Jan 7 Introduction: Foundation of Bioethics: Ethical Theories and Moral Principles
TOPIC ONE: Medical Indications, Clinical Ethics, 9th ed. by
The go-to textbook on the increasingly important and rapidly evolving topic of medical ethics Ethical issues are embedded in every clinical encounter between patients and clinicians. In order to practice excellent clinical care, clinicians must understand ethical issues such as informed consent, decisional capacity, surrogate decision making, truth telling, confidentiality, privacy, the distinction between research and clinical care, and end-of-life care. This popular, clinically-oriented guide provides crystal-clear case-based coverage of the ethical situations encountered in everyday medical practice. Clinical Ethics introduces the proven Four Box Method--a much-needed pattern for collecting, sorting, and ordering the facts of a clinical ethical problem. This easy-to-apply system is based on simple questions about medical indications, patient preferences, quality of life, and contextual features that explain clinical ethics and help clinicians formulate a sound diagnosis and treatment strategy. In each chapter, the authors discuss case examples and provide analysis, comments, and specific recommendations. The book is divided into the four topics that constitute the essential ethical structure of every clinical encounter: Medical Indications, Preferences of Patients Quality of Life Contextual Features
Jan 14 Lecture 1: Physicians, Patients, and Others: Autonomy, Truth Telling, and Confidentiality
REQUIRED Topic Two: Preferences of Patients. Clinical Ethics, 8th Edition by
The go-to textbook on the increasingly important and rapidly evolving topic of medical ethics Ethical issues are embedded in every clinical encounter between patients and clinicians. In order to practice excellent clinical care, clinicians must understand ethical issues such as informed consent, decisional capacity, surrogate decision making, truth telling, confidentiality, privacy, the distinction between research and clinical care, and end-of-life care. This popular, clinically-oriented guide provides crystal-clear case-based coverage of the ethical situations encountered in everyday medical practice. Clinical Ethics introduces the proven Four Box Method--a much-needed pattern for collecting, sorting, and ordering the facts of a clinical ethical problem. This easy-to-apply system is based on simple questions about medical indications, patient preferences, quality of life, and contextual features that explain clinical ethics and help clinicians formulate a sound diagnosis and treatment strategy. In each chapter, the authors discuss case examples and provide analysis, comments, and specific recommendations. The book is divided into the four topics that constitute the essential ethical structure of every clinical encounter: Medical Indications, Preferences of Patients Quality of Life Contextual Features
Jan 21 Lecture 2: Research Ethics and Informed Consent
REQUIRED Introduction. Human Medical Experimentation : From Smallpox Vaccines to Secret Government Programs by
Intended for students and general readers alike, this encyclopedia covers the history of human medical experimentation, for better and worse, from the time of Hippocrates to the present. Thanks to medical experiments performed on human subjects, we now have vaccines against smallpox, rabies, and polio. Yet the advances that saved lives too often involved the exploitation of vulnerable populations. Covering the history of human medical experimentation from the time of Hippocrates to today, this work will introduce readers to the topic through a mixture of essays and ready-reference materials. The book covers the experiments themselves; the people, companies, and government agencies that carried them out; the relevant medical and sociopolitical background; and the legislation and other protective measures that arose as a result. The encyclopedia is divided chronologically into six periods: pre-19th century, the 19th century, the pre-World War II 20th century, the World War II era, the Cold War era, and the post-Cold War period to today. Each period begins with an introductory essay and ends with a bibliography. Alphabetically arranged entries in each section cover pertinent people, experiments, and topics. The volume is enriched throughout with a wealth of primary sources, such as physicians' descriptions of their experiments. Medical experiments are not just a thing of the past, and readers will also learn about questions and debates related to contemporary efforts to advance medical science. * Offers readers a broad understanding of human experimentation * Reviews experimentation from the point of view of the history of medicine * Covers issues of vulnerable, exploited populations and unethical experimentation * Features introductory and time-period overview essays that add necessary contextual information and primary source documents that support AP and Common Core objectives * Includes specialized bibliographies that serve as a gateway to further study
Josef Mengele by
As the number of first-hand witnesses shrinks, there is an urgent need to educate a new generation of readers on the tragedy of the Holocaust. Coinciding with the 70th anniversary of the liberation of Auschwitz, this title presents the harrowing details of one of the concentration camp's most infamous figures. Known as Auschwitz's Angel of Death, Mengele was the doctor responsible for some of the most unsettling Nazi human experiments. This title uncovers the details of his early life, his rise within the Nazi Party, his atrocious deeds at the concentration camp, and his life in hiding.
