AHU Resource Guides: Publishing and Presenting: Where Should I Publish?

Where should I submit -- Think, Judge, Submit

Think,, Check, Submit

Impact Factor & Journal Metrics

Journal Metrics & Rankings

Journals are often "ranked" by different tools. The "impact factor" by Journal of Citation Reports is one of the more popular rankings.

There are other "ranking" systems --- SJR, Eigenfactor, JANE, and others.

Eigenfactor
This site helps determine the eigenfactor, which is a score to help measure the journal's total importance to the scientific community. Eigenfactor is an alternate journal ranking system to ISI’s impact factor. It is based on an algorithm that weights the number of citations, which journals they are coming from and how those journals are ranked. This approach ranks journals much as Google ranks Web pages to determine which journals are more influential.
The End of Journal Impact Factor Purgatory (and Numbers to the Thousandths)
The Scholarly Kitchen (blog)
This post discusses changes to the Impact Factor for 2023.
Evaluating Journals using Journal Metrics
Walden University
The History and Meaning of the Journal Impact Factor
Garfield E. The History and Meaning of the Journal Impact Factor. JAMA. 2006;295(1):90–93. doi:10.1001/jama.295.1.90
Journal Author Name Estimator (JANE)
It will list the Article's Influence (based on Eigen Factor analysis). Search by just the title or also include the abstract. JANE pulls its data from MEDLINE and gives you information on the 50 articles that are most similar to your article
Journal Impact Factor
Research Guide by University of Illnois
Measuring Your Impact: Impact Factor, Citation Analysis, and other Metrics: Measuring Your Impact
University of Illinois Chicago
SJR Journal & Country Rank
SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains.
Understanding research impact: A review of existing and emerging tools for nursing.
Wimmer, E. N., Rethlefsen, M. L., Jarvis, C., & Shipman, J. P. (2016). Understanding research impact: A review of existing and emerging tools for nursing. Journal of Professional Nursing, 32(6), 401-411. 10.1016/j.profnurs.2016.05.005

Locating Journals

AHU Browzine Library
Listing of most journals found in AHU journal databases.
AHU Online Journal List
Edanz Journal Selector (Fee based)
Edanz was established in Japan in 1995 and has helped thousands of researchers all over the world successfully publish in international journals. Our team of expert editors and research consultants are all experienced researchers: we understand the research process and we know how to support non-native English speakers in navigating the publication journey.
Journal Author Name Estimator (JANE)
It will list the Article's Influence (based on Eigen Factor analysis). Search by just the title or also include the abstract. JANE pulls its data from MEDLINE and gives you information on the 50 articles that are most similar to your article
JournalGuide : Finding the best journal for your research
JournalGuide is a free tool created by a group of software developers, former researchers, and scholarly publishing veterans at Research Square.
Web of Science Master Journal List
By Clarivate

Ulrich's Periodical Directory (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window A listing of more than 300,000 journals with bibliographic information such as publisher, journal type, and whether or not a journal is peer reviewed. Also includes listings for databases and other electronic sources.

How to Publish in a Journal

Understanding the publishing process: How to publish in a scholarly journal
This brochure shares the publishing steps. By Elsevier and has some focus on them, but it is worth reading.
Think Check Submit
You want to publish in a journal. Questions to ask before you say yes to the publisher.
Twelve tips on writing abstracts and titles: How to get people to use and cite your work
Cook, D. A., & Bordage, G. (2016). Twelve tips on writing abstracts and titles: How to get people to use and cite your work. Medical Teacher, 38(11), 1100–1104. https://doi.org/10.1080/0142159X.2016.1181732
Equator Network (Reporting Guidelines help)
The EQUATOR (Enhancing the QUAlity and Transparency Of health Research) Network is an international initiative that seeks to improve the reliability and value of published health research literature by promoting transparent and accurate reporting and wider use of robust reporting guidelines.

Types of Articles in Journals

6 Article types that journals publish: A guide for early career researchers

Predatory Journals

Informatics: Protect yourself and the nursing profession from predatory journals.
Carter-Templeton, H. (2020). Informatics: Protect yourself and the nursing profession from predatory journals. Online Journal of Issues in Nursing, 25(1), 1-3. doi:http://dx.doi.org.resource.ahu.edu/10.3912/OJIN.Vol25No01Inf°Col01
Learning about predatory journals
University of Arkansas by Melody Herr
2 videos on learning about predatory journals

Open Access Publications

AGRIS : International Information System for the Agricultural Sciences and Technology
AGRIS is a global public domain Database with 4329730 structured bibliographical records on agricultural science and technology.
BioMed Central
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher which has pioneered the open access publishing model.
BioOne
Limited open access journals in the science area.
DOAJ
Directory of Open Access Journals
Highwire Press
PLoS – Biology
A peer-reviewed open access journal published by Public Library of Science.
PubMed Central (PMC)

Nursing Focused

These tools help with determining where you might want to publish an article.

International Journal of Nursing Editors
Link to Directory of Nursing Journals, a joint service of Nurse Author & Editor and INANE.
Nurse, Author & Editor
Nurse Author & Editor is an international publication, dedicated to publishing high-quality, current, and informative articles on scholarly writing and publishing in the nursing literature.