It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Wholeness: Individual Wholeness
Resources related to helping you become the best person you can be.
Meditations for Healing Trauma : Mindfulness Skills to Relieve Post-Traumatic Stress by Louanne DavisPost-traumatic stress isn't your fault. Many people suffer traumatic events, which can lead to post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and debilitating symptoms. This evidence-based book delivers easy-to-use mindfulness skills that can be used as needed to alleviate symptoms and promote healing. Some people heal naturally after they experience a traumatic event, but some trauma lasts and can develop into PTSD, with symptoms like depression, anxiety, panic, flashbacks, difficulty sleeping, or losing interest in life. You may find yourself on the sidelines, disengaged from your own life, with little sense of who you are and how to relate to others. The body, heart, and mind are all profoundly affected by trauma; in this way it can live on, causing a serious disconnect and a state of imbalance in which you're always in survival mode. How do you move on? This book is designed to target the most common symptoms of post-traumatic stress and PTSD, providing mindfulness-based practices to help relieve your symptoms and increase self-compassion. Offering meditations for reconnection with your body, heart, mind, and life, this guide presents a unique, evidence-based way to heal the disconnects and help you re-engage. Instead of getting stuck reliving your trauma or worrying about it happening again, these mindful meditations will ground you in the present moment and enable you to better cope with unpleasant thoughts and feelings as they arise--and then let them go. With Meditations for Healing Trauma, you'll explore your experience of post-traumatic stress and learn how the healing power of mindfulness can free you from suffering and bring back connection and balance to your life every day. This book will help you cultivate a wise mind and heart for regaining peace and well-being in the present moment--anytime, anyplace.
Publication Date: 2017-01-02
Mindfulness and Meditation by Blaise AguirreThis book is an approachable introduction to the topics of mindfulness and meditation as they relate to teens and young adults. The information, guidance, and resources offered make it a valuable tool for anyone curious about this trending topic. Although mindfulness and meditation have been practiced for millennia, modern neurobiologists and psychologists are only just beginning to understand their full potential for improving physical and emotional well-being. Part of Greenwood's Q&A Health Guides series, Mindfulness and Meditation: Your Questions Answered provides clear, concise information for readers interested in the contemporary practice of, and research behind, mindfulness and meditation. It explores definitions of mindfulness and meditation, offers solutions for successfully incorporating them into our often-chaotic lives, and explains their many practical applications and benefits for practitioners. Each book in this series follows a reader-friendly question-and-answer format that anticipates readers' needs and concerns. Prevalent myths and misconceptions are identified and dispelled, and a collection of case studies illustrates key concepts and issues through relatable stories and insightful recommendations. The book also includes a section on health literacy, equipping teens and young adults with practical tools and strategies for finding, evaluating, and using credible sources of health information both on and off the Internet--important skills that contribute to a lifetime of healthy decision-making. Makes the subject accessible to readers by means of a simple Q&A format Helps readers hone their research and critical thinking skills in a Guide to Health Literacy section Provides real-world examples of concepts discussed in the book through case studies Dispels popular misconceptions in a Common Myths section and directs readers towards accurate information Points readers towards additional books, organizations, and websites for further study and research in an annotated directory of resources
Publication Date: 2018-03-07
App ideas for Music or Relaxation:
Here are some ideas, type in APP tool -- (confirm free )
How to Feel Good in Difficult Times Simple Strategies to Help You Survive and Thrive by Gael LindenfieldThis is a book for NOW! *****Amazon reviewer Self-doubt can creep in at any time, and at times of great stress or grief, our guards can drop even further, making us susceptible to crises of confidence and feelings of inadequacy in all spheres of our lives. In this practical book from renowned psychotherapist Gael Lindenfield, readers will learn to work through these feelings, reclaim their sense of self-worth and bounce back feeling stronger, positive and even more confident than before. Set out in practical chapters, the book allows readers to identify the root cause of their feelings of self-doubt and offers pragmatic, easilyimplementable solutions. Throughout the book Gael explores our knee-jerk response to punish and retreat into ourselves in times of great stress, whether that manifests itself through dietary choices, insomnia and sleep-related issues or more problematicself-destructive behaviour, and equips readers with key tools allowing them to step back and take stock of these behaviours before they embed themselves. Whatever the cause of your unhappiness and self-doubt - personal, work-related, or a combination of the two - this book gives you all the tools you need to conquer the overwhelm, dust yourself off and regain positivity, whatever life throws at you.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- ebook Central
