More titles available ... check the library catalog or use OneSearch on the library home page.
Intro to Research and Medical Lit for Health Professionals 5th ed by
Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition is an essential resource to help students, faculty, and practitioners understand the research process, interpret data, comprehend results, and incorporate findings into practice. From choosing a research project and developing the research process design, to systematically gathering information, analyzing, interpreting data, differentiating among conflicting results, and finally understanding the overall evaluation, Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition will ease fears and help students and practitioners develop research skills to acquire and contribute knowledge that benefits their patients.
The Sourcebook for Clinical Research by
A single trial is complex, with numerous regulations, administrative processes, medical procedures, deadlines and specific protocol instructions to follow. And yet, there has existed no single-volume, comprehensive clinical research reference manual for investigators, medical institutions, and national and international research personnel to keep on the shelf as a ready reference to navigate through trial complexities and ensure compliance with U.S. Federal Regulations and ICH GCP until The Sourcebook for Clinical Research. An actionable, step-by-step guide through beginning to advanced topics in clinical research with forms, templates and checklists to download from a companion website, so that study teams will be compliant and will find all the necessary tools within this book. Additionally, the authors developed Display Posters for Adverse Events Plus Reporting and Medicare Coverage Analysis that can be purchased separately here: https://www.elsevier.com/books-and-journals/book-companion/9780128162422/order-display-posters. Moreover, The Sourcebook for Clinical Research contains clear information and guidance on the newest changes in the industry to keep seasoned investigators and staff current and compliant, in addition to providing detailed information regarding the most complex topics. This book serves as a quick, actionable, off-the-shelf resource to keep by your side at the medical clinic.
Introduction to Health Research Methods by
Designed to empower new investigators to conduct their own original research projects, the third edition of Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide leads the reader step-by-step in performing quantitative and qualitative research in medicine, public health, and other clinical and population health fields. Organized in five sections, the text covers the entire research process from formulating a study question and selecting a study approach to collecting and analyzing data and then disseminating the findings. Chapters about methods for primary studies (collecting new data), secondary analyses (analyzing existing data), and tertiary studies (conducting literature reviews and meta-analyses) provide comprehensive coverage of the scope of health research. By breaking the research process down into a series of achievable steps, Introduction to Health Research Methods shows students and early career scholars how they can contribute to improving the health of individuals and communities through research. The Third Edition has been significantly updated to include: - Expanded coverage of qualitative research methods, including new chapters on qualitative study design, data collection, and data analysis. - Additional glossary terms that clarify key terminology for all stages of the research process and a diversity of study approaches. - Enhanced explanations of how to select and implement quantitative and qualitative research and analysis methodologies. - New and updated coverage of topics such as framing research questions, developing testable hypotheses, defining specific aims, responsibly conducting research, selecting study designs, minimizing bias, applying theoretical paradigms, ensuring rigor and reproducibility, conducting quality assessment, managing grants, and more.
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper, 9th edition by
Thoroughly updated throughout, this classic, practical text on how to write and publish a scientific paper takes its own advice to be "as clear and simple as possible.""The purpose of scientific writing," according to Barbara Gastel and Robert A. Day, "is to communicate new scientific findings. Science is simply too important to be communicated in anything other than words of certain meaning."This clear, beautifully written, and often funny text is a must-have for anyone who needs to communicate scientific information, whether they're writing for a professor, other scientists, or the general public. The thoughtfully revised 9th edition retains the most important material--including preparing text and graphics, publishing papers and other types of writing, and plenty of information on writing style--while adding up-to-date advice on copyright, presenting online, identifying authors, creating visual abstracts, and writing in English as a non-native language.A set of valuable appendixes provide ready reference, including words and expressions to avoid, SI prefixes, a list of helpful websites, and a glossary. Students and working scientists will want to keep How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper at their desks and refer to it at every stage of writing and publication.
Applied Qualitative Research Design by 
Evaluating Research Articles from Start to Finish by 
Research Design and Analysis : primer for a non-statistician by
A concise, straightforward overview of research design and analysis, helping readers form a general basis for designing and conducting research The practice of designing and analyzing research continues to evolve with advances in technology that enable greater technical analysis of data--strengthening the ability of researchers to study the interventions and relationships of factors and assisting consumers of research to understand and evaluate research reports. Research Design and Analysis is an accessible, wide-ranging overview of how to design, conduct, analyze, interpret, and present research. This book helps those in the sciences conduct their own research without requiring expertise in statistics and related fields and enables informed reading of published research. Requiring no background in statistics, this book reviews the purpose, ethics, and rules of research, explains the fundamentals of research design and validity, and describes how to select and employ appropriate statistical techniques and reporting methods. Readers gain knowledge central to various research scenarios, from sifting through reports of meta-analyses and preparing a research paper for submission to a peer-reviewed journal to discussing, evaluating, and communicating research results. This book: Provides end-to-end guidance on the entire research design and analysis process Teaches readers how to both conduct their own research and evaluate the research of others Offers a clear, concise introduction to fundamental topics ideal for both reference and general education functions Presents information derived from the author's experience teaching the subject in real-world classroom settings Includes a full array of learning tools including tables, examples, additional resource suggestions, complete references, and appendices that cover statistical analysis software and data sets Research Design and Analysis: A Primer for the Non-Statistician is a valuable source of information for students and trainees in medical and allied health professions, journalism, education, and those interested in reading and comprehending research literature.
The following call numbers are good places to look for books on understanding the research process....
(also try the library catalog using the terms -- medical research, scientific research, introduction to research, basic research, research methods, research process)
There are many titles that are ebooks (online) --- click on the links below to find print and ebook titles.
Resources listed on these guides are compiled by librarians at the R.A. Williams Library. We accept content recommendations, and after review, may include suggested resources on a guide. Our time is limited, so we generally do not reply to unsolicited recommendations from individuals not affiliated with AdventHealth University or notify them regarding whether or not we have linked to suggested content.