Source: Pixabay
Use the following format when citing a patient medical record when writing papers or case reports. This citation is based on the 7th ed. APA rules for a technical report -- Section 10.4 Reports and Gray Literature.
How to Cite a Radiology Report -- Citation example
Interpreting Physician (Year, Month date [Dictation Date]). Exam [italicized]. Facility.
Examples:
Morris, L. (2020, January 12). Left forearm. AdventHealth Imaging Princeton.
Wilson, H.[Harriet]. (2019, May 22). Nuclear medicine bone scan. AdventHealth Fish Memorial.
Wilson, H. [Henry]. (2020, January 5). Right forearm. AdventHealth Imaging Oviedo.
Radioactive Poisoning and Radiation Exposure by
This unique book provides an accessible introduction to both the scientific background and the key people involved in the discovery and use of radiation and radioactivity. It begins by providing a short history of radiation exposures and radiation poisoning; from the early inappropriate use of X-rays and radium cures through the misadventures of the Manhattan Project and the Chernobyl disaster, to the high-profile and deliberate poisoning of Alexander Litvinenko in London with polonium-210, which gave rise to worldwide media attention. The chapters provide a catalogue of deliberate criminal acts, unfortunate accidents, and inadvertent radiation exposures, exploring well-known events in detail, as well as some not so well-known occurrences. It works through the topics by focusing on human stories and events and their biological impact. In addition, it covers descriptions of the beneficial uses of radiation and radioactivity. This book can be enjoyed by any reader with a general interest in science, as well as by students and professionals within the scientific and medical communities. Key features Authored by a subject area specialist who has worked in both clinical practice and academia and was involved with the national media following incidents of national and international importance Provides a unique human perspective into well-known and some lesser known events and a concise history of the discovery of radiation and the events that followed Adds scientific and medical background to a subject of high media interest
Basic Musculoskeletal Imaging, Second Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A complete introductory text to musculoskeletal imaging Basic Musculoskeletal Imaging is an engagingly written, comprehensive textbook that addresses the fundamental principles and techniques of general diagnostic and advanced musculoskeletal imaging. In order to be as clinically relevant as possible, the text focuses on the conditions and procedures most often encountered in real-world practice, such as such as upper and lower extremity trauma, axial skeletal trauma, arthritis and infection, tumors, metabolic bone diseases, and more. The book is enhanced by superb figures and illustrations, clinical pearls that summarize must-know information, and an outstanding introduction to musculoskeletal ultrasound by international experts.
Bontrager's Textbook of Radiographic Positioning and Related Anatomy by
Get the information and guidance you need to become proficient in positioning with Bontrager's Textbook of Radiographic Positioning and Related Anatomy, 10th Edition. With a very easy-to-follow organization, this comprehensive text focuses on nearly 200 of the most commonly requested projections to ensure you master what's expected of an entry-level practitioner. And with Bontrager's user-friendly format featuring one projection per page - with bulleted information on the left side of the page and positioning photos, radiographic images, and anatomical drawings aligned on the right - you'll be able to quickly and easily visualize anatomy and master positioning. Labeled radiographs (radiographic overlays) identify key radiographic anatomy and landmarks to help students recognize anatomy and determine if they have captured the correct diagnostic information on images. Positioning chapters organized with one projection per page present a manageable amount of information in an easily accessible format. Unique page layout with positioning photos, radiographic images, and radiographic overlays is presented side-by-side with the text explanation of each procedure to facilitate comprehension and retention. Clinical Indications features list and define pathologies most likely to be encountered during procedures to help students understand the whole patient and improve their ability to produce radiographs that make diagnosis easy for the physician. Evaluation Criteria content on positioning pages describes the evaluation/critique process that should be completed for each radiographic image. Pediatric, Geriatric, and Bariatric Patient Considerations are provided to prepare technologists to accommodate unique patient needs. Emphasis on radiation safety practices provides recommendations important for clinical practice. NEW! Updated photographs visually demonstrate the latest digital technology used in radiography with new radiographs, positioning, and equipment images. UPDATED! The latest ARRT competencies and ASRT curriculum guidelines are incorporated to prepare students for boards and clinical practice. NEW! Erect positions have been added throughout the text to reflect current practice. NEW! New Bernageau and Zanca projections have been included to keep students on top of these projections performed for shoulder pathology and trauma. UPDATED! Critique section at the end of chapters tests students' understanding of common positioning and technical errors found in radiographs. Answer keys are provided for instructors on the Evolve website. UPDATED! Expanded content on fluoroscopy has been included to keep students up to date on the latest information.
