Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Book titles of possible interest:
Crash Course Medical Ethics and Sociology Updated Print + EBook Edition by The (printed) 'Updated Edition' now comes with added value access to the complete, downloadable eBook version via Student Consult. Search, read and revise whilst on the move and use the interactive self-assessment to test your understanding. Crash Course - a more flexible, practical learning package than ever before. Crash Course - your effective everyday study companion PLUS the perfect antidote for exam stress! Save time and be assured you have all the core information you need in one place to excel on your course and achieve exam success. A winning formula now for over 15 years, each volume has been fine-tuned and fully updated, with an improved layout tailored to make your life easier. Especially written by junior doctors - those who understand what is essential for exam success - with all information thoroughly checked and quality assured by expert Faculty Advisers, the result is a series of books which exactly meets your needs and you know you can trust. The importance of ethics and sociology as applied cannot be underestimated, within both the medical curriculum and everyday modern clinical practice. Medical students and junior doctors cannot hope to experience every dilemma first hand, but are expected to deal with new and problematic clinical situations in a reasoned, professional and systematic way. This volume, which accounts for the revised core curriculum in Medical Ethics and Law, will prove an indispensable companion. More than 80 line artworks, tables and boxes present clinical, diagnostic and practical information in an easy-to-follow manner Friendly and accessible approach to the subject makes learning especially easy Written by junior doctors for students - authors who understand exam pressures Contains 'Hints and Tips' boxes, and other useful aide-mémoires Succinct coverage of the subject enables 'sharp focus' and efficient use of time during exam preparation Contains a fully updated self-assessment section - ideal for honing exam skills and self-testing Self-assessment section fully updated to reflect current exam requirements Contains 'common exam pitfalls' as advised by faculty Crash Courses also available electronically The (printed) 'Updated Edition' now comes with added value access to the complete, downloadable eBook version via Student Consult. Search, read and revise whilst on the move and use the interactive self-assessment to test your understanding. Crash Course - a more flexible, practical learning package than ever before. Now celebrating over 10 years of success - Crash Course has been specially devised to help you get through your exams with ease. Completely revised throughout, the new edition of Crash Course is perfectly tailored to meet your needs by providing everything you need to know in one place. Clearly presented in a tried and trusted, easy-to-use, format, each book in the series gives complete coverage of the subject in a no-nonsense, user-friendly fashion. Commencing with 'Learning Objectives', each chapter guides you succinctly through the topic, giving full coverage of the curriculum whilst avoiding unnecessary and often confusing detail. Each chapter is also supported by a full artwork programme, and features the ever popular 'Hints and Tips' boxes as well as other useful aide-mémoires. All volumes contain an up-to-date self-assessment section which allows you to test your knowledge and hone your exam skills. Authored by students or junior doctors - working under close faculty supervision - each volume has been prepared by someone who has recently been in the exam situation and so relates closely to your needs. So whether you need to get out of a fix or aim for distinction Crash Course is for you!!
Call Number: Online / ebook -- ebook Central
Publication Date: 2015-02-20
Discerning Ethics by Racism. Immigration. Gun violence. Sexuality. Health care. The number of ethical issues that demand a response from Christians today is almost dizzying. How can Christians navigate such matters? What are faithful responses to these questions? Edited by two theologians with pastoral experience, this volume invites engagement with these issues and more by drawing on real-life experiences and offering a range of responses to some of the most challenging moral questions confronting the church today. With an unflinching yet irenic approach, this resource can help Christians as they seek to act justly, love mercy, and walk humbly with God.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- Ebook Central
Publication Date: 2020-02-25
Ethics in Health Administration : A Practical Approach for Decision Makers : A Practical Approach for Decision Makers, 4th edition by With rapidly advancing technology and the ongoing discussion of health care reform post-Affordable Care Act, today's healthcare administrators require a strong foundation in practice-based ethics to confront the challenges of the current health care landscape. Ethics in Health Administration: A Practical Approach for Decision Makers, Fourth Edition focuses on the application of ethics to the critical issues faced by today's healthcare administrators. After establishing a foundation in theory and principles, the text encourages students to apply ethics to areas of change, regulation, technology and fiscal responsibility in healthcare. Thoroughly updated and more reader-friendly, the Fourth Edition has been significantly revised to include new cases, updated content, and additional resources to engage students while challenging them to think critically. Key Features: * New cases in every chapter based on real-world events help to emphasize chapter content and encourage students to apply ethics to realistic situations. * A new chapter on the Ethics in the Epoch of Change stresses major changes in healthcare, including the digital revolution, population health, ethics temptations and ethic resilience. * New coverage of emerging senior service markets and functional medicine are addressed in Chapter 6. * Every chapter now includes ethics application questions, summary statements, Web sites, and additional resources to further enhance learning.
