Check the eCampus link to verify which books are used in your course.
If the library has an unlimited access ebook there will be a statement indicating and a link.
Healthcare Finance : An Introduction to Accounting & Financial Management by Bonus Chapters 18 & 19 (click here for access) Practice Exercises for Students (click here for access) Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint slides, solutions to end-of-chapter questions and problems, and a transition guide to the new edition. The essential concepts of both accounting and financial management are covered in this best-selling healthcare finance book. Through clear explanations, numerous examples, and realistic practice problems, it arms future managers with the grounding they need to make financially sound decisions for their healthcare organizations. This thoroughly updated edition provides more emphasis on the unique marketplace for healthcare services and additional examples from nonhospital settings, including medical practices, clinics, home health agencies, nursing homes, and managed care organizations. Particular content changes include: Expanded discussion of health insurance, reimbursement methodologies, and the impact of healthcare reform on provider behavior A new presentation of managerial accounting material that follows a more logical progression of concepts, emphasizing the level of analysis (organization, department, service) rather than techniques Coverage of three service-line costing methods: cost-to-charge ratio, relative value unit, and activity-based costing. Plus, an introduction to time-driven activity-based costing, a method for costing at the patient level. Updated financial accounting formats that conform to the latest American Institute of Certified Public Accountants guidance Increased coverage of the revenue cycle This edition also features a more user-friendly layout and additional end-of-chapter practice problems. Online student resources include: A chapter on lease financing and business valuation (previously included in the book) A chapter on distributions to owners: bonuses, dividends, and repurchases Use the companion casebook for even more classroom application! Gapenski's Cases in Healthcare Finance, Sixth Edition, is an ideal supplement to this text. Through real-world cases, it bridges the gap between learning concepts in a lecture setting and applying these concepts on the job. Students will be better prepared to deal with the multitude of issues that arise in the practice of healthcare finance!
Gapenski's Fundamentals of Healthcare Finance, Third Edition by Student Resources (click here for access) Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint slides, cases, and solutions to the end-of-chapter questions and problems and the five online cases. In today's evolving healthcare environment, astute financial management is more important than ever to an organization's economic well-being. Leaders throughout the enterprise--not just financial managers but clinical and operational managers, too--must have a solid grounding in finance to be able to improve care and deliver value. Gapenski's Fundamentals of Healthcare Finance provides a comprehensive introduction to the basic principles and applications of healthcare finance that managers use daily. In clear and succinct language, the book provides readers--from students and entry-level managers to more experienced practitioners with newly added management or financial responsibilities--with a detailed overview of finance topics ranging from planning and budgeting to financial operations, capital investment, and risk analysis. Practice scenarios, examples, self-test questions, sidebars on financial practices in healthcare, and running glossary definitions help bring these topics to life. This book's original author, Louis C. Gapenski, PhD, was recognized both nationally and internationally as an expert in healthcare finance. In this new edition, authors Kristin L. Reiter and Paula H. Song further refine Dr. Gapenski's concepts and teachings. In addition to updated examples and statistics, this edition includes new or expanded information on: Current community benefit reporting requirementsService line costingApplications of capital investment decision analysisInternational financial reporting standardsNot-for-profit accounting standardsFinancial accountingHealthcare legislation Gapenski's Fundamentals of Healthcare Finance equips readers with the knowledge, vocabulary, and understanding they need to interpret financial data and to communicate and work effectively with finance leaders in their organizations.Gapenski's Fundamentals of Healthcare Finance, Third Edition by Student Resources (click here for access) Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint slides, cases, and solutions to the end-of-chapter questions and problems and the five online cases. In today's evolving healthcare environment, astute financial management is more important than ever to an organization's economic well-being. Leaders throughout the enterprise--not just financial managers but clinical and operational managers, too--must have a solid grounding in finance to be able to improve care and deliver value. Gapenski's Fundamentals of Healthcare Finance provides a comprehensive introduction to the basic principles and applications of healthcare finance that managers use daily. In clear and succinct language, the book provides readers--from students and entry-level managers to more experienced practitioners with newly added management or financial responsibilities--with a detailed overview of finance topics ranging from planning and budgeting to financial operations, capital investment, and risk analysis. Practice scenarios, examples, self-test questions, sidebars on financial practices in healthcare, and running glossary definitions help bring these topics to life. This book's original author, Louis C. Gapenski, PhD, was recognized both nationally and internationally as an expert in healthcare finance. In this new edition, authors Kristin L. Reiter and Paula H. Song further refine Dr. Gapenski's concepts and teachings. In addition to updated examples and statistics, this edition includes new or expanded information on: Current community benefit reporting requirementsService line costingApplications of capital investment decision analysisInternational financial reporting standardsNot-for-profit accounting standardsFinancial accountingHealthcare legislation Gapenski's Fundamentals of Healthcare Finance equips readers with the knowledge, vocabulary, and understanding they need to interpret financial data and to communicate and work effectively with finance leaders in their organizations.
