AHU Resource Guides: Evidence Based Practice: What is EBP?

What is Evidence Based Practice?

What is Evidence Based Practice, July 2015 by Northern Kentucky University Library for Allied Health Programs.

The basic principles of evidence-based medicine
Linked from PubMed

Up-To-Date

UpToDate is a clinical support tool that provides evidence-based material that has been digested and summarized for the clinical professional to use at the bedside.

UpToDate (Wolters Kluwer) This link opens in a new window UpToDate is a clinical decision support tool of evidence-based information on drugs, medical specialties, and treatment recommendations.

UpToDate -- Nursing
Powerpoint by Wolters Kluwer sharing how this tool is very helpful to nurses.
UpToDate -- Nursing brochure
UpToDate -- Reference card

UpToDate User Academy
This academy is available to make it easy for you to register, access and get started with UpToDate at your organization. Please check out the guides and videos designed to help you quickly learn how to get answers to your clinical questions.

Databases for Evidence-based Practice Articles

CINAHL Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window CINAHL Complete is an authoritative resource for nursing and allied health articles. It searches an indexed collection of nearly 3 million articles from more than 3000 journals covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, rehabilitation, radiography, sonography, and more. CINAHL Complete also includes the full text of articles from nearly 600 of the journals in the index.
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases. The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials. The CDSR also has occasional supplements. The CDSR is updated regularly as Cochrane Reviews are published ‘when ready' and form monthly issues.
JBI Evidence-based Practice Database (Ovid) This link opens in a new window This database covers a wide range of medical, nursing, and health science specialties and includes a unique suite of information that’s been analyzed, appraised, and prepared by expert reviewers at JBI, as well as tools to help healthcare professionals implement an effective evidence–based practice program.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Search the National Librarian of Medicine database of biomedical and health sciences journals using the OVID SP search interface.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Healthcare information from full-text nursing and health journals and dissertations.
PubMed (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window Search the National Librarian of Medicine database of biomedical and health sciences journals through the publicly available NLM search interface.
PubMed Central (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window PMC is a free digital archive of full-text biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

TRIP Database The TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.

Websites for Evidence-based Practice material

Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
Wonderful site. It has a section on Evidence-Based Practice.
The Cochrane Collaboration
Cochrane Reviews investigate the effects of interventions for prevention, treatment and rehabilitation in a healthcare setting. They also assess the accuracy of a diagnostic test for a given condition in a specific patient group and setting. Cochrane Reviews are internationally recognized as the highest standard in evidence-based health care. [AHU has Cochrane Collection via EBSCO]
Evidence based practice Models
Springer Publishing
Iowa Model of EBP, Stetler Model, Ottawa Model of Research Use, PariHS Framework, ACE Star Model of Knowledge Transformation, ARCC, JHNEBP, KTA Process Framework,

Resources for Critical Appraisal

Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP)
The Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP) was developed in Oxford in 1993 and has since helped to develop an evidence based approach in health and social care, working with local, national and international partner organisations.