Check out more titles in OneSearch.
Nutrition Assessment : Clinical and Research Applications by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting toolsWritten for the graduate-level nutrition course, Nutrition Assessment: Clinical and Research Applications explores the purpose, methods, and scientific basis for nutritional assessment in community, clinical, and individual nutrition settings. It provides students with the basic knowledge and skills to identify nutrition problems, develop research questions and study hypotheses, and plan nutrition interventions and treatments. Divided into six sections, Nutrition Assessment opens with a historical perspective of nutrition assessment as well as an overview of the basis of scientific and nutritional research. The next four sections delve into the primary methods of nutritional assessment: dietary, anthropometric, biochemical, and clinical assessments. The final section is intended to cover public health topics including population wellness, health coaching, nutrition interventions, and international research.
Nutrition Education: Linking Research, Theory, and Practice by
Each new print copy of Nutrition Education, Fourth Edition includes access to the Navigate Companion Website which includes worksheets in writable PDF format, practice quizzes, interactive flashcards, and interactive glossary.The fourth edition of Nutrition Education: Linking Research, Theory, and Practice provides a straightforward, user-friendly model for designing effective nutrition education programs that address the personal and environmental factors affecting individuals' food choices and assists them in adopting healthy behaviors throughout their lifetime. Built around the six-step DESIGN process, the Fourth Edition integrated research, theory, and practice and provides advice and direction on designing, implementing, and evaluating theory-based nutrition education.This text is divided into three parts:* Part I describes the key elements of success for nutrition education, as well as the major theories that can be used in nutrition education intervention.* Part II features the six-step process for designing nutrition education, translating theory into concrete objectives and strategies that can be practically implemented. It includes worksheets and case studies to provide a clear illustration of each step.* Part III describes the nuts and bolts of implementing nutrition education, including information on leading groups, working with diverse populations, making presentations, and using media effectively.* A new Part IV provides a focus on the Nutrition Education DESIGN Procedure Workbooks and Case Study for applying Part II to the design and evaluation of nutrition education.
Williams' Basic Nutrition and Diet Therapy by
For concise, need-to-know coverage of the most up-to-date topics and research in nutritional care turn to Williams' Basic Nutrition & Diet Therapy, 15th Edition. This market leading text provides coverage of hot topics, emerging trends, and cutting-edge research, plus all the essentials for providing the best nutrition care. And with its conversational writing style, vivid illustrations, and wide array of reader-friendly features you can easily understand how the concepts in the book can be applied in clinical practice. Case studies with accompanying questions for analysis in the clinical care chapters focus your attention on related patient care problems. Cultural Considerations boxes discuss how a patient's culture can affect nutritional concepts in practice. Clinical Applications and For Further Focus boxes highlight timely topics and analyze concepts and trends in depth. Bulleted chapter summaries review highlights from the chapter and help you see how the chapter contributes to the book's "big picture." Diet therapy guidelines include recommendations, restrictions, and sample diets for major clinical conditions. Drug-Nutrient Interactions boxes highlight important safety information and cover topics such as nutritional supplements for athletics, drugs interfering with vitamin absorption, and over-the-counter weight loss aids. Key terms and definitions clarify terminology and concepts critical to your understanding and application of the material. NEW! Completely updated content incorporate the recently released 2015 dietary guidelines, Healthy People objectives, nutrition labels, common weight-loss diets, FDA/CDC statistics/warnings regarding trans fatty acids, disordered eating, and more. NEW! New chapter review questions reflect the latest NCLEX Exam format. Answers to these questions will appear in the appendix. NEW! Rewritten chapters on clinical nutrition take a more application-based approach and feature clarified explanations, enhanced readability, a focus on the most relevant and practical information, and new topics such as energy expenditure calculations, water balance, cirrhosis complications, diet plans for diabetes, and more. NEW! Updated Nutrition and Physical Fitness chapter written by sport dietitian Kary Woodruff reflects the latest research in the field, including new questionnaires used for exercise readiness, current recommendations for energy needs, and nutritional considerations for athletic performance. NEW! Updated Weight Management chapter written by certified adult weight management dietitian Theresa Dvorak reflects the latest research in the field, including the role of genetics, disordered eating, treatments for obesity, and more.
