The RA Williams Library has a variety of resources in print and electronic format to learn about Evidence Based Practice.
Evaluating Research in Academic Journals by
Evaluating Research in Academic Journals is a guide for students who are learning how to evaluate reports of empirical research published in academic journals. It breaks down the process of evaluating a journal article into easy-to-understand steps, and emphasizes the practical aspects of evaluating research - not just how to apply a list of technical terms from textbooks. The book avoids oversimplification in the evaluation process by describing the nuances that may make an article publishable even when it has serious methodological flaws. Students learn when and why certain types of flaws may be tolerated, and why evaluation should not be performed mechanically. Each chapter is organized around evaluation questions. For each question, there is a concise explanation of how to apply it in the evaluation of research reports. Numerous examples from journals in the social and behavioral sciences illustrate the application of the evaluation questions, and demonstrate actual examples of strong and weak features of published reports. Common-sense models for evaluation combined with a lack of jargon make it possible for students to start evaluating research articles the first week of class. New to this edition New chapters on: evaluating mixed methods research evaluating systematic reviews and meta-analyses program evaluation research Updated chapters and appendices that provide more comprehensive information and recent examples Full new online resources: test bank questions and PowerPoint slides for instructors, and self-test chapter quizzes, further readings and additional journal examples for students.
Foundations of Clinical Research : Applications to Evidence-Based Practice, 4e by
Become a successful evidence-based practitioner How do you evaluate the evidence? Is the information accurate, relevant and meaningful for clinical decision making? Did the design fit the research questions and was the analysis and interpretation of data appropriate? Here are all the materials you need to take your first steps as evidence-based practitioners...how to use the design, data and analysis of research as the foundation for effective clinical decision making. You'll find support every step of the way as you progress from the foundations of clinical research and concepts of measurement through the processes of designing studies and analyzing data to writing their own research proposal. Five Stars. "Best book I have read explaining research. Not too complicated - but very thorough."--Amazon Reviewer Simply the best. "This is such a valuable resource. Bought it for the DPT program I am enrolled in. I will keep it as an excellent resource. So well written."--Amazon Reviewer ... this is a great book." It explains concepts so well! Our professor changed to this book the next year. All the OTs and PTs in my PhD program have bought this book. This is in my keep forever collection. Everyone in my department has the book and only loans it out with strict instructions for its return."--Kelly A., Amazon Reviewer
How to Read a Paper by
Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
Searching Skills Toolkit by
Searching Skills Toolkit is an expert guide to help you find the clinical evidence you need more easily and effectively. Clearly presented with useful tips and advice, flow charts, diagrams and real-life clinical scenarios, it shows the best methods for finding quality evidence. From deciding where to start, to building a search strategy, refining results and critical appraisal, it is a step-by-step guide to the process of finding healthcare evidence, and is designed for use by all health and social care professionals. This second edition has been expanded with new chapters on searching for sources to support evidence-based management decision making and how to better enable your patients to make informed choices. It has also been fully updated to include new web sources, open source reference management software, and new training resources and exercises. Searching Skills Toolkit is an ideal reference for doctors, nurses, allied health professionals, managers and decision makers, researchers and students.
Studying a Study Testing a Test : Reading Evidence-Based Health Research by
This complete package of textbook, interactive exercises, and real research articles is designed for use alongside Journal Clubs conducted in medical, nursing, and other health professions programs, as well as in evidence-based medicine courses. It employs the authors' proven, step-by-step framework, and strengthens students' and residents' ability to recognize a meaningful study, identify potential study flaws, and apply solid evidence in clinical decision making. Class tested by students in leading medical schools, Studying a Study and Testing a Test, Seventh Edition, features a suite of resources ideal for traditional learning, flipped-classroom approaches, and distance learning: Interactive online Journal Club review, available on thePoint, reinforces the fundamentals of critiquing research using simulated studies and flaw-catching exercises, which help you prepare for success on Step 2, Step 3, and other certifying examinations. M.A.A.R.I.E. framework provides a questions-to-ask approach for critical review of clinical research from observational and randomized studies to decision analyses and cost-effectiveness analyses. Reading the Research, available on thePoint, provides full-length articles and abstracts that prompt critical reading and interactive discussions of case-control studies, cohort studies, and randomized controlled trials. New flaw-catching exercises included at the end of each unit provide additional practice using the M.A.A.R.I.E. approach to recognize study flaws. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more.
Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care by
Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care, 2nd Edition, presents objective data and expert guidance on managing critically ill patients in unique question-based chapters that focus on best practices. Now thoroughly updated by Drs. Clifford S. Deutschman, Patrick J. Neligan, and nearly 200 critical-care experts, this highly regarded title remains the only book of its kind that provides a comprehensive framework for translating evidence into practice, making it a valuable resource for both residents and practitioners. Tap into the expertise of nearly 200 critical-care experts who discuss the wide variety of clinical options in critical care, examine the relevant research, and provide recommendations based on a thorough analysis of available evidence. Think through each question in a logical, efficient manner, using a practical, consistent approach to available management options and guidelines. Find the information you need quickly with tables that summarize the available literature and recommended clinical approaches. Navigate a full range of challenges from routine care to complicated and special situations. Stay up to date with new issues and controversies such as the redefinition of sepsis . changing approaches to fluid administration . immune suppression in sepsis . monitoring the microcirculation . the long-term sequelae of critical illness . minimizing ventilator associated lung injury . the benefits of evidence-based medicine management guidelines . rapid response teams . and more. Benefit from all-new sections covering persistent critical illness and the role of advanced practice nurses and physician assistants in the ICU.
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing by
Second Edition Designated a Doody's Core Title This is a concise, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the fundamentals of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information. The third edition is updated to deliver the most current information on research methods, database upgrades, and new resources. The reference serves as a succinct companion for students in EBP courses and provides practicing nurses with a resource for developing EBP on their units. It equips bedside nurses with fundamental concepts and explains basic research terms and how to conduct literature searches to "find the evidence." The third edition continues to deliver the most practical information on EBP, including how to get the best evidence quickly, using various databases, and coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and abundant examples demonstrate concepts. This classroom-tested book also provides background information on defining the "compelling question," which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material. New to the Third Edition: Updated with current information on research methods and new resources"Finding the Evidence" chapter completely updated with the latest databases and search enginesIncludes two new chapters, "The Iowa Model of Evidence-Based Practice to Promote Quality Care" and "Evidence-Based Practice in the Nurse Residency Program"Aligns with projects that are required by many undergraduate programs and residency/internship programs for new nursesIncorporates the Iowa Model of EBP into developing the project format Key Features: Provides step-by-step methods to implement evidence-based practiceIncludes examples of how hospitals and healthcare providers are integrating EBP into their practiceIncludes extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care, with examples and cases to show readers practical application of contentReviews basic terms and principlesPresents quantitative and qualitative research approachesHas been classroom tested and used in both live and online course formats
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, Fourth Edition by
The dynamic and competitive US healthcare environment requires healthcare professionals who are accountable to provide efficient and effective care. New evidence is continually surfacing in nursing and medical environments. Consumer pressure and increased patient expectations place an even greater emphasis on the need for healthcare professionals to deliver true evidence-based care in their daily practice. Johns Hopkins Nursing is steadfastly dedicated to making it easy for frontline nurses, health professionals, and students to use best evidence in the everyday practice. With each edition, we revise based on the honest, frank, and generous feedback we receive from frontline users of the Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice Model from across the globe. We are grateful to those healthcare professionals who have taken the time to provide feedback to improve the clarity and usability of the model in a variety of clinical and academic settings. In this fourth edition, we are excited to be able to share these changes.The revised Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice model underscores the need for organizations to cultivate both a spirit of inquiry and an environment of learning that encourages questioning, and seeking best evidence and its implementation and adoption in practice. Although our model was developed, tested, and implemented by and for nurses, we have had numerous requests and feedback from other health professionals to use the Hopkins model. Thus, we introduce the fourth edition with a new title-Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals. This change reflects the growing evidence base of the importance for interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, particularly when addressing complex care issues such as those often tackled by EBP teams. In this edition, our overarching aim is to provide practical and pragmatic explanations, approaches, and tools to guide and support teams engaging in EBP projects.
