This guide lists resources that can assist you with assignments in English Comp. Remember that the library has many types of materials both online and in print, and only a few are included in this guide. The library staff are there to help you succeed in finding information you need.
Writing about Writing by
Since its initial publication, Writing about Writing has empowered tens of thousands of students to investigate assumptions about writing and to explore how writing works. It does so by making writing itself the subject of inquiry. Unique to Wardle and Downs' approach, the text presents "threshold concepts" about writing--central ideas that writers need to understand in order to progress. As they come to a deeper understanding of these threshold concepts, students are able to transfer their understanding to any writing situation they encounter. This new edition has been refined and improved based on input from instructors using the text. Now with more explicit instruction to support academic writers, a new Part One explains the value of investigating writing, introduces threshold concepts and the notion of transfer, details the elements of genre and rhetorical reading, and offers a guide for conducting writing studies research at a level appropriate for undergraduates. The readings chapters have been updated and streamlined, and as in past editions they are supported with introductions, scaffolded questions, and activities. An extensive Instructor's Manual by teacher-trainer Matt Bryan provides support for teaching with a writing-about-writing approach.
This is required text.
Here are some core book titles that can assist with this course ---
Researching Writing : an introduction to research methods by
Researching Writing is an accessible, informative textbook that teaches undergraduates how to conduct ethical, authentic research in writing studies. The book introduces students to the research approaches used most often and offers a course framework for professors creating or teaching research courses themselves. Author Joyce Kinkead lays out the research process, including finding and defining questions, planning, and starting the research. Expository content introduces the language and methods of writing research, and specific methods are demonstrated in published examples, illustrating student work using student work and showing that it is possible for students to join the scholarly conversation in writing studies. Other features include student activities, instructor resources, student resources, and links to external content on journal websites, digital publications, YouTube, and similar work. The first-ever textbook for research methods in writing studies for undergraduates, Researching Writing takes a hands-on approach that excites and engages students in the depth and complexities of research and will influence the creation of courses in new writing majors as the field continues to grow.
Strategies for Empirical Research in Writing by
Strategies for Empirical Research in Writing is a particularly accessible approach to both qualitative and quantitative empirical research methods, helping novices appreciate the value of empirical research in writing while easing their fears about the research process. This comprehensive book covers research methods ranging from traditional experiments to newer practices such as focus groups, using graphics and real-life examples to clarify concepts. Readers do not need a scientific background to understand the issues involved, and they will find this book non-threatening. Though Strategies is friendly and even humorous in tone, it takes research in writing seriously, advocating rigorous design and implementation of empirical research projects to establish credible findings. This book introduces readers to methods and strategies for research and provides them with enough knowledge to become discerning, confident consumers of research in writing. Topics covered include: library research, empirical methodology, quantitative research, experimental research, surveys, focus groups, ethnographies, and much more. Anyone (novice or guru) who needs to perform statistically valid research.
Try This: Research Methods for Writers by 
Introduction to Health Research Methods by
Designed to empower new investigators to conduct their own original research projects, the third edition of Introduction to Health Research Methods: A Practical Guide leads the reader step-by-step in performing quantitative and qualitative research in medicine, public health, and other clinical and population health fields. Organized in five sections, the text covers the entire research process from formulating a study question and selecting a study approach to collecting and analyzing data and then disseminating the findings. Chapters about methods for primary studies (collecting new data), secondary analyses (analyzing existing data), and tertiary studies (conducting literature reviews and meta-analyses) provide comprehensive coverage of the scope of health research. By breaking the research process down into a series of achievable steps, Introduction to Health Research Methods shows students and early career scholars how they can contribute to improving the health of individuals and communities through research. The Third Edition has been significantly updated to include: - Expanded coverage of qualitative research methods, including new chapters on qualitative study design, data collection, and data analysis. - Additional glossary terms that clarify key terminology for all stages of the research process and a diversity of study approaches. - Enhanced explanations of how to select and implement quantitative and qualitative research and analysis methodologies. - New and updated coverage of topics such as framing research questions, developing testable hypotheses, defining specific aims, responsibly conducting research, selecting study designs, minimizing bias, applying theoretical paradigms, ensuring rigor and reproducibility, conducting quality assessment, managing grants, and more.
