Bedside Matters : A Journey Through Doctor ̶Patient Communication by
This unique book draws upon a collection of essays and personal reflections by Dr Peter Tate, covering at least half a century of his experience of trying to understand, define and improve communication between doctors and patients. Adopting a light, conversational and often humorous tone, the book covers a broad range of situations encountered during the lead author's career as a general practitioner, his seminal research into understanding doctor-patient communication, and his subsequent role in both teaching and developing the internationally-recognised Royal College of General Practice's membership video examination. This book demonstrates that clinical experiences, both professional and personal, are fundamental to our perception of what is important and what matters most in medicine. Key features: Unique and personal account of the development of this vital but often overlooked aspect of medicine Engaging and light-hearted, yet academically rigorous Draws on experiences gathered during clinical practice, research and teaching From the authors of the popular The Doctor's Communication Handbook, now in its eighth edition In reading Bedside Matters doctors, and particularly general practitioners, will not only learn from the author's experiences, but will be encouraged to reflect on their own clinical and personal experiences, and to use these to better understand and improve their own communication techniques. The author: Peter Tate is a retired General Practitioner, UK With editorial contributions from: Francesca Frame, a General Practitioner based in Cambridgeshire, UK
By the Bedside of the Patient : lessons for the twenty-first century physician by
In By the Bedside of the Patient, Nortin Hadler places current efforts to reform medical education--from the undergraduate level through residency programs and on to continuing medical education--in historical context. In doing so, he traces the evolution of medical school curricula, residency and fellowship programs, and the clinical practices they promoted. Hadler examines crucial junctures in history to locate the seeds for reform. Some believe that medical education and training should highlight literature, ethics, and culture, while others emphasize science and efficiency to abbreviate the time from entry to licensure. Neither of these approaches, Hadler argues, maintains or improves patient care, which should be at the core of medical education and practice. Hadler contends that most reform attempted thus far constitutes, at best, little more than a reshuffling of the basic curriculum and, at worst, an augmenting of medicine's predilection to measure, grade, and record. Examining generational changes in medical education, Hadler mines sixty years of training and practice to identify mistaken approaches and best practices. Ultimately, in the contemporary era of managed care, Hadler argues for a clinical practice that draws on the best available scientific knowledge, transmits the wisdom of experienced clinicians, reforges an empathetic relationship between physician and patient, and treats each patient as an individual--all centered on restoring the mandate to care.
Communication Skills : For Nursing and Healthcare Students
Patient Care in Radiography by
Learn to master radiography patient care with the book that covers it best! With step-by-step instructions and more than 400 full-color illustrations, Patient Care in Radiography, 10th Edition is the perfect resource to help teach you effective radiography patient care. Each chapter expertly guides you through the latest guidelines, carefully making the connection between the topics being discussed and how they relate to patient care. An emphasis is placed on the skills and procedures that are imperative for quality patient care - including safety, transfer, positioning, infection control, and patient assessment. Also included is information on microbiology, emerging diseases, trans-cultural communication, ECGs, administering medications, and bedside radiography to ensure you are well-versed in both the technical and interpersonal skills needed for professional practice. Coverage of patient care and procedural skills helps provide safe, high-quality patient care and technical proficiency. Step-by-step procedures are shown in photo essays, demonstrated with more than 400 full-color illustrations.? Case studies focus on medicolegal terms, standards, and applications and help build problem-solving skills. Coverage of infection control helps emphasize the importance of preventing the spread of diseases. Special Imaging Modalities chapter provides an overview of patient care for a wide range of imaging methods. Chapter outlines, objectives, key terms, summaries, review questions, and critical thinking exercises focus on the key information in each chapter. Answers to the review questions are included in the back of the book. NEW! New images highlight many patient procedures and visually demonstrate how to care for patients. NEW! Updated content covers the most current exams, procedures, and technologies, as well as the most current information from the American Society of Radiologic Technologists.
A Physician Guidebook to the Best Patient Experience by 
See Me As a Person : Creating Therapeutic Relationships with Patients and Their Families by
The therapeutic relationship between clinicians and patients is what brings Relationship-Based Care to life. Within the world of health care, the act of therapeutic connection is not owned by any one profession. The responsibility to offer authentic and compassionate care to another human being is something we all share. In our chaotic and time constrained environments in which technical and complex demands prevail, clinicians struggle as they strive every day to connect with the patients and families in their care. This national award winning book offers guiding principles and a practical methodology that facilitate the clinician's ability to form authentic relationships which improve patient safety and the overall experience of care. Therapeutic relationships are the very heart of Relationship-Based Care. The purpose of the therapeutic relationship is to facilitate the capacity of patients and their loved ones to cope with illness and to take ownership for their healing and health. It is grounded in medical, nursing, and psychological research, and it is also plainly built on the healing power of authentic connection.
