Advanced Practice : Nursing Procedures, 2nd ed. by
Comprehensive collection of over 115 procedures commonly performed by adult and family nurse practitioners in various care settings. Each procedure provides... Coding Guidelines--Lists CPT codes as well as modifiers. Overview--Outlines causes, incidence, and other procedure-specific information. Health Promotion/Prevention--Offers tips to pass on to the client to promote health or prevent the need for the procedure in the future. Options--Lists one to four methods of performing the procedure and offers a choice of how to perform the procedure. Rationale--Presents the reasons to perform the procedure. Indications--Explains when the procedure should be performed. Contraindications--Explains when the procedure should not be performed. Procedure--Lists the required equipment and provides illustrated, step-by-step instructions for performing each procedure listed under "Options." Client Instructions--Details post-procedure instructions for the client. Bibliography--Offers sources for additional information.
Clinical Simulations for the Advanced Practice Nurse by
Provides high-quality, comprehensive simulation cases for APRNs This invaluable resource is the first simulation guide designed specifically to support the training and evaluation of advanced practice nursing students, novice nurse practitioners, and advanced practice nurses transitioning to new fields. This book provides a method and foundation to transform graduate nursing education to competency-based clinical evaluation, empowering programs with standardized templates and interprofessional education options for each case to advance graduate simulation education and research. This comprehensive guide delivers more than 50 comprehensive case scenarios, written by experienced APRNs, faculty, and simulation specialists. Scenarios are arranged by APRN specialty with applications for students, faculty, standardized patients, staff development and simulation staff who prepare the advanced practice nurse and their interprofessional team for clinical expertise. Not only is this text easy for faculty to use and implement, it also includes several levels of application and offers strategies for adapting scenarios to an interprofessional setting. Each simulation is structured into a consistent template for ease of use and includes a description, objectives, equipment needed, pre-briefing, debriefing, and interprofessional considerations. Additionally, each scenario includes a one-page download designed for the Simulation Team focusing on "what happens" in a particular scenario. These comprehensive simulations encompass a wide variety of valid health and mental health scenarios across the lifespan and include telehealth, critical care transport, and retail scenarios. Three detailed sections dedicated to APRN students, faculty and simulation staff are provided with timely topics as well as sound advice from recent graduates, faculty experts, and leaders in the simulation field. The section for students provides anticipatory guidance for novice practitioners on how best to prepare for formative and summative evaluations, standardized patient interactions, high stakes simulation testing, and interprofessional experiences. The section for faculty provides practical information on how to design engaging simulation experiences for the APRN, and suggestions on mapping the various modes of simulation experiences to the levels and competencies. A detailed section directed at the simulations team covers operations and management of the environment, personnel, equipment, and resources. Key Features: Provides 10 Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) standard scenarios for general advanced practice assessmentContains more than 50 comprehensive simulation scenarios, arranged by APRN specialty for formative, summative, and high stakes testing and competency evaluationsConsistent with INASCL and SSH Simulation Standards of Best Practice and NLN Simulation Theory by Pamela JeffriesMaps simulation experiences to APRN learner levels and AACN competenciesIncludes separate sections tailored towards APRN students, APRN faculty and staff development, and the simulation operational teamDelineates and provides hyperlinks for suggested learner preparation and the most up to date references to support each scenario
The Doctor of Nursing Practice, 4th ed by
The Doctor of Nursing Practice: A Guidebook for Role Development and Professional Issues, Fourth Edition is a comprehensive guidebook for role development of the DNP student. This text covers potential roles of the DNP graduate, including leader, clinician, educator, ethical consultant, and health policy advocate. Conversational in tone, the Fourth Edition covers potential roles of the DNP graduate, including leader, clinician, educator, ethical consultant, and health policy advocate.