Mixed Methods Research for Nursing and the Health Sciences by
Mixed methods research combines quantitative and qualitativeresearch methods in a single study. The use of mixed methodsresearch is increasingly popular in nursing and health sciencesresearch. This growth in popularity has been driven by theincreasing complexity of research problems relating to human healthand wellbeing. Mixed Method Research for Nursing and the Health Sciences is anaccessible, practical guide to the design, conduct and reporting ofmixed method research in nursing or the health sciences. Eachchapter stands alone, describing the various steps of the researchprocess, but contains links to other chapters. Within the text,?real-life? examples from the published literature,doctoral theses and the unpublished work of the authors, illustratethe concepts being discussed. Places mixed methods research within its contemporarycontext Includes international contributions from UK, Australia, NZ andUSA Provides an accessible introduction to theoretical andphilosophical underpinnings Demystifies strategies for analysing mixed methods data Examines strategies for publishing mixed methods research Includes learning objectives and exemplars in each chapter Final chapters provide ?real-life? examples ofapplied research About the Authors: Sharon Andrew is Head of Program (Postgraduate) and Elizabeth J.Halcomb is Senior Lecturer, School of Nursing & Midwifery,University of Western Sydney. Also of Interest: The Research Process in Nursing (Fifth Edition) Edited by Kate Gerrish and Anne Lacey 978-14051-3013-4 Research Handbook for Healthcare Professionals Mary Hickson 978-14051-7737-5 Real World Research: A Resource for Social Scientists andPractitioner-Researchers Second edition Colin Robson 978-0631-21305-5 Reviewing Research Evidence for Nursing Practice: SystematicReviews Edited by Christine Webb and Brenda Roe 978-14051-4423-0
Proposing Empirical Research-5th Ed by
* Provides step-by-step instructions for students who will be writing their first research proposal in the social and behavioral sciences. * Each major section is divided into short topics. For each topic, students complete an exercise that leads them toward the goal of preparing a proposal. * Numerous examples throughout the book make the recommendations for proposal writing come alive. * The model proposals at the end of the book illustrate proposal writing and provide material for classroom discussions. * Provides concrete guidance for students who will be writing proposals for both quantitative and qualitative research. * The structure of this book enables students to work independently with confidence while writing the first drafts of their proposals. * All steps in proposal writing are clearly described and illustrated. * Ideal for use in: · research methods classes where students write a proposal as a term project, · thesis/dissertation preparation classes, · senior research seminars where proposing and conducting research is a culminating undergraduate activity, and · any graduate-level seminar in which the instructor wants to incorporate a project that will engage students in critical thinking about the content area. * Written by our best-selling author, Mildred L. Patten. Your students will appreciate her clear and informative style.
Qualitative Research : An Introduction to Methods and Designs by
The authors'noted scholars and researchers'provide an up-to-date guide to qualitative study design, data collection, analysis, and reporting. Step by step, the authors explain a range of methodologies and methods for conducting qualitative research focusing on how they are applied when conducting an actual study. The book includes methods of data collection, specific approaches to qualitative research, and current issues in the field. Specifically, chapters cover the methods, designs, and analyses related to the methodologies of history, case study, program evaluation, ethnography, autoethnography, narrative, life histories, emancipatory discourses, feminist perspectives, African American inquiry, indigenous studies, and practitioner qualitative research.
Qualitative Research in Health Care by
Provides the essential information that health care researchers and health professionals need to understand the basics of qualitative research Now in its fourth edition, this concise, accessible, and authoritative introduction to conducting and interpreting qualitative research in the health care field has been fully revised and updated. Continuing to introduce the core qualitative methods for data collection and analysis, this new edition also features chapters covering newer methods which are becoming more widely used in the health research field; examining the role of theory, the analysis of virtual and digital data, and advances in participatory approaches to research. Qualitative Research in Health Care, 4th Edition looks at the interface between qualitative and quantitative research in primary mixed method studies, case study research, and secondary analysis and evidence synthesis. The book further offers chapters covering: different research designs, ethical issues in qualitative research; interview, focus group and observational methods; and documentary and conversation analysis. A succinct, and practical guide quickly conveying the essentials of qualitative research Updated with chapters on new and increasingly used methods of data collection including digital and web research Features new examples and up-to-date references and further reading The fourth edition of Qualitative Research in Health Care is relevant to health care professionals, researchers and students in health and related disciplines.
