Chapman and Nakielny's Aids to Radiological Differential Diagnosis by
Chapman & Nakielny's Aids to Radiological Differential Diagnosis is a well-loved radiology resource, used by trainees and practitioners worldwide to hone their knowledge of radiological differential diagnosis for the most commonly encountered conditions throughout the body. It is an invaluable quick-reference companion in everyday practice, as well as an essential study tool when preparing for the FRCR or similar examinations. First published 35 years ago Stephen Chapman and Richard Nakielny's original aims remain as relevant today as when the book was originally conceived. However radiology has expanded rapidly in recent years and this Seventh Edition is the biggest revision this book has had in its long history with major changes incorporated into nearly every section. Comprehensive lists of differential diagnoses to aid effective diagnoses Closely aligned to the needs of current FRCR curriculum Brief, to the point text and clear page format allows for rapid access to key information Part 2 of the book has been restructured to focus on multisystem disorders which cannot be fully covered in the individual chapters in Part 1. A new chapter on Nuclear Medicine has been added to reflect its importance in modern medical imaging. The chapter on head and neck conditions has been significantly expanded. Important discriminating features have been added to nearly every differential to aid the reader in developing a strategy for reaching a diagnosis. The top differentials in each list which are considered important for radiology trainees to learn for exams are underlined.
Emergency Radiology: the Requisites by
Get the essential tools you need to make an accurate diagnosis in the emergency department! Part of the popular Requisites series, Emergency Radiology: The Requisites delivers the conceptual, factual, and interpretive information you need for effective clinical practice in emergency radiology, as well certification and recertification review. Master core knowledge the easy and affordable way with clear, concise text enhanced by at-a-glance illustrations, boxes, and tables - all revised and enhanced with digital content to bring you up to date with today's state of the art knowledge. Presents emergent findings and differential diagnosis tables so that important content is identified clearly within the text. Divides the contents of the book into two sections - trauma and non-trauma - to mirror the way you practice. Organizes the material in structured, consistent chapter layouts for efficient and effective review. Provides clinical material on radiology procedures that define your role in managing a patient with an emergent condition. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Prepare for written exams or clinical practice with critical information on CTA in the ED on coronary, aorta, brain, and visceral arteries, plus new protocols for trauma and non-traumatic injuries. Stay up to date on what's new in the field with thoroughly revised content and new, high-quality images obtained with today's best technology. Get optimal results from today's most often-used approaches, including the increase in routine use of "panscan" for trauma patients. Gain a practical, visual understanding of emergency radiology thanks to more than 900 multi-modality images and easy access to the eBook version. Study and review in the most efficient way, with structured, consistent chapter layouts for time-saving and effective exam preparation.
Equipment for Diagnostic Radiography by
I hope this book, which covers the Equipment section of With the help of the Superintendent find out which quality the DCR and HDCR syllabuses, will be of help not only assurance tests are carried out on the equipment and ask to those students preparing for these examinations, but for permission to participate in the procedures. also for those taking the modular HDCR to be introduced Remember, radiography is a practical subject - learning sometime in the near future, and indeed to those returning from books is of little value unless you apply it to the to radiography after a break in service. work you are doing - unless of course you are preparing In addition to reading a wide range of technical litera#65533; for a change of job or promotion! ture, I would hope that students will relate this knowledge Finally, whether you are using this book to refresh your to the equipment they use in the Department. For example knowledge prior to returning to radiography after a break what type of equipment are they using? Who was the in service, or as part of your preparation for the DCR or manufacturer? What sort of generator is it? What inter#65533; HDCR, or indeed if you are using it in conjunction with locks are present? What is the maximum loading of the a distanced learning course, may I wish you good luck and tube? Is it a falling load generator? success in your endeavours.