Diseases and Disorders, 6e : A Nursing Therapeutics Manual by
Diagnosis Related Groups (DRGs) for each disorder The primary nursing diagnosis for each disease and disorder Diagnostic tables that make test results easy to reference The newest information available on the genetic basis of the diseases and disorders Up-to-date explanations of the physiology of the disorders and how it related to risks and complications Collaborative and independent interventions Pharmacological tables that outline the dosages, mechanisms of action, and rationales of the drugs most commonly used for a disorder Separate headings for psychosocial issues Outlines for required documentation Home care and discharge guidelines and patient teaching checklists Evidence-based practice section Global health considerations that reflect the issues that transcend national borders
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2023 by
For 25 years, Ferri's Clinical Advisor has provided immediate answers on the myriad medical diseases and disorders you're likely to encounter in a unique, easy-to-use format. A bestselling title year after year, this popular "5 books in 1" reference delivers vast amounts of information in a user-friendly manner. It is updated annually to provide current and clinically relevant answers on over 1,000 common medical conditions, including diseases and disorders, differential diagnoses, clinical algorithms, laboratory tests, and clinical practice guidelines?all carefully reviewed by experts in key clinical fields. Extensive algorithms, along with hundreds of high-quality photographs, illustrations, diagrams, and tables, ensure that you stay current with today's medical practice. Contains significant updates throughout all 5 sections, covering all aspects of diagnosis and treatment. Features 27 all-new topics including coronary artery dissection, perimandibular abscess, retinal vein occlusion, performance enhancing hormones, aphasia, hemorrhagic ovarian cyst, pelvic fracture, lung transplant, penile cancer and obsessive rumination syndrome, among others. Includes useful appendices covering care of the transgender patient, palliative care, preoperative evaluation, nutrition, poison management, commonly used herbal products in integrated medicine, and much more. Offers online access to Patient Teaching Guides in both English and Spanish. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Document Smart : the A to Z guide to better nursing documentation by
Feeling unsure about documenting patient care? Learn to document with skill and ease, with the freshly updated Document Smart, 4th Edition. This unique, easy-to-use resource is a must-have for every student and new nurse, offering more than 300 alpha-organized topics that demonstrate the latest nursing, medical and government best practices for documenting a wide variety of patient conditions and scenarios. Whether you are assessing data, creating effective patient goals, choosing optimal interventions or evaluating treatment, this is your road map to documentation confidence and clarity.
The Aprn and Pa's Complete Guide to Prescribing Drug Therapy 2022 by
Includes 25 new diagnoses and digital updates as needed! The only prescribing guide conveniently organized by clinical diagnoses for adult and pediatric patients, this concise resource is an unrivaled reference tool for advanced health care providers (AHCPs) and students in all clinical practice settings who need guidance on prescribing drugs for patients with acute, episodic, and chronic health problems. Newly updated for 2022 with the most recent drug information and clinical guidance, this revised edition contains 25 new diagnoses including 15 additional cancer diagnoses and the novel Coronavirus (COVID-19). The APRN and PA's Complete Guide to Prescribing Drug Therapy 2022 intersperses clinically useful information throughout, such as monitored laboratory values, patient teaching points, and safety information. Section I alphabetically presents pharmacotherapy regimens for more than 600 clinical diagnoses. Each diagnosis contains drug choices alphabetically by generic name, FDA pregnancy category, OTC availability, generic availability, adult and pediatric dosing regimens, brand/trade names, available dose forms, and additive information. Section II uses a convenient table format to convey pediatric and adult immunization schedules, contraceptives, pediatric dosing tables for liquid anti infectives, and much more. An alphabetical cross reference index of drugs by generic and brand/trade names, with FDA pregnancy category and controlled drug schedule, facilitates quick identification of drugs by alternate names and relative safety during pregnancy. Key Features: Uniquely organized by clinical diagnosis! Addresses drug treatment options for over 600 specific diagnoses Guides the AHCP through drug classes, categories, and brand/trade names for primary care health issues Contains over 30 Appendices with quick access to drugs by category (e.g., antineoplastics, anticonvulsants), child and adult immunization schedules, contraceptives by form, glucocorticosteroids by potency, and much more! Index provides cross referencing of drugs by generic and brand/trade names Includes eBook and regular updates with purchase of print guide
Pharmacotherapeutics for Advanced Nursing Practice, Revised by 
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, Fourth Edition by
The goal of EBP in healthcare is to promote improved interventions, care, and patient outcomes.Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals has proven to be one of the most foundational books on EBP in nursing and healthcare. Building on the strength of previous versions, the fourth edition is fully revised to include updated content based on more than a decade of the model's use, refinement in real-life settings, and feedback from nurses and other healthcare professionals around the world.Key features of the book include:* NEW strategies for dissemination, including guidance on submitting manuscripts for publication* EXPANDED focus on the importance of interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, particularly when addressing the complex care issues often tackled by EBP teams* EXPANDED synthesis and translation steps, including an expanded list of outcome measures to determine the success of an EBP project* Tools to guide the EBP process, such as stakeholder analysis, action planning, and dissemination* Explanation of the practice question, evidence, and translation (PET) approach to EBP projects* Overview of the patient, intervention, comparison, and outcome (PICO) approach to EBP question development* Creation of a supportive infrastructure for building an EBP nursing environment* Exemplars detailing real-world EBP experiences
