Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
More important books
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 98th Edition by The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 98thEdition is an update of a classic reference. The 98thEdition contains several new features including, but not limited to - a major update to the table of isotopes, the first major compilation of high quality data of protein-ligand binding thermodynamics, and an important new collection of NMR data critical for understanding outcomes of organic syntheses. Plus, twelve lists have been updated such as, the physical properties of organic compounds and the latest experimental values of bond dissociation energies. Building on the new feature first introduced in the 94thedition, four historical figures in science will be honored on the end plates. The elements- completely revised and updated with a new summary table of key properties Table of the isotopes- a major update to this important data collection with hundreds of new and more accurate data points for more than 3000 isotopes of all the elements Gas clathrates- new data tables for important mixed clathrate systems including methane, ethane, propane, carbon dioxide (new), hydrogen sulfide (new), xenon (new), and nitrogen (new). Ionic liquids- expanded and revised information on over 150 important ionic liquids Protein-ligand binding thermodynamics- the first major compilation of high quality data on these important bio-chemical reactions Common drugs- completely revised with property and functionality data on over 250 drugs 1H chemical shifts of contaminants in deuterated solvents- an important new collection of NMR data critical for understanding outcomes of organic syntheses Electron affinities- new data on over 200 atoms and molecules Atomic and molecular polarizabilities- Updated data value for virtually every element and many important molecules IUPAC guide to nomenclature of inorganic chemistry- this completely revised, four page guide provides easy-to-use access to the nomenclature rules for inorganic compounds Bond dissociation energies- the latest experimental values have been added for a number of molecules Standard Atomic Weights- 2016 changes made by IUPAC Physical properties of organic compounds- results of the first phase of a complete review, with new data of densities Atomic Masses and Abundances- Update of isotopic abundances Periodic Table of the Elements- Updated to include new element names Interstellar Molecules- Complete list of molecules observed in space to date Major World Earthquakes- Updated through 2016 Atmospheric Concentration of CO2- Updated through 2016 Global Temperature Trend- Updated through 2016 Threshold Limits for Airborne Contaminants- Updated to 2016 recommendations Chemical Carcinogens- Inclusion of 2016 recommendations of National Toxicology Program Nanomaterial Safety Guidelines- Definition of terms in nanoscience; guidelines for safe handling and disposal
Publication Date: 2017-06-13
The Merck Index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals 15th ed. by The Merck Index is the definitive reference work for scientists and professionals looking for authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. It has been the leading source of information on chemical compounds for generations of scientists and professionals, selling over one million copies since its publication in 1889. The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact. The 15th edition, available from Royal Society of Chemistry publishing for the first time, is fully revised and updated and contains over 500 new monographs. Over 35% of the existing entries have been updated since the last edition, molecular weights have been recalculated with the latest IUPAC standards and there are revised periodic table and atomic weight tables. The Merck Index is an essential reference for all scholarly and professional chemists, biochemists, pharmacists and toxicologists and of interest to students, teachers, academic libraries, academic researchers, information professionals, solicitors, journalists and government agencies. *The name THE MERCK INDEX is owned by Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp., a subsidiary of Merck & Co., Inc., Whitehouse Station, N.J., U.S.A., and is licensed to The Royal Society of Chemistry for use in the U.S.A. and Canada. oxicologists and of interest to students, teachers, academic libraries, academic researchers, information professionals, solicitors, journalists and government agencies. *The name THE MERCK INDEX is owned by Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp., a subsidiary of Merck & Co., Inc., Whitehouse Station, N.J., U.S.A., and is licensed to The Royal Society of Chemistry for use in the U.S.A. and Canada.
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
Organic Chemist's Desk Reference 2nd edition by CHOICE Award Winner Since the first publication in 1995, the Organic Chemist¿s Desk Reference has been essential reading for laboratory chemists who need a concise guide to the essentials of organic chemistry ¿ the literature, nomenclature, stereochemistry, spectroscopy, hazard information, and laboratory data. The past fifteen years have witnessed immense growth in the field of chemistry and new discoveries have continued to shape its progress. In addition, the distinction between organic chemistry and other disciplines such as biochemistry and materials science has become increasingly blurred. Extensively revised and updated, this new edition contains the very latest data that chemists need access to for experimentation and research. New in the Second Edition: Rearranged content placed in a logical progressive order, making subjects easier to find Expanded topics from the glossary now presented as separate chapters Updated information on many classic subjects such as mass spectrometry and infrared, ultraviolet, and nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy New sections on chiral separations and crystallography Cross references to a plethora of web information Reflecting a 75% revision since the last edition, this volume is a must-have for organic chemists and those in related fields who need quick and easy access to vital information in the lab. It is also a valuable companion to the Dictionary of Organic Compounds, enabling readers to easily focus in on critical data.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2010-07-23
Organic Reactions, Volume 103, Parts a and B by The 103rd volume in this series for organic chemists in academia and industry presents critical discussions of widely used organic reactions or particular phases of a reaction. The material is treated from a preparative viewpoint, with emphasis on limitations, interfering influences, effects of structure and the selection of experimental techniques. The work includes tables that contain all possible examples of the reaction under consideration. Detailed procedures illustrate the significant modifications of each method. This volume is published in two parts, A and B.
