AHU Resource Guides: Spiritual Care (MS): Journal Searching / Finding Articles

Key Journal Databases

Here are some key databases to assist with finding articles.

OneSearch on the library homepage also will search the database for journal articles.

Steps to Databases --- http://library.ahu.edu >> Databases >>> select the database you want

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to more than 4,000 journals covering most areas of study.
Atla Religion Database with Atla Serials (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window The premier full text index of journal articles, essays, and book reviews on theology and religion, from the American Theological Library Association.
Google Scholar (Google) This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides one way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Various forms of scholarly literature are indexed: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. If accessed through the Library website, Google Scholar will include links to full-text articles owned by the Library.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Access an index of millions of journal articles covering a broad range of topics in science, technology, and medicine.
Sacred Texts (Infobase) This link opens in a new window 99 complete sacred texts from the world’s major religions. From the Bible and the Quran, to the Tibetan Book of the Dead and Daodejing, to Popol Vuh and the Táin bó Cuailnge, some of the most influential religious writings and collections of mythology.
SocINDEX with Full Text (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window SocINDEX is a comprehensive full-text sociology research database encompassing all sub-disciplines and related areas of sociology study. Over 2.1 million records from 1895 to present day on a wide range of subjects such as criminology, demography, abortion, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development & psychology, substance abuse, and many others.

Link to All Databases list

Searching for articles -- video

Ebooks -- Locating eBooks and Journal Articles (4:23)

Key Journals

Accessing journals -- https://library.ahu.edu >> Menu >> E-journals >> type in name of journal

OneSearch will also search for journal articles, in advanced search the journal title can be searched.

Here is a list of journals that might be of interest:

Adventist Review (print)

Angelican Theological Review

Bioethics

Christian Bioethics

Christian Science Monitor, The (print)

Church History

Counseling and Values

Cross Currents

Ethics, Medicine and Public Health

Family and Community Health

Hastings Center Report, The

Journal of Biblical Literature

Journal of Clinical Ethics

Journal of Health Care Chaplaincy

Journal of Pastoral Care & Counseling

Journal of Religious Ethics

Journal of the Society for Christian Ethics

Modern Theology

Omega: Journal of Death and Dying

Psychology of Religion and Spirituality

Teaching Theology & Religion

Studies in World Christianity