The PEACE Model Evidence-Based Practice Guide for Clinical Nurses by
Nurses are in charge of the patients and their families throughout the hospital and health system experience. They assist patients through illness to achieve higher levels of health. They coordinate the care throughout the patients' experiences with the healthcare system. Nurses are the leaders of patient care at the bedside and beyond. It is important that as clinical leaders, nurses have the most accurate, most up-to-date, and evidence-based information available so that they can always do the right thing. The PEACE model develops clinical nurses as leaders in care of both patients and their families. Clinical nurses, those at the point of care, have embraced this model for guiding their practice. The PEACE model helps clinical nurses solve challenging problems through a rigorous evidence-based practice process-from problem identification to evaluation and dissemination. The crux of the PEACE model is the mnemonic that simplifies the evidence-based practice (EBP) process for clinical nurses. The PEACE model is used across NewYork-Presbyterian (NYP), one of the nation's most comprehensive academic healthcare delivery systems. NYP is composed of 10 hospitals in New York and employs more than 11,000 nurses across the enterprise. One striking advantage of the model is that it emerged from the work of clinical nurses who were struggling to find a way to remember and apply the components of other EBP models. Clinical nurses have indicated that the components of the PEACE model make the model memorable and useful: P for problem identification E for evidence review A for appraising the evidence C for changing practice or conducting research E for evaluating and disseminating the findings The last stage of the PEACE model is particularly important to advancing nursing practice across institutions. We have found that unless the model results are disseminated through scholarly presentations and publications, the clinical challenges continue to be present across sites and institutions. We emphasize this phase and conduct publication workshops to help clinical nurses shape the dissemination of their EBP work. Nurses' active participation in EBP and research is critical to improving the care we provide to patients and furthering nursing science. It is important to note that the design of the PEACE model intentionally linked EBP, quality improvement (QI), and research. The mnemonic PEACE promotes understanding and application by clinical nurses, providing a way to easily remember the EBP component stages. The uniqueness of the PEACE model is its simplicity. This relevance leads to continued application in day-to-day nursing practice. As we strive for peace at many levels of our lives and work, the mnemonic is easy to remember. The PEACE model may be adapted to any setting where nurses practice.
Practice Guidelines for Family Nurse Practitioners by
The latest evidence-based guidelines to prepare you for FNP practice! Practice Guidelines for Family Nurse Practitioners, 5th Edition provides essential, information on the latest national and international guidelines and evidence-based protocols for primary care patients of all ages. Key details are easy to find with the book's concise, outline-style guidelines and abundant summary tables and charts. Content highlights now include the use of bold type for "not-to-be-missed" content, bold italic type for non-urgent/non-emergent interprofessional referrals, and bold italic type plus an eye-catching icon for urgent/emergent interprofessional referrals. In addition to coverage of the most common conditions seen in outpatient settings, this edition includes the latest information on topics such as jaundice, fever of unknown origin, and unexpected weight loss. Plus, the popular Practice Pearls boxes have been expanded throughout the book. Current, evidence-based guidelines for patients of all ages provide the latest guidance for management of disorders commonly seen by FNPs in primary care settings. Concise outline format makes it easy to locate essential information quickly. Quick-reference tables and charts include pediatric conditions charts, comparative charts for similar disorders, and health maintenance guidelines charts. Full-color photos of common clinical manifestations provides an illustrated, quick reference to common skin disorders. Need-to-know coverage of the most common disorders seen in family practice helps familiarize you with situations you'll often encounter in practice. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest national and international guidelines and evidence-based protocols. NEW! Expansion of the book's popular Practice Pearls features throughout the book provides more consistent expert insights based on years of clinical experience. NEW! Additional full-color illustrations provide an expanded reference to common clinical manifestations, especially skin findings.? NEW! Enhanced index includes terms most likely to be searched by FNPs for improved access to key information.? NEW and UNIQUE! Content highlights include the use of bold type for "not-to-be-missed" content, bold italic type for non-urgent/non-emergent interprofessional referrals, and bold italic type plus an eye-catching icon for urgent/emergent interprofessional referrals.? NEW! Content added on jaundice, fever of unknown origin, and unexpected weight loss reflects the latest treatment guidelines for these common clinical situations.
Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications by
Great for nursing school, you will use it constantly."Best nursing lab book I've encountered. Definitely worth the money."--Online Reviewer Supports nursing practice and clinical judgment better than any other manual! Written by a laboratory scientist and a nurse educator, this easy-to-read, full-color manual delivers all the information you need to understand how tests work, interpret their results, and provide quality patient care--pre-test, intra-test, and post-test--with a unique focus on clinical judgment. Tests and procedures are listed in alphabetical order by their complete name for quick reference. The integrated index allows fast searches by abbreviation, synonym, disease/disorder, specimen type, or test classification. Explore more! An access code in new, print texts unlocks Fast Find: Lab & Dx, the complete monograph library online. New! "Core Lab Study" labels identifying 35 need-to-know, clinically significant laboratory studies New! "Nursing Implications, Nursing Process, Clinical Judgement" sections, and a "Clinical Judgment" statement at the end of every entry "Potential Nursing Problems" tables "Common Use" explanations for each monograph Coverage of patient teaching, patient safety, and "Sensitivity to Social and Cultural Issues" and "Nutritional Considerations," where appropriate Diagnostic imaging monographs with explanations of the reasons for the test results Pathophysiology information that explains why a lab test result is increased or decreased Reference Ranges in both conventional and SI units (with the SI unit conversion factor) that include age- and gender-specific variations when indicated and normal variations due to cultural considerations Interfering Factors, including food, natural products, timing of test, handling of specimens, underlying patient conditions, and drugs that may interfere with the results of the test Laboratory and diagnostic tests for subspecialties, such as maternity, therapeutic drug monitoring, nutrition and sensory Cross referencing of related lab and diagnostic tests in every monograph
Nurse Practitioner's Business Practice and Legal Guide by
Nurse Practitioner's Business Practice and Legal Guide, Seventh Edition is a must-have resource for every new or current nurse practitioner (NP). Drawing from the author's extensive experience as an NP followed by nearly 30 years as a practicing attorney focused on the many and varied legal issues affecting NPs, it is unlike any other text. This unique resource explains and analyzes the legal issues relevant to NPs in a straightforward and easy-to-read approach. The Seventh Edition discusses NP competencies, how the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degree relates to NPs, the differences in primary care and acute care NPs, definitions of medical bio-ethics terminology, malpractice cases and the lessons to learn from them, emerging issues in health policy, guidelines around prescribing opioids and controlled drugs, clinical performance measures, electronic health records, and other relevant and practical topics specific to NPs.In how many states can NPs write prescriptions? What can an NP do if an insurance company refuses to pay the bill for a patient's visit? What should be covered in an employment contract? What is involved, legally, when starting a private practice? How does an NP know when to consult a physician? Nurse Practitioner's Business Practice and Legal Guide, Seventh Edition answers these questions and more, making it an indispensable resource for practicing NPs, students, those employing NPs, and attorneys representing NPs or the medical facilities in which NPs are employed.
Practice Guidelines for Family Nurse Practitioners by
The latest evidence-based guidelines to prepare you for FNP practice! Practice Guidelines for Family Nurse Practitioners, 5th Edition provides essential, information on the latest national and international guidelines and evidence-based protocols for primary care patients of all ages. Key details are easy to find with the book's concise, outline-style guidelines and abundant summary tables and charts. Content highlights now include the use of bold type for "not-to-be-missed" content, bold italic type for non-urgent/non-emergent interprofessional referrals, and bold italic type plus an eye-catching icon for urgent/emergent interprofessional referrals. In addition to coverage of the most common conditions seen in outpatient settings, this edition includes the latest information on topics such as jaundice, fever of unknown origin, and unexpected weight loss. Plus, the popular Practice Pearls boxes have been expanded throughout the book. Current, evidence-based guidelines for patients of all ages provide the latest guidance for management of disorders commonly seen by FNPs in primary care settings. Concise outline format makes it easy to locate essential information quickly. Quick-reference tables and charts include pediatric conditions charts, comparative charts for similar disorders, and health maintenance guidelines charts. Full-color photos of common clinical manifestations provides an illustrated, quick reference to common skin disorders. Need-to-know coverage of the most common disorders seen in family practice helps familiarize you with situations you'll often encounter in practice. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest national and international guidelines and evidence-based protocols. NEW! Expansion of the book's popular Practice Pearls features throughout the book provides more consistent expert insights based on years of clinical experience. NEW! Additional full-color illustrations provide an expanded reference to common clinical manifestations, especially skin findings.? NEW! Enhanced index includes terms most likely to be searched by FNPs for improved access to key information.? NEW and UNIQUE! Content highlights include the use of bold type for "not-to-be-missed" content, bold italic type for non-urgent/non-emergent interprofessional referrals, and bold italic type plus an eye-catching icon for urgent/emergent interprofessional referrals.? NEW! Content added on jaundice, fever of unknown origin, and unexpected weight loss reflects the latest treatment guidelines for these common clinical situations.