Fundamentals of Medical Practice Management by Instructor Resources: Instructor Manual and test bank. Consolidations and mergers have dramatically changed the face of the medical practice. From governance issues to information technology, today's practice managers face a host of new complexities and competing priorities that demand more robust skills and knowledge than ever before. Fundamentals of Medical Practice Management uniquely addresses the educational needs of the modern practice manager. The author, who studied under quality guru W. Edwards Deming, combines a focus on quality and excellence with an important thesis: that working together and putting people first is the best path to success in healthcare. The author argues that win-lose games and quick-fix solutions have begun to deliver diminished returns in healthcare--not only economically but emotionally and societally. Although the book delves into many practical topics, its aim is to shape the reader's mind-set for a new era of people-focused practice management. Fundamentals of Medical Practice Management covers these areas and more: · Information technology and management · Regulatory issues, law, and practice management · Strategic planning, project management, and marketing · Third-party payers and revenue cycle · Human resources management · Quality and emergency management This book will appeal to a wide range of learners, including those in organizational programs, undergraduate and master of health administration programs, and practice management certificate programs. Its insights will not only prepare those new to the field but also help current practice managers to retool and refocus.
Healthcare Strategic Planning by Strategic planning is an important management tool, especially in an era of uncertainty. A sound strategic plan helps healthcare organizations thrive in dynamic environments and adapt as market conditions change. This new edition of Healthcare Strategic Planning provides the reader with practical guidance and expert insights for addressing near-term pressures, achieving long-term goals, and managing pitfalls that can derail effective planning. Descriptions, examples, and guidelines lead the reader step-by-step through a proven strategic planning process. Strategic planning in the healthcare environment has evolved since the previous editions of this book were published. This edition reinvigorates the discussion with many new ideas and additional information on contemporary strategic planning. Instructor Resources: PowerPoint slides of the exhibits.
Leadership and Self-Deception : Getting Out of the Box by Leadership and Self-Deception shows how the problems that typically prevent superior performance in organizations and cause conflicts in our personal lives are the result of a little-known problem called self-deception. People who are in self-deception live and work as if trapped in a box. They can't see the reality around them--they're blind to the self-serving motivations that are sabotaging them on the job and at home. But there is a way out. Through an entertaining and engaging story, Leadership and Self-Deception shows what self-deception is, how it operates, the damage it does, and, most importantly, what can be done about it.This third edition includes new research about the self-deception gap in organizations and the keys to closing this gap so that people take responsibility for their own problems and for organizational problems. It also includes the first chapter from Arbinger's latest bestseller, The Outward Mindset.
Leadership in Healthcare : Essential Values and Skills, Third Edition by Instructor Resources: PowerPoint slides, additional discussion questions, and web links. Today's healthcare leaders face constant challenge and change. Even as they cope with a rapidly evolving environment, they also must overcome existing obstacles inherent to running multifaceted operations. A solid value system will anchor leaders as they navigate these daily hurdles. This highly regarded book examines leadership through the lens of such values. It provides a comprehensive overview of leadership principles specific to the healthcare environment and explores both personal and team values that drive appropriate and effective behavior. Case studies, exercises, and self-assessment tools facilitate teaching, dialogue, and self-reflection. A valuable resource for seasoned practitioners and their leadership teams, the book is also used extensively in academic courses in leadership. Updates to this edition include: Expanded coverage of academic theories and popular approaches to leadership A new chapter articulating the need to identify and develop new types of leaders in healthcare A new chapter on the extensive work of researchers who have examined the impact of leadership on organizational outcomes Updated and expanded discussion of servant leadership, change makers, employee engagement, emotional intelligence, and groupthink Fresh examples and cases featuring clinical leaders, including both nurses and physicians
Strategic Analysis for Healthcare Concepts and Practical Applications by Instructor Resources: PowerPoint slides with teaching tips. An applied learning approach that will keep students engaged! The healthcare environment is changing rapidly, and so are the skill sets needed for successful organizational leadership in the field. Strategic Analysis for Healthcare: Concepts and Practical Applications arms readers with strategic analysis methods, tools, and frameworks, and builds a foundation of practical experience to prepare students for their future careers. This unique workbook introduces students to analysis and strategy development through examples within healthcare as well as from outside industries where strategic analysis has been key to organizations' survival and success. After a brief introduction to business strategy, the book covers a sequence of strategic analysis tools, logically arranged into sections on broad analysis, focused analysis, integrative analysis, strategy development, and strategy selection. Application exercises grow in complexity from one chapter to the next as students develop new skills. Topics include the following: Future-perfect thinking and affinity charts Five forces, PEST, and SWOT analyses Financial statement and ratio analyses Life cycle and corporate culture analyses Internal-external and grand strategy matrices Quantitative strategic planning matrix and profitability projections The book can be used as a stand-alone text or in conjunction with existing textbooks to facilitate applied learning. Comprehensive yet practical, it can also be used in a capstone course. Perforated pages allow for easy use of the activities as gradable assignments.