AHU Resource Guides: Nursing (Undergraduate): Journal Searching / Finding Articles

General Search Tips

State what you need in a sentence.
Select keywords from your statement.
Use these keywords as search terms.
If searching a phrase, enclose the phrase in "quotation marks". (not all databases offer this feature)
Use truncation * , if relevant --- example: nurs* ; therap* ; librar* (not all database offer the truncation feature)

These databases index and often offer full-text articles from many great nursing journals:

CINAHL Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window CINAHL Complete is an authoritative resource for nursing and allied health articles. It searches an indexed collection of nearly 3 million articles from more than 3000 journals covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, rehabilitation, radiography, sonography, and more. CINAHL Complete also includes the full text of articles from nearly 600 of the journals in the index.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Healthcare information from full-text nursing and health journals and dissertations.
Ovid AHU Journals (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Search full-text medical and nursing journals available from Ovid.
PubMed (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window Search the National Librarian of Medicine database of biomedical and health sciences journals through the publicly available NLM search interface.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Access an index of millions of journal articles covering a broad range of topics in science, technology, and medicine.

Here are some nursing journals --- use the Journal A-Z list or Ulrich's Periodical Directory for more titles --

Advances in Nursing Science Journal

Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing

Journal of Advanced Nursing

Journal of Nursing Scholarship

Journal of Professional Nursing

Nursing Science Quarterly

Online Journal of Nursing Informatics

Western Journal of Nursing Research

Ulrich's Periodical Directory (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window A listing of more than 300,000 journals with bibliographic information such as publisher, journal type, and whether or not a journal is peer reviewed. Also includes listings for databases and other electronic sources.

What is the DOI?