Clinical Research Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice
Nursing Research Critiques : A Model for Excellence by
This is the first resource to provide APRN students and practicing clinicians with a step-by-step guide to critically analyze evidence from research studies. As part of a profession that relies on best evidence, nurses need to be able to effectively assess research articles. Equipped with these skills, nurses will lead an informed practice and improve patient care. With 14 qualitative and quantitative studies, chapters use previously published research articles to demonstrate the actual critique process. This text delves past outlining the elements of critique to teach by example, walking the reader through every part of a research article, from the title to the conclusion, and highlighting specific queries that need to be answered to craft a strong critique. The research articles in this book offer a broad range of clinical areas and diverse methodologies to highlight the fundamental differences between qualitative and quantitative studies, their underlying paradigms, and relative strengths and weaknesses. With a consistent, robust critiquing template, this content can easily be applied to countless additional research studies.Comprises the only text to offer research critiques in nursingProvides actual examples of critiques of published research papers by experienced nurse researchers and educatorsShowcases a diverse range of research studiesStructures critiques consistently to enable replication of the processUseful to hospitals, especially those with Magnet(R) certification
Using Nursing Research to Shape Health Policy by
Examining the crucial interrelationship between nursing research and health policy, this book presents examples of specific health care policies that have been influenced, implemented, or changed as a result of nursing research. It builds on the discussion of this relationship in the editors' earlier book, Shaping Health Policy Through Nursing Research, named a Doody's Core Title in 2013 and an AJN Book of the Year in 2011. This book updates earlier information with new nursing research by esteemed scholars. It encompasses research related to major policy directives of the decade, including the Institute of Medicine's The Future of Nursing report, the Affordable Care Act, and the genomic nursing science blueprint, and highlights how they have influenced, and will continue to influence, health policy. Relevant for a wide range of readers, including undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and nursing professionals, the book describes how science shapes health policy in general, discusses models and strategies for linking research and health policy, and presents multiple examples of how major nursing research has influenced health policy. The text provides both a conceptual orientation and an operational approach to strategies linking research to policy and influencing policy makers at the organizational, community, state, national, and international levels. Key Features: Offers examples of cutting-edge nursing research providing a foundation for practice and policyIncorporates major policy directives of this decade and highlights how nursing research has influenced health policyDemonstrates to undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and nursing professionals how nursing research can shape health policy decisionsIncludes perspectives, models, and strategies for using nursing research to influence health policyAddresses how nursing research shapes policy at organizational, community, state, national, and international levels
Nursing Research by
Whether used to help students learn how to perform research or how to critically appraise research reports for use in practice, this authoritative, approachable textbook shows how nursing research is applicable across today's changing healthcare field. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck detail the latest methodologic innovations that have arisen in nursing, medicine, and the social sciences in their signature user-friendly style, accompanied by the helpful learning features, pedagogy, and clean design that have made this book a classic. The updated 11th Edition adds two new chapters designed to help students ensure the accuracy and effectiveness of research methods and the relevance and applicability of nursing inquiries. Extensively revised content throughout strengthens students' ability to locate and rank clinical evidence, verify the authoritativeness of systematic reviews, and distinguish interpretive approaches from aggregative approaches using meta-aggregation. NEW! Quality Improvement and Improvement Science chapter provides methods and frameworks to help students develop and assess improvement projects. NEW! Applicability, Generalizability, and Relevance: Toward Practice-Based Evidence chapter details cutting-edge strategies to meet the growing need for patient-centered, practice-based evidence. UPDATED! Revised content throughout reflects the latest methodologic approaches to ranking evidence, verifying systematic reviews, using meta-aggregation, and more. Critical appraisal guidelines help students focus on specific aspects of a report for the most effective appraisal. Clear, user-friendly writing style introduces concepts logically and clarifies difficult ideas. Specific research tips translate abstract notions into practical strategies to help students confidently apply chapter lessons in real-life situations. Research examples throughout the text illustrate key points and stimulate critical thinking. A comprehensive index provides fast, efficient access to precise information. Tables, figures, and bulleted summaries reinforce essential chapter concepts at a glance.