Qualitative Research in the Health Professions by
Qualitative research can provide a great depth of understanding for health professionals in practice. Although many general research texts used in health discipline research courses present a broad spectrum of research methods, their discussion of qualitative methods is often limited. Qualitative Research in the Health Professions by Drs. William A. Pitney, Jenny Parker, Stephanie M. Mazerolle, and Kelly Potteiger, is a practical and straightforward text for those learning about qualitative research in the health professions. In Qualitative Research in the Health Professions, readers will acquire skills in mastering: * Introductory concepts of qualitative research, how it compares to quantitative research, and how to conceptualize a qualitative study * How to conduct a qualitative research study and present findings, including sections on collecting and analyzing data, ensuring trustworthiness of the data, and attending to ethical issues * Advanced concepts including various forms of qualitative research, how to mix quantitative and qualitative methods, and how to evaluate qualitative research Each chapter includes activities and exercises to further students' understanding and the text also includes personal commentaries from scholarly practitioners in various health professions underscoring the value and importance of qualitative research. Qualitative Research in the Health Professionswill help current and future practitioners master the principles of qualitative research, understand published qualitative studies, and apply these findings in furthering evidence-based practice.
Qualitative Research in the Health Sciences by
There is a growing interest in, and acceptance of, qualitative research approaches in the health science disciplines, both as standalone methodologies and integrated with quantitative designs in mixed methods approaches. This comprehensive text provides deeper knowledge and application of a wide range of methodologies, methods and processes, enabling readers to develop their qualitative research skills. Divided into two parts, focusing first on methodologies and then on methods and processes, the text also includes revision of essential aspects of quantitative research as they apply to mixed methods research and a discussion of the uptake of qualitative research in the health sciences. The methodologies covered include: Grounded Theory; Historical Research; Ethnography; Phenomenology; Narrative Inquiry; Case Study Research; Critical Ethnography; Action Research and Mixed Methods. The methods and processes covered include: Interviewing and Analysis; Group Work and Analysis; Narrative Analysis; Discourse Analysis. Using accessible language to help extend readers' practical research skills, this is a thorough and reliable text to guide advanced students and researchers from all health-related disciplines - including nursing, midwifery, public health and physiotherapy - to the best use of qualitative research.
Qualitative Research Methods in Sport Exercise and Health by
Qualitative forms of inquiry are a dynamic and exciting area within contemporary research in sport, exercise and health. Students and researchers at all levels are now expected to understand qualitative approaches and be able to employ them in their work. In this comprehensive and in-depth introductory text, Andrew C. Sparkes and Brett Smith take the reader on a journey through the entire qualitative research process that begins with the conceptualization of ideas and the planning of a study, moves through the phases of data collection and analysis, and then explains how findings might be represented in various ways to different audiences. Ethical issues are also explored in detail, as well as the ways that the goodness of qualitative research might be judged by its consumers. The book is based on the view that researchers need to make principled, informed and strategic decisions about what, why, when, and how to use qualitative forms of inquiry. The nature of qualitative research is explained in terms of both its core assumptions and what practitioners actually do in the field when they collect data and subject it to analysis. Each chapter is vividly illustrated with cases and examples from published research, to demonstrate different qualitative approaches in action and their relative strengths and weaknesses. The book also extends the boundaries of qualitative research by exploring innovative contemporary methodologies and novel ways to report research findings.¿ Qualitative Research Methods in Sport, Exercise and Health¿is essential reading for any student, researcher or professional who wishes to understand this form of inquiry and to engage in a research project within a sport, exercise or health context.