Learning Radiology : Recognizing the Basics by
A must-have for anyone who will be required to read and interpret common radiologic images, Learning Radiology: Recognizing the Basics is an image-filled, practical, and easy-to-read introduction to key imaging modalities. Skilled radiology teacher William Herring, MD, masterfully covers exactly what you need to know to effectively interpret medical images of all modalities. Learn the latest on ultrasound, MRI, CT, patient safety, dose reduction, radiation protection, and more, in a time-friendly format with brief, bulleted text and abundant high-quality images. Then ensure your mastery of the material with additional online content, bonus images, and self-assessment exercises at Student Consult. Identify a wide range of common and uncommon conditions based upon their imaging findings. Arrive at diagnoses by following a pattern recognition approach, and logically overcome difficult diagnostic challenges with the aid of decision trees. Quickly grasp the fundamentals you need to know through more than 700 images and an easy-to-use format and pedagogy, including: bolding of key points and icons designating special content; Diagnostic Pitfalls; Really, Really Important Points; Weblinks; and Take-Home Points. Gauge your mastery of the material and build confidence with extra images, bonus content, interactive self-assessment exercises, and USMLE-style Q&A that provide effective chapter review and quick practice for your exams. Apply the latest recommendations on patient safety, dose reduction and radiation protection Benefit from the extensive knowledge and experience of esteemed author Dr. William Herring-a skilled radiology teacher and the host of his own specialty website, www.learningradiology.com. Stay current in the latest advancements and developments with meticulous updates throughout including a new chapter on Pediatric Radiology as well as more than 60 new and updated photos, many highlighting newer imaging modalities. Maximize your learning experience with interactive Student Consult extras videos/images of 3D images, functional imaging examinations, dynamic studies, and additional assessments. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices.
Musculoskeletal Imaging : the Core Requisites by
Focusing on high-yield information, Musculoskeletal Imaging: The Core Requisites, 5th edition emphasizes the basics to help you establish a foundational understanding of musculoskeletal imaging during rotations, prepare for the core and certifying exams, refresh your knowledge of key concepts, and learn strategies to provide "value added" reports to referring clinicians. This completely rewritten and reorganized edition emphasizes the essential knowledge you need in an easy-to-read format. Emphasizes the essentials in a templated, quick-reference format that includes numerous outlines, tables, pearls, boxed material, and bulleted content for easy reading, reference, and recall. Prioritizes and explains the key information that you will be tested on to help you efficiently and effectively prepare for board exams. Helps you build and solidify core knowledge to prepare you for clinical practice with critical, up-to-date information on sports injuries and other trauma, joint diseases, musculoskeletal tumors and infection, bone marrow imaging, pediatric conditions, and basic image-guided musculoskeletal procedures. Includes sample report templates and numerous tips on effective communication of imaging findings. Features more than 1,200 high-quality images spanning the diagnosis of conditions and diseases of the musculoskeletal system. All imaging modalities are covered, including MRI, ultrasound, CT, radiography, and nuclear medicine. Published as part of the newly reimagined Core Requisites series, an update to the popular Requisites series aimed at radiology trainees and today's busy clinicians. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy by
Designed to make learning more interesting and clinically meaningful, Netter's Concise Radiologic Anatomy, 2nd Edition matches radiologic images-from MR and ultrasound to CT and advanced imaging reconstructions-to the exquisite artwork of master medical illustrator Frank H. Netter, MD. As a companion to the bestselling Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy, this updated medical textbook begins with the anatomy and matches radiologic images to the anatomic images; the result is a concise, visual guide that shows how advanced diagnostic imaging is an amazing "dissection tool" for viewing human anatomy in the living patient! "Overall I feel that this textbook is a good overview of radiology, and perfectly adequate for medical students as we are not expected to have a very in depth knowledge of radiology past chest and abdominal x rays. It may well prove valuable for the Netter-collectors out there, and provides an excellent quick guide to radiology." Reviewed by: TheMedicalStudent.co.uk Date: July 2014 Quickly review key information with a concise, user-friendly format that is organized and color-coded to be in-line with Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy, 6th Edition. View direct, at-a-glance comparisons between idealized anatomic illustrations and real-life medicine with side-by-side radiology examples of normal anatomy and common variants with corresponding anatomy illustrations. Improve upon your knowledge with a brief background in basic radiology, including reconstructions and a list of common abbreviations for the images presented. Broaden your visual comprehension with the help of 30 brand-new ultrasound images. Access the complete contents online at Student Consult.
