Fundamentals of Nursing 10th edition by
Learn the concepts and skills you need to provide excellent nursing care! Fundamentals of Nursing, 10th Edition prepares you to succeed as a nurse by providing a solid foundation in critical thinking, clinical reasoning, nursing theory, evidence-based practice, and patient-centered care in all settings. With illustrated, step-by-step guidelines, this book makes it easy to learn important skills and procedures. Care plans are presented within a nursing process framework, and case studies show how to apply concepts to nursing practice. From an expert author team led by Patricia Potter and Anne Perry, this bestselling nursing textbook helps you develop the understanding and clinical reasoning you need to succeed in the classroom and in your career. Review questions in every chapter test your retention of key concepts, with answers and rationales in the book and on the Evolve companion website; at least four of these questions are alternate format. UNIQUE! Building Competency boxes summarize QSEN competencies, each with a clinical situation followed by several open-ended questions designed to help you understand and apply these core competencies. Delegation Considerations clarify which nursing tasks can and cannot be delegated. Evidence-Based Practice chapter shows how nursing research helps in determining best practices. UPDATED Evidence-Based Practice boxes in every chapter include a PICO question - the Problem, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome - and summarize a research study along with its application to nursing practice. Over 50 nursing skills include illustrated, step-by-step instructions in a two-column format - with rationales for each step. Unexpected Outcomes and Related Interventions for each skill alert you to possible complications and appropriate nursing actions. Over 30 procedural guidelines provide streamlined, step-by-step instructions for performing basic skills. UNIQUE! Critical Thinking Models in each clinical chapter show how to apply the nursing process and critical thinking to make clinical decisions. 50 in-text case studies include clinical application questions and exercises, allowing you to practice using care plans and concept maps. UPDATED 1,100-question test bank includes multiple-choice and alternate item questions at all difficulty levels. Focus on safety and quality in the Patient Safety and Quality chapter shows how these concepts apply to nursing practice, and includes a skill on fall prevention in healthcare settings. Nursing Assessment Questions boxes help you learn to effectively phrase questions for patients. Cultural Aspects of Care boxes summarize cultural considerations and provide practical guidelines on meeting patients'' cultural needs and preferences. Patient Teaching boxes promote effective patient education by first identifying outcomes, then developing strategies on how to teach and evaluate compliance. Focus on Older Adult boxes highlight key aspects of nursing assessment and care of elderly adults. Planning sections help you plan and prioritize comprehensive patient care, with coverage of Goals and Outcomes, Setting Priorities, and Teamwork and Collaboration. Practical study tools on the Evolve companion website include video clips of nursing skills, skills checklists, a fluid & electrolytes tutorial, a concept map creator, printable key points, answers to the questions in the book, an audio glossary, and more. NEW content includes topics such as gun violence, patient safety, the opioid epidemic, and device addiction. NEW! Guidelines for the effective use of health screening cover physical and mental issues across all patient age groups from pediatric to geriatric. NEW! Reflective Learning helps you use clinical reasoning to think about your clinical and simulation experiences. NEW! Reflect Now boxes guide you through a thoughtful consideration of a recent clinical experience. NEW! Teach Back is incorporated into the Evaluation section in patient teaching boxes, reinforcing this vital communication technique. NEW! Over 100 new photos clarify procedures and familiarize you with the latest clinical equipment. NEW! Caring for Patients with Chronic Illness chapter helps you address the unique health care needs of patients who deal with chronic illness. NEW! Interprofessional collaboration and cooperation receive more emphasis. NEW objectives are clearly and precisely tied to content, making it easier to find relevant information.