Research Design : Quantitative, Qualitative, Mixed Methods, Arts-Based, and Community-Based Participatory Research Approaches by
This user-friendly book provides a step-by-step guide to using the five major approaches to research design: quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research. Chapters on each approach follow a unique format--they present a template for a research proposal and explain in detail how to conceptualize and fill in every section. Terminology commonly used within each approach is identified, and key moments of ethical decision making are flagged. Interdisciplinary research examples draw on current events and social justice topics. Unique coverage includes hot topics: replication studies and data sharing, tailoring proposals to different audiences, and more. The book also includes a general introduction to social research; an in-depth, practical discussion of ethics; and a chapter on how to begin a research study, from planning a topic to developing a research question via a literature review. Pedagogical Features *Multiple "Review Stops" in each chapter--quick quizzes with answer keys. *End-of-chapter writing exercises, research activities, and suggested resources. *Bold-face key terms and an end-of-book glossary. *Boxed tips from experts in the respective approaches. *Supplemental PowerPoint slides for instructors using the book in a class. Winner (Third Place)--American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award, Nursing Research Category
Researching Writing : an introduction to research methods by
Researching Writing is an accessible, informative textbook that teaches undergraduates how to conduct ethical, authentic research in writing studies. The book introduces students to the research approaches used most often and offers a course framework for professors creating or teaching research courses themselves. Author Joyce Kinkead lays out the research process, including finding and defining questions, planning, and starting the research. Expository content introduces the language and methods of writing research, and specific methods are demonstrated in published examples, illustrating student work using student work and showing that it is possible for students to join the scholarly conversation in writing studies. Other features include student activities, instructor resources, student resources, and links to external content on journal websites, digital publications, YouTube, and similar work. The first-ever textbook for research methods in writing studies for undergraduates, Researching Writing takes a hands-on approach that excites and engages students in the depth and complexities of research and will influence the creation of courses in new writing majors as the field continues to grow.
Research Literacy by
Preparing students to become informed, critical consumers of research, this accessible text builds essential skills for understanding research reports, evaluating the implications for evidence-based practice, and communicating findings to different audiences. It demystifies qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods designs and provides step-by-step procedures for judging the strengths and limitations of any study. Excerpts from real research reports are used as opportunities to develop methodological knowledge and practice analytic skills. Based on sound pedagogic principles, the text is structured for diverse learning styles: visual learners (concept maps, icons), active learners (building-block exercises and templates for writing), and story learners (examples, reading guides, and reflections). Pedagogical Features *Rubrics, checklists of steps to take, and reading guides that walk students through analyzing different types of research articles. *Journal abstracts with questions that home in on key aspects of a study. *Exemplars of each type of study, with descriptions of methodological and design choices. *End-of-chapter skills-building exercises that lead up to writing a research review essay. *Chapter appendices featuring sample responses to the exercises.
Research Methods in Health Communication by
This volume provides an essential roster of primary research methods as they apply to health communication inquiry. Editor Bryan B. Whaley brings together key health communication researchers to write about their primary methodological areas. Their chapters offer guidance and insights for a variety of approaches to answering research questions. The methods included here cover: Exploration and Description: interview/focus groups, case study, ethnography, and surveys; Examining Messages and Interpersonal Exchanges: narrative analysis, conversational analysis, analyzing physician-patient interactions, social network analysis, and content analysis; Causal Explication: experimental research, meta-analysis, and meta-synthesis; and Cultural, Population, and Critical Concerns: rhetorical methods and criticism, and methodological issues when investigating stigmatized populations, and groups with health disparities. Chapters cite or use examples from allied health areas -- nursing, public health, sociology, medicine -- to demonstrate the breadth of health communication studies. This work highlights the importance of methodology in health communication research in multiple contexts. Developed to provide a fundamental reference for investigating health communication, this volume will serve as an invaluable tool for researchers and students across the social science and health disciplines.