Handbook of Interventional Radiologic Procedures by
Packed with useful information on common procedures in interventional radiology, this popular handbook has been thoroughly updated to keep you up to speed with rapid changes in the field. Easy to carry and access, it covers everything you need to know: indications, contraindications, preparation, technique, post-procedure management, and prevention and management of complications. It's ideal not only for practicing interventional and general radiologists, but also for fellows and residents in training, IR nurses, and special procedure technologists. Key Features Explains how to perform all current interventional radiologic procedures, with a practical focus on protocols and equipment. Includes new content on risk management, nursing management, and drugs and dosages. Features simple line drawings that illustrate relevant anatomy and procedures. Provides must-know information on vascular access and catheter-directed angiography, trans-arterial procedures, trans-venous procedures, non-vascular procedures, and intra-procedural patient management. 38 additional chapters, available online, cover noninvasive evaluation and diagnostic imaging, special interventions, materials and methods, risk management, and nursing management. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Merrill's Atlas of Radiographic Positioning and Procedures by
With more than 400 projections, Merrill's Atlas of Radiographic Positioning & Procedures, 14th Edition makes it easier to for you to learn anatomy, properly position the patient, set exposures, and take high-quality radiographs. This definitive text has been reorganized to align with the ASRT curriculum - helping you develop the skills to produce clear radiographic images. It separates anatomy and positioning information by bone groups or organ systems - using full-color illustrations to show anatomical anatomy, and CT scans and MRI images to help in learning cross-section anatomy. Merrill's Atlas is not just the gold standard in radiographic positioning texts, and the most widely used, but also an excellent review in preparing for ARRT and certification exams! Comprehensive, full-color coverage of anatomy and positioning makes Merrill's Atlas the most in-depth text and reference available for radiography students and practitioners. Frequently performed essential projections identified with a special icon to help you focus on what you need to know as an entry-level radiographer. Summary of Pathology table now includes common male reproductive system pathologies. Coverage of common and unique positioning procedures includes special chapters on trauma, surgical radiography, geriatrics/pediatrics, and bone densitometry, to help prepare you for the full scope of situations you will encounter. Collimation sizes and other key information are provided for each relevant projection. Numerous CT and MRI images enhance comprehension of cross-sectional anatomy and help in preparing for the Registry examination. UPDATED! Positioning photos show current digital imaging equipment and technology. Summary tables provide quick access to projection overviews, guides to anatomy, pathology tables for bone groups and body systems, and exposure technique charts Bulleted lists provide clear instructions on how to correctly position the patient and body part when performing procedures. NEW! Updated content in text reflects continuing evolution of digital image technology NEW! Updated positioning photos illustrate the current digital imaging equipment and technology (lower limb, scoliosis, pain management, swallowing dysfunction). NEW! Added digital radiographs provide greater contrast resolution for improved visualization of pertinent anatomy. NEW! Revised positioning techniques reflect the latest ASRT standards.
Patient Care in Radiography by
Learn to master radiography patient care with the book that covers it best! With step-by-step instructions and more than 400 full-color illustrations, Patient Care in Radiography, 10th Edition is the perfect resource to help teach you effective radiography patient care. Each chapter expertly guides you through the latest guidelines, carefully making the connection between the topics being discussed and how they relate to patient care. An emphasis is placed on the skills and procedures that are imperative for quality patient care - including safety, transfer, positioning, infection control, and patient assessment. Also included is information on microbiology, emerging diseases, trans-cultural communication, ECGs, administering medications, and bedside radiography to ensure you are well-versed in both the technical and interpersonal skills needed for professional practice. Coverage of patient care and procedural skills helps provide safe, high-quality patient care and technical proficiency. Step-by-step procedures are shown in photo essays, demonstrated with more than 400 full-color illustrations.? Case studies focus on medicolegal terms, standards, and applications and help build problem-solving skills. Coverage of infection control helps emphasize the importance of preventing the spread of diseases. Special Imaging Modalities chapter provides an overview of patient care for a wide range of imaging methods. Chapter outlines, objectives, key terms, summaries, review questions, and critical thinking exercises focus on the key information in each chapter. Answers to the review questions are included in the back of the book. NEW! New images highlight many patient procedures and visually demonstrate how to care for patients. NEW! Updated content covers the most current exams, procedures, and technologies, as well as the most current information from the American Society of Radiologic Technologists.
Quality Management in the Imaging Sciences by
Make sure you have the most up-to-date quality management information available! Quality Management in the Imaging Sciences, 6th Edition gives you complete access to both quality management and quality control information for all major imaging modalities. This edition includes a new chapter on digital imaging and quality control procedures for electronic image monitors and PACS, revisions to the mammography chapter, updated legislative content, and current ACR accreditation requirements. It also features step-by-step QM procedures complete with full-size evaluation forms and instructions on how to evaluate equipment and document results. The only text of its kind on the market, Papp's is a great tool to help you prepare for the ARRT Advanced Level Examination in Quality Management. Special icon identifies federal standards throughout the text alert you to government regulations important to quality management. Includes QM for all imaging sciences including fluoroscopy, CT, MRI, sonography and mammography. Strong pedagogy aids in comprehension and includes learning objectives, chapter outline, key terms (with definitions in glossary), student experiments, and review questions at the end of each chapter. Step-by-step QM procedures offer instructions on how to evaluate equipment, and full-sized sample evaluation forms offer practice in documenting results. A practice exam on Evolve includes 200 randomizable practice exam questions for the ARRT advanced certification examination in QM, and includes answers with rationales. NEW! Revised Mammography chapter corresponds with new digital mammographic systems that have received FDA approval. NEW! Updated material includes new technologies, ACR accreditation, and quality management tools and procedures which reflect current practice guidelines and information. NEW! Chapter on image quality features material common to all imaging modalities. NEW! Additional material covers dose levels, dose reporting, and workflow. NEW! Expanded material highlights digital imaging and quality control procedures for electronic image monitors and PACS. NEW! Updated art and colors break up difficult-to-retain content.