Radiography in the Digital Age (4th Edition) by
Long overdue, this new work provides just the right focus and scope for the practice of radiography in this digital age, covering four entire courses in a typical radiography program. The entire emphasis of foundational physics has been adjusted in order to properly support the specific information on digital imaging that will follow. The paradigm shift in imaging terminology is reflected by the careful phrasing of concepts, accurate descriptions and clear illustrations throughout the book. There are over 700 illustrations, including meticulous color line drawings, numerous photographs and stark radiographs. The two chapters on digital image processing alone include 60 beautifully executed illustrations. Foundational chapters on math and basic physics maintain a focus on energy physics. Concepts supporting digital imaging (such as the interpretation of graphs supporting the understanding of histograms) are more thoroughly discussed. All discussion of electricity is limited to only those concepts which bear directly upon the production of x-rays in the x-ray tube. Following is a full discussion of the x-ray beam and its interactions within the patient, the production and characteristics of subject contrast, and an emphasis on the practical application of radiographic technique. This is conventional information, but the terminology and descriptions used have been adapted with great care to the digital environment. Eight chapters are devoted directly to digital imaging, providing extensive coverage of the physics of digital image capture, digital processing techniques, and the practical applications of both CR and DR. Image display systems are brought up to date with the physics of LCD screens and electronic images. PACS and medical imaging informatics are also covered. Chapters on Radiation Biology and Protection include an unflinching look at current issues and radiation protection in practice. The radiation biology is clearly presented with numerous lucid illustrations, and a balanced perspective on radiation and its medical use is developed. To reinforce mathematical concepts for the student, dozens of practice exercises are strategically dispersed throughout the chapters, with answer keys provided in the appendix. Extensive review questions at the end of each chapter give a thorough, comprehensive review of the material learned.
Skeletal Imaging : atlas of the spine and extremities 2nd ed by
Use this atlas to accurately interpret images of musculoskeletal disorders! Taylor, Hughes, and Resnick's Skeletal Imaging: Atlas of the Spine and Extremities, 2nd Edition covers each anatomic region separately, so common disorders are shown within the context of each region. This allows you to examine and compare images for a variety of different disorders. A separate chapter is devoted to each body region, with coverage of normal developmental anatomy, developmental anomalies and normal variations, and how to avoid a misdiagnosis by differentiating between disorders that appear to be similar. All of the most frequently encountered musculoskeletal conditions are included, from physical injuries to tumors to infectious diseases. Over 2,100 images include radiographs, radionuclide studies, CT scans, and MR images, illustrating pathologies and comparing them with other disorders in the same region. Organization by anatomic region addresses common afflictions for each region in separate chapters, so you can see how a particular region looks when affected by one condition as compared to its appearance with other conditions. Coverage of each body region includes normal developmental anatomy, fractures, deformities, dislocations, infections, hematologic disorders, and more. Normal Developmental Anatomy sections open each chapter, describing important developmental landmarks in various regions of the body from birth to skeletal maturity. Practical tables provide a quick reference to essential information, including normal developmental anatomic milestones, developmental anomalies, common presentations and symptoms of diseases, and much more. 400 new and replacement images are added to the book, showing a wider variety of pathologies. More MR imaging is added to each chapter. Up-to-date research includes the latest on scientific advances in imaging. References are completely updated with new information and evidence.
Skeletal Radiology by
Written by an acknowledged master in the field, Skeletal Radiology: The Bare Bones is a succinct, focused, clinically oriented textbook in musculoskeletal radiology. It presents the core knowledge base in musculoskeletal imaging necessary for radiology residents and practitioners. Major sections focus on trauma, tumors and tumor-like lesions, joint disease, and miscellaneous topics such as developmental and congenital conditions, metabolic, endocrine, and nutritional conditions, infection and marrow disease, postsurgical imaging, and interventional procedures. Emphasis is on understanding how abnormalities on images mirror the specific anatomic and pathophysiologic features of diseases. This Third Edition includes all modalities in current use, including plain film, ultrasound, PET-CT, and much more MRI than previous editions. The book includes over 900 images selected from the teaching files and clinical case material at leading medical centers.
Student WorkBook for Radiography in the Digital Age (4th Edition) by
This Student Workbook for Radiography in the Digital Age is specifically designed for in-classroom use with the series PowerPoint Slides for Radiography in the Digital Age. Together with the textbook and Instructor Resources CD, these products complete a full package of educational resources tailored for radiography courses in the Physics of Radiography, Principles of Imaging, Digital Image Acquisition and Display, and Radiation Biology and Protection. The Workbook is organized throughout in a concise "fill-in-the-blank" format, focusing on keywords to reinforce students' retention of the material. The wording and sequencing of questions closely mirror the PowerPoint Slide series for each course. This Workbook strikes a perfect balance between allowing the student to concentrate on the lecture by doing minimal writing while still challenging the student to participate in classroom learning. An effective "note-taking" tool, it also doubles as a reinforcement tool for homework and individual study.
Help Websites
Educator Resources
Complete Anatomy is available to all students, faculty and staff. Follow the download instructions located under Databases on the library homepage.
Resources listed on these guides are compiled by librarians at the R.A. Williams Library. We accept content recommendations, and after review, may include suggested resources on a guide. Our time is limited, so we generally do not reply to unsolicited recommendations from individuals not affiliated with AdventHealth University or notify them regarding whether or not we have linked to suggested content.