AHU Resource Guides: Healthcare Administration (BS and MHA): Journal Searching / Finding Articles

General Search Tips

State what you need in a sentence.
Select keywords from your statement.
Use these keywords as search terms.
If searching a phrase, enclose the phrase in "quotation marks". (not all databases offer this feature)
Use truncation * , if relevant --- example: nurs* ; therap* ; librar* (not all database offer the truncation feature)

Article Searching Videos

Ebooks -- Locating eBooks and Journal Articles (4:23)

OneSearch -- Use to locate books and journal articles

OneSearch is the library search tool that helps find resources you need for assignments.

Watch the two short video tutorials to learn more.

OneSearch : The Basics (2:04)
R.A. Williams Library. Login required.
OneSearch : Advanced Searching -- Journal articles (3:07)
R.A. Williams Library video. Login required.
OneSearch link (advanced)

The Library's OneSearch Box searches for resources the library subscribes to and a few government tools ---

journal articles
Books (ebooks and print)
Media (DVD's and streaming videos)

Databases --- Suggested for finding journal articles

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window This database is the most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Archive, featuring over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to more than 4,000 journals covering most areas of study.
Business Source Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete provides comprehensive full-text coverage for more than 2200 business journals and magazines with coverage back as far as 1886. These titles include more than 800 scholarly peer-reviewed journals that are available up to the latest issue. Also, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 additional journals.
CINAHL Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window CINAHL Complete is an authoritative resource for nursing and allied health articles. It searches an indexed collection of nearly 3 million articles from more than 3000 journals covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, rehabilitation, radiography, sonography, and more. CINAHL Complete also includes the full text of articles from nearly 600 of the journals in the index.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Healthcare information from full-text nursing and health journals and dissertations.
PubMed (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window Search the National Librarian of Medicine database of biomedical and health sciences journals through the publicly available NLM search interface.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Access an index of millions of journal articles covering a broad range of topics in science, technology, and medicine.

Google Scholar

Health Administration related journals

Enter the name of a journal in the search box to find it in the library's collection.

American journal of infection control*
Business ethics (Oxford, England)*
Care management journals: Journal of case management : the journal of long term home health care
Current problems in pediatric and adolescent health care*
Ethics and the environment
Family and Community Health
Harvard business review*
Health & Social Care in the Community
Healthcare financial management
Healthcare executive
Health care manager*
Health care management review*
Health policy and technology*
Healthcare informatics
Health expectations: an international journal of public participation in health care and health policy*
Health services research*
Infection control and hospital epidemiology*
International journal of management education*
International journal of medical informatics (Shannon, Ireland)*

Journal titles -- continued

JAMA*
Journal for healthcare quality*
Journal of biomedical informatics*
Journal of economic development, management, IT, finance and marketing
Journal of clinical ethics*
Journal of healthcare management
Journal of law, medicine and ethics*
Journal of nursing administration*
Journal of marketing and management
Journal of public health management and practice*
Journal of religious ethics*
Lancet, The (British edition)*
Business management dynamics
Management today
Medical economics
Modern healthcare
Molecular informatics*
New england journal of medicine*
Nursing administration quarterly*
Nursing ethics
On-line journal of nursing informatics
Pharmaceutical executive
Professional case management*
Quality management in health care*