Here are just a few titles related to Public Health. These happen to be "ebooks". More print and ebook titles are available in the library catalog.
Health Disparities, Diversity, and Inclusion by 
An Introduction to Community and Public Health by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. An Introduction to Community & Public Health, Ninth Edition provides learners with the latest trends and statistics in this evolving field. With an emphasis on developing the knowledge and skills necessary for a career in health education and health promotion, this best-selling introductory text covers such topics as epidemiology, community organizations, program planning, minority health, mental health, environmental health, drug use and abuse, safety, and occupational health. A robust pedagogy and enhanced digital learning component encourages students to understand and retain community health issues and better prepare for their future careers. NEW! - Includes new information about the impact of the Affordable Care Act on family planning NEW! - Provides the latest information on preconception health care and counseling which are relative new foci for pregnancy health NEW! - Includes an updated discussion on vaccine safety and non-vaccination due to religious and philosophical exceptions which affect vulnerable population NEW! - Includes new information on the relationship of mental health to general health, NEW! - Incorporates the latest information on new law enforcement policies regarding how to handle people with mental health crises EXPANDED! - Updated information on electronic or e-cigarettes, abuse of opioid pain relievers, and the move by some states to legalize the use of marijuana for medical or recreational uses EXPANDED! - The latest information on barriers to prenatal care and the importance of nutrition and vitamin supplementation during pregnancy EXPANDED & REVISED--Chapter 14 Community Health and the Environment has been thoroughly revised and updated. New information has been included about mold as an indoor pollutant, runoff and lead as water pollutants, complex disasters, the Zika virus, and emergency preparedness and response. In addition, a new box on the Flint, Michigan, drinking water crisis has been included
Public Health : a very short introduction by
Public health is a term much used in the media, by health professionals, and by activists. At the national or the local level there are ministries or departments of public health, whilst international agencies such as the World Health Organisation promote public health policies, and regionalorganisations such as the European Union have public health funding and policies. But what do we mean when we speak about "public health"? In this Very Short Introduction Virginia Berridge explores the areas which fall under the remit of public health, and explains how the individual histories of different countries have come to cause great differences in the perception of the role and responsibilities of public health organisations.Thus, in the United States litigation on public health issues is common, but state involvement is less, while some Scandinavian countries have a tradition of state involvement or even state ownership of industries such as alcohol in connection with public health. In its narrowest sense, publichealth can refer to the health of a population, the longevity of individual members, and their freedom from disease, but it can also be anticipatory, geared to the prevention of illness, rather than simply the provision of care and treatment. In the way public health deals with healthy as well assick people it is therefore a separate concept from health services, which deal with the sick population. Drawing on a wide range of international examples, Berridge demonstrates the central role of history to understanding the amorphous nature of public health today.ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, andenthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Public Health Communication : Critical tools and strategies by
Designed for master's level study, Public Health Communication: Critical Tools and Strategies for Advancing Public Health will prepare new graduates for any entry level position in public health policy/advocacy, health communication, health promotion, social marketing, or community health education. Filled with practical examples, the book is also a valuable resource for those preparing for the CPH or CHES exams. Students will learn core concepts for planning a communication framework as well key strategies for educating the public about health issues including understanding and reporting science, communicating for policy and advocacy, and health literacy and numeracy. The book thoroughly explores classic theories of persuasion in communication such as Extended Parallel Process Model, Inoculation, Sensation Value, and Cognitive Value. The most current forms of digital/multimedia/interactive channels of communication are examined. The last section of the book looks at some special contexts in health communication, such as patient-provider communication as well as risk/emergency communication.