Orthopedics for Physician Assistant and Nurse Practitioner Students by
This practical introductory guide provides PA/NP students with the tools to recognize and begin treatment of the most common orthopedic problems, to avoid missing critical diagnoses, and to serve as a base of knowledge to which they can add depending on their chosen career path. Utilizing this concise text, PA/NP students will gain a basic familiarity with how to describe a problem (including imaging) to an orthopedic surgeon as well as how to begin treatment. In addition, the student should have no difficulty passing the orthopedic portion of the PA/NP credentialing exams. The essentials of imaging, fracture description and operating room procedures are presented first. Then, proceeding anatomically from upper to lower extremity and the spine, chapters utilize a user-friendly chapter format covering fractures, dislocations and trauma as well as non-traumatic injury, focusing on pathophysiology, diagnosis and differential diagnosis, and brief treatment protocols. Since many PAs are office-based, only the highlights of surgery are presented, with an emphasis on what to look for regarding post-operative complications as well as the goals of the rehabilitation process (both non-operative and post-operative). Many books intended for orthopedic PA/NP students are written for those already in practice, usually providing far more information than the student can absorb in the usual 4-week orthopedic rotation, while others tend to skip important areas. This guide provides concise yet comprehensive coverage for a well-rounded presentation of everything orthopedic PA/NP students need to know to succeed.
Applied Pathophysiology for the Advanced Practice Nurse by
Applied Pathophysiology for the Advanced Practice Nurse is a comprehensive resource which serves as a bridge between clinical experience and the role of an APN. A comprehensive and concise text, it helps students navigate the data and presentation of symptoms that must be considered when making a diagnosis and recommendation for treatment. The text takes an advanced-practiced focus and links changes to a patient's health to signs and symptoms to help the student identify a diagnosis and treatment. In addition, the text provides the 'why' behind the choices and decisions advanced practice nurses make on a day-to-day basis. Key Features Advanced practice nursing focus Coverage of gerontology, pediatrics, maternal, and mental health content meet requisites for core advanced pathophysiology Comparison and contrast data of similar disease states help facilitate symptom recognition and differential diagnosis Features common diagnostic tests (i.e. labs, imaging studies) Discusses the influence of cultural and gender variations in the presentation of disease
Pocket Medicine by
The flagship volume in the popular Pocket Notebook Series, Pocket Medicine, 7th Edition, is a must-have resource for fast answers to diagnostic questions you'll face on rounds and exams. It provides up-to-date, dependable guidance on the internal medicine information needed to make an accurate diagnosis and develop a treatment plan. Compiled by residents and attending physicians at Massachusetts General Hospital, this best-selling reference ensures that quick access to key clinical information and solutions to common problems in internal medicine is as close as your pocket! The Pocket Notebook Series was always designed to fit in the pocket of the medical student's white coat but as the popularity and usefulness of the title expanded to PAs, NPs, and beyond and the practice of wearing white coats moved towards wearing scrubs, we wanted to make the series even easier to keep with you where you needed it- in your pocket. With this latest edition, we have removed the bulkier hard plastic cover and changed the binding to a plastic spiral to make the book even easier to use while on the go. The thoroughly revised 7th Edition offers: Easy access to essential information on the most common disorders in cardiology, pulmonary medicine, gastroenterology, nephrology, hematology-oncology, infectious diseases, endocrinology, rheumatology, and neurology Focused coverage in a highly templated format, including bulleted lists, abbreviations, symbols, tables, and algorithms References to landmark papers to help you intelligently answer questions from attendings and residents - all from a trusted source acceptable for use on rounds User-friendly tabs and a 2-color design to help you find information quickly Ideal coverage for medical students, interns, residents, advanced practice nurses, PAs, and candidates reviewing for internal medicine board exams
Pocket Obstetrics and Gynecology by
This practical, high-yield Pocket Notebook title is an ideal on-the-go reference for trainees and practitioners of obstetrics and gynecology. Written by residents with oversight from fellows and faculty experts, and perfect for initial care plans during rounds, this easy-to-use, loose-leaf resource is packed with up-to-date information answering the clinical questions you face every day. Pocket Obstetrics and Gynecology, Second Edition , is an indispensable quick resource you won't want to be without! Includes a new chapter that covers substance abuse in pregnancy, depression, anxiety disorders, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, and psychosis. Features fully revised content throughout, keeping you up to date with best practices and the latest research in the field. Covers primary care; emergencies; operative ob-gyn; pelvic surgery and urogynecology; infertility; prenatal care; normal labor and delivery; complicated pregnancy and delivery; cardiology; pulmonary; gastroenterology; hematology; neurology; gynecologic oncology, and more. Follows the popular Pockets Notebook format, featuring bulleted lists, tables, diagrams, and algorithms that make essential facts easy to find and retain. Contains helpful appendices on pelvic anatomy; common ob/gyn procedures and surgeries; drugs in OB and breastfeeding; ACLS algorithms; and NRP algorithm. Organizes chapters by organ system, putting women's health topics into general medical context - perfect for clerkship studies.
