Writing Childbirth by
Women seeking to express concerns about childbirth or to challenge institutionalized medicine by writing online birth plans or birth stories exercise rhetorical agency in undeniably feminist ways. In Writing Childbirth: Women's Rhetorical Agency in Labor and Online, author Kim Hensley Owens explores how women create and use everyday rhetorics in planning for, experiencing, and writing about childbirth. Drawing on medical texts, popular advice books, and online birth plans and birth stories, as well as the results of a childbirth writing survey, Owens considers how women's agency in childbirth is sanctioned, and how it is not. She examines how women's rhetorical choices in writing interact with institutionalized medicine and societal norms. Writing Childbirth reveals the contradictory messages women receive about childbirth, their conflicting expectations about it, and how writing and technology contribute to and reconcile these messages and expectations. Demonstrating the value of extending rhetorical investigations of health and medicine beyond patient-physician interactions and the discourse of physicians, Writing Childbirth offers fresh insight into feminist rhetorical agency and technology and expands our understanding of the rhetorics of health and medicine.
A history of midwifery in the United States : The Midwife Said Fear Not by
Written by two of the profession's most prominent midwifery leaders, this authoritative history of midwifery in the United States, from the 1600s to the present, is distinguished by its vast breadth and depth. The book spans the historical evolution of midwives as respected, autonomous health care workers and midwifery as a profession, and considers the strengths, weaknesses, threats, and opportunities for this discipline as enduring motifs throughout the text. It surveys the roots of midwifery, the beginnings of professional practice, the founding of educational institutions and professional organizations, and entry pathways into the profession. Woven throughout the text are such themes as the close link between midwives and the communities in which they live, their view of pregnancy and birth as normal life events, their efforts to promote health and prevent illness, and their dedication to serving women wherever they may be and in whatever health condition and circumstances they may be in. The text examines the threats to midwifery past and present, such as the increasing medicalization of childbearing care, midwifery's lack of a common identity based on education and practice standards, the inconsistencies in its legal recognition as a profession, and reimbursement issues for midwifery practice. Illustrations and historical photos depict the many facets of midwifery, and engaging stories provide cultural and spiritual context. This is a "must-have" for all midwives, historians, professional and educational institutions, and all those who share a passion for the history of midwifery and women. KEY FEATURES: Encompasses the most authoritative and comprehensive information available about the history of midwifery in the United States Considers the strengths, weaknesses, threats, and opportunities for midwifery Illustrated with historical photos and drawings Includes engaging stories filled with cultural and spiritual content, introductory quotes to each chapter, and plentiful chapter notes Written by two preeminent leaders in the field of midwifery
Labour Midwifery Skills by
This pocket-sized book, presented in an easy to follow format, is designed as tool for students and professionals to carry in any setting, providing a quick reference guide to supporting women during labour. This new edition of Labour Midwifery Skills has been updated to reflect the most up to date guidance around the care of women during labour. The second in a set of three books which together guide readers along each step in the journey from pregnancy to postnatal/neonatal care, Labour Midwifery Skillsprovides all the crucial information relating to the childbirth process. Underpinned with sections on related anatomy and physiology, it provides a breadth of information, including routine care in labour,　 managing obstetric emergencies, CTG interpretation and related skills such as catheterisation and vaginal examination. Used as a platform for wider reading, this text is an ideal reference point for any student or professionals involved with the care of childbearing women. 　
Creation Health Discovery: God's Guide to Health and Healing by 
Enhancing Nurses' and Midwives' Competence in Providing Spiritual Care by
This book is the first of its kind, addressing key issues in the teaching and learning of spirituality and spiritual care in the context of nursing and midwifery practice. The content is based on the outcomes of a European-wide project (EPICC) that brought together leading nursing and midwifery educators and practitioners from 21 countries. It highlights the importance of ensuring student nurses' and midwives receive sufficient educational preparation to provide spiritual/person-centred care. In turn, the book puts forward an innovative and creative approach to the teaching of spiritual/person-centred care, based on an evaluation of best practice across Europe. The content and activities presented will enable nursing and midwifery educators to acquire new knowledge/skills for learning about and teaching on the personal, religious and spiritual aspects of person-centred care. Both interactive and engaging, it will equip nursing and midwifery students to holistically address the needs of the people they care for. The book has the potential to transform the nursing and midwifery workforce of the future by ensuring they are prepared to face the global challenges that are impacting international nursing and midwifery practice.
Spirituality in Nursing : Standing on holy ground 7th edition by
Spirituality in Nursing: Standing on Holy Ground, Seventh Edition addresses the relationship between spirituality and nursing practice across a variety of settings related to caring for the ill and the infirm. The text covers the spiritual needs of special populations including children, families, and older adults, and takes on several significant issues in our society such as addiction, domestic terrorism, and the COVID-19 pandemic. The Seventh Edition examines both historical and contemporary issues pertaining to the spiritual needs and care of the sick. The text includes topical discussions of areas such as the nurse's role in spiritual care, the nurse-patient relationship, spiritual needs of special populations, and spiritual needs in areas such as mass casualty disasters and parish leadership. New content and references have been added to each chapter to reflect the most current ideas on spirituality in nursing.
