AHU Resource Guides: Clinical Pastoral Education (CPE): Databases

Databases to Find Articles

The databases listed below could assist with finding articles of interest related to the CPE program.

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to more than 4,000 journals covering most areas of study.
Atla Religion Database with Atla Serials (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window The premier full text index of journal articles, essays, and book reviews on theology and religion, from the American Theological Library Association.
Google Scholar (Google) This link opens in a new window Google Scholar provides one way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Various forms of scholarly literature are indexed: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. If accessed through the Library website, Google Scholar will include links to full-text articles owned by the Library.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Healthcare information from full-text nursing and health journals and dissertations.
Sacred Texts (Infobase) This link opens in a new window 99 complete sacred texts from the world’s major religions. From the Bible and the Quran, to the Tibetan Book of the Dead and Daodejing, to Popol Vuh and the Táin bó Cuailnge, some of the most influential religious writings and collections of mythology.
SocINDEX with Full Text (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window SocINDEX is a comprehensive full-text sociology research database encompassing all sub-disciplines and related areas of sociology study. Over 2.1 million records from 1895 to present day on a wide range of subjects such as criminology, demography, abortion, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development & psychology, substance abuse, and many others.

Don't know your off-campus login information?

Log-in and Account Help

Databases for Background Medical Information

AccessMedicine (McGraw-Hill) This link opens in a new window AccessMedicine is a compendium of more than 130 medical titles, full length drug monographs, and self-assessment tools that provide wide coverage of medical information. AccessMedicine also features a unique collection of examination and procedural videos, patient safety modules, audio files, animations, and case studies.
CINAHL Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window CINAHL Complete is an authoritative resource for nursing and allied health articles. It searches an indexed collection of nearly 3 million articles from more than 3000 journals covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, rehabilitation, radiography, sonography, and more. CINAHL Complete also includes the full text of articles from nearly 600 of the journals in the index.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Healthcare information from full-text nursing and health journals and dissertations.
PubMed (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window Search the National Librarian of Medicine database of biomedical and health sciences journals through the publicly available NLM search interface.
UpToDate (Wolters Kluwer) This link opens in a new window UpToDate is a clinical decision support tool of evidence-based information on drugs, medical specialties, and treatment recommendations.

World Religions & Sacred Text

World Religions Online (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Facts on File's World Religions Online database offers an objective and comprehensive guide to the World's major religions and spiritual traditions.
Sacred Texts (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
99 complete sacred texts from the world’s major religions. From the Bible and the Quran, to the Tibetan Book of the Dead and Daodejing, to Popol Vuh and the Táin bó Cuailnge, some of the most influential religious writings and collections of mythology.

More on Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a subset of Google and indexes journal articles, books, book reviews and dissertations. The material comes from a variety of places --- publishers, vendors, universities, government agencies and other organizations.

Please remember that some is free and some needs a subscription or "not free".

The steps below add the "code" of AHU or could add any school that participates with Google Indexing.

1. Begin on the library website: https://library.ahu.edu/

2. Click on Databases

3. Scroll to Google Scholar (From the Databases link it recognizes AHU journals)

ADDING School listing

4. Click on 3 lines (hamburger) top left

5. Settings

6. Click Library Links

7. Type in AdventHealth University

8. Check box >> Save