Jan 28 Lecture 3: Genetic Control
Feb 4 Lecture 4: Reproductive Control
Feb 11 Lecture 5: Abortion
REQUIRED Chapter 6 Abortion --Discerning Ethics by
Racism. Immigration. Gun violence. Sexuality. Health care. The number of ethical issues that demand a response from Christians today is almost dizzying. How can Christians navigate such matters? What are faithful responses to these questions? Edited by two theologians with pastoral experience, this volume invites engagement with these issues and more by drawing on real-life experiences and offering a range of responses to some of the most challenging moral questions confronting the church today. With an unflinching yet irenic approach, this resource can help Christians as they seek to act justly, love mercy, and walk humbly with God.
Feb 18 Mid-Term Exam
Laptops are MANDADORY.
Case Study : Emergency Contraception and the "Abortion Pill"
Case Study : United States Syphilis Test in Guatemala 1946 - 1948
Source: Pixabay
March 4 Lecture 6: Treating or Terminating: The Dilemma of Impaired Infants
March 11 Lecture 7: Euthanasia and Physician Assisted Suicide
REQUIRED Chapter 3 End-of-Life Dilemmas --Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professionals by
Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition is a concise and practical guide to legal and ethical dilemmas facing healthcare professionals in the real-world today. Thoroughly updated and featuring new case studies, this dynamic text will help students to better understand the issues they will face on the job and the implications in the legal arena. With contemporary topics, real-world examples, and accessible language, this comprehensive text offers students an applied perspective and the opportunity to develop critical thinking skills. Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professionals provides an effective transition from the classroom to the reality of a clinical environment.
March 18: Lecture 8: Organ Transplants and Scare Medical Resources
Are There Any Limits to Scarcity?, Organ Transplantation in Religious, Ethical, and Social Context
Enter the world of organ transplantation and develop a new understanding of processes and techniques for working effectively with patients in this increasing medical population. This multidisciplinary overview of organ transplantation contains chapters by major figures in the medical arena, internationally known bioethics writers, and experienced chaplains from the clinical setting of transplantation, as well as respected pastoral theologians. The authors, who include Art Caplan, Donald Capps, and Jack Copeland, explain transplantation completely for the nonmedical person and delve into the myriad ethical and religious issues and controversies surrounding organ donation and transplantation. Enlightening chapters clarify issues and help readers better understand the transplantation process, making them more effective in their work with transplant patients. Organ Transplantation in Religious, Ethical and Social Context is divided into three sections. The first emphasizes transplantation as a team effort. Chapters focus on the various roles of chaplains and other team members. Section two addresses ethical questions which arise from transplantation and organ donation and includes interfaith perspectives. The third section is dedicated to theological and pastoral views concerning transplantation. Some specific topics discussed in this book include: a surgeon's perspective of the role of the chaplain influence of psychosocial factors in the heart transplantation decision process ministry to organ recipients and their families the special relationship between the transplant coordinator and the transplant patient Catholic and interfaith perspectives on organ donation using the Psalms as a pastoral resource with transplant patients Hospital chaplains, transplant social workers, transplant coordinators, and other professionals interested or involved in the process of organ transplantation will find this book to be full of interesting and thought-provoking insights and information.
11. The Meaning of Gift in Organ Transplantation, The Ethics of Organ Transplantation by
An ever-increasing demand for organs, with over 100,000 people on waiting lists, has driven a relentless search for new sources of organs. In 1995 the American Medical Association supported taking organs from anencephalic infants, children born without brains. In 1999 the Chinese government began removing organs from members of the politically outcast religious group Falun Gong, making a lucrative profit from sales to foreigners. Recently in Belgium physicians have euthanized a patient by removing her organs. The search for fresh organs began much earlier, in 1968, when death was redefined, so that well-preserved organs could be removed from brain dead individuals. The early 1990s saw the introduction of donation after cardiac death, in which organs are taken from individuals whose hearts could still be resuscitated. Over the last two decades various countries have attempted markets in the sale of organs. Each of these sources of organs raises ethical concerns. Is brain death truly death, or by taking the heart of the brain-dead individual do we thereby kill him? When a person's heart stops beating is it permissible to prepare his organs for transplantation, even though we could choose to resuscitate him? Can we take organs from an infant without a brain? If a woman no longer wishes to live, can she donate her organs to others in an act of beneficent suicide? Is a market in organs acceptable? These questions and others are thoughtfully probed in this collection of essays, which features articles from theologians, philosophers, physicians, biomedical ethicists, and an attorney. ABOUT THE EDITOR: Steven J. Jensen is associate professor of philosophy at the University of St. Thomas in Houston and specializes in the areas of ethics and medieval philosophy. He is the author of Good and Evil Actions: A Journey through Saint Thomas Aquinas (CUA Press). CONTRIBUTORS: Romanus Cessario, O.P., Thomas I. Cochrane, Thomas L. Cook, Jason T. Eberl, A. A. Howsepian, Robert E. Hurley, Thomas Hurley, Steven J. Jensen, Christopher Kaczor, Witold Kania, David Matas, D. Alan Shewmon, Janet E. Smith, and Leslie M. Whetstine PRAISE FOR THE BOOK: "The Ethics of Organ Transplantation summarizes important questions in the transplant debate and presents a significant contribution to continued development of the discourse of this most important subject. This work underscores fears of the slippery slope of organ transplantation and provides up-to-date coverage of the important and related issues."--Edmund D. Pellegrino, M.D., Professor Emeritus of Medicine and Medical Ethics, Georgetown University
Raising the Dead : Organ Transplants, Ethics, and Society by
