Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences
Direct link to journal publishers instructions for publication. Compiled by Mulford Health Sciences Library, U. of Toledo.
A database of journal policies on peer review, co-reviewing, and preprinting.
Transpose (TRANsparency in Scholarly Publishing for Open Scholarship Evolution) is an initiative to build a database of journal policies.
Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks 2nd edition by "Wow. No one ever told me this!" Wendy Laura Belcher has heard this countless times throughout her years of teaching and advising academics on how to write journal articles. Scholars know they must publish, but few have been told how to do so. So Belcher made it her mission to demystify the writing process. The result was Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks, which takes this overwhelming task and breaks it into small, manageable steps. For the past decade, this guide has been the go-to source for those creating articles for peer-reviewed journals. It has enabled thousands to overcome their anxieties and produce the publications that are essential to succeeding in their fields. With this new edition, Belcher expands her advice to reach beginning scholars in even more disciplines. She builds on feedback from professors and graduate students who have successfully used the workbook to complete their articles. A new chapter addresses scholars who are writing from scratch. This edition also includes more targeted exercises and checklists, as well as the latest research on productivity and scholarly writing. Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks is the only reference to combine expert guidance with a step-by-step workbook. Each week, readers learn a feature of strong articles and work on revising theirs accordingly. Every day is mapped out, taking the guesswork and worry out of writing. There are tasks, templates, and reminders. At the end of twelve weeks, graduate students, recent PhDs, postdoctoral fellows, adjunct instructors, junior faculty, and international faculty will feel confident they know that the rules of academic publishing and have the tools they need to succeed.
Call Number: PN 146 .B427 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-07
Journal article writing and publication : your guide to mastering clinical health care reporting standards by The ability to demonstrate that a specific health care profession provides valuable and effective services that meet society's health needs is a major objective for all health care academicians and researchers. Such skills are critical to ensure service reimbursement from an increasingly small pool of health care dollars. Demonstrating clinical effectiveness depends on the reporting of written research results through journal publication so that the health care community and larger society will be able to access and read evidence supporting health care services. Today, several clinical reporting standard guidelines have been created by researchers to enhance the ability of readers to evaluate the quality and value of studies. Journal Article Writing and Publication is the first text to compile those clinical research reporting standards in one source and helps educators and novice researchers to better understand the skills needed for journal publication. Health care researchers must begin using these reporting standards in order to write manuscripts that are both correctly formatted and transparently convey all critical study strengths and limitations. Educators must teach these reporting standards to students who must evaluate research reports as consumers and possible future contributors to the literature through their own writing. Journal Article Writing and Publication by Dr. Sharon A. Gutman (a former editor of the American Journal of Occupational Therapy) provides specific guidelines, based on the most commonly accepted reporting standards, for the preparation and writing of general research studies, intervention effectiveness studies, instrument development and testing studies, and case reports. A section is devoted to helping authors understand the rules governing the reporting of statistical data in text and tables. Separate sections help authors understand the manuscript preparation and submission process, the revision process, and the etiquette guiding communication with editors and reviewers. Guidelines for the preparation of scholarly discussion papers and editorials are also provided. Journal Article Writing and Publication also features a section that aims to help doctoral students and newly minted faculty turn academic work and dissertations into publishable journal articles. Suggestions are provided to help clinicians turn clinical data into research databases that could serve as the foundation for pilot studies. Finally, information is provided to help authors better understand the ethical considerations of publication including plagiarism, dual submissions, inappropriate authorship, copyright, and conflict of interest.
Publication Date: 2016-09-15
How to write and publish a scientific paper by
Publication Date: 2016
Publishing -- Profession focused
These books might indicate for a specific "profession", but any person interested in publishing would find something useful in these titles, especially other health sciences fields.
Understanding Scientific Articles
Academic and Professional Publishing by
Publication Date: 2012-09-10
Becoming an Academic Writer : 50 exercises for paced, productive, and powerful writing Second edition. by Winner of the 2018 Textbook & Academic Authors Association's Textbook Excellence Award With its friendly, step-by-step format, Becoming an Academic Writer helps writers improve their writing by engaging in deep and deliberate practice--a type of practice adopted by expert performers in areas such as sports or music. Featuring 50 exercises, this practical, self-paced guide is flexibly organized so readers can either work their way through all of the exercises in order or focus on the specific areas where they need additional practice building their skills. The Second Edition is enhanced by a new appendix on literature review, new feature boxes, and new chapter summaries.
Call Number: PE 1408 .G556 2017
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Engaging in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning by
Publication Date: 2012-08-27
A Guide to the Scientific Career by A concise, easy-to-read source of essential tips and skills for writing research papers and career management In order to be truly successful in the biomedical professions, one must have excellent communication skills and networking abilities. Of equal importance is the possession of sufficient clinical knowledge, as well as a proficiency in conducting research and writing scientific papers. This unique and important book provides medical students and residents with the most commonly encountered topics in the academic and professional lifestyle, teaching them all of the practical nuances that are often only learned through experience. Written by a team of experienced professionals to help guide younger researchers, A Guide to the Scientific Career: Virtues, Communication, Research and Academic Writing features ten sections composed of seventy-four chapters that cover: qualities of research scientists; career satisfaction and its determinants; publishing in academic medicine; assessing a researcher's scientific productivity and scholarly impact; manners in academics; communication skills; essence of collaborative research; dealing with manipulative people; writing and scientific misconduct: ethical and legal aspects; plagiarism; research regulations, proposals, grants, and practice; publication and resources; tips on writing every type of paper and report; and much more. An easy-to-read source of essential tips and skills for scientific research Emphasizes good communication skills, sound clinical judgment, knowledge of research methodology, and good writing skills Offers comprehensive guidelines that address every aspect of the medical student/resident academic and professional lifestyle Combines elements of a career-management guide and publication guide in one comprehensive reference source Includes selected personal stories by great researchers, fascinating writers, inspiring mentors, and extraordinary clinicians/scientists A Guide to the Scientific Career: Virtues, Communication, Research and Academic Writing is an excellent interdisciplinary text that will appeal to all medical students and scientists who seek to improve their writing and communication skills in order to make the most of their chosen career.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- ebook Central
Publication Date: 2020-01-09
Articles discussing Publishing
Becoming a Published Writer -- Series -- 1st
Roush, Karen F N P. (2017a). Becoming a published writer. AJN, American Journal of Nursing, 117(3), 63-66.
Novice Authors . What You Need to Know to Make Writing for Publication Smooth
Moos, D. D. (2011). Novice authors… What you need to know to make writing for publication smooth. Journal of PeriAnesthesia Nursing, 26(5), 352-356.
Selecting a journal for your manuscript: A 4-step process
Sharifi, C., & Buccheri, R. K. (2019). Selecting a journal for your manuscript: A 4-step process. Journal of Professional Nursing, doi:10.1016/j.profnurs.2019.06.003
Successful scientific writing and publishing: A step-by-step approach.
Iskander, J. K., Wolicki, S. B., Leeb, R. T., & Siegel, P. Z. (2018). Successful scientific writing and publishing: A step-by-step approach. Preventing Chronic Disease, 15, E79-E79. doi:10.5888/pcd15.180085
Writing Your Manuscript: Structure and Style -- Series -- 2nd
Roush, Karen F N P. (2017b). Writing your manuscript: Structure and style. AJN, American Journal of Nursing, 117(4), 56-61.
Research Article Locator Tools
ResearchGate is the professional network for scientists and researchers.
Do I need a ORCID number?