Professors use these titles in the Nurse Anesthetist Program.
Please be aware many ebooks only allow one user at a time.
Clinical Anesthesia 8th ed by
Where experts turn for definitive answers! Clinical Anesthesia covers the full spectrum of clinical issues and options in anesthesiology, providing insightful coverage of pharmacology, physiology, co-existing diseases, and surgical procedures. Unmatched in its clarity and depth of coverage as well as its robust multimedia features, this classic clinical reference brings you the very latest essential knowledge in the field, equipping you to effectively apply today,,s standards of care and make optimal clinical decisions on behalf of your patients. Key Features: -Apply the latest know-how with a new chapter on cardiovascular pharmacology'new coverage of autonomic pharmacology'a greatly expanded Clinical Updates section'updated coverage of occupational hazards'and many other important additions. -Focus on the most essential information with Key Points in every chapter. -Advance your skills with 180 new Narrated Interactive Clinical Vignettes - which immerse you in a virtual classroom setting where a master teacher guides you through a focused discussion on common and uncommon clinical topics. A clinical question is posed, and you are given time to develop an appropriate answer. Then, in a stepwise fashion, you will see and hear the answer unfold. -In addition to the Interactive vignettes, the ebook also comes with a collection of over 300 procedural videos to help hone your technique. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: -The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time - providing a seamless reading experience online or offline -Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks -Multiple viewing options offer the ability to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design -The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
World Religions for Healthcare Professionals by
Religious beliefs and customs can significantly shape patients' and professionals' attitudes toward, and expectations of, healthcare, as well as their wishes and personal boundaries regarding such daily matters as dress, diet, prayer and touch. Undoubtedly, the sensitivity with which clinicians communicate with patients and make decisions regarding appropriate medical intervention can be greatly increased by an understanding of religious as well as other forms of cultural diversity. This second edition of a popular and established text offers healthcare students and professionals a clear and concise overview of health beliefs and practices in world religions, including Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, Confucianism, Taoism, Sikhism, Islam, Judaism, and Christianity. Adopting a consistent structure, each chapter considers the demographic profile of the community, the religion's historical development, and key beliefs and practices, including views regarding health and sickness, death, and dying. Each chapter also ends with a useful checklist of advice on what to do and what to avoid, along with recommendations for further reading, both online and in print form. The book's clear and consistent style ensures that readers with little background knowledge can find the information they need and assimilate it easily. A brand new chapter on applications and a set of new case studies illustrating issues in clinical practice enhance this wide-ranging book's value to students and practitioners alike.
World Religions for Healthcare Professionals by 
Ira P. Gunn, Nurse Anesthetist : writings and wisdom from a legendary nursing leader by 
Wondrous Story of Anesthesia by 
How to Survive in Anaesthesia: a guide for trainees by
The first few months as a trainee anaesthetist are a daunting prospect, filled with new information, skills and terminology. This concise reference, now in its fifth edition, provides doctors with a clear introduction to the practice. Fully updated and split into four key parts for quick consultation, the reader can recap on the airway and anaesthetic equipment, and find crucial advice on crises such as cardiac arrest, haemorrhage and blood transfusion. Part III focuses on subspecialties, with new chapters on obstetric anaesthesia, common regional nerve blocks, and laparoscopy, while the newly added fourth part provides information on intensive care and peri-operative medicine. Written in an accessible and often humorous style, How to Survive in Anaesthesia is an essential resource in learning the safe fundamentals of the practice for trainee anaesthetists, as well as operating department practitioners, physicians' assistants and anaesthetic nurses.
CRNA Mnemonics : 120 tips, tricks, and memory cues to help you kick-ass in CRNA school by
From the author of Survive CRNA School, this book continues the mission of helping students get past the daunting task of becoming a nurse anesthetist. This is not meant as a replacement for the education you receive in school, but rather as a way to remember some of the difficult things that tend to slip away at times. For example, if you're having trouble keeping track of the bleeding risk for placenta accreta, increta, and percreta, it's covered here in the Pediatrics/Obstetrics section. Can't remember Guedel's stages of anesthesia or how to calculate fluid maintenance? You'll find that in the Anesthesia Basics section. Although this book is geared toward student CRNAs, it has helpful information that can be utilized by any type of aspiring anesthesia provider.Anesthesia school is an uphill battle that's difficult and exhausting for anyone brave enough to give it a shot. There's a reason it's hard. If it were easy, everyone would do it. But it can also be a very rewarding experience, especially once you're done. In the meantime, try to get any advantage you can to make your life easier. CRNA Mnemonics does exactly that.