A Nurse's Survival Guide to the Ward - Updated Edition by
Further to the success of the previous editions, A Nurse's Survival Guide to the Ward continues to be the indispensable guide to all the procedures and problems faced by nurses and healthcare professionals every day. Whether you are a clinical practicing student or a qualified nurse, this book is the perfect straightforward reference for every doubt you might have about emergency situations, as well as assessments, clinical procedures and much more. What will you find in this updated edition: Completely updated and revised content written by well-known authors with extensive experience in the field; Up-to-date legal issues, health and safety, professional practice issues and ethics in nursing; Expansions of areas such as oxygen administration, fluid and electrolyte balance and nutrition Completely updated and revised content written by well-known authors with extensive experience in the field; Up-to-date legal issues, health and safety, professional practice issues and ethics in nursing; Expansions of areas such as oxygen administration, fluid and electrolyte balance and nutrition
Health Assessment Made Incredibly Visual by
Ready to learn health assessment skills? The fully updated Health Assessment Made Incredibly Visual, 3rd Edition, shows you how%with humor, great visuals, and real-life scenarios. Hundreds of colorful drawings, diagrams, and photos support easy-to-follow, expert nursing instruction on the many skills needed for physical exams and assessments of every body system, from head to toe. Fulfill the requirements of student nursing%and start your nursing practice with a high standard%with this top-level direction on performing solid, accurate health assessments! Benefit from the expert wisdom of this invaluable guide, featuring . . . - NEW content on geriatric care from the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fourth and Fifth Edition (DSM-4 and DSM-5) - Simple-to-use and easy-to-follow guidance on all aspects of health assessment - Fully illustrated examples of best practices - Current nursing standards for each type of assessment - Support for accurate assessment - Guides you through the anatomy and assessment processes for each body system or health issue, including skin, hair, and nails; eyes and ears; nose, mouth, throat, and neck; pregnancy, and the respiratory, cardiovascular, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, neurologic, and genitourinary systems - Step-by-step guidance on examination skills with photos, diagrams, drawings, and descriptions for areas including: - Use of examination tools and equipment - Choosing, using, and interpreting assessment tests - Spotting abnormalities - Palpating the nose and maxillary sinuses - Measuring diaphragm movement - Percussing the chest - Measuring vision - Assessing eye muscle function - Hearing and voice assessments - Special chapter features: - Take Note - Real-life examples of documentation for complex conditions - Outside the norm - Photos and explanations of abnormalities - Memory board - Memory tricks that help you remember vital concepts and key treatments - Symptom synopsis - Symptoms, key facts, and possible causes for numerous conditions - Skill check - Expert guidance, backed by real-life photos, - on how to examine and assess different body systems and - functions - Q&A - End-of-chapter quizzes%puzzles, riddles, and multiple-choice questions to help you retain essential information
Interpersonal Relationships : professional communication skills for nurses 8th edition by
Now more than ever, effective communication skills are key for successful patient care and positive outcomes. Interpersonal Relationships: Professional Communication Skills for Nurses, 8th Edition helps you to develop skills in communicating effectively with clients, families, and colleagues in order to achieve treatment goals in health care. Using clear, practical guidelines, it shows how to enhance the nurse-client relationship through proven communication strategies as well as principles drawn from nursing, psychology, and related theoretical frameworks. The 8th edition includes engaging new content relating to current issues, while also emphasizing interdisciplinary communication and QSEN competencies. You will learn how to apply theory to real-life practice through case studies, interactive exercises, and evidence-based practice studies. UPDATED! Perspectives and Contemporary Dynamics chapter revised to be more engaging and link the content closer to current issues and related communication concepts. UPDATED! Communicating in Groups chapter includes professional and task small group communication applications. UPDATED! Most chapters have been retitled and expanded to highlight a stronger emphasis on interdisciplinary health team communication. UPDATED! Safety and Quality in health care delivery (QSEN) competencies reflects current thinking on technology, safety, and evidence-based practice, especially as they relate to communication in nursing. UPDATED! Content throughout text includes stronger emphasis on interdisciplinary relationships and collaborative communication with related evidence based case studies and analysis. Expanded content related to socio-cultural communication competencies reduce health disparities and increase health literacy. Additional simulated exercises and discussion questions help you practice your reflective analysis skills. Revised content on social media and transitional care delivery reflects current practice standards. Discussion of spirituality and end-of-life needs focuses on trust, empathy, and the nurse-client relationship - all central components of holistic nursing identified by The Joint Commission as priorities for patient care. Nursing, behavioral, developmental, family, and communication theories provide an essential foundation and a theoretical perspective for effective communication. Interactive exercises let you practice, observe, and critically evaluate your professional communication skills in a safe learning environment. Case examples help you learn to develop empathy for clients' perspectives and needs. Ethical Dilemma and Evidence-Based Practice boxes help you absorb and retain key ethical content throughout text. Separate chapters on communication across the lifespan highlights crucial communication tools that are the first step in developing a culture of safety in contemporary health care delivery. NEW! Engaging content links the text to current issues and communication concepts.