Publication Date: 2020-03-05
The PTSD Survival Guide for Teens by Sheela Raja; Jaya Raja Ashrafi (Contribution by)Your trauma doesn't need to define you. In The PTSD Survival Guide for Teens, trauma specialist Sheela Raja--along with her teen daughter Jaya Ashrafi--offers evidence-based skills to help you find strength, confidence, and resilience in the aftermath of trauma. If you've experienced trauma or suffer from post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), the world can seem like a very frightening place. You may even question your own deeply held beliefs, as well as the motives of others. It's important for you to know that you aren't alone, and there isn't anything wrong with you. Many teens have suffered traumatic events, and there are solid skills you can learn that will help you recover. So, how can you begin healing and start building the life you were always meant to lead? In this compassionate guide, you'll find skills based in cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), dialectical behavior therapy (DBT), and acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) to help you tackle anxiety and harmful avoidance behaviors; manage negative emotions; cope with flashbacks and nightmares; and develop trusting, healthy relationships--even if your trust in others has been shaken to the core. You'll also learn more about the diagnosis and symptoms of PTSD and understand what kind of help is available to you. Whether you've been diagnosed with PTSD or are simply living with the aftereffects of a traumatic event, you shouldn't have to suffer alone. This book will help you to find strength within so you can move forward. This book has been selected as an Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies Self-Help Book Recommendation--an honor bestowed on outstanding self-help books that are consistent with cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) principles and that incorporate scientifically tested strategies for overcoming mental health difficulties. Used alone or in conjunction with therapy, our books offer powerful tools readers can use to jump-start changes in their lives.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- ebook Central
Publication Date: 2018-02-02
Strengthening Family Resilience, Third Edition by Froma WalshIn this widely used course text and practitioner resource, Froma Walsh provides a state-of-the-art framework for understanding resilience in families and how to foster it. Illuminating the complex interplay of biopsychosocial influences in risk and resilience, she identifies key transactional processes that enable struggling families to grow stronger and more resourceful. Case illustrations demonstrate Walsh's collaborative approach with diverse families facing a wide range of crisis situations and chronic multistress challenges. The book features practice principles, tools, and guidelines, as well as programmatic applications. New to This Edition *Incorporates the latest practice advances and resilience research. *Chapter on assessment tools and strategies. *Chapter on disruptive transitions across the family life cycle. *Expanded coverage of war-related and collective trauma.
From American Nurse
10 article series on the 9 dimensions of wellness -- Spiritual wellness, Environmental wellness, Creative wellness, Social wellness, Career wellness, Intellectual wellbeing, Getting financially fit, Emotional wellness, & Physical wellness
Stumbling Toward Wholeness : How the Love of God Changes Us by Andrew J. BaumanWe desire to be transformed, to grow more and more like Christ. But for many of us, our strategies for change don't work. We misperceive God as a judgmental Father, leaving us demoralized and paralyzed by shame. Stumbling toward Wholeness offers a new strategy for spiritual growth and life transformation: regularly returning to the arms of a kind and loving Father.There are many books that explore the parable of the Prodigal Son, but few approach it with the personal vulnerability and psychological insight of Andrew Bauman. Andrew shows how taking the time to identify with each of the brothers in this story can help us come to terms with our own brokenness and the need for God revealed in it. We discover a process of change that applies to each of us and a healing journey that moves us toward the likeness of the Father in how we love the people around us and address the pain others have caused us.