Silent Victories : The History and Practice of Public Health in Twentieth-century America by 
Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health by
Essentials of Biostatistics in Public Health, Third Edition provides a fundamental and engaging background for students learning to apply and appropriately interpret biostatistics applications in the field of public health. Many examples are drawn directly from the author's remarkable clinical experiences with the renowned Framingham Heart Study, making this text practical, interesting, and accessible for those with little mathematical background. The examples are real, relevant, and manageable in size so that students can easily focus on applications rather than become overwhelmed by computations. The Third Edition offers a new chapter on data visualization and interpretation including guidance on reporting statistical results in tables, figures and text. Examples of well-organized, detailed and appropriately formatted tables and figures are provided along with samples of how best to interpret them. Examples of poorly organized tables and figures are also included to illustrate common misinterpretations of results, due in part to lack of clarity in presentation. The text comes packaged with an access code card that gives your students access to an online workbook for statistical computing using Microsoft Excel. The online workbook is available in both Mac and PC versions. Updates to the Third Edition: * New chapter on data visualization and interpretation * New "When and Why" sections in each chapter include timely examples of important medical and public health applications of biostatistical techniques to help students connect the technical aspects of how specific analyses are conducted to real and relevant applications. New suggestions for instructors to facilitate in-class discussions around these applications and their interpretation are included in the instructor resources * New examples from widely publicized clinical trials and from relevant and timely studies added throughout. * New integrative exercises included in the instructor resources that allow students to practice biostatistical analysis with real data using Excel. * New link to a publicly available, longitudinal dataset containing data collected in the Framingham Heart Study
Epidemiology 101 by
Now in full color, this best-selling text will introduce you to the basics of infectious disease epidemiology, environmental epidemiology, molecular epidemiology, and psychosocial/behavioral epidemiology. Perfect for those with no prior familiarity with health-related fields or statistics, Epidemiology 101, Second Edition, uses a clear, cohesive writing style and follows the basic Epidemiology 101 curriculum framework as outlined in the AAC&U and APTR Recommendations for Undergraduate Public Health Education. End-of-chapter exercises provide access to a laboratory component for college science courses that require a laboratory. Key Features: * Full color pages with 25% more tables and charts throughout to capture the reader's interest and enhance learning * Current, tangible examples from the field that are relevant and familiar to young students such as big data, cyberbullying, and disease outbreaks including Ebola and Zika * New chapters that cover Epidemiology and Data Presentation (with practice questions for the MCAT® examination) and Epidemiology and Screening for Disease * Access to Navigate 2 online learning materials, including a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, learning analytics reporting tools, and more
Quantitative Methods for Health Research by
A practical introduction to epidemiology, biostatistics, and research methodology for the whole health care community This comprehensive text, which has been extensively revised with new material and additional topics, utilizes a practical slant to introduce health professionals and students to epidemiology, biostatistics, and research methodology. It draws examples from a wide range of topics, covering all of the main contemporary health research methods, including survival analysis, Cox regression, and systematic reviews and meta-analysis--the explanation of which go beyond introductory concepts. This second edition of Quantitative Methods for Health Research: A Practical Interactive Guide to Epidemiology and Statistics also helps develop critical skills that will prepare students to move on to more advanced and specialized methods. A clear distinction is made between knowledge and concepts that all students should ensure they understand, and those that can be pursued further by those who wish to do so. Self-assessment exercises throughout the text help students explore and reflect on their understanding. A program of practical exercises in SPSS (using a prepared data set) helps to consolidate the theory and develop skills and confidence in data handling, analysis, and interpretation. Highlights of the book include: Combining epidemiology and bio-statistics to demonstrate the relevance and strength of statistical methods Emphasis on the interpretation of statistics using examples from a variety of public health and health care situations to stress relevance and application Use of concepts related to examples of published research to show the application of methods and balance between ideals and the realities of research in practice Integration of practical data analysis exercises to develop skills and confidence Supplementation by a student companion website which provides guidance on data handling in SPSS and study data sets as referred to in the text Quantitative Methods for Health Research, Second Edition is a practical learning resource for students, practitioners and researchers in public health, health care and related disciplines, providing both a course book and a useful introductory reference.
Confronting Contagion by 
Public Health Emergency Preparedness by
Public Health Emergency Preparedness: Practical Applications for the Real World is a comprehensive examination of the critical competencies necessary to prepare for and respond to Public Health emergencies. Starting with a historical context of the early preparedness need, the book defines emergency preparedness and the legal framework for the field. The book goes on to cover the full range of the field from hazards and threats to considerations for leadership development in the field. It includes information on roles and responsibilities of local, state, and national organizations, the cycle of practice for preparedness officials, as well as principles of incident management and response; and finally, considerations for leadership development in the field. With real-world stories and anecdotes throughout, the authors synthesize a wealth of material in an easy-to-read format that stimulates learning and provokes reflection about emergency preparedness. Key Features: * Offers a full chapter on medical countermeasures including distribution operations and logistics * Defines multi-agency coordination systems (MACS) and how they are used in response to disaster events * Provides thorough coverage of medical surge including the key strategies and tactics needed for aligning public health and healthcare system responses during disaster events * Explores key ethical considerations during emergency response and details Crisis Standards of Care strategies * Examines key strategies to ensure the health and safety of first responders and volunteers