Radiation Protection in Medical Radiography by
Master the basic principles and techniques of radiation safety! Radiation Protection in Medical Radiography, 9th Edition makes it easy to understand both basic and complex concepts in radiation protection, radiobiology, and radiation physics. Concise, full-color coverage discusses the safe use of ionizing radiation in all imaging modalities, including the effects of radiation on humans at the cellular and systemic levels, regulatory and advisory limits for exposure to radiation, and the implementation of radiation safety practices for patients and personnel. From a team of authors led by radiologic technology educator Mary Alice Statkiewicz Sherer, this text also prepares you for success on the ARRT certification exam and state licensing exams. Clear and concise writing style covers key concepts in radiation protection, biology, and physics in a building-block approach progressing from basic to more complex. Convenient, easy-to-use features make learning easier with chapter outlines and objectives, listing and highlighting of key terms, and bulleted summaries. Full-color illustrations and photos depict important concepts, and tables make information easy to reference. Timely coverage of radiation protection regulations addresses radiation awareness and education efforts across the globe. Chapter summaries and review questions allow you to assess your comprehension and retention of the most important information, with answers on the Evolve companion website. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest ARRT and ASRT curriculum guidelines. NEW! Updated NCRP and ICRP content includes guidelines, regulations, and radiation quantities and units, explaining the effects of low-level ionizing radiation, demonstrating the link between radiation and cancer and other diseases, and providing the regulatory perspective needed for practice.
Radiographic Imaging and Exposure by
Get a head start in producing quality images and fewer repeat radiographs with Fauber's Radiographic Imaging and Exposure, 5th Edition. Covering both digital radiography and film-screen radiography, this practical text is the key to mastering the fundamentals of imaging, passing the ARRT certification exam, and becoming a successful radiography professional. Along with the radiography protection alerts, mathematical applications, and concise writing style retained from the last edition, this new edition features updated content reflecting the latest ARRT and ASRT content, expanded coverage of digital fluoroscopy, and enhanced content on problem-solving in situations of poor-quality radiographs. Extensive digital radiography coverage helps readers learn to acquire, process, and display digital images while discussing the advantages and limitations of digital vs. film processes. Concentration on imaging and exposure lays the groundwork for becoming a competent radiographer. Radiation Protection alerts highlight the variables that impact patient exposure and how radiographers can control them. Important Relationships sections recap the relationships among concepts being discussed, calling attention to how they relate to one another. Mathematical Applications sections show how mathematical concepts and formulas are applied in the clinical setting. Straightforward and concise writing style makes the content understandable and accessible. Review questions are provided for every chapter with answers in the back of book. Bulleted summaries at the ends of chapters offer a quick review of the key concepts just covered in the chapter. Appendices provide an easy-to-use format for quick reference and studying important concepts and formulas. Glossary of key terms serves as a quick reference for key terms covered throughout the book. NEW! Expanded coverage of digital fluoroscopy including up-to-date information on LCD and Plasma displays provide a better understanding of the latest professional equipment. NEW! Revised content on image evaluation covers both film and digital along with problem-solving scenarios for poor quality and recommendations for improvement. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest content outlined by the ARRT and ASRT.
Torres' Patient Care in Imaging Technology 9th Ed by 
Practical Imaging Informatics : Foundations and Applications for Medical Imaging by
This new edition is a comprehensive source of imaging informatics fundamentals and how those fundamentals are applied in everyday practice. Imaging Informatics Professionals (IIPs) play a critical role in healthcare, and the scope of the profession has grown far beyond the boundaries of the PACS. A successful IIP must understand the PACS itself and all the software systems networked together in the medical environment. Additionally, an IIP must know the workflows of all the imaging team members, have a base in several medical specialties and be fully capable in the realm of information technology. Practical Imaging Informatics has been reorganized to follow a logical progression from basic background information on IT and clinical image management, through daily operations and troubleshooting, to long-term planning. The book has been fully updated to include the latest technologies and procedures, including artificial intelligence and machine learning. Written by a team of renowned international authors from the Society for Imaging Informatics in Medicine and the European Society of Medical Imaging Informatics, this book is an indispensable reference for the practicing IIP. In addition, it is an ideal guide for those studying for a certification exam, biomedical informaticians, trainees with an interest in informatics, and any professional who needs quick access to the nuts and bolts of imaging informatics.
CT and MRI of the Whole Body by
Now more streamlined and focused than ever before, the 6th edition of CT and MRI of the Whole Body is a definitive reference that provides you with an enhanced understanding of advances in CT and MR imaging, delivered by a new team of international associate editors. Perfect for radiologists who need a comprehensive reference while working on difficult cases, it presents a complete yet concise overview of imaging applications, findings, and interpretation in every anatomic area. The new edition of this classic reference - released in its 40th year in print - is a must-have resource, now brought fully up to date for today's radiology practice. Includes both MR and CT imaging applications, allowing you to view correlated images for all areas of the body. Coverage of interventional procedures helps you apply image-guided techniques. Includes clinical manifestations of each disease with cancer staging integrated throughout. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Over 5,200 high quality CT, MR, and hybrid technology images in one definitive reference. For the radiologist who needs information on the latest cutting-edge techniques in rapidly changing imaging technologies, such as CT, MRI, and PET/CT, and for the resident who needs a comprehensive resource that gives a broad overview of CT and MRI capabilities. Brand-new team of new international associate editors provides a unique global perspective on the use of CT and MRI across the world. Completely revised in a new, more succinct presentation without redundancies for faster access to critical content. Vastly expanded section on new MRI and CT technology keeps you current with continuously evolving innovations.