Reducing Compassion Fatigue Secondary Traumatic Stress and Burnout : A Trauma-Sensitive Workbook by William SteeleThis workbook addresses the vital questions helpers, responders, and organizations have about self-care and its relationship to resilience and sustained effectiveness in the midst of daily exposure to trauma victims and or situations. Packed with activities, worksheets, and interactive learning tools, the text provides neuro-based and trauma-sensitive recommendations for improving the ways clinicians care for themselves. Each 'session' helps clinicians identify their personal self-care needs and arrive at an effective self-care plan that promotes resilience in the face of daily exposure to trauma-inducing situations and reduces the effects of compassion fatigue and burnout. Reducing Compassion Fatigue, Secondary Traumatic Stress, and Burnout is an essential workbook for any helper or organization looking to enhance compassionate care.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- ebook Central
Publication Date: 2019-11-01
The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook by Martha Davis; Elizabeth Robbins Eshelman; Matthew McKayNow in its seventh edition--with more than one million copies sold worldwide--The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook remains the go-to resource for stress reduction strategies that can be incorporated into even the busiest lives. The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook broke new ground when it was first published in 1980, detailing easy, step-by-step techniques for calming the body and mind in an increasingly overstimulated world. Now in its seventh edition, this fully revised and updated workbook--highly regarded by therapists and their clients--offers the latest stress reduction techniques to combat the effects of stress and integrate healthy relaxation habits into every aspect of daily life. This new edition also includes powerful self-compassion practices, fully updated chapters on the most effective tools for coping with anxiety, fear, and panic--such as worry delay and defusion, two techniques grounded in acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT)--as well as a new section focused on body scan. In the workbook, you'll explore your own stress triggers and symptoms, and learn how to create a personal action plan for stress reduction. Each chapter features a different method for relaxation, explains why the method works, and provides on-the-spot exercises you can do when you feel stressed out. The result is a comprehensive yet accessible workbook that will help you to curb stress and cultivate a more peaceful life.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- ebook Central
Publication Date: 2019-04-01
The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook for Kids by Lawrence E. Shapiro; Robin K. Sprague; Matthew McKAY (Foreword by)Children pay close attention to their parents' moods. When parents feel upset, their kids may become anxious, and when parents wind down, children also get the chance to relax. When you feel overwhelmed and stressed, it can be hard to help your child feel balanced. The Relaxation & Stress Reduction Workbook for Kids, written by two child therapists, offers more than fifty activities you can do together as a family to help you and your child replace stressful and anxious feelings with feelings of optimism, confidence, and joy. You'll learn proven relaxation techniques, including deep breathing, guided imagery, mindfulness, and yoga, and then receive guidance for teaching them to your child. Your child will also discover how taking time to do art and creative projects can create a sense of fulfillment and calm. By completing just one ten-minute activity from this workbook each day, you'll make relaxation a family habit that will stay with both you and your child for a lifetime.
Call Number: Online / ebook -- EBSCO
Publication Date: 2009-02-02
The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook for Teens by Michael A. Tompkins; Jonathan R. Barkin; Matthew McKay (Foreword by)Today's teens are totally stressed. Based on the self-help classic, The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook, this evidence-based guide will help you develop a game plan for reducing stress so you can focus on reaching your goals. Are you feeling stressed out? You aren't alone. Between school, tests, friendships, dating, the latest drama on social media, college applications, and a bunch of confusing physical changes, it's no wonder that stress is a major mental health issue for many of today's teens. The good news is that there are simple ways you can reduce your stress and reach your goals. This workbook will show you how. With The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook for Teens, you'll learn to understand the underlying causes of your stress. You'll discover practical mindfulness and breathing techniques to help you calm your mind and body in moments of worry and anxiety. You'll also find tips for moving past "what ifs" and "shoulds," strategies for managing negative thoughts and emotions, and tools to help you develop your own personalized plan for dealing with stress. If you're ready to move past stress and worry and start focusing on your bright future, this workbook has everything you need to get started today. Teens need mental health resources more than ever. With over 1.2 million copies sold worldwide, Instant Help Books for teens are engaging, proven-effective, and recommended by therapists.