Call Number: Online / Ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2019-02-12
Health Care Ethics : Critical Issues for the 21st Century by Organized around the four central themes of healthcare ethics (theoretical foundations and issues for individuals, organizations, and society), Health Care Ethics, Fourth Edition brings together the insights of a diverse panel of leading experts in the fields of bioethics, long-term care, and health administration, among others. Students will build on this critical platform to develop an extensive toolbox of analytical and problem-solving skills.The fully revised and updated Fourth Edition addresses current changes in health care, including three new chapters covering ethical issues related to Health Information Management, Patient Safety, and Epidemics. All other chapters have been updated to reflect the most recent developments in medical technology and new challenges faced by health care professionals in the era of the ACA.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2018-01-30
Religious Perspectives on Social Responsibility in Health : Towards a Dialogical Approach by This book discuss the meaning and implications of the social and ethical implications of the notion of social responsibility in healthcare in six major world religions -- Buddhism, Christianity, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, & Judaism. This collection of papers is based on a four-day workshop where bioethics experts from various religious traditions gathered. They discussed the ways in which their respective traditions could, or could not, uphold the tenets of Article 14 of UNESCO's Universal Declaration of bioethics and Human Rights. The different papers presented in this book are based on this interchange of ideas at the workshop. The book explores the potential points of convergence among the various perspectives presented, as well as a discussion on the ways in which their moral differences may be managed. The managing of these moral differences through international socio-ethical mechanisms, contributes significantly to the UNESCO Universal Declaration of Bioethics and Human Rights' goal of simultaneously respecting religio-cultural pluralism while upholding a commitment to human rights.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2018-05-07
What about the Family? :Practices of responsibility of care. by Health and social care decisions, and how they impact a family, are often viewed from the perspective of the individual family member making them--for example, the role of the parent in surrogacy questions, the care of the elderly, or decisions that involve fetuses or organ donations. What About the Family? represents a concerted, collaborative effort to depart from this practice--it rather shows that the family unit as a whole is intrinsic and inseparable from patient's ethical decisions. This deeper level of thinking about families and health care poses an entirely new set of difficult questions. Which family members are relevant in influencing a patient? What is a family, in the first place? What duties does a family have to its own members? What makes an ethics of families distinctive from health care ethics, an ethic of care or feminist ethics is that it theorizes relationships characterized by ongoing intimacy and partiality among people who are not interchangeable, and remains centered on the practices of responsibility arising from these relationships. What About the Family? edited by bioethicists Hilde Lindemann, Marian Verkerk, and Janice McLaughlin, represents an interdisciplinary effort, drawing, among other resources, on its authors' backgrounds in sociology, nursing, philosophy, bioethics, and the medical sciences. Contributors begin from the assumption that any ethical examination of the significance of family ties to health and social care will benefit from a dialogue with the debates about family occuring in these other disciplinary areas, and examine why families matter, how families are recognized, how families negotiate responsibilities, how families can participate in treatment decision making, and how justice operates in families.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2019-05-01
Several databases to try to locate articles on a topic. More databases are listed from the library homepage under Databases.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to more than 4,000 journals covering most areas of study.
Atla Religion Database with Atla Serials (Ebsco) This link opens in a new windowThe premier full text index of journal articles, essays, and book reviews on theology and religion, from the American Theological Library Association.
Issues & Controversies (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Updated weekly, with a wire-service newsfeed providing the latest headline stories, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles designed to inspire thought-provoking debates and research papers.
Journals of Possible Interest