Whole Person Caring by 
A Dictionary of Nursing by
The new edition of this bestselling and trusted dictionary has been fully revised to take account of recent developments in nursing practice and related fields. Updates to this edition cover many areas, with a particular focus on radiography, public health and the NHS, theoretical conceptsfamiliar in nursing education, and key vocabulary used in the 2018 Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) Standards of Proficiency for Registered Nurses.Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,500 clear and concise entries on nursing theory and practice, the dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. As well as nursing-specific terms, there are also manyentries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, ethics, psychiatry, nutrition, dentistry, statistics, and pharmacology. Almost 100 helpful illustrations and tables, and 16 appendices covering the calculation of drug dosages, religion and nursing practice, recommended alcohol intake, and muchmore, help to make this an essential reference tool for all nursing students and professionals.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by
Make sense of the complex world of health care with Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 10th Edition! This one-stop reference includes detailed entries that help you communicate more effectively with colleagues in various disciplines. With over 56,000 definitions, 2,450 photographs and line drawings, and supporting reference appendixes and atlases, it is an indispensable reference for students and professionals alike. Over 56,000 entries offer detailed definitions, as well as the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care. More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. Strict, common-sense alphabetical organization makes it easy to find key terms and definitions. Detailed appendixes provide you with useful information on lab values, symbols and abbreviations, pharmacology, infection control standards, and more that can be used throughout your health career. NEW! Approximately 5,000 new and revised definitions reflect the latest developments in health care, drugs, and nursing terminology. NEW! Completely updated illustrations visually clarify key definitions to reflect current healthcare practice and equipment.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by
Web, mobile, and print platforms-access must-have information in any setting. 75,000 terms-put the language of health care at your fingertips in class, clinical, and practice. FREE, 1-year subscription to Taber's Online, powered by Unbound Medicine-tap into all of the knowledge in Taber's anytime, anywhere. Full-color illustrations-make often complex concepts easier to understand, including detailed illustrations of anatomy and physiology, and photographs of diseases and disorders that focus on their distinguishing features. Tools for clinical success-integrate must-have information where you need it. Patient Care Statements-Quick-reference summaries detail assessment, treatment, and patient teaching requirements. Caution/Safety Statements-An easy-to-find icon highlights information critical to safe patient care. Disease/Disorder Entries-Concise descriptions summarize diagnosis, signs and symptoms, etiology, treatments, and prognosis. 2020-21 NANDA-I.-The complete list of nursing diagnoses makes reference quick and easy. Resources online at FADavis.com-offer a wealth of learning resources and professional tools. Over 30,000 audio pronunciations-build speaking confidence. Appendices-put must-know, rarely memorized information at your fingertips, including normal reference laboratory values and prefixes, suffices, and combining forms, as well as abbreviations, symbols, and units of measurement, documentation system definitions, and translations of common healthcare terms and phrases in English, French, and Spanish.
Print titles are located in QV 39.
Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference by
Choose the drug handbook trusted by nurses for over 35 years! Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs you administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled - including more than 25 new entries for drugs recently approved by the FDA. And no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, High Alerts for drugs with the greatest risk, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects. From nursing pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this perennial bestseller proves there is a difference in drug guides. More than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, with both trade and generic names listed in the index. Bolded coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Complete pharmacokinetic information is summarized in a table and includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Side effects information is organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, showing signs to watch for during assessments. High Alert headers highlight drugs that pose the greatest risk if administered improperly. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Overview of drug categories explains the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting. NEW! Drug monographs for more than 25 newly released, FDA-approved medications equip you with the latest drug information including generic names, trade names, pronunciations, do-not-confuse drugs, action, uses, contraindications, precautions, dosages and routes, side effects, pharmacokinetics, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and drug/lab test), nursing considerations, treatment of overdose, patient/family teaching, and more. NEW! Several online-only drug monographs are added to the Evolve website, creating an overall total of more than 100 Evolve-only drug monographs for lesser-used medications.
Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2024 by
Ensure safe and effective drug therapy with this easy-to-use handbook! Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2024 provides you with current, detailed information on more than 1,000 generic and 4,000 trade name drugs. This handy, user-friendly guide includes updated uses, dosage forms, warnings, side effects and adverse reactions, IV drug administration, nursing considerations, and much more. Organized alphabetically by generic drug name for quick reference, this book stands out from the others in guiding the nurse through the steps essential to quality patient care. New drug monographs cover 12 new FDA-approved medications! More than 1,000 generic name drugs, encompassing over 4,000 trade name drugs, are organized alphabetically with A-to-Z tabs for quick and easy access. UNIQUE! Herbal information is included in the appendix and on the Evolve website, covering the interactions and effects of commonly encountered herbs. Detailed information for each drug includes side effects listed by frequency, and adverse effects and reactions requiring prompt intervention. Drugs by Disorder are listed in the front of the book for easy reference, showing common disorders and the drugs most often used for treatment. Drug Classifications section features an overview of actions and uses for drug families. Black Box Alerts and High Alert drugs are highlighted to promote safe administration of drugs that pose the greatest risk for patient harm, and Do Not Confuse With warnings call out drug names that sound alike or look alike. Top 100 Drugs list helps you easily identify the most frequently administered drugs. Cross-references to the 400 top U.S. brand-name drugs are located throughout the book for easy access. List of newly approved medications in the front of the book makes it easy to locate the latest drugs. Nursing considerations are organized in a functional nursing process framework and include baseline assessment, intervention/evaluation, and patient/family teaching. Information on lifespan and disorder-related dosage variations covers special considerations for pediatric, geriatric, hepatic, and immune- or renal-compromised patients. Extensive IV content includes IV compatibilities/IV incompatibilities and breaks down key information on reconstitution, rate of administration, and storage, as well as an IV Compatibility Chart foldout covering 65 intravenous drugs. Customizable and printable monographs for 100 of the most commonly used drugs are located on Evolve. NEW! Drug monographs for 12 new FDA-approved medications equip you with the most current drug information. NEW! Updates include uses, dosage forms, interactions, precautions, and other need-to-know information to help prevent medication dispensing errors.
Key Concepts and Issues in Nursing Ethics by
Short case studies, based on real stories from the health care arena, ensure that each chapter of this book is rooted in descriptions of nursing practise that are grounded, salient narratives of nursing care. The reader is assisted to explore the ethical dimension of nursing practice: what it is and how it can be portrayed, discussed, and analysed within a variety of practice and theoretical contexts. One of the unique contributions of this book is to consider nursing not only in the context of the individual nurse - patient relationship but also as a social good that is of necessity limited, due to the ultimate limits on the nursing and health care resource. This book will help the reader consider what good nursing looks like, both within the context of limitations on resources and under conditions of scarcity. Indeed, any discussion of ethical issues in nursing should be well grounded in a conceptualisation of nursing that nursing students and practising nursing can recognise, accept and engage with. Nursing, like medicine, social work and teaching has a clear moral aim - to do good. In the case of nursing to do good for the patient. However it is vital that in the pressurised, constrained health service of the 21st century, we help nurses explore what this might mean for nursing practice and what can reasonably be expected of the individual nurse in terms of good nursing care.
Nursing Ethics : Across the Curriculum and Into Practice by
The fifth edition of Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and Into Practice has been revised to reflect the most current issues in healthcare ethics including new cases, laws, and policies. The text continues to be divided into three sections: Foundational Theories, Concepts and Professional Issues; Moving Into Ethics Across the Lifespan; and Ethics Related to Special Issues focused on specific populations and nursing roles. The text includes legal features sections in most chapters, an expanded appendix of case studies with suggestions for discussion, and ethical reflections questions in each chapter. This new edition will also include an appendix focused on simulation suggestions, heavier coverage of ethics and terrorism, and stronger coverage of immigration and the importance of remaining unbiased a healthcare provider. Key Features:Even more case studies, with recent legal/ethical casesNew appendix focused on simulation suggestionsHeavier focus on immigration and importance of remaining unbiased as a healthcare provider, ethics and terrorismUpdate to national health insurance informationUpdate information on vaccines, polypharmacy and antipsychotic drugs
The links below search for titles in these series.
