AHU Resource Guides: Images, Archives &amp; Digital Libraries: Images

Health / Medical focused image collections

Resources for Medical Images

Image by Dr. Manuel González Reyes from Pixabay

AccessMedicine (McGraw-Hill) This link opens in a new window AccessMedicine is a compendium of more than 130 medical titles, full length drug monographs, and self-assessment tools that provide wide coverage of medical information. AccessMedicine also features a unique collection of  examination and procedural videos, patient safety modules, audio files, animations, and case studies.

Images from the History of Medicine
Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Open - i
Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections.
Public Health Image Gallery
by National Institutes of Health (NIH)
The imagery showcased in the PHIL is historic in nature; the contents depicted, though appropriate at the time a photograph was captured, may no longer be appropriate in the context of the current time period, and is not to be viewed as a source of the most current public health information.

MedPix (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images. Imaging modalities include x-ray, CT, MRI, and ultrasound.

US National Library of Medicine -- Digital Collections
Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, manuscripts, still images, videos, and maps.
Visuals Online ( National Cancer Institute)
The National Cancer Institute's (NCI) Visuals Online provides a range of photographs and illustrations that may help communicators of medical and public health convey meaning, describe concepts, and tell stories.

VisualDx This link opens in a new window
VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. Features include:
- Large medical image library
- Leading skin of color atlas
- Smart search for chief complaints, diagnoses, and drug reactions
- Custom patient-specific differential diagnosis builder
- Tools to improve patient engagement and satisfaction

Image Tools --- Library Subscriptions

Image Quest (Britannica) This link opens in a new window

Google

To Locate Images not under copyright restriction.

To find images that can be reused and remixed use Google's Advanced Image search options.
Once in the "advanced image search" page, you will find the usage rights options at the bottom of the page.
In the usage rights menu you can select one of four options; "labeled for reuse," "labeled for commercial reuse," "labeled for reuse with modification," or "labeled for commercial reuse with modification."

Google Images

Images -- some free, some subscription

The Noun Project
Both free and paid members get access to all the icons. As a free member, you must give credit to the icon’s designer each time you use their icon. NounPro members get unlimited royalty-free licenses (no need to worry about attribution), can download icons in any color, and get access to all of our apps for quicker access. -- From NounProject Website

Image Collections

Digital Projects: Historical and contemporary sources for research and education
NLM
Disabled and Here
Disabled And Here is a stock image and interview series celebrating disabled Black, Indigenous, people of color (BIPOC)
Galaxy of Images
Images on this site are compiled from resources at Smithsonian Institution Libraries.
You may download low-resolution images directly from the web site for personal, research or study purposes for free.
Images from the History of Medicine
Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Images of Empowerment (DEI- focused)
Most images under creative commons for non-commercial use.
Prints & Photographs Reading Room
Offered by the Library of Congress.
Public Health Image Gallery
by National Institutes of Health (NIH)
The imagery showcased in the PHIL is historic in nature; the contents depicted, though appropriate at the time a photograph was captured, may no longer be appropriate in the context of the current time period, and is not to be viewed as a source of the most current public health information.
Smithsonian Institution -- Collections Search Center
Search over 5.4 million records with 460,000 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.
World Images by CSU
The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains almost 75,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.

Creative Commons and/or Public Domain Images

EduPic Graphical Resource
EduPic Graphical Resource was launched in September 2006 as a source of free images for teachers and their students.
By William Vann.
Flickr: The Commons
A requirement of contributors to The Commons is that all images are made available without copyright restrictions.
Free Digital Photos
ALL the images on our website are available free of charge, for business, personal, charitable or educational use. These free images are small sized, but perfect for websites or draft printed work. If you need a larger sized version then they are all available to buy.
Free images.com
Images are free as long as you stick to the rules in the Image license Agreement. Also, in some cases you may need to notify the artists about using the images and sometimes you need to give credit to them. You can see these restrictions under the image previews, right next to the Download button. - See more at: http://www.freeimages.com/faq#sthash.kXbOk6h1.dpuf
Icon Bug - Free Icons and Clip Art
IconBug.com has some of the hottest icons and clip art images online in an easy to search database that is available online 24/7 for free.
Open Clip Art
Pexels
All photos on Pexels can be used for free for commercial and noncommercial use.
Attribution is not required. Giving credit to the the photographer or Pexels is not necessary but always appreciated.
Photos for Class
Photos for Class is a free site that helps students find Creative Commons licensed images.
PikWizard
PikWizard is a free site that offers thousands of high quality images that you can download and re-use for free.
Pixabay
Pixabay provides a collection of images that are free to use and share provided you do not sell the individual images on their own. See the Pixabay license for more information.
Unsplash
Unsplash offers a huge library of images that are free to use under the Unsplash license. All photos published on Unsplash can be used for free. You can use them for commercial and noncommercial purposes. You do not need to ask permission from or provide credit to the photographer or Unsplash, although it is appreciated when possible.
Wikimedia Commons
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. (quoted from Wikimedia)
Wylio
This is an image search engine designed to help bloggers and others quickly find, cite, and use Creative Commons licensed images.
List of Free Stock Images Websites
From Best Blog Tools
List some suggestions for photos/images listing as "free". Always confirm site.

Creative Commons

What is Creative Commons?

Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that works to increase the amount of creativity (cultural, educational, and scientific content) available in “the commons” — the body of work that is available to the public for free and legal sharing, use, repurposing, and remixing.

Source: Creativecommons.org