Chemistry Essentials for Dummies by
Chemistry Essentials For Dummies (9781119591146) was previously published as Chemistry Essentials For Dummies (9780470618363). While this version features a new Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the prior release and should not be considered a new or updated product. Whether studying chemistry as part of a degree requirement or as part of a core curriculum, students will find Chemistry Essentials For Dummies to be an invaluable quick reference guide to the fundamentals of this often challenging course. Chemistry Essentials For Dummies contains content focused on key topics only, with discrete explanations of critical concepts taught in a typical two-semester high school chemistry class or a college level Chemistry I course, from bonds and reactions to acids, bases, and the mole. This guide is also a perfect reference for parents who need to review critical chemistry concepts as they help high school students with homework assignments, as well as for adult learners headed back into the classroom who just need to a refresher of the core concepts. The Essentials For Dummies Series Dummies is proud to present our new series, The Essentials For Dummies. Now students who are prepping for exams, preparing to study new material, or who just need a refresher can have a concise, easy-to-understand review guide that covers an entire course by concentrating solely on the most important concepts. From algebra and chemistry to grammar and Spanish, our expert authors focus on the skills students most need to succeed in a subject.
Schaum's Outline of Beginning Chemistry by
Tough Test Questions? Missed Lectures? Not Enough Time? Fortunately, there's Schaum's. This all-in-one-package includes more than 650 fully solved problems, examples, and practice exercises to sharpen your problem-solving skills. Plus, you will have access to 16 detailed videos featuring Chemistry instructors who explain the most commonly tested concepts--it's just like having your own virtual tutor!nbsp;You'll find everything you need to build confidence, skills, and knowledge for the highest score possible. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you 673 fully solved problems Hundreds of examples with explanations of chemistry concepts Support for all the major textbooks for beginning chemistry courses Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum’s to shorten your study time--and get your best test scores! Schaum’s Outlines--Problem Solved.
Clinical Chemistry, 9th edition by
Clinical Chemistry considers what happens to the body's chemistry when affected by disease. It provides introductory coverage of the scientific basis for biochemistry tests routinely used in medicine - including tests for the assessment of organ function, diagnosis and monitoring disease activity and therapy efficacy. Each topic area begins with a concise description of the underlying physiological and biochemical principles and then applies them to patient investigation and management. The regular use of case histories helps further emphasise clinical relevance and chapter key points, as well as provide a useful starting point for examination revision. The clear and engaging writing style appreciated by generations of readers has been retained in this latest (ninth) edition, while the content has been thoroughly updated throughout. The approach and scope of this trusted text makes it ideal for integrated medical curricula, for medical training and for students and practitioners of clinical and biomedical science. The complementary eBook version (with the printed book), including additional cases and self-assessment material, completes this superb learning package. Updated to incorporate the latest changes in practice - including new tests and the most recent evidence-based guidance 'Light bulb' sections give practical advice and clarify difficult concepts or potential pitfalls New 'Red flag' boxes highlight the results which should cause immediate concern to clinicians Updated references to core guidelines reflect latest best practice (Print) includes complete, downloadable eBook on Student Consult Also BONUS materials - interactive clinical cases and MCQs - to reinforce interpretive skills, check understanding and aid exam preparation Updated to incorporate the latest changes in practice - including new tests and the most recent evidence-based guidance - plus a new chapter on clinical chemistry in pediatrics. Figures, tables, boxes, and case studies aid understanding and learning. 'Light bulb' sections give practical advice and clarify difficult concepts or potential pitfalls. New 'Red flag' boxes highlight the results which should cause immediate concern to clinicians. Updated references to core guidelines reflect latest best practice. BONUS materials on Student Consult include interactive clinical cases and MCQs - to reinforce interpretive skills, check understanding and aid exam preparation. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Clinical Chemistry, Immunology and Laboratory Quality Control by
Clinical Chemistry, Immunology and Laboratory Quality Control: A Comprehensive Review for Board Preparation, Certification and Clinical Practice, Second Edition presents core topics and 70 case studies that illustrate the application of clinical chemistry knowledge to everyday patient care. This succinct reference offers practical examples of how things function in the pathology clinic with useful lists, key points, case studies and a bullet point format ideal for quick pre-board review. While larger textbooks in clinical chemistry provide highly detailed information regarding instrumentation and statistics, this book is designed to educate senior medical students, residents and fellows on how tests are performed. This second edition successfully helps pathology residents gain command of clinical chemistry, toxicology, immunology, and laboratory statistics in an effort to help them prepare for the American Board of Pathology examination. Clinical chemistry is a topic in which many senior medical students and pathology residents face challenges.