LANGE Review: MRI Clinical Concepts and Imaging Applications Manual with Registry Review by
Unmatched review prep for the MRI Certification LANGE Review: MRI Clinical Concepts and Imaging Applications Manual with Registry Review is a critical resource for radiologic technologists to successfully perform MRI examinations and prepare for the national registry examination to become MRI technologists. Organized into three parts, the book addresses everything from patient preparation to clinical applications of performing the MRI procedure to review questions based on the national registry examination. You'll learn about performing MRI examinations and obtaining the correct imaging plane for the brain, head, spine, chest, abdomen, pelvis, and musculoskeletal system, plus patient/part positioning, scan range, slice alignment and protocol variations to accommodate unique conditions and pathologies. More than 200 multiple-choice questions help prepare you for the national registry examination. Essential resource for National Registry exam prep Comprehensive, methodical coverage learning Tailored for those enrolled in an MRI program, specifically for individuals completing a clinical internship
MRI Physics: the Basics by
Concise, readable, and engaging, MRI: The Basics, 4th Edition, offers an excellent introduction to the physics behind MR imaging. Clinically relevant coverage includes everything from basic principles and key math concepts to more advanced topics, including the latest MR techniques and optimum image creation. Hundreds of high-quality illustrations, board-style questions and answers, legible equations, and instructive diagrams take you from the basics of MR physics through current applications. Feautures: Contains all-new chapters on general MR safety and contrast safety, as well as a new chapter on motion correction. Addresses timely topics such as susceptibility-weighted imaging (including other potential uses beyond hemorrhage detection), Restriction Spectrum Imaging (RSI), MR elastography, and MR relaxometry. Provides 100 new board-style questions in a separate chapter, as well as problem-solving and multiple choice questions in each chapter. Includes key points at the end of each chapter for quick reference and review. Ideal for radiologists, radiology residents and fellows, and radiologic technologists, as well as other professionals who encounter MRI in their practice, and those preparing for exams. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Chapman and Nakielny's Guide to Radiological Procedures by
Chapman and Nakielny's Guide to Radiological Procedures has become the classic, concise guide to the common procedures in imaging on which a radiology trainee will be expected to be familiar. Now fully revised and updated in line with current practice, it will also prove invaluable to the wider clinical team that now delivers modern imaging services, including radiographers and radiology nurses, as well as a handy refresher for radiologists at all levels. The highly accessible format has been retained, with every technique described under a set of standard headings, making it ideal for quick reference and exam preparation. * Comprehensively reviewed and updated throughout - incorporating the very latest techniques, clinical practice developments and key recent national and international guidelines * New chapter on the important roles of the radiographer and nurse in procedural radiology - reflecting the delivery of modern radiological practice by multi-professional teams * New chapter on ablative therapies - outlining the various radiological techniques and indications for non-surgical treatment of tumours * Complementary access to the complete, enhanced eBook version - including new, interactive MCQs to check understanding and aid those preparing for the FRCR and similar examinations Previous edition review comments: "The book provides a comprehensive and well-referenced guide to a wide range of imaging techniques and the imaging modalities employed...Overall, an excellent book. " Rad Magazine * Comprehensively reviewed and updated throughout - incorporating the very latest techniques, clinical practice developments and key recent national and international guidelines * New chapter on the important roles of the radiographer and nurse in procedural radiology - reflecting the delivery of modern radiological practice by multi-professional teams * New chapter on ablative therapies - outlining the various radiological techniques and indications for non-surgical treatment of tumours * Complementary access to the complete, enhanced eBook version - including new, interactive MCQs to check understanding and aid those preparing for the FRCR and similar examinations
Essential Physics for Radiographers by
Since its first edition in 1980, Essential Physics forRadiographers has earned an international reputation as a clearand straightforward introduction to the physics of radiography. Nowin its fourth edition, this book remains a core textbook forstudent radiographers. The authors have retained the pragmatic approach of earliereditions and continue to target the book particularly at thosestudents who find physics a difficult subject to grasp. The fourthedition builds on the major revisions introduced in the thirdedition. The content has been updated to reflect recent advances inimaging technology. The chapter on Radiation Safety has beencompletely rewritten in the light of the latest changes in relevantlegislation, and a re-examination of the physical principlesunderpinning magnetic resonance imaging forms the basis of a newchapter. Worked examples and calculations again feature strongly,and the innovative and popular Maths Help File, guidesreaders gently through the mathematical steps and conceptsinvolved. The reference citations have been updated and now includeInternet sources.
The Essential Physics of Medical Imaging, 4th edition by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Widely regarded as the cornerstone text in the field, the successful series of editions continues to follow the tradition of a clear and comprehensive presentation of the physical principles and operational aspects of medical imaging. The Essential Physics of Medical Imaging, 4th Edition, is a coherent and thorough compendium of the fundamental principles of the physics, radiation protection, and radiation biology that underlie the practice and profession of medical imaging. Distinguished scientists and educators from the University of California, Davis, provide up-to-date, readable information on the production, characteristics, and interactions of non-ionizing and ionizing radiation, magnetic fields and ultrasound used in medical imaging and the imaging modalities in which they are used, including radiography, mammography, fluoroscopy, computed tomography, magnetic resonance, ultrasound, and nuclear medicine. This vibrant, full-color text is enhanced by more than 1,000 images, charts, and graphs, including hundreds of new illustrations. This text is a must-have resource for medical imaging professionals, radiology residents who are preparing for Core Exams, and teachers and students in medical physics and biomedical engineering.