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, Fourth Edition by
The goal of EBP in healthcare is to promote improved interventions, care, and patient outcomes.Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing and healthcare. Building on the strength of previous versions, the fourth edition is fully revised to include updated content based on more than a decade of the model's use, refinement in real-life settings, and feedback from nurses and other healthcare professionals around the world.Key features of the book include:* NEW strategies for dissemination, including guidance on submitting manuscripts for publication* EXPANDED focus on the importance of interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, particularly when addressing the complex care issues often tackled by EBP teams* EXPANDED synthesis and translation steps, including an expanded list of outcome measures to determine the success of an EBP project* Tools to guide the EBP process, such as stakeholder analysis, action planning, and dissemination* Explanation of the practice question, evidence, and translation (PET) approach to EBP projects* Overview of the patient, intervention, comparison, and outcome (PICO) approach to EBP question development* Creation of a supportive infrastructure for building an EBP nursing environment* Exemplars detailing real-world EBP experiences
Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice, 3rd edition by
The goal of evidence-based practice (EBP) in nursing is to promote improved interventions, care, and patient outcomes. Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing. This fully revised third edition builds on the strength of the first two editions with updated content based on more than a decade of the model's use and refinement in real-life settings. Authors Deborah Dang and Sandra L. Dearholt also incorporated feedback from nurses around the world. Key features of the Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model include: NEW: Tips for using the newly updated Johns Hopkins Nursing EBP model and guidelines, NEW: Tips on seeking funding for the advancement of interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, NEW: Tools to guide the EBP process, such as Stakeholder Analysis, Action Planning, and Dissemination, Explanation of the Practice question, Evidence, and Translation (PET) approach to EBP projects, Overview of the Patient, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome (PICO) approach to EBP question development, Creation of a supportive infrastructure for building an EBP nursing environment, Exemplars detailing real-world EBP experiences, CNOs, nurse managers, bedside nurses, and students alike have successfully transformed their practices and improved patient care using Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice: Model and Guidelines. Book jacket.
Models and Frameworks for Implementing Evidence-Based Practice by
The Evidence-Based Nursing Series is co-published with Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI). The series focuses on implementing evidence-based practice in nursing and mirrors the remit of Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing, encompassing clinical practice, administration, research and public policy. Models and Frameworks for Implementing Evidence- Based Practice: Linking Evidence to Action looks at ways of implementing evidence gained through research and factors that influence successful implementation. It acknowledges the gap that exists between obtaining evidence and the practicalities of putting it into practice and provides direction to help to close this gap. This, the first book in the series, helps the reader to make decisions about the appropriateness of using various models and frameworks. A selection of models and frameworks are examined in detail including examples of their use in practice. The book concludes with an analysis and synthesis of the included models and frameworks. The models and frameworks that have been included are based on a number of criteria: that they are internationally recognised, have undergone widespread evaluation and testing, are transferable across different settings, and can be used by different disciplines. Models and frameworks include: Stetler Model Ottowa Model of Research Use IOWA model of evidence-based practice Advancing Research and Clinical Practice through Close Collaboration (ARCC) model Dobbins' dissemination and use of research evidence for policy and practice framework JBI model Knowledge to Action framework Promoting Action on Research Implementation in Health Services (PARIHS) Key Points: Includes an overview of implementation issues and the use of theory and frameworks in implementing evidence into practice Chapters are written by the developers of the model or framework Each chapter provides background on an implementation model or framework, suitable applications, underlying theory and examples of use Each chapter examines strengths and weaknesses of each model alongside barriers and facilitators for its implementation
Statistics for Evidence-Based Practice, 3rd edition by
Statistics for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, Third Edition promotes a comprehensive understanding of statistics in all aspects of clinical practice and health care settings. This text has been thoughtfully designed to meet the learning needs of practicing nurses and advanced practice nursing students to help them engage in evidence-based practice. Praised for its readability, the Third Edition teaches students to interpret and evaluate statistical findings in practice. The Third Edition is written with clarity and accessibility in mind, helping drive student comprehension of statistics. Expanded datasets allow for learners to take on more complex practice problems, readying them for real-world application. In addition to featuring the latest SPSS procedures, the new edition presents further instruction using Excel. Readers will appreciate updated case studies, the inclusion of evidence-based practice applications of statistics, and critical thinking questions. New to the Third Edition:- New evidence-based case studies reflect current practices and issues in nursing- New critical thinking questions and self-quizzes reinforce key concepts- Complex datasets simulate working with large populations- Updated screenshots from SPSS and Excel procedures