Self-Assessment Q&a in Clinical Laboratory Science, III by
Self-assessment Q&A in Clinical Laboratory Science, III, adds a variety of subject matter that addresses new concepts and emerging technology, particularly in the areas of kidney biomarkers, cancer biomarkers, molecular diagnostics, multiple myeloma, pharmacogenomics, novel cardiovascular biomarkers and biomarkers of neurologic diseases. The field of Clinical Laboratory Science continues to evolve and editor Alan Wu has once again brought together experts in the field to cover the contemporary topics that are being tested today. This updated bank of questions and answers is a must-have to sharpen knowledge and skills.
Tutorials in Clinical Chemistry by
Tutorials in Clinical Chemistry is designed for trainee pathology residents, clinical chemists, medical students, and clinical laboratory scientists, in addition to those preparing for board and postgraduate examination. It is helpful to those in training as well as a teaching aid for mentors, faculty, and directors. The book is organized into 17 system-based chapters covering essential pathophysiology, biochemical investigation, and technical aspects of relevance to results interpretation. Tutorials in Clinical Chemistry is a must-have, didactic and essential knowledge as well as practical resource for learning and review.
QU - 1 - 500 Biochemistry
QU 4 - General Works
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry, Thirty-Second Edition by
The biochemistry fundamentals every medical student needs to master--presented clearly and succinctly, with numerous case studies Concise but packed with medically relevant examples, Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry combines top-quality full-color illustrations with authoritative integrated coverage of biochemical disease. This authoritative clinical guide includes more than 600 illustrations, with each chapter featuring a section on biomedical importance summarizing the given topic. This authoritative guide presents information in a way that helps you retain everything you read, including case studies emphasizing the clinical relevance of biochemistry, review questions following each of the eleven sections, "Objectives" boxes defining the goals of each chapter, and tables encapsulating key information you must know. In addition, the authors have updated this edition with a new chapter on the importance and pervasiveness of transition metals. Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry, Thirty-Second Edition delivers critical coverage of: Toxic naturally occurring amino acids Extraterrestrial biomolecules Computer-aided drug design cells, basophils, and eosinophils The role of complement cascade in bacterial and viral infection Secreted mediators of cell-cell signaling between leukocytes The hazard of antioxidants that down-regulate radical signaling for apoptosis and increase risk of cancer And much more
QD - 146-197 Inorganic Chemistry
QD - 450-801 Physical and Theortical Chemistry
QD - 250's Organic Chemistry
Basic Organic Chemistry for the Life Sciences by
This book is designed for students of biology, molecular biology, ecology, medicine, agriculture, forestry and other professions where the knowledge of organic chemistry plays the important role. The work may also be of interest to non-professionals, as well as to teachers in high schools. The book consists of 11 chapters that cover: - basic principles of structure and constitution of organic compounds, - the elements of the nomenclature, - the concepts of the nature of chemical bond, - introductions in NMR and IR spectroscopy, - the concepts and main classes of the organic reaction mechanisms, - reactions and properties of common classes or organic compounds, - and the introduction to the chemistry of the natural organic products followed by basic principles of the reactions in living cells.
Organic Chemist's Desk Reference by
Launched in 1995 as a companion to the Dictionary of Organic Compounds, the Organic Chemist's Desk Reference has been essential reading for laboratory chemists who need a succinct guide to the 'nuts and bolts' of organic chemistry -- the literature, nomenclature, stereochemistry, spectroscopy, hazard information, and laboratory data. This third edition reflects changes in the dissemination of chemical information, revisions to chemical nomenclature, and the adoption of new techniques in NMR spectroscopy, which have taken place since publication of the last edition in 2011. Organic chemistry embraces many other disciplines -- from material sciences to molecular biology -- whose practitioners will benefit from the comprehensive but concise information brought together in this book. Extensively revised and updated, this new edition contains the very latest data that chemists need access to for experimentation and research.
Organic Chemistry : 100 Must-Know Mechanisms by
This book summarizes 100 essential mechanisms in organic chemistry ranging from classical such as the Reformatsky Reaction from 1887 to recently elucidated mechanism such as the copper(I)-catalyzed alkyne-azide cycloaddition. The reactions are easy to grasp, well-illustrated and underpinned with explanations and additional information.
Organic Chemistry as a second language -- second semester topics by
Readers continue to turn to Klein's Organic Chemistry As a Second Language: Second Semester Topics, 4th Edition because it enables them to better understand fundamental principles, solve problems, and focus on what they need to know to succeed. The fourth edition explores the major principles in the field and explains why they are relevant. It is written in a way that clearly shows the patterns in organic chemistry so that readers can gain a deeper conceptual understanding of the material. Topics are presented clearly in an accessible writing style along with numerous hands-on problem solving exercises.
Resources listed on these guides are compiled by librarians at the R.A. Williams Library. We accept content recommendations, and after review, may include suggested resources on a guide. Our time is limited, so we generally do not reply to unsolicited recommendations from individuals not affiliated with AdventHealth University or notify them regarding whether or not we have linked to suggested content.