Publication Date: 2020-09-01
Books by topic
Click on one of the topics below to link to a list of titles found in the library catalog.
Browse the print collection in QD 253
Multiscale Operational Organic Chemistry : a problem-solving approach to the laboratory course by
Publication Date: 2001-08-20
This practical laboratory book provides both microscale and multiscale experiments. It encourages readers to think in the laboratory by solving a scientific problem in the process of carrying out an experiment. An "operational" approach is featured, equipping readers to master the major lab operations as they carry out problem solving experiments. Over 400 problems and exercises are provided. A valuable reference for organic chemists and chemical technicians.
Organic Chemistry 6th edition by
Publication Date: 2010-01-03
In this innovative text, Bruice balances coverage of traditional topics with bioorganic chemistry to show how organic chemistry is related to biological systems and to our daily lives. Functional groups are organized around mechanistic similarities, emphasizing what functional groups do rather than how they are made. Tying together the reactivity of a functional group and the synthesis of compounds resulting from its reactivity prevents students from needing to memorize lists of unrelated reactions. The Sixth Edition has been revised and streamlined throughout to enhance clarity and accessibility, and adds a wealth of new problems and problem-solving strategies.
Study Guide and Solutions Manual for Organic Chemistry 6th Edition by
Publication Date: 2010-06-20
More titles to assist with organic chemistry concepts
Essentials of Organic Chemistry : For Students of Pharmacy, Medicinal Chemistry and Biological Chemistry by Essentials of Organic Chemistry is an accessible introduction to the subject for students of Pharmacy, Medicinal Chemistry and Biological Chemistry. Designed to provide a thorough grounding in fundamental chemical principles, the book focuses on key elements of organic chemistry and carefully chosen material is illustrated with the extensive use of pharmaceutical and biochemical examples. In order to establish links and similarities the book places prominence on principles and deductive reasoning with cross-referencing. This informal text also places the main emphasis on understanding and predicting reactivity rather than synthetic methodology as well as utilising a mechanism based layout and featuring annotated schemes to reduce the need for textual explanations. * tailored specifically to the needs of students of Pharmacy Medical Chemistry and Biological Chemistry * numerous pharmaceutical and biochemical examples * mechanism based layout * focus on principles and deductive reasoning This will be an invaluable reference for students of Pharmacy Medicinal and Biological Chemistry.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- Ebook Central
Publication Date: 2006-05-26
Organic Chemistry as a second language -- second semester topics by Readers continue to turn to Klein's Organic Chemistry As a Second Language: Second Semester Topics, 4th Edition because it enables them to better understand fundamental principles, solve problems, and focus on what they need to know to succeed. The fourth edition explores the major principles in the field and explains why they are relevant. It is written in a way that clearly shows the patterns in organic chemistry so that readers can gain a deeper conceptual understanding of the material. Topics are presented clearly in an accessible writing style along with numerous hands-on problem solving exercises.
Publication Date: 2016-01-11
The Organic Chem Lab Survival Manual : a student's guide to techniques Tenth edition by Written for the laboratory that accompanies the sophomore/junior level courses in Organic Chemistry, Zubrick provides students with a valuable guide to the basic techniques of the Organic Chemistry lab. The book will help students understand and practice good lab safety. It will also help students become familiar with basic instrumentation, techniques and apparatus and help them master the latest techniques such as interpretation of infrared spectroscopy. The guide is mostly macroscale in its orientation.
Publication Date: 2016-01-19
Schaum's outlines : organic chemistry Fifth edition. by Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. This all-in-one-package includes more than 1,800 fully solved problems, examples, and practice exercises to sharpen your problem-solving skills. Plus, you will have access to 24 detailed videos featuring Chemistry instructors who explain the most commonly tested concepts--it's just like having your own virtual tutor!nbsp;You'll find everything you need to build confidence, skills, and knowledge for the highest score possible. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum'sto help them succeed in the classroom and on exams.Schaum's is the key to faster learning and highergrades in every subject. Each Outline presents all theessential course information in an easy-to-follow,topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds ofexamples, solved problems, and practice exercises totest your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you 1,806 fully solved problems Hundreds of examples with explanations of organic chemistry concepts Support for all the major textbooks for organicchemistry courses Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time--and get your best test scores!
Publication Date: 2013-05-28
Survival Guide to Organic Chemistry : Bridging the Gap from General Chemistry by The Survival Guide to Organic Chemistry: Bridging the Gap from General Chemistry enables organic chemistry students to bridge the gap between general chemistry and organic chemistry. It makes sense of the myriad of in-depth concepts of organic chemistry, without overwhelming them in the necessary detail often given in a complete organic chemistry text. Here, the topics covered span the entire standard organic chemistry curriculum. The authors describe subjects which require further explanation, offer alternate viewpoints for understanding and provide hands-on practical problems and solutions to help master the material. This text ultimately allows students to apply key ideas from their general chemistry curriculum to key concepts in organic chemistry.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- Ebook Central
Publication Date: 2016-12-01