Professional Practice Models by
" Rarely is there a comprehensive work of this magnitude produced to provide intense and practical direction. This work is a must read for those nurse leaders following in our footsteps. It will enable them to increase their knowledge of the systems and processes required to implement, sustain, and measure professional nursing practice while providing a strategic framework to guide their plans for their organizations in the future. " Karen S. Hill, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, FACHE, FAAN, Editor-in-Chief, "The Journal of Nursing Administration," Chief Operating Officer/Chief Nursing Officer, Central Baptist Hospital, From the Foreword " Dr. Joanne Duffy is an authority in developing practice models. This text effectively creates a blueprint for how to make this process as meaningful as possible regardless of the model chosen or the type of organization. One of the highlights that is often missed and that Dr. Duffy clearly illustrates is the critical importance of evaluation. The principles, rationale, best-practice examples, and reflective questions include crucial information needed to fully integrate professional practice models. The author delivers one of the most important works on this topic to date. " Karen Cox, RN, PhD, FACHE, FAAN, Executive Vice President/Co-Chief Operating Officer Children s Mercy Hospitals and Clinics, From the Foreword This is the first resource to demonstrate to nurse leaders, administrators, and staff how to develop, apply, and successfully integrate a professional practice model into a health system. It delivers best practices for creating, implementing, evaluating, adapting, adopting, and revising professional practice models that contribute to improving patient outcomes. Consolidating a wealth of information in one place, the text describes a coordinated and consistent approach that generates an in-depth understanding of professional practice models, including their implementation and evaluation. Distinguished by its focus on the how to of successful enculturation a common obstacle for many nursing professionals the text guides nurse leaders and educators in the process of integrating professional practice models into clinical workflow, advancing nursing practice, improving the quality of patient care, and facilitating Magnet(r) designation. Specific methods and implementation strategies are delineated along with tipping points and milestones. Real-life examples offer relevant lessons from others who have encountered problems and created successful solutions along the way. They describe approaches, resolutions to problems, unique insights, and meaningful revisions. Opportunities for reflection and case analysis are presented and chapters each with comprehensive, concise, evidence-based content include learning objectives, key summary points, reflective exercises, illustrations, charts, and learning from the field insets. KEY FEATURES: Encompasses essential information for developing, applying, and diffusing a professional practice model Provides comprehensive, concise, and evidence-based content Written by a renowned nurse leader, educator, and researcher with expertise in the enculturation of professional practice models Addresses one of the criteria necessary for Magnet(r) designation Includes a strong disciplinary perspective with a focus on professionalism and demonstrating value "
Fast Facts for the Operating Room Nurse, Second Edition by
"I am thrilled with the second edition of this] book to guide seasoned preceptors, students, novice nurses, and novice CSTs through orientation in the perioperative setting...Take advantage of this book. Read it, highlight it, and keep it with you always " -Caroline Kaufmann, RN, CNOR Program Director and Clinical Coordinator Surgical Technology Nassau Community College From the Foreword Featuring essential information needed daily to provide optimal care to every patient, this guide condenses volumes of operating room content into one pocket-sized companion. The second edition of this nursing mentor--for novice perioperative nurses in orientation and their preceptors--is newly updated to reflect the 2017 Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN) guidelines with current, evidence-based clinical practice knowledge in an easy-to-use format. A well-organized text with evidence-based directives on current perioperative standards, this handy resource covers patient safety, the surgical environment, critical thinking, immediate decisionmaking, and perioperative skills. Complex skills and techniques are broken down into a simple, easy-to-follow bulleted format encompassing all key knowledge areas for perioperative nurses. Each chapter introduces concepts and sets clear learning objectives. The guide reinforces requisite knowledge with self-assessment questions, and the Fast Facts feature offers bite-size tips and tricks highlighted for easy access. New to the Second Edition: Fully updated in accordance with 2017 AORN GuidelinesHand hygieneMinimally invasive surgeryPatient information managementSurgical smoke safetySafe use of energy-generating devicesHypothermiaSterilization and central processingRobotic surgeryLevels of sedation/anesthesiaSurgical attire Key Features: Provides must-have OR information for new nurses and their preceptorsContains key knowledge on patient preparation, aseptic technique, surgical procedures, anesthesia considerations, and much moreIncludes Fast Facts feature reinforcing key orientation informationBased on the most up-to-date evidence in the literature
Introduction to the Operating Room by
A unique "survival manual" for those new to the operating room This one-of-a-kind resource answers all the questions that newbie clinicians, nurses, and allied health workers have about the Operating Room but are afraid to ask. It is a complete and candid explanation of the sights, sounds, technologies, personalities, and culture that you will experience when you enter that complex, stress-inducing world. With coverage ranging from "Who Are These People?" to "Equipment from A to Z," Introduction to the Operating Room delivers the practical, real-world guidance newcomers need to ensure patient safety and their own career success. ■ The first book to combine a description of Operating Room people (and their roles), culture, and rules with a discussion of equipment and technology ■ Logically divided into three sections: Pre-Op, Intraop, and Post-Op ■ Includes a valuable appendix, "Quick Guide Answers to the What If's of the OR" ■ A must-have resource for anyone wishing to impress the attending surgeons and staff of the Operating Room If you are looking for a concise, engagingly written operating room primer that delves into topics not covered in any other resource, Introduction to the Operating Room is required reading.