Graphic Anaesthesia : essential diagrams, equations and tables for anaesthesia by
From reviews: "Graphic Anaesthesiais a well-written, easy-to-read book, ideal for trainees studying for primary FRCA examinations... It will be an ideal companion for preparing for exams." Ulster Medical Journal, May 2016 "Graphic Anaesthesiais an excellent revision tool that allows trainees approaching exams to prepare in an efficient and simple format. It is a refreshing and unique resource that should be included on any essential revision reading list". European Journal of Anaesthesiology2016; 33:610. Graphic Anaesthesiais a compendium of the diagrams, graphs, equations and tables needed in anaesthetic practice. Each page covers a separate topic to aid rapid review and assimilation. The relevant illustration, equation or table is presented alongside a short description of the fundamental principles of the topic and with clinical applications where appropriate. All illustrations have been drawn using a simple colour palette to allow them to be easily reproduced in an exam setting. The book includes sections covering: physiology pharmacodynamics and kinetics physics equipment anatomy drugs clinical measurement statistics. By combining all the illustrations, equations and tables with concise, clinically relevant explanations, Graphic Anaesthesiais therefore: the ideal revision book for all anaesthetists in training a valuable aide-memoire for senior anaesthetists to use when teaching and examining trainees.
Memorizing Medicine : A Revision Guide by
This book takes a unique approach to 'learning medicine' in a manner that places primary emphasis on recall. Drawing upon well-established psychological principles, it uses a broad range of strategies to maximize the ability of the reader to recollect large swathes of information at a later date. The result is an original and refreshing book in which no two pages are quite alike, and where facts are presented in a hierarchical fashion so that essential features of each condition or symptom can be grasped immediately, while finer points are given in more detailed reading.
Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 6th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most engagingly written, clinically relevant overview of the practice of anesthesiology IN FULL COLOR! Hailed as the best primer on the topic, Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology has remained true to its stated goal: "to provide a concise, consistent presentation of the basic principles essential to the modern practice of anesthesia." This trusted classic delivers comprehensive coverage of the field's must-know basic science and clinical topics in a clear, easy-to-understand presentation. At the same time it has retained its value for coursework, review, or as a clinical refresher. This Sixth Edition has been extensively revised to reflect a greater emphasis on critical care medicine, enhanced recovery, and ultrasound in anesthesia practice. Key features that make it easier to understand complex topics: *Rich full-color art work combined with a modern, user-friendly design make information easy to find and remember *Case discussions promote application of concepts in real-world clinical practice *Boxed Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter identify important issues and facts that underlie the specialty *Numerous tables and figures encapsulate important information and facilitate recall *Up-to-date discussion of all relevant areas of anesthesiology, including equipment and monitors, pharmacology, pathophysiology, regional anesthesia, pain management, and critical care *URLs for societies, guidelines, and practice advisories
Anesthesiologist's Manual of Surgical Procedures by
Covering both surgical and anesthetic considerations, Anesthesiologist's Manual of Surgical Procedures, Sixth Edition, is an essential resource for formulation of an anesthetic plan and perioperative management of patients. All chapters are written by both surgeons and anesthesiologists, giving you a detailed, real-world perspective on the many variables that accompany today's surgical procedures. Presents preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative anesthetic considerations in a clear, templated format, summarizing all courses of action in easy-to-read tables. Describes what the surgeon will likely be doing, variants of the procedure or approaches, patient population characteristics, and details of the procedure including positioning, length of procedure, postop care, and more. Features a full-color design to enhance readability of the tables and clarity of the illustrations. Updates to this edition include a new, heavily illustrated chapter overviewing regional blocks and new appendices covering individual components of enhanced recovery (ERAS) protocols and intraoperative use of transnasal humidified rapid-insufflation ventilatory exchange (THRIVE); as well as new, rapidly accessible tables and figures set on the inside back cover reviewing useful, but easily forgotten facts and dermatomes. An ideal reference for anesthesiologists, anesthesia residents, and CRNAs. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Applications of Ultrasound in Anesthesia by