Nurses Making Policy : from bedside to boardroom by
Praise for the First Edition: "There is a plethora of policy books on the market, but none illustrate the steps in the policy process better than this one. The high caliber editors and contributors, all of whom have been involved in policy work, bring years of experience to illustrate the key points...This outstanding resource will help motivate many more nurses to get involved in the policy process"...Score: 93 - 4 Stars --Doody's Medical Reviews Written by distinguished nurse leaders with expertise in policy, practice, education, and research, this book is a practical "how-to" guide written to help advanced students and nurse leaders develop health policy competencies to advocate for patients from the bedside to the larger political arena. Co-published with the American Nurses Association, the book examines the pivotal role of nurses involved in health policy, making it an essential resource for nurses pursuing advanced education and desiring to enhance their expertise in making policy and facilitating its change. The book addresses recent changes impacting healthcare and many other topics including information on the increased need for primary care providers, how full practice authority has been implemented in different states, the need for an enhanced RN role in ambulatory care, and ongoing changes to the Affordable Care Act. This edition describes the distinct role of nurses impacting policies on the front lines of healthcare. Current issues with detailed examples of how nurses can exert influence at local, state, national, and global levels at each step of the policymaking process are presented. This second edition emphasizes collaboration within healthcare institutions, professional organizations, and government for the development of policies from bedside to boardroom. Using descriptive cases, the book delves into the growing role of nurses in elected and appointed office. The book clarifies the process of identifying issues that need a policy solution. A timely contribution focuses on evaluating policy sources, such as "Fake News." It stresses how evidence must be used to strengthen policy initiatives. Woven throughout are essential themes basic to healthcare: ethics, leadership, safety, care access, and quality of care. New to the Second Edition: Revised chapters featuring inspirational, motivational, and practical stories representing different steps of the policy processA new chapter, "Valuing Global Realities for Health Policy," emphasizing issues that unite nurses globally and the role of nurses as global citizensExpanded content on steps of policy analysis and evaluating evidence to support policyAn appraisal and evaluation of converged media, including "Fake News"Guidance on working with the ongoing evolution of the Affordable Care ActAn examination of health in all policies to improve community and population health Added focus on work environments as part of achieving the Quadruple Aim of healthcareThe latest developments in advanced practice registered nurse regulation Key Features: Delineates the steps, strategies, and competencies needed for health policy advocacy in organizational, educational, and political settingsProvides perspective relevant to the American Association of Colleges of Nursing doctor of nursing practice (DNP) Essentials Includes real world examples of policymaking on the frontlines of clinical practiceProvides exemplars from high profile national and international nursing policy leadersExamines how nurses are leaders in a variety of policy arenasIllustrates policies to address social and economic inequities impacting healthDescribes how evidence is used to advance policy
The Nature of Scholarship, a Career Legacy Map and Advanced Practice by
This book, endorsed by the International Council of Nurses, explores a new conversation around scholarly talents for advanced candidate /nurse practitioners that comprise a variety of forms such as teaching, synthesis, discovery, engagement and application. It offers an expansive view of Boyer's scholarship, with a call to action for advanced candidate /nurse practitioners to thoughtfully plan and map their personal goals and capabilities, that will mark them as professionals and future scholars needed in today's challenging and changing professional workplace. Knowing how to apply the various forms of scholarship to problems of practice within one's field of expertise and the implications of Boyer's pillars of scholarship for advanced candidate / nurse practitioners are interweaved throughout this book. The volume discusses the science of career cartography, alongside legacy planning and career mapping. The toolkit illustrates a guide for advanced candidate /nurse practitioners to create their individual career legacy map and reflect on how they wish to contribute to the discipline of nursing, while working to improve the lives of others. This book serves as a catalyst for robust conversations among scholar practitioners on the very nature of clinical scholarship
A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Publishing a Dissertation or DNP Project by 
A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing a Dissertation or Scholarly Project, Third Edition by 
Writing Groups for Doctoral Education and Beyond : innovations in practice and theory by
Writing is the principal means by which doctoral candidature is monitored and measured; this, combined with the growing tendency to use publications as proxy measures of individual and institutional productivity, underlines the centrality of writing in academia. One of the central questions for scholars in higher education, therefore, is 'How do we make writing happen?', and it is this question which the book seeks to answer. The book provides detailed illustrations of collaborative writing pedagogies which are powerfully enabling, and through theoretical and conceptual interrogation of these practices, the authors point the way for individuals as well as institutions to establish writing groups that are lively, responsive and context-specific. Key topics include: new pedagogical responses for increased writing productivity and the 'push to publish'; innovations for supporting academic writing quality, confidence and output; scaffolding the thesis writing process; new theoretical explorations of collaborative writing approaches; writing group formulations and pedagogical approaches; writing groups for non-native speakers of English; writing as women in higher education. A particular strength of this book is that it showcases the potential of writing groups for advanced academic writing by pulling together a unique mix of authors and scholarly approaches, representing a wide range of new theoretical and pedagogical frames from diverse countries. Writing Groups for Doctoral Education and Beyondwill be attractive to academics seeking new ways to advance their writing productivity, doctoral students, their supervisors and those who are tasked with the job of supporting them through the completion and dissemination of their research.