Research Methods in Health Promotion by
The bestselling textbook to understanding health research, updated and expanded Research Methods in Health Promotion provides students and practitioners with essential knowledge and skills regarding the design, implementation, analysis, and interpretation of research in the field of health promotion. Now in its second edition, this bestselling textbook has been updated with more recent research methodologies and additional information on sampling, participatory and survey research, and qualitative data analysis. The entire research process is covered, with specific points relating to both qualitative and quantitative research. By breaking the daunting process of research into simple and well-defined steps, this user-friendly text encourages students to think about research as a sequential process and provides explanations that facilitate better understanding of each step in the research process. A separate set of chapters cover the more quantitative methodological areas including designs, measurement, sampling, and data analysis in depth, giving readers the understanding they need to apply in practice. This book also provides applied chapters that illustrate the practical aspects of the research process, along with other critical information including grant writing and scientific writing. Evaluate the ethics, design, analysis, and interpretation of research Identify and understand the key components of research studies Analyze and interpret the results of experimental and survey research designs Understand the process of publishing a research report and constructing a grant proposal Research Methods in Health Promotion is ideal for both undergrad and graduate methods courses in health promotion and public health.
Social Research by
This fully revised and updated popular text successfully bridges the gap between theory and methods in social research, clearly illuminating these essential components for understanding the dynamics of social relations. The book is divided into two parts, with part one examining the issues and perspectives in social research and part two setting out the methods and processes. Updates to this edition include: A new chapter on case study research A new concluding chapter Links to additional websites and IT applications that are integrated throughout the book Updated experiential examples and scenarios More international examples The clear writing style, chapter summaries, questions for reflection and signposts to further readings continue to make this book the ideal companion to social research for students across the social sciences. In addition, it will be recognised as an invaluable source of reference for those practising and teaching social research who wish to keep abreast of key developments in the field. With contributions from Beth Perry (University of Salford) and Carole Sutton (University of Plymouth).
Strategies for Empirical Research in Writing by
Strategies for Empirical Research in Writing is a particularly accessible approach to both qualitative and quantitative empirical research methods, helping novices appreciate the value of empirical research in writing while easing their fears about the research process. This comprehensive book covers research methods ranging from traditional experiments to newer practices such as focus groups, using graphics and real-life examples to clarify concepts. Readers do not need a scientific background to understand the issues involved, and they will find this book non-threatening. Though Strategies is friendly and even humorous in tone, it takes research in writing seriously, advocating rigorous design and implementation of empirical research projects to establish credible findings. This book introduces readers to methods and strategies for research and provides them with enough knowledge to become discerning, confident consumers of research in writing. Topics covered include: library research, empirical methodology, quantitative research, experimental research, surveys, focus groups, ethnographies, and much more. Anyone (novice or guru) who needs to perform statistically valid research.
Try This: Research Methods for Writers by 
Understanding Research Methods by
A perennial bestseller since 1997, this updated tenth edition of Understanding Research Methods provides a detailed overview of all the important concepts traditionally covered in a research methods class. It covers the principles of both qualitative and quantitative research, and how to interpret statistics without computations, so is suitable for all students regardless of their math background. The book is organized so that each concept is treated independently and can be used in any order without resulting in gaps in knowledge¿allowing it to be easily and precisely adapted to any course. It uses lively examples on contemporary topics to stimulate students¿ interest, and engages them by showing the relevance of research methods to their everyday lives. Numerous case studies and end-of-section exercises help students master the material and encourage classroom discussion. The text is divided into short, independent topic sections, making it easy for you to adapt the material to your own teaching needs and customize assignments to the aspect of qualitative or quantitative methods under study¿helping to improve students¿ comprehension and retention of difficult concepts. Additional online PowerPoint slides and test bank questions make this a complete resource for introducing students to research methods. ¿ New to this edition: New topic section on design decisions in research Additional material on production of knowledge and research methods Significant development of material on ethical considerations in research Fresh and contemporary examples from a wide variety of real, published research Topic-specific exercises at the end of each section now include suggestions for further steps researchers can take as they build their research project.
Resources listed on these guides are compiled by librarians at the R.A. Williams Library. We accept content recommendations, and after review, may include suggested resources on a guide. Our time is limited, so we generally do not reply to unsolicited recommendations from individuals not affiliated with AdventHealth University or notify them regarding whether or not we have linked to suggested content.