Perhaps no medical breakthrough in the twentieth century is more spectacular, more hope-giving, or more fraught with ethical questions than organ transplantation. Each year some 25,000 Americans are pulled back from the brink of death by receiving vital new organs. Another 5,000 die whilewaiting for them. And what distinguishes these two groups has become the source of one of our thorniest ethical questions.In Raising the Dead, Ronald Munson offers a vivid, often wrenchingly dramatic account of how transplants are performed, how we decide who receives them, and how we engage the entire range of tough issues that arise because of them. Each chapter begins with a detailed account of a specificcase--Mickey Mantle's controversial liver transplant, for example--followed by careful analysis of its surrounding ethical questions (the charges that Mantle received special treatment because he was a celebrity, the larger problems involving how organs are allocated, and whether alcoholics shouldhave an equal claim on donor livers). In approaching transplant ethics through specific cases, Munson reminds us of the complex personal and emotional dimension that underlies such issues. The book also ranges beyond our present capabilities to explore the future possibilities in xenotransplantation(transplanting animal organs into humans) and stem cell technology that would allow doctors to grow new organs from the patient's own cells.Based on extensive scientific research, but written with a novelist's eye for the human condition, Raising the Dead shows readers the reality of organ transplantation now, the possibility of what it may become, and how we might respond to the ethical challenges it forces us to confront.
March 25 Lecture 9: Distributive Health Care
Chapter 7: A Global Perspective on the Care of Medically Vulnerable and Underserved Populations----Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice, Populations, Second Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The leading reference and text on caring for underserved patients and those with highly unique health requirements - updated and expanded in full color A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice and Populations, Second Edition is designed to clarify current issues and instruct you in best practices and compliance with legislation, such as the Affordable Care Act, when caring for patients living with chronic diseases in poor and minority populations. How do these laws affect you, your practice, and patient care? Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients is ideally suited for clinical and educational programs and policy-oriented institutions concerned with addressing health disparities and caring for the underserved and vulnerable patient. Comprehensive in scope and authored by many of the leading names in the field, the book takes complex concepts and issues and helps you understand them, resulting in a "roadmap" to guide real-world applications and compliance with the terms of the law. Each chapter integrates key concepts, core competencies, and common pitfalls and concludes with useful lists of web resources and stimulating discussion questions. Highlights of the Second Edition:
Chapter 10: Quality of Health Care -- Understanding Health Policy: a Clinical Approach, Eighth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most trusted and comprehensive guide to the healthcare system--fully updated with the latest changes and trends Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach provides everything you need to master the healthcare system's nuances and complexities, work more effectively with other members of healthcare teams, and identify areas in need of change. Written by practicing primary care physicians who are experts in healthcare policy, this peerless guide covers the entire scope of the U.S. healthcare system and draws on lessons from systems in other nations. The authors carefully weave key principles, descriptions, and concrete examples into chapters that make vital health policy issues interesting and understandable. Whether you're a student, medical practitioner, or public policy professional, you will come away with a clearer, more systematic way of thinking about our healthcare system, its biggest challenges, and the most effective ways of making it better for everyone. Features * Covers every aspect of healthcare, including finance, organization, and reimbursement * Delivers updated information on the Affordable Care Act, Accountable Care Organizations, and system consolidation * Provides new insights into the role of social determinants in patient health * Clinical vignettes highlight key policy issues and clarify difficult concepts
Universal Healthcare by
This accessibly written book explains universal healthcare; the many forms it can take; and the issues, debates, and historical context underpinning the continued struggle for its implementation in the United States. Universal healthcare may be defined as any healthcare system that ensures at least basic coverage to most, if not all, citizens of a country. Although it may be implemented in many ways, universal healthcare has been widely accepted by international humanitarian organizations such as the World Health Organization (WHO) as the best way to ensure the universal human right to health. So why is the United States the only industrialized country without universal healthcare? What are the political, social, and economic factors that have prevented its successful introduction? Universal Healthcare explores what universal healthcare is, the many forms it can take--using examples from countries around the world--and the tumultuous history of attempts to implement a system of universal healthcare in the United States. Part II delves into the contentious issues and debates surrounding adoption of universal healthcare in the United States. Lastly, Part III provides a variety of useful materials, including case studies, a timeline of critical events, a glossary, and a directory of resources. * Explains complex concepts and terms related to healthcare systems and healthcare coverage in simple, easy-to-understand language * Explores key issues and roadblocks to adoption of a universal healthcare system in the United States, including concerns over cost and quality of care * Provides illuminating case studies that use engaging scenarios to highlight how universal healthcare--or the lack thereof--can affect individuals and families * Includes a useful Directory of Resources to guide readers in their search for additional information
April 1 Lecture 10 Women and Medicine
Chapter 8: Women and Health Disparities: Specific Issues, Concerns and Solutions by
The Second Edition of this forward-thinking text goes beyond the discussion of health disparities to highlight the importance of health equity. As the new title suggests, Health Equity, Diversity and Inclusion: Context, Controversies, and Solutions helps the reader understand key social justice issues relevant to health disparities and/or health equity, taking the reader from the classroom to the real world to implement new solutions.Key Features:- Two new chapters: one on the impact of urban education on urban health (Ch 4) and another covering the elderly and health equity (Ch 10)- Updated and enhanced coverage on men's health, demographic data, the importance of cultural proficiency, maternal mortality and Black women, and much more.- Current trends and movements, including the role of social media in the provision of health care information for improved health literacy; mass incarceration and criminal justice reform; and new efforts toward resolving health disparities.- Case studies and problems that engage students in thinking about health disparities/equity and diversity issues and prompt them to consider possible solutions.
