Analytical chemistry - the subdivision of chemistry dealing with the qualitative and quantitative determination of chemical components of substances
Biochemistry - chemistry that deals with the chemical compounds and processes occurring in organisms
Organic chemistry - the branch of chemistry, originally limited to substances found only in living organisms, dealing with the compounds of carbon
Sources: dictionary.com ; merriam webster ;
A Dictionary of Chemistry by
A Dictionary of Chemistry is a popular and authoritative guide to all aspects of its discipline. With over 5,000 entries, its broad coverage includes physical chemistry and biochemistry, and is heavily informed by the most current research. For this eighth edition, the Dictionary has been fully revised, making it the most up-to-date reference work of its kind. Over 170 entirely new entries have been added, including bioethanol, genome, molecular spintronics, oganesson, phosphorylation, and reticular chemistry. Areas such as analytical chemistry, environmental chemistry, and organic chemistry have been expanded to reflect recent developments in the field. The dictionary's supplementary material has also been enhanced as new diagrams provide readers with useful visual aids, and the appendices have been substantially updated. All web links have been revised and updated, and are easily accessible via the companion website.
Learn about the Periodic Table:
Most books on chemistry can be found in the QD or QU section of the library or as an eBook.
Here are a few samples.
Chemistry Essentials for Dummies by
Chemistry Essentials For Dummies (9781119591146) was previously published as Chemistry Essentials For Dummies (9780470618363). While this version features a new Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the prior release and should not be considered a new or updated product. Whether studying chemistry as part of a degree requirement or as part of a core curriculum, students will find Chemistry Essentials For Dummies to be an invaluable quick reference guide to the fundamentals of this often challenging course. Chemistry Essentials For Dummies contains content focused on key topics only, with discrete explanations of critical concepts taught in a typical two-semester high school chemistry class or a college level Chemistry I course, from bonds and reactions to acids, bases, and the mole. This guide is also a perfect reference for parents who need to review critical chemistry concepts as they help high school students with homework assignments, as well as for adult learners headed back into the classroom who just need to a refresher of the core concepts. The Essentials For Dummies Series Dummies is proud to present our new series, The Essentials For Dummies. Now students who are prepping for exams, preparing to study new material, or who just need a refresher can have a concise, easy-to-understand review guide that covers an entire course by concentrating solely on the most important concepts. From algebra and chemistry to grammar and Spanish, our expert authors focus on the skills students most need to succeed in a subject.
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Chemistry, 3rd Edition by 
Molecules That Changed the World: A Brief History of the Art and Science of Synthesis and Its Impact on Society by 
Schaum's Outline of Beginning Chemistry by PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
"PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more." -- source: PubChem
Call Numbers related to Chemistry:
QD -- Chemistry
QD - 71-142 Analytical Chemistry
QD - 146-197 Inorganic Chemistry
QD - 241-441 Organic Chemistry
QU - Biochemistry. Cell Biology. Genetics.
Resources listed on these guides are compiled by librarians at the R.A. Williams Library. We accept content recommendations, and after review, may include suggested resources on a guide. Our time is limited, so we generally do not reply to unsolicited recommendations from individuals not affiliated with AdventHealth University or notify them regarding whether or not we have linked to suggested content.