Khan's the Physics of Radiation Therapy by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! A vital reference for the entire radiation oncology team, Khan's The Physics of Radiation Therapy thoroughly covers the physics and practical clinical applications of advanced radiation therapy technologies. Dr. John Gibbons carries on the tradition established by Dr. Khan in previous editions, ensuring that the 6th Edition provides state-of-the-art information for radiation oncologists, medical physicists, dosimetrists, radiation therapists, and residents alike. This updated classic remains the most practical radiation therapy physics text available, offering an ideal balance between theory and clinical application. Includes new quality conversion factors and procedures for calibration of flattening filter free linacs; new recommendations for Monitor Unit Calculations and Failure Mode and Effects Analysis; a new addition of the Boltzman Transport calculation algorithm, and new optical surface and magnetic resonance image-guided technologies. Contains a new chapter on knowledge-based treatment planning. Covers 3D conformal radiotherapy (3D-CRT), stereotactic radiosurgery (SRS), high dose-rate remote afterloaders (HDR), intensity modulated radiation therapy (IMRT), image-guided radiation therapy (IGRT), Volumetric Modulated Arc Therapy (VMAT), and proton beam therapy. Discusses the physical concepts underlying treatment planning, treatment delivery, and dosimetry. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Radiologic Physics: the Essentials, 1st Edition by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Perfect for residents to use during rotations, or as a quick review for practicing radiologists and fellows, Radiologic Physics: The Essentials is a complete, concise overview of the most important knowledge in this complex field. Each chapter begins with learning objectives and ends with board-style questions that help you focus your learning. A self-assessment examination at the end of the book tests your mastery of the content and prepares you for exams. Follows the proven Essentials series format to provide a comprehensive yet concise overview of radiologic physics. Features image-rich, case-based multiple-choice questions with answers and explanations that mimic what you're likely to see on exams. Covers basic concepts of all modalities used during residency: radiography, fluoroscopy, mammography, CT, MRI, ultrasound, and nuclear medicine, as well as radiation biology and radiation protection. Helps you successfully absorb key concepts through behaviorally based learning objectives, as well as abundant mnemonics and superb imaging examples. Puts indispensable information at your fingertips in a compact and practical, high-yield format. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Selman's the Fundamentals of Imaging Physics and Radiobiology, 10th Edition by
This tenth edition of Selman's The Fundamentals of Imaging Physics and Radiobiology is the continuation of a seminal work in radiation physics and radiation biology first published by Joseph Selman, MD, in 1954 by Charles C Thomas, Publisher, Ltd., Springfield, IL. Many significant changes have been made in this tenth edition. Color photographs and new illustrations have been provided for several existing chapters and for the new chapters in this book. Revisions and updates have been completed for Chapters 1 through 28, whereas Chapters 29 to 33 are all new. The overall style of Doctor Selman is still present, but, with any revision, the style of the present author is also present. In essence, the author's raison d'être in revising this book was to better reflect current radiology practice and to honor the work of Doctor Selman. Topics discussed in this textbook deal with the physics of x-radiation, the biological interaction of radiation with matter, and all aspects of imaging equipment and technology commonly found in the modern radiology department. The chapter on computed tomography (CT) has been heavily revised and updated. Protective measures regarding radiation safety and radiation hazards for workers and patients are thoroughly discussed and new chapters on dual energy x-ray absorptiometry (DXA), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), ultrasound (US), fusion and molecular imaging have been added. This book will be very helpful to students about to take the ARRT (R) registry examination, but it is not a registry review book per se. This book also serves as a good overview of radiologic imaging physics for radiographers and other medical professionals.
Learning Radiology : Recognizing the Basics by
A must-have for anyone who will be required to read and interpret common radiologic images, Learning Radiology: Recognizing the Basics is an image-filled, practical, and easy-to-read introduction to key imaging modalities. Skilled radiology teacher William Herring, MD, masterfully covers exactly what you need to know to effectively interpret medical images of all modalities. Learn the latest on ultrasound, MRI, CT, patient safety, dose reduction, radiation protection, and more, in a time-friendly format with brief, bulleted text and abundant high-quality images. Then ensure your mastery of the material with additional online content, bonus images, and self-assessment exercises at Student Consult. Identify a wide range of common and uncommon conditions based upon their imaging findings. Arrive at diagnoses by following a pattern recognition approach, and logically overcome difficult diagnostic challenges with the aid of decision trees. Quickly grasp the fundamentals you need to know through more than 700 images and an easy-to-use format and pedagogy, including: bolding of key points and icons designating special content; Diagnostic Pitfalls; Really, Really Important Points; Weblinks; and Take-Home Points. Gauge your mastery of the material and build confidence with extra images, bonus content, interactive self-assessment exercises, and USMLE-style Q&A that provide effective chapter review and quick practice for your exams. Apply the latest recommendations on patient safety, dose reduction and radiation protection Benefit from the extensive knowledge and experience of esteemed author Dr. William Herring-a skilled radiology teacher and the host of his own specialty website, www.learningradiology.com. Stay current in the latest advancements and developments with meticulous updates throughout including a new chapter on Pediatric Radiology as well as more than 60 new and updated photos, many highlighting newer imaging modalities. Maximize your learning experience with interactive Student Consult extras videos/images of 3D images, functional imaging examinations, dynamic studies, and additional assessments. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices.