Linking to books Nurtrition focused.
Chocolate Crisis : Climate Change and Other Threats to the Future of Cacao by
Chocolate is the center of a massive global industry worth billions of dollars annually, yet its future in our modern world is currently under threat. In Chocolate Crisis, Dale Walters discusses the problems posed by plant diseases, pests, and climate change, looking at what these mean for the survival of the cacao tree. Walters takes readers to the origins of the cacao tree in the Amazon basin of South America, describing how ancient cultures used the beans produced by the plant, and follows the rise of chocolate as an international commodity over many centuries. He explains that most cacao is now grown on small family farms in Latin America, West Africa, and Indonesia, and that the crop is not easy to make a living from. Diseases such as frosty pod rot, witches? broom, and swollen shoot, along with pests such as sap-sucking capsids, cocoa pod borers, and termites, cause substantial losses every year. Most alarmingly, cacao growers are beginning to experience the accelerating effects of global warming and deforestation. Projections suggest that cultivation in many of the world?s traditional cacao-growing regions might soon become impossible. Providing an up-to-date picture of the state of the cacao bean today, this book also includes a look at complex issues such as farmer poverty and child labor, and examines options for sustainable production amid a changing climate. Walters shows that the industry must tackle these problems in order to save this global cultural staple and to protect the people who make their livelihoods from producing it.
Weight Loss for Life by
This is not a fad diet book. This is the most comprehensive, scientifically based program to lose weight and keep it off, with practical details about diet and nutrition, movement and motivation, medications, supplements, surgery, and more. In Weight Loss for Life, two experts from the Johns Hopkins Healthful Eating, Activity & Weight Program provide you with all of the information you need on your weight loss journey. They bring together leading experts in behavioral health, nutrition, exercise, and nursing to help you develop a plan that works best for you--and that's not focused on just restricting calories or certain foods. Anyone struggling with unwanted weight gain or obesity will find this program to be helpful, compassionate, and clear. A central feature of the program is a Personal Plan of Action to help you set up reachable goals, plan your meals, and make time for movement. All the recommendations are customizable based on your personal health and needs. You'll enjoy the interactive features, too, with surveys throughout asking you to reflect on your own eating habits as well as barriers to success. And unlike other works on the market, Weight Loss for Life covers it all: supplements, prescription medications, med spas, and surgical options. If you struggle, it can help you get back on track. Throughout, testimonials from others who have followed the program along with hundreds of photographs and drawings will help educate and keep you motivated along your weight loss journey. Weight Loss for Life is the guide to the science and art of achieving and maintaining a healthful weight.
Digesting Foods and Fads by
It is time to tease sense out of the nonsense when it comes to eating smartly. This book offers advice on how to eat nutritiously every day without all the guilt, money, and discomfort wasted on the latest, greatest fad. Using the best scientific nutrition research available, this book will show how to navigate the complicated world of food with ease. Peppered with historical background and fascinating facts, this is an introduction to basic nutritional practices. The book covers what foods you need, how your body uses the nutrients found in those foods, disease, sustainability, weight control, and food as medicine. It exposes the lies about supplements, fad foods, fad diets, and quick fixes. Armed with the knowledge that you are making the best decisions for yourself, there will be no need to chase after the latest magic potion or remedy.
Nutrition for the Older Adult by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Updated to the latest data and expert information, the Third Edition of Nutrition for the Older Adult introduces students to the unique nutritional needs of this growing population. Designed for the undergraduate, the text begins by covering the basics, including the demographics of aging, physiology of aging, and vitamin and mineral requirements for older adults. It then delves into clinical considerations, including the nutritional implications of diseases and conditions common among older adult. Additional coverage includes: nutritional assessment, pharmacology, nutritional support, and much more. With new pedagogical features along with revamped end-of-chapter activities and questions, Nutrition for the Older Adult is an essential resource for students in the fields of nutrition, nursing, public health and gerontology.With Navigate 2, technology and content combine to expand the reach of your classroom. Whether you teach an online, hybrid, or traditional classroom-based course, Navigate 2 delivers unbeatable value. Experience Navigate 2 today at www.jblnavigate.com/2.