New: Nursing and the Art of Being Human by
Author Tenley Force's journey from student to fully registered nurse wasn't easy, causing her to face the very extremes of humanity.In her debut book, New: Nursing and the Art of Being Human, Tenley seeks to answer the question... How can we heal ourselves while we are busy healing others? In her search, Tenley interviewed 50 different nurses throughout the United States - some with only several months experience, and some with many years.Through the process of open and honest communication Tenley was able to compile a variety of voices, which, along with her own experiences, help others to hang onto their sense of self in the midst of stressful, new situations. Filled with advice, experience, and commiseration, New is a direct look into the world of high-pressure careers, and the way we process emotions in both our personal and professional lives.
Nursing Scope and Standards of Practice, 4th Edition by 
2021-2022 Perianesthesia Nursing Standards, Practice Recommendations and Interpretive Statements by WY 105 Supervisory Nursing
WY 20.5 Research (General)
WY 100.7 Evidence-based Nursing
WY 128 Nurse Practitioners. Nurse Clinicians
101 Primary Care Case Studies by
Real-life primary care case studies* from more than 50 primary care providers, including physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and physicians! 101 Primary Care Case Studies offers real-life patient scenarios and critical thinking exercises to help you work through a patient's chief complaint. Through narrative case studies, you will determine how best to diagnose, treat, and manage your patient based on the history of present illness, review of systems, relevant history, and physical examination findings. This workbook will ask probing questions to help you determine differential and most likely diagnoses, diagnostic tests to order, and appropriate patient management strategies using relevant and timely references to support your decisions. The organization of each case study simulates the patient care journey from chief complaint to outcome. Serving as a virtual clinical preceptor, this workbook can be used independently or in a classroom setting. It is accompanied by a robust online student supplement that provides answers to all questions, real outcomes of the cases, and valuable personal insights from the authors on how the patient was successfully managed. Not only will this workbook help you work through patient cases clinically, it will also share important, but often overlooked, bedside manner skills needed to successfully communicate with and care for your patients. Covering conditions across all organ systems and across the lifespan, this workbook is organized by chief complaint, providing an authentic perspective on what to expect in the patient care environment. It even includes information on pathophysiology and how to use ICD-10 and CPT (E/M) codes in your documentation. The book uniquely weaves together both the science and art of medicine by including personal insights into quality and compassionate care. Key FeaturesProvides real-life patient cases from an interprofessional author team of physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and physiciansUses a templated case study design and critical thinking exercises to help you methodically work through various patient scenariosTeaches clinical and bedside manner skills imperative for delivering quality patient careCovers patients across the lifespan, including pediatric, adolescent, adult, and geriatric populationsOffers additional insight on patient education, medical and legal concerns, and interprofessional collaborationIncludes a robust online student supplement with answers to all the case studies along with valuable insights from the authors on how they successfully managed the cases--see inside for access detailsProvides instructors with a table of contents that is filterable by chief complaint, diagnosis, patient population, and organ system *Details changed to protect patient information.
Resources listed on these guides are compiled by librarians at the R.A. Williams Library. We accept content recommendations, and after review, may include suggested resources on a guide. Our time is limited, so we generally do not reply to unsolicited recommendations from individuals not affiliated with AdventHealth University or notify them regarding whether or not we have linked to suggested content.