5 Easy Steps to Prevent Falls: The Comprehensive Guide to Keeping Patients of All Ages Safe by 
Essentials of Patient Education by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Essentials of Patient Education, Second Edition prepares nurses for their increasing role in patient teaching, health education and health promotion. Highly revised, the Second Edition focuses on the basic principles of teaching and learning by emphasizing the role of the professional nurse in educating patients and families effectively and efficiently in various healthcare settings. The Second Edition explores new topics of motor learning and gender differences in the brain as well as, the ethics of patient education and the legal role of the nurse as mandated by state practice. The text features completely revised chapter content and updated references that provide evidence from research and theoretical foundations which substantiate content throughout the text.Key Features:Coverage of health literacyChapters dedicated to gender, socioeconomics, culture and persons with disabilitiesDiscussion of compliance and motivation issuesIncludes the determinants of learning which captures critical information on the learnerCase studies offer the opportunity to apply the teaching and learning principles featured in the chapterInstructor Resources:Lecture outlines in PowerPoint formatLearning ActivitiesAssessments
Lippincott Nursing Procedures by
This start-to-finish guide includes over 400 nursing procedures--from basic to advanced. Every entry lists equipment, details each step to perform right at the bedside, and provides rationales and cautions to ensure patient safety and positive outcomes. Organized alphabetically for fast, easy access, the 8 th Edition of Lippincott Nursing Procedures addresses what the nurse needs to know and do to perform best-practice procedures concerning infection control, specimen collection, physical assessment, drug administration, IV therapy, and hemodynamic monitoring, as well as procedures related to body systems, such as chest tube insertion, peripheral nerve stimulation, and intra-abdominal pressure monitoring. Thoroughly updated, this edition also includes new evidence-based entries on synchronized cardioversion, gait belt use, intermittent infusion device flushing and locking, isolation garb use, nasal bridal insertion and removal, pneumatic antishock garment application and removal, self-medication administration practice, and weaning a patient from a ventilator. With clear, step-by-step guidelines and hundreds of sidebars, photos, illustrations, and eye-catching alerts (Nursing Alerts, Pediatric, Elder, Hospital-Acquired Condition Alerts), you'll find the level of detail required to provide optimal hands-on patient care. Packed with pre- and postprocedure nursing considerations, warnings about potential complications, troubleshooting tips, and other helpful advice, this go-to reference provides everything you need to do your job confidently and well, whether you are beginning your nursing career, learning a new skill, or brushing up on a familiar technique.
Nursing Scope and Standards of Practice, 4th Edition by 
2021-2022 Perianesthesia Nursing Standards, Practice Recommendations and Interpretive Statements by 
Caring for the Vulnerable : Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research by
Caring for the Vulnerable: Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research focuses on vulnerable populations and how nurses can care for them, develop programs for them, conduct research, and influence health policy. Units I and II focus on concepts and theories; Unit III on research; Units IV, V, and VI on practice-oriented measures, including teaching nursing students to work with vulnerable patients and clients; and Unit VII on policy. The text provides a broad overview of material critical to working with these populations, comprehensive treatment of issues related to vulnerable populations, outstanding contributors who are experts in what they write, and a global focus.The Fifth Edition will be a major overhaul, as each new edition of this text has been. There will be a total of 31 new chapters focusing on new and emerging research on vulnerable populations. This text is generally used as a supplement in a wide variety of courses - from health promotion to population health, to global health.New to the Fifth Edition:Thirty-one new chapters focusing on new and emerging research on vulnerable populations, exploring topics such as: Intersection of Racial Disparities and Privilege in Women's HealthHIV Prevention EducationCaring for the Transgender CommunityCaring for Vulnerable Populations: Outcomes with the DNP-Prepared NurseWith some chapters delving into key clinical topics in identified regions, such as:Opioid Abuse and Diversion Prevention in Rural Eastern Kentucky The Effects of Gun Trauma on Rural Montana Healthcare ProvidersHealth Care in MexicoFifth edition will continue to focus more on DNP authors and assess each chapter for relevance to DNP-prepared nursesFeatures an included test bank, practice activities, PPTs, IM, and a sample syllabus
Resources listed on these guides are compiled by librarians at the R.A. Williams Library. We accept content recommendations, and after review, may include suggested resources on a guide. Our time is limited, so we generally do not reply to unsolicited recommendations from individuals not affiliated with AdventHealth University or notify them regarding whether or not we have linked to suggested content.
