had an impact on civilian society. Understanding the history of America's wars and its military establishment can help us to understand ourselves and our world a bit better.The Encyclopedia of American Military History, Second Edition is a comprehensive overview of this fascinating subject, spanning the period from the colonial wars to recent times. More than 1,200 entries cover military leaders, wars, campaigns, battles, events, famous soldiers, military branches, key technological developments, overviews of weapons systems, and more. Giving special attention to the minorities and women who have contributed significantly to American military success, this eBook contains inclusive, insightful, and interesting information on an array of individuals and topics from America's military past.Several complementary features allow the reader to gain further insight into the most important topics. The 200 black-and-white photographs of famous military personnel, battlegrounds, weapons, and technological innovations bring the text to life. Maps help locate events, and a glossary defines basic military terms that may not be familiar to students and general readers. The selective bibliography is easy to use and is divided into three categories--general reference works, monographs by chronological period, and encyclopedia and atlases--guiding users to valuable sources for further research.Entries include:Andersonville, GAArmy Nurse CorpsArticles of ConfederationBacon's RebellionMary Ann Ball BickerdykeBlack HawkJohn C. BreckenridgeBattle of Buena VistaAaron BurrCavalryUSS Chesapeake v. HMS ShannonCrazy HorseCuban Missile CrisisEspionageDavid Glasgow FarragutFort McHenryFrontier postsHarlem HeightsHungnam EvacuationIroquois WarThomas Jonathan Stonewall JacksonSiege of Khe SanhCharles LindberghMedals and decorationsBattle of Monmouth Court HouseMonte CassinoNapalmOffice of Strategic Services (OSS)Paris AccordsPequot WarQueen Anne's WarHerbert Norman SchwarzkopfStrategic bombing, World War IIDorothy Constance StrattonRaid on TokyoWar reportingWomen's Army CorpsCampaign of Yorktown.
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Proclaim Liberty Throughout All the Land: A History of Church and State in America by
Publication Date: 2003-06-12
American History in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowAmerican History in Video offers thousands of videos recording and analyzing moments from U.S. History. The early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel, capture history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time. The collection also contains award-winning documentaries, featuring dramatic reenactments and engaging analysis from prominent scholars and experts, that bring history alive.
World History in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowA wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.
U.S. Historical Newspapers & Documents
Source: Researching American History
Databases w/History Info & Journal title
Try these databases for "history" information:
(you can find journal articles, photos/images and some ebooks here)
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to more than 4,000 journals covering most areas of study.
SocINDEX with Full Text (Ebsco) This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX is a comprehensive full-text sociology research database encompassing all sub-disciplines and related areas of sociology study. Over 2.1 million records from 1895 to present day on a wide range of subjects such as criminology, demography, abortion, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development & psychology, substance abuse, and many others.
World Religions Online (Infobase) This link opens in a new windowFacts on File's World Religions Online database offers an objective and comprehensive guide to the World's major religions and spiritual traditions.
American History Websites / Videos
Congress & The Presidency
Civil War & Religious History
God's Almost Chosen Peoples : A Religious History of the American Civil War by Throughout the Civil War, soldiers and civilians on both sides of the conflict saw the hand of God in the terrible events of the day, but the standard narratives of the period pay scant attention to religion. Now, in God's Almost Chosen Peoples, Lincoln Prize-winning historian George C. Rable offers a groundbreaking account of how Americans of all political and religious persuasions used faith to interpret the course of the war. Examining a wide range of published and unpublished documents--including sermons, official statements from various churches, denominational papers and periodicals, and letters, diaries, and newspaper articles--Rable illuminates the broad role of religion during the Civil War, giving attention to often-neglected groups such as Mormons, Catholics, blacks, and people from the Trans-Mississippi region. The book underscores religion's presence in the everyday lives of Americans north and south struggling to understand the meaning of the conflict, from the tragedy of individual death to victory and defeat in battle and even the ultimate outcome of the war. Rable shows that themes of providence, sin, and judgment pervaded both public and private writings about the conflict. Perhaps most important, this volume--the only comprehensive religious history of the war--highlights the resilience of religious faith in the face of political and military storms the likes of which Americans had never before endured.
Publication Date: 2010-11-29