April 8 Lecture 12: Epidemic! AIDS and HIV
1. Eradication and Public Health -- Eradication : Ridding the World of Diseases Forever? by
The dream of a world completely free of disease may seem utopian, but eradication--used in its modern sense to mean the reduction of the number of cases of a disease to zero by deliberate public health interventions--has been pursued repeatedly. Campaigns against yellow fever, malaria, and smallpox have been among the largest, most costly programs ever undertaken in international public health. But only one so far has been successful--that against smallpox. And yet in 2007 Bill and Melinda Gates surprised the world with the announcement that they were committing their foundation to eradicating malaria. Polio eradication is another of their priorities. Are such costly programs really justifiable? The first comprehensive account of the major disease-eradication campaigns from the early twentieth century right up to the present, Eradication places these ambitious goals in their broad historical and contemporary contexts. From the life and times of the American arch-eradicationist Dr. Fred Lowe Soper (1893-1977), who was at the center of many of the campaigns and controversies surrounding eradication in his lifetime, to debates between proponents of primary health care approaches to ill health versus the eradicationists, Nancy Leys Stepan's narrative suggests that today these differing public health approaches may be complementary rather than in conflict. Enlightening for general readers and specialists alike, Eradication is an illuminating look at some of the most urgent problems of health and disease around the world.
Chapter 12. The Future of Epidemic Disease, Epidemics : the Impact of Germs and Their Power over Humanity by
This book comprehensively reviews the 10 most influential epidemics in history, going beyond morbid accounts of symptoms and statistics to tell the often forgotten stories of what made these epidemics so calamitous. Unlike other books on epidemics, which either focus on the science behind how microbes cause disease or tell first-person accounts of one particular disease, Epidemics: The Impact of Germs and Their Power over Humanity takes a holistic approach to explaining how these diseases have shaped who we are as a society. Each of the worst epidemic diseases is discussed from the perspective of how it has been a causative agent of change with respect to our history, religious traditions, social interactions, and technology. In looking at world history through the lens of epidemic diseases, readers will come to appreciate how much we owe to the oldest and smallest parasites. Adults and students interested in science and history--and especially anyone who appreciates a good story and has a healthy curiosity for the lesser-known facts of life--will find this book of interest. Health-care workers will also benefit greatly from this text, as will college students majoring in biology or a pre-health field. Discusses epidemic disease as a major driving force in shaping our world Brings epidemic diseases out of the background of historical narratives and demonstrates how they have had an immensely important role in deciding wars, toppling empires, sparking major leaps in technology, and even changing the human genome Integrates science with history, sociology, religion, and other disciplines to provide the reader with a unique perspective not found in most other accounts of epidemic disease Shares fascinating insights such as how an epidemic of yellow fever helped to double the size of the United States and why tuberculosis was once considered a disease of the intellectual elite
Additional Case Studies:
Case Study: The Canadian System as a Model for the United States of America (Great Britain, France, or Japan may be substituted)
Case Study: Case Study: Magic Johnson ESPN Documentary "The Announcement"
Case Study: Psychotropic Drugs and Violence
Source: Pixabay
Resources listed on these guides are compiled by librarians at the R.A. Williams Library. We accept content recommendations, and after review, may include suggested resources on a guide. Our time is limited, so we generally do not reply to unsolicited recommendations from individuals not affiliated with AdventHealth University or notify them regarding whether or not we have linked to suggested content.