Radiographic Image Analysis by 
Rang's Children's Fractures by
With an image-focused, non-traditional layout that differs from most medical textbooks, the fourth edition of Rang's Children's Fractures --a classic textbook on children's fractures for over 40 years--expands to four editors, all faculty members of Rady Children's Hospital at the University of California, San Diego. This edition maintains the book's practical, playful style and emphasizes diagnosis, treatment, common pitfalls, and communication with parents and other healthcare professionals. Features: Designed for medical students, physician's assistants, residents, emergency room doctors, general orthopaedists, and children's orthopaedists. Hundreds of photographs and illustrations, succinctly captioned for quick comprehension. Overviews of biomechanics, injury, and treatment of the shoulder, clavicle, wrist, and other bodily regions prone to injury. Comparisons of childhood and adult fractures and injuries, and discussions of accident prevention and risk. New information on orthopaedic sports medicine surgery to match the topic's growing popularity across medical curricula. Chapter on casts in children expanded with more detail and illustrations. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s ), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone Easily convert to audiobook , powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Adapt for unique reading needs , supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
Pediatric Radiology by
Your accessible guide to the essentials of pediatric diagnostic imaging! Pediatric Radiology: Practical Imaging Evaluation of Infants and Children provides vital insights on how to diagnose both common and rare, congenital and acquired disorders in infants and children using the best imaging approaches available today. And, it does so in a highly concise, practical manner that makes this information easy to understand and apply. Contributions from a host of respected international authorities put the most relevant, expert information from around the world at your fingertips.Key Features Diagnose essential pediatric disorders with comprehensive sections on pediatric neuroradiology, pediatric thoracic imaging, pediatric abdominopelvic radiology, and pediatric musculoskeletal radiology. Compare your imaging findings to abundant representative examples of all appropriate modalities. Find all the guidance you need on any topic through discussions of practical imaging techniques, normal anatomy and variants, imaging findings, and selected pathological features of congenital and acquired pediatric disorders in each chapter. Review the clinical features and imaging findings for each disorder ; pathological correlations, when applicable; up-to-date management information; and, when relevant, differential diagnostic considerations and differentiating features, both clinical and radiological, between disorders that produce the similar imaging findings. See how practical radiology principles apply to current practice through a collection of illuminating case studies. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Basic Musculoskeletal Imaging, Second Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A complete introductory text to musculoskeletal imaging Basic Musculoskeletal Imaging is an engagingly written, comprehensive textbook that addresses the fundamental principles and techniques of general diagnostic and advanced musculoskeletal imaging. In order to be as clinically relevant as possible, the text focuses on the conditions and procedures most often encountered in real-world practice, such as such as upper and lower extremity trauma, axial skeletal trauma, arthritis and infection, tumors, metabolic bone diseases, and more. The book is enhanced by superb figures and illustrations, clinical pearls that summarize must-know information, and an outstanding introduction to musculoskeletal ultrasound by international experts.
Brant and Helms' Fundamentals Diagnostic Radiology, 5th edition by 
Comprehensive Radiographic Pathology by
Get the perfect level of pathology coverage to help you learn how to consistently produce quality radiographic images with Comprehensive Radiographic Pathology, 7th Edition. This full-color text provides a foundation in the basic principles of pathology and then focuses on the radiographic appearances of diseases and injuries that are most likely to be diagnosed with medical imaging. Understanding these disease processes, the radiographic appearances, and the treatments is necessary for technologists to fully contribute to the functioning of the diagnostic team, and this text is the perfect way to ground yourself in all three of these areas. Enhancements to this new edition include updated images in all modalities, content aligned to the latest ARRT Guidelines, updated Radiographer Notes, and the inclusion of some pediatric pathologies. Thorough explanations help you select proper modalities and producing optimal images. Hundreds of high-quality illustrations covering all modalities clearly demonstrate clinical manifestations of different disease processes and provide a standard for the high-quality images needed in radiography practice. Discussion of specialized imaging explains how supplemental modalities, such as ultrasound, computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, nuclear medicine, single-photon emission computed tomography (SPECT), and positron emission tomography (PET) are sometimes needed to diagnose various pathologies. Brief explanations of likely treatments provide valuable background. Systems-based approach for building an understanding of pathology makes it easy for you to locate information and study one area at a time. NEW! Updated images in all modalities provides the important information needed for clinical success. NEW! Updated content matches the latest ARRT Guidelines to assist you in preparing for boards. NEW! Updated Radiographer Notes incorporate current digital imaging information for both computed radiography and direct digital capture. NEW! Inclusion of certain pediatric pathologies expands your comfort level with child and adolescent patients.
