Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
World History in Video (Alexander Street) A wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online (Britannica) Search the complete Encyclopedia Britannica, as well books, articles, and videos related to the content in the encyclopedia.
Welcome World Civ Students --
A collage of four images -- (clockwise from top left) a sculpture of the head of Odysseus; Chinese calligraphy of The Great Learning in Confucianism; a painting of Krishna giving spiritual instructions (i.e. Bhagavad Gita) to Arjuna at Kurukshetra battlefield; and the Quran in Andalusi script -- representing selections of classics across different cultures, regions, and time. (Photo credits, also clockwise from top left: public domain; courtesy of Fu-Min Yang, Asaf Braverman, UltraLeft on Flickr.)
Resources on this guide could be helpful to you as you take the World Civilization courses.
Check out the general History guide also.
Databases w/History Info
These databases might be a place to start when looking for articles related to history topics. Please note that many of these databases include book titles.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) Provides full-text access to more than 4,000 journals covering most areas of study.
SocINDEX with Full Text (Ebsco) SocINDEX is a comprehensive full-text sociology research database encompassing all sub-disciplines and related areas of sociology study. Over 2.1 million records from 1895 to present day on a wide range of subjects such as criminology, demography, abortion, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development & psychology, substance abuse, and many others.
World Religions Online (Infobase) Facts on File's World Religions Online database offers an objective and comprehensive guide to the World's major religions and spiritual traditions.
Primary vs Secondary Sources