Spirituality in Nursing Practice : the basics and beyond by
Written as a practical resource to teach nurses and nursing students, this text explores how to best address spiritual assessment and care. Spirituality--the search for meaning in life and connection to others--remains relevant to all patient interactions, and is an essential component for nurses to integrate into their everyday practice. Using a multicultural and client-centered approach, chapters explore the concept of spirituality and its relationship with religion and health to directly place it into a nursing context. Reflection questions throughout the text encourage readers to analyze their own experiences with spirituality within both professional and personal contexts and affirm how a nurse's own spirituality can influence her or his practice. Practical exercises illustrate the importance of spirituality in nursing and provide tools and means to incorporate spirituality into clinical practice. Chapters use a flexible approach that can be adapted to a variety of contexts in nursing education and practice throughout the world, applicable to self-study, traditional courses, and online programs. The text contains a wealth of pedagogical features, including case studies, discussion questions, a comprehensive bibliography, and is accompanied by an extensive instructor's manual that provides additional direction for discussion and testing. Thirteen videos, developed by the author and available online, provide the perspectives of nursing and health care professionals, clients, and families to illustrate the main points of the text. Key Features: Delivers a wealth of practical tools for incorporating spirituality into nursingUseful for self-study, on-campus courses, and online programsContains a variety of pedagogical features, including discussion questions, reflective exercises, case studies, along with an instructor's manualApplicable to nursing education and practice throughout the worldPromotes holistic nursing practice
Strategies, Techniques, and Approaches to Critical Thinking by
Develop the clinical nursing judgment you need to become a safe, competent clinician! Strategies, Techniques, & Approaches to Critical Thinking: A Clinical Reasoning Workbook for Nurses, 6th Edition uses a case-based, workbook format to help you build clinical reasoning skills. The clear, step-by-step approach helps you learn and apply essential knowledge, guiding you through increasingly sophisticated levels of critical thinking, priority-setting, and decision-making. More than 100 realistic case studies reflect the scenarios commonly encountered in clinical practice. Written by noted nursing educator Sandra Luz Martinez de Castillo, this edition adds coverage of emerging topics such as QSEN, interprofessional collaboration, and nursing leadership and delegation. UNIQUE! Step-by-step approach builds your skills in critical thinking, clinical decision-making, and clinical reasoning, walking you through the author's research-based critical thinking model. More than 100 true-to-life cases demonstrate how cases progress and complications arise, helping you develop increasingly sophisticated levels of critical thinking. Emphasis on prioritization helps you prepare for nursing practice and for the NCLEX® Examination. Integrated NCLEX Examination review helps you apply critical thinking skills to test questions and prepares you for the state boards. NEW! Expanded coverage of the Safety and Patient-Centered Care competencies of the Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) initiative, with distinctive icons highlighting this content. NEW and UNIQUE! Coverage of interprofessional collaborative practice includes integration of interactions with other professions into relevant cases (especially in the cases involving leadership), incorporation of the Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice set forth by the Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC), and inclusion of SBAR communication as a tool for interprofessional collaboration. NEW! Increased emphasis on delegation, leadership, and collaborative learning promotes professional practice and team-based learning. NEW! UPDATED content reflects changes in clinical practice and the latest NCLEX® Examination test plan, featuring new examples of EHR charting, the use of only generic drug names, and the exclusion of medical diagnoses from questions unless absolutely necessary.
Advanced Health Assessment of Women by
The only text to focus specifically on advanced health assessment/management of women This authoritative text for busy clinicians, advanced practice students, and faculty delivers essential content focused on improving the quality of healthcare provided to women/persons with a vagina across the lifespan. Brimming with new and updated content, the fifth edition reflects the most current evidence-based clinical practice guidelines available. It includes 14 new chapters written by experts in their field and the addition of disease management content, especially medications. Chapters are enhanced with management/pharmacology summary charts and case studies with discussion questions. The use of two colors improves readability, and amplified Instructor Resources include key statistics/epidemiology, learning objectives, suggested student activities and self-assessment questions, and UAB videos. Using a clear, concise outline format, this user-friendly text delivers quick, comprehensive information regarding the health assessment and management of women/persons with a vagina. It defines the role, skills, and scope of practice of different health providers and illuminates a variety of assessment skills, techniques, and procedures used by advanced practice clinicians in everyday practice. Sample assessment forms are integrated throughout along with numerous educational handouts for patients. Discussion of techniques includes a comprehensive list of requisite equipment and information on patient prep and recommended follow-up. Boxes, tables, and figures throughout reinforce key information. Purchase includes access to eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers. New to the Fifth Edition: Fourteen new chapters Telehealth in women's health Vaginal health and vaginal microscopy Mental health screening Preconception care Complementary and alternative medical therapies Adolescent health Lactation assessment and management Female veterans Male sexual and reproductive health Amenorrhea PMS/PMDD Sexual health and related problems Human trafficking The contraceptive consult Expanded breast health including breastfeeding Transgender care Updates on screening instruments Best-practice apps Case studies Management/treatment summaries Enhanced instructor package including key statistics/epidemiology, learning objectives, student activities, and self-assessment questions Two-color printing to improve readability Key Features: Delivered in outline, bulleted format for speedy reference Reflects the most current evidence-based clinical practice guidelines Offers easy-to-follow, step-by-step coverage of procedures Addresses treatment/management of multiple conditions Includes detailed illustrations
Oxford Handbook of Women's Health Nursing by
Expert nursing care is vital to women's health, and successful gynaecological treatment relies on a good partnership between the woman and the health professional. Fully updated for its second edition, the Oxford Handbook of Women's Health Nursing is a vital tool in helping practitionersassist women in making informed choices and keeping up-to-date with changes to the field. Written with a focus on multi-disciplinary integrated care systems and a greater emphasis on prevention and patient autonomy, this new edition incorporates the most recent evidence-based guidelines anddevelopments in nursing roles and contraceptive methods.Drawing on the knowledge and experience of a team of clinical experts, this handbook provides clear, practical information on all aspects of women's health nursing from the community to the hospital setting.
Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies by
After 30 years, Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies remains your go-to choice for authoritative guidance on managing today's obstetric patient. International experts put the latest knowledge in this specialty at your fingertips, with current and relevant information on everything from fetal origins of adult disease, to improving global maternal health, to important topics in day-to-day obstetrical practice. Highly readable, well-illustrated, and easy to understand, this bestselling obstetrics reference is an ideal tool for residents and clinicians. Take advantage of the collective wisdom of global experts in the field, including two new editors- Drs. Vincenzo Berghella and William Grobman -- and nearly 30 new contributors. Gain a new perspective on a wide range of today's key issues - all evidence-based and easy to read. Sweeping updates throughout including four new chapters: 'Vaginal Birth after Cesarean Delivery'; 'Placenta Accreta'; 'Obesity'; and 'Improving Global Maternal Health: Challenges and Opportunities' 11 videos reinforce chapter content and enhance learning in areas such as cesarean delivery and operative vaginal delivery New Glossary of the most frequently used key abbreviations for easy reference Expanded use of bolded statements and key points as well as additional tables, flow diagrams, and bulleted lists facilitates and enhances the mastery of each chapter More than 100 images in the Obstetrical Ultrasound chapter provide an important resource for normal and abnormal fetal anatomy
Protocols for High-Risk Pregnancies by 
Understanding Doulas and Childbirth by
This book contextualizes how having a doula, or labor-support woman, present during childbirth results in lower rates of medical interventions. American women are inundated with views that childbirth is inherently risky, their bodies deficient, and therefore encouraged to accept the medicalized nature of childbirth resulting in high rates of unwarranted interventions that can pose significant risk in a normal pregnancy. Why is birthing with a doula different? The narratives in this book support the belief that doulas often question the high rates of medical interventions in childbirth, fundamentally lodging a critique about the medicalization of childbirth to the women they serve. These stories share a very different philosophy about childbirth; one where the female body is capable, resilient, and not normally requiring external medical intervention. Doulas enter into a care-provider relationship that focuses on the experience of the birth as something transformative, to be honored and centered on the woman's body in an active role in the process. Lastly, doulas model to their clients both love and advocacy because doulas believe that modeling these behaviors will translate as women become mothers through the process of childbirth.
Breastfeeding and Human Lacatation by 
Heading Home with Your Newborn by
Fully revised and updated, the fourth edition of this bestselling guide offers essential advice from two pediatrician-moms. It covers everything new parents need to know, from feeding and dressing, to diapering and bathing, and from crying and sleep to travel and activities. Updates include: a section on baby blues and postpartum depression; added information on breastfeeding, pumping and insurance benefits; new safety information on SIDS and car seats; and updates throughout, bringing all advice up to date with the latest AAP guidelines. This parent-tested, pediatrician-approved advice will help new parents feel comfortable those first few days and weeks at home and serve as a reference for the whole first year.
Olds' Maternal-Newborn Nursing and Women's Health Across the Lifespan by
For courses in maternal-newborn nursing. A humanistic approach to maternal-newborn care and women's health Olds' Maternal-Newborn Nursing & Women's Health Across the Lifespan acknowledges the central role of nurses in all aspects of childbearing. Relatable and engaging, it promotes holistic, evidence-¿based care grounded in patient-family partnerships, while supporting the clinical reasoning skills nurses need to care for patients in an ever-¿changing health care system. The 11th edition includes a new Reproductive Genetics chapter and a new Case Study feature, plus access to Pearson's new MAP app with nursing strategies for educating patients and families in various situations and settings. Also available with MyLab Nursing By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. MyLab Nursing helps students master key concepts, prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN® exam, and develop clinical reasoning skills. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab Nursing does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab Nursing, ask your instructor to confirm the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information.
Resources listed on these guides are compiled by librarians at the R.A. Williams Library. We accept content recommendations, and after review, may include suggested resources on a guide. Our time is limited, so we generally do not reply to unsolicited recommendations from individuals not affiliated with AdventHealth University or notify them regarding whether or not we have linked to suggested content.