Emergency Radiology : Imaging of Acute Pathologies by
In the emergency and trauma setting, accurate and consistent interpretation of imaging studies are critical to the care of acutely ill and injured patients. This book offers a comprehensive review of acute pathologies commonly encountered in the emergency room as diagnosed by radiologic imaging. It is organized by anatomical sections that present the primary ER imaging areas of the acute abdomen, pelvis, thorax, neck, head, brain and spine, and osseous structures. For each section, the common diagnoses are concisely described and are accompanied by relevant clinical facts and key teaching points that emphasize the importance of radiologic interpretation in clinical patient management. The role of modalities such as plain radiography, computed tomography, ultrasound, magnetic resonance imaging, and nuclear medicine imaging in managing emergency conditions is highlighted. The Second Edition is thoroughly updated and includes over 400 images and multiple choice questions in each chapter. Emphasizing the core concepts in emergency radiology, this book is a valuable resource for radiologists, residents, and fellows.
Lippincott's Primary Care Musculoskeletal Radiology by 
Musculoskeletal Imaging : the Core Requisites by
Focusing on high-yield information, Musculoskeletal Imaging: The Core Requisites, 5th edition emphasizes the basics to help you establish a foundational understanding of musculoskeletal imaging during rotations, prepare for the core and certifying exams, refresh your knowledge of key concepts, and learn strategies to provide "value added" reports to referring clinicians. This completely rewritten and reorganized edition emphasizes the essential knowledge you need in an easy-to-read format. Emphasizes the essentials in a templated, quick-reference format that includes numerous outlines, tables, pearls, boxed material, and bulleted content for easy reading, reference, and recall. Prioritizes and explains the key information that you will be tested on to help you efficiently and effectively prepare for board exams. Helps you build and solidify core knowledge to prepare you for clinical practice with critical, up-to-date information on sports injuries and other trauma, joint diseases, musculoskeletal tumors and infection, bone marrow imaging, pediatric conditions, and basic image-guided musculoskeletal procedures. Includes sample report templates and numerous tips on effective communication of imaging findings. Features more than 1,200 high-quality images spanning the diagnosis of conditions and diseases of the musculoskeletal system. All imaging modalities are covered, including MRI, ultrasound, CT, radiography, and nuclear medicine. Published as part of the newly reimagined Core Requisites series, an update to the popular Requisites series aimed at radiology trainees and today's busy clinicians. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Radiographic Pathology for Technologists by
Get the essential information you need to master radiographic pathology! Radiographic Pathology for Technologists, 8th Edition introduces the pathologic appearance of common diseases as seen in diagnostic imaging. Organized by body system, the book uses a clear, easy-to-understand approach to discuss anatomy and physiology, the pathologic process, signs and symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases. This edition is updated to reflect today's radiography practice including diagnostic modalities such as CT, MR, sonography, nuclear medicine, and fusion/hybrid imaging. From well-known radiologic and imaging sciences author Nina Kowalczyk, this essential text also provides excellent preparation for the radiographic pathology portion of the ARRT® credentialing exam. Essential level of coverage presents approximately 150 injuries and abnormalities most frequently diagnosed using medical imaging, focusing students on the pathologies they are most likely to encounter in practice and providing just the right amount of information for a shorter pathology course. Discussions of correlative and differential diagnosis explain the diagnostic process and demonstrate the importance of high-quality images. Summary tables review the pathologies covered and the preferred imaging modalities for diagnosis. Learning features include chapter outlines and objectives, key terms, and multiple-choice and discussion questions for each chapter, with answers provided in the back of the text. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest ARRT and ASRT curriculum guidelines. NEW! Current digital radiography is covered throughout the text. NEW! Updated images and illustrations reflect current practice for general radiography and alternative modalities such as CT, MR, sonography, nuclear medicine, and fusion/hybrid imaging, demonstrating how pathologies appear in various imaging modalities.
