Radiographic Imaging and Exposure by
Get a head start in producing quality images and fewer repeat radiographs with Fauber's Radiographic Imaging and Exposure, 5th Edition. Covering both digital radiography and film-screen radiography, this practical text is the key to mastering the fundamentals of imaging, passing the ARRT certification exam, and becoming a successful radiography professional. Along with the radiography protection alerts, mathematical applications, and concise writing style retained from the last edition, this new edition features updated content reflecting the latest ARRT and ASRT content, expanded coverage of digital fluoroscopy, and enhanced content on problem-solving in situations of poor-quality radiographs. Extensive digital radiography coverage helps readers learn to acquire, process, and display digital images while discussing the advantages and limitations of digital vs. film processes. Concentration on imaging and exposure lays the groundwork for becoming a competent radiographer. Radiation Protection alerts highlight the variables that impact patient exposure and how radiographers can control them. Important Relationships sections recap the relationships among concepts being discussed, calling attention to how they relate to one another. Mathematical Applications sections show how mathematical concepts and formulas are applied in the clinical setting. Straightforward and concise writing style makes the content understandable and accessible. Review questions are provided for every chapter with answers in the back of book. Bulleted summaries at the ends of chapters offer a quick review of the key concepts just covered in the chapter. Appendices provide an easy-to-use format for quick reference and studying important concepts and formulas. Glossary of key terms serves as a quick reference for key terms covered throughout the book. NEW! Expanded coverage of digital fluoroscopy including up-to-date information on LCD and Plasma displays provide a better understanding of the latest professional equipment. NEW! Revised content on image evaluation covers both film and digital along with problem-solving scenarios for poor quality and recommendations for improvement. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest content outlined by the ARRT and ASRT.
Radiography in the Digital Age : Physics - Exposure - Radiation Biology by
This 3rd edition of Radiography in the Digital Age was peer-reviewed by five colleagues who brought many valuable corrections and improvements to the text. The entire textbook has been converted to metric units, and to Systeme International (SI) units for radiation biology and protection. This was done to make it more usable for an international community of educators, and to align with the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists' adoption of SI units in 2016. The ability of digital processing not only to generally compensate for scatter radiation, but to correct specific fog patterns in the image is more fully explained. Many crisp illustrations have been added, along with helpful tables and refinements to the text designed to make the entire presentation more student-friendly. Remarkable clarity and concise descriptions help the student with more complicated topics, especially in the digital domain. The practical limitations of digital features such as smoothing and edge enhancement are covered with their direct implications for clinical application. Several sections have been deleted, moved or reorganized to provide smoother transitions and development of the topics, with particular focus on the digital imaging chapters. Material on rescaling the digital image has been greatly strengthened, and new graphs have been added that make histogram analysis and errors mush easier to grasp. The comprehensiveness and detailed presentation of this book will deepen the collective conversation, challenge thinking, and give up-to-date tools that may be used today.
Global Health Informatics : How Information Technology Can Change Our Lives in a Globalized World by
Global Health Informatics: How Information Technology Can Change Our Lives in a Globalized World discusses the critical role of information and communication technologies in health practice, health systems management and research in increasingly interconnected societies. In a global interconnected world the old standalone institutional information systems have proved to be inadequate for patient-centered care provided by multiple providers, for the early detection and response to emerging and re-emerging diseases, and to guide population-oriented public health interventions. The book reviews pertinent aspects and successful current experiences related to standards for health information systems; digital systems as a support for decision making, diagnosis and therapy; professional and client education and training; health systems operation; and intergovernmental collaboration.
Healthcare Informatics by
"This book addresses how health apps, in-home measurement devices, telemedicine, data mining, and artificial intelligence and smart medical algorithms are all enabled by the transition to a digital health infrastructure.....it provides a comprehensive background with which to understand what is happening in healthcare informatics and why."--C. William Hanson, III, MD, Chief Medical Information Officer and Vice President, University of Pennsylvania Health System. "This book is dedicated to the frontline healthcare workers, who through their courage and honor to their profession, helped maintain a reliable service to the population at large, during a chaotic time. These individuals withstood fear and engaged massive uncertainty and risk to perform their duties of providing care to those in need at a time of crisis. May the world never forget the COVID-19 pandemic and the courage of our healthcare workers".--Stephan P. Kudyba, Author Healthcare Informatics: Evolving Strategies in the Digital Era focuses on the services, technologies, and processes that are evolving in the healthcare industry. It begins with an introduction to the factors that are driving the digital age as it relates to the healthcare sector and then covers strategic topics such as risk management, project management, and knowledge management that are essential for successful digital initiatives. It delves into facets of the digital economy and how healthcare is adapting to the geographic, demographic, and physical needs of the population and highlights the emergence and importance of apps and telehealth. It also provides a high-level approach to managing pandemics by applying the various elements of the digital ecosystem. The book covers such technologies as: Computerized physician order entry (CPOE) Clinical Information Systems Alerting systems and medical sensors Electronic healthcare records (EHRs) Mobile healthcare and telehealth. Apps Business Intelligence and Decision Support Analytics Digital outreach to the population Artificial Intelligence The book then closes the loop on the efficiency enhancing process with a focus on utilizing analytics for problem solving for a variety of healthcare processes including the pharmaceutical sector. Finally, the book ends with current and futuristic views on evolving applications of AI throughout the industry.
Health Informatics : A Systems Perspective, 2nd edition by
Instructor Resources: Authors' responses to the chapter and case study discussion questions; guidance on how the case studies may be used; PowerPoint slides of the exhibits to supplement classroom discussions and lectures; and suggested activities for exploring chapter topics, including data sets. As the reach and influence of technology grow, the world becomes increasingly connected. What happens in one system--finance, manufacturing, research, infrastructure, supply chain, and many more--can have a significant impact on the activities and outcomes in other systems. Healthcare is no exception. Connecting all of these systems is vital in order to properly support clinical care. Health informatics has the potential to align these interlocking systems in a way that transforms clinical decision-making and healthcare delivery to optimize overall system performance. Health Informatics: A Systems Perspective takes a systems approach to leveraging information in healthcare and enhancing providers' capabilities through the use of technology and knowledge transfer. The book offers a conceptual framework for aligning clinical decision processes with system infrastructures, including information technology, organizational design, financing, and evaluation. The book's contributors--all leading academics and healthcare practitioners--balance theoretical viewpoints with practical considerations. Case studies and informative sidebars support theory with real-world applications, while learning objectives, key concepts, and discussion questions facilitate learning and reinforce content. A glossary, which defines the main concepts and key terminologies presented in the text, provides a useful overview of the material. Thoroughly updated and revised, the second edition includes three new chapters on information systems in relation to population health, global health systems, and alternative financial mechanisms and their compatibility with innovative delivery models. Additional topics include: The role of human resources and information technology in healthcareKnowledge-based decision-makingTransforming clinical work processesNursing informaticsPrecision medicineData and information securityAn essential resource for students and practicing managers alike, Health Informatics: A Systems Perspective explains how information technology can enable the transformation of health organizations to improve not only the quality of healthcare, but also the health of individuals and populations.
Resources listed on these guides are compiled by librarians at the R.A. Williams Library. We accept content recommendations, and after review, may include suggested resources on a guide. Our time is limited, so we generally do not reply to unsolicited recommendations from individuals not affiliated with AdventHealth University or notify them regarding whether or not we have linked to suggested content.