Teaching Empathy in Healthcare by
Empathy is essential to effectively engaging patients as partners in care. Clinicians' empathy is increasingly understood as a professional competency, a mode and process of relating that can be learned and taught. Communication and empathy training are penetrating healthcare professions curricula as knowledge about the most effective modalities to train, maintain, and deepen empathy grows. This book draws on a wide range of contributors across many disciplines, and takes an evidence-based and longitudinal approach to clinical empathy education. It takes the reader on an engaging journey from understanding what empathy is (and how it can be measured), to approaches to empathy education informed by those understandings. It elaborates the benefits of embedding empathy training in graduate and post-graduate curricula and the importance of teaching empathy in accord with the clinician's stage of professional development. Finally, it examines systemic perspectives on empathy and empathy education in the clinical setting, addressing issues such as equity, stigma, and law. Each section is full of the latest evidence-based research, including, notably, the advances that have been made over recent decades in the neurobiology of empathy. Perspectives among the interdisciplinary chapters include: Neurobiology of empathy Measuring empathy in healthcare Teaching clinicians about affect Teaching cultural humility: Understanding the core of others by reflecting on ours Empathy and implicit bias: Can empathy training improve equity? Teaching Empathy in Healthcare: Building a New Core Competency takes an innovative and comprehensive approach towards a developed understanding of empathy in the clinical context. This evidence-based book is set to become a classic text on the topic of empathy in healthcare settings, and will appeal to a broad readership of clinicians, educators, and researchers in clinical medicine, neuroscience, behavioral health, and the social sciences, leaders in educational and professional organizations, and anyone interested in the healthcare services they utilize.
Understanding Clinical Negotiation by
A clinician's guide to maximizing patient outcomes and positive health care relationships with evidence-based communication tools Understanding Clinical Negotiation helps clinicians navigate patient desires toward mutually defined goals. Patient relations, satisfaction, and engagement are more important than ever. But today's patients, who often research their condition online or buy into direct-to-consumer pharma advertising, sometimes demand tests and treatments that are dubious or unnecessary--and expensive. This new health consumer landscape makes the ability to clinically negotiate with patients an increasingly important skill. This one-of-a-kind guide provides insights and pragmatic skills needed to strike the right balance between care and costs, while ensuring the satisfaction and safety of every patient.
What Patients Say, What Doctors Hear by
Can refocusing conversations between doctors and their patients lead to better health? Despite modern medicine's infatuation with high-tech gadgetry, the single most powerful diagnostic tool is the doctor-patient conversation, which can uncover the lion's share of illnesses. However, what patients say and what doctors hear are often two vastly different things. Patients, anxious to convey their symptoms, feel an urgency to "make their case" to their doctors. Doctors, under pressure to be efficient, multitask while patients speak and often miss the key elements. Add in stereotypes, unconscious bias, conflicting agendas, and fear of lawsuits and the risk of misdiagnosis and medical errors multiplies dangerously. Though the gulf between what patients say and what doctors hear is often wide, Dr. Danielle Ofri proves that it doesn't have to be. Through the powerfully resonant human stories that Dr. Ofri's writing is renowned for, she explores the high-stakes world of doctor-patient communication that we all must navigate. Reporting on the latest research studies and interviewing scholars, doctors, and patients, Dr. Ofri reveals how better communication can lead to better health for all of us.
Appreciative Healthcare Practice: A Guide to Compassionate, Person-centred Care by 
A Journey Towards Patient-Centered Healthcare Quality : Patients, Families and Caregivers, Voices of Transformation by
This book provides valuable insight into emerging trends in healthcare delivery; patient, family and caregiver engagement and the intersection of the two. It is unique in that it not only incorporates patient's voice but provides context in the application of patients' families and caregivers in healthcare transformation and the future of healthcare models. It is suited toward not only promoting empathy toward patients but also challenging the reader to learn and think about the future of healthcare and the value of patient's voice in policy making and decisions about healthcare. It provides valuable information on quality improvement, consumer experience and emerging careers in this area with practical information and interventions. Nurses and other members of the care team play a critical role in the evolving models of care and must stay abreast of emerging trend to ensure that patients' needs are met while contributing to meeting the quality and economic goals of the organizations and care settings in which they work. This book will help to ensure that they remain abreast of changing trends in quality improvement, quality measurement, cost, health information technology and patient and family engagement so that they are in a position to lead their teams and organizations. Direct accounts from patients, family and caregivers who want their "voices" heard are incorporated throughout the book.
Possible Terms to Use:
Compassionate care
Clinician-patient communication
Medical personnel and patient
Nurse-patient communication or relations
Patient Care
Patient-centered healthcare
Patient communication
Patient-provider communication
Physician-patient communication
Radiographer-patient relationship
Sonographer-patient interaction
Therapist-patient relationship
Resources listed on these guides are compiled by librarians at the R.A. Williams Library. We accept content recommendations, and after review, may include suggested resources on a guide. Our time is limited, so we generally do not reply to unsolicited recommendations from individuals not affiliated with AdventHealth University or notify them regarding whether or not we have linked to suggested content.