Digital Radiography in Practice (2nd edition) by 
The Fundamentals of Imaging Physics and Radiobiology by 
Medical Imaging for the Health Care Provider by
This unique book fills a void in radiology interpretation texts by encompassing the foundational tools and concepts of the full range of medical imaging, including radiology, the basics of interpretation of plain radiographs, comparison with other testing modalities, the rationale for selecting the first diagnostic step, and exploration and interpretation of chest, abdomen, extremity, and spinal radiographs. A concise, easy-to-use reference, it includes written descriptions enhanced with figures, tables, and actual patient films to demonstrate concepts, and discusses--in easily accessible language--differences in testing modalities. The text also features a step-by-step guide to the interpretation of radiographs. This resource describes and compares available diagnostic modalities, including plain radiograph, CT scan, nuclear imaging, MRI, and ultrasound. It discusses pediatric considerations and includes separate chapters for the chest, abdomen, upper and lower extremities, and the cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine. The book will be an asset to nurse practitioners and physician assistants working in all emergency, urgent, intensive, and primary care settings. It will also benefit medical students and graduate students in acute care, family, adult/gerontology, and emergency nurse practitioner programs, as well as emergency/trauma clinical nurse specialists, and hospitalists and intensivist nurse practitioners. Key Features: Integrates the basics of radiology, CT scans, nuclear imaging, MRIs, and ultrasound, their characteristics and differences among testing modalities, and basic step-by-step interpretation skillsRelevant to a wide range of nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other mid-level providers in multiple settingsIncludes a step-by-step guide to the interpretation of the radiographsDelivers an easy-to-understand approach to selecting diagnostic imaging testsPresents actual images and figures to demonstrate concepts, which are also available digitally
Medicolegal issues for diagnostic imaging professionals [ebook] by 
Radiography in the Digital Age by
Long overdue, this new work provides just the right focus and scope for the practice of radiography in this digital age, covering four entire courses in a typical radiography program. The entire emphasis of foundational physics has been adjusted in order to properly support the specific information on digital imaging that will follow. The paradigm shift in imaging terminology is reflected by the careful phrasing of concepts, accurate descriptions and clear illustrations throughout the book. There are over 700 illustrations, including meticulous color line drawings, numerous photographs and stark radiographs. The two chapters on digital image processing alone include 60 beautifully executed illustrations. Foundational chapters on math and basic physics maintain a focus on energy physics. Concepts supporting digital imaging (such as the interpretation of graphs supporting the understanding of histograms) are more thoroughly discussed. All discussion of electricity is limited to only those concepts which bear directly upon the production of x-rays in the x-ray tube. Following is a full discussion of the x-ray beam and its interactions within the patient, the production and characteristics of subject contrast, and an emphasis on the practical application of radiographic technique. This is conventional information, but the terminology and descriptions used have been adapted with great care to the digital environment. Eight chapters are devoted directly to digital imaging, providing extensive coverage of the physics of digital image capture, digital processing techniques, and the practical applications of both CR and DR. Image display systems are brought up to date with the physics of LCD screens and electronic images. PACS and medical imaging informatics are also covered. Chapters on Radiation Biology and Protection include an unflinching look at current issues and radiation protection in practice. The radiation biology is clearly presented with numerous lucid illustrations, and a balanced perspective on radiation and its medical use is developed. To reinforce mathematical concepts for the student, dozens of practice exercises are strategically dispersed throughout the chapters, with answer keys provided in the appendix. Extensive review questions at the end of each chapter give a thorough, comprehensive review of the material learned.
Student WorkBook for Radiography in the Digital Age (4th Edition) by
This Student Workbook for Radiography in the Digital Age is specifically designed for in-classroom use with the series PowerPoint Slides for Radiography in the Digital Age. Together with the textbook and Instructor Resources CD, these products complete a full package of educational resources tailored for radiography courses in the Physics of Radiography, Principles of Imaging, Digital Image Acquisition and Display, and Radiation Biology and Protection. The Workbook is organized throughout in a concise "fill-in-the-blank" format, focusing on keywords to reinforce students' retention of the material. The wording and sequencing of questions closely mirror the PowerPoint Slide series for each course. This Workbook strikes a perfect balance between allowing the student to concentrate on the lecture by doing minimal writing while still challenging the student to participate in classroom learning. An effective "note-taking" tool, it also doubles as a reinforcement tool for homework and individual study.
Student Workbook for Digital Radiography in Practice (2nd Edition) by
This new edition of the Student Workbook is designed for in-classroom use and organized in a "fill-in-the-blank" format. The wording of each question corresponds with the lecture slide series Digital Radiography in Practice: Instructor PowerPoint Slides, 2nd Ed. and closely matches the progression of concepts in the textbook. The guiding philosophy is to provide immediate or short-term reinforcement of lecture and reading material by focusing on keywords. Thus, the Workbook should be used on a daily basis, not as a self-test or review after whole units have been covered. "In-class use" is the most recommended method for use with the Digital Radiography in Practice Instructor PowerPoint Slides, 2nd Ed. The Workbook and slides are designed to work in tandem with each other to actively engage the student in classroom learning. The instructor may elect to require this type of classroom and award points for completion of each unit. If the Workbook is used as a reinforcement tool for homework, it is strongly recommended that the student answer the corresponding questions after reading each major section of a chapter. If students wait until after completing an entire chapter, they may have trouble recalling the keywords elicited by each question and are more likely to confuse different concepts. Major unit subheadings are included in the Workbook to match the textbook. For the purposes of unit review, self-testing or preparation immediately prior to a test, "Chapter Review Questions" are provided at the end of each chapter in the textbook. Answer keys to these questions may be made available from your instructor. This Workbook is an invaluable teaching instrument that allows the student to concentrate on the lecture by doing minimal writing while still challenging the student to participate in classroom learning. An efficient "note-taking" tool, it is an important reinforcement tool for homework and individual study.
Resources listed on these guides are compiled by librarians at the R.A. Williams Library. We accept content recommendations, and after review, may include suggested resources on a guide. Our time is limited, so we generally do not reply to unsolicited recommendations from individuals not affiliated with AdventHealth University or notify them regarding whether or not we have linked to suggested content.