This handbook is a guide to ultrasound and its applications in anaesthesia for clinicians. Divided into eight sections, the book begins with an overview of the basics of ultrasound including equipment, terminology and how to perform an ultrasound scan. The following chapters describe techniques for various anaesthetic procedures under ultrasound guidance including central and peripheral venous access, regional block, upper and lower extremity nerve blocks, and transversus abdominis plane block. The comprehensive text is further enhanced by more than 300 ultrasound images, clinical photographs and tables. Key points Guide to ultrasound and its applications for anaesthesiologists Provides understanding of basics of ultrasound Describes techniques for various anaesthetic procedures under ultrasound Highly illustrated with more than 300 ultrasound images, photographs and tables
A Visual Guide to Anesthesia Procedures by
This manual visually portrays the most common procedures in anesthesiology and provides simple, effective direction at the point of care. Pocket sized, spiral bound, and laminated, it was created to be carried and used on the floor and in the operating room. Coverage includes insertion of peripheral IV, standard induction of general anesthesia, mask ventilation, laryngeal mask airway insertion, endotracheal intubation, awake fiber optic intubation, insertion of left-sided DLT, wire cricothyroidotomy, radial artery catheterization, central venous catheterization, spinal anesthesia, and lumbar epidural placement.
Lange Critical Care Medicine by
A practical, concise, and up-to-date reference for the ICU LANGE Critical Care delivers concise, evidenced-based, and highly clinical coverage of the surgical and medical aspects of critical care. The book provides basic fundamentals, applications and insights that will be of lasting value to all ICU physicians, nurses, advanced care providers, and allied personnel who care for the critically ill and injured patients in all ICUs. Noteworthy features include a well-illustrated Clinical Care Procedures section, high-yield summaries of the full spectrum of essential critical care topics, and the inclusion of "Controversies" chapters throughout each section addressing some of the ambiguous aspects of critical care. This timely book also covers the growing scope of critical care provided outside the ICU and the increasing importance of critical care services within the hospital structure. In keeping with the multi-professional nature of critical care delivery, several chapters are authored or coauthored by critical care fellows, ICU nurses, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and pharmacists. FEATURES: * Includes both the surgical and medical aspects of critical care, making it valuable to the intensivist working in the medical, surgical, or neurological ICU * Utilizes numerous visual elements such as figures, tables, and algorithms * Appendix contains valuable reference material and formulas, including a chapter on bedside statistics * Excellent primer for internal medicine and anesthesiology ICU rotations and great for board examination review
Critical Care Medicine : The Essentials and More by
With a full-color design and concise, easy-to-read chapters, Critical Care Medicine: The Essentials and a Bit More covers the core elements of critical care, with a unique focus on the pathophysiology underlying clinical disorders and how pathophysiologic concerns affect treatment options. There is much here that's new: brand-new content, expanded discussions, and more graphical elements than ever before. Chapters follow a consistent structural template, with discussions of diagnosis, instrumentation, treatment and management techniques, and more. Expertly and succinctly captures all the fundamentals of the field! Designed primarily for use by students and residents, but also helpful for anyone already in practice. Emphasizes the pathophysiologic elements and treatments of illness and injury. Now with updated drug info and more substantial coverage of interventional radiology, pregnancy care, and organization of critical care. Adds new, brief summaries that present opposing arguments of controversial points. Topics range from intubation, ventilation, and pharmacotherapy, as well as drug overdoses, sepsis, gastrointestinal bleeding, and other crisis care scenarios. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Anesthesia Equipment : Principles and Applications by
Offering highly visual, easy-to-read coverage of the full range of anesthesia equipment in use today, this authoritative reference is your go-to text for objective, informed answers to ensure optimal patient safety. Anesthesia Equipment, 3rd Edition, provides detailed information on the intricate workings of each device or workstation, keeping you fully up to date and helping you meet both equipment and patient care challenges. Remains unequalled in both depth and breadth of coverage, offering readable, concise guidance on all aspects of today's anesthesia machines and equipment. Details the latest machines, vaporizers, ventilators, breathing systems, vigilance, ergonomics, and simulation. Improves your understanding of the physical principles of equipment, the rationale for its use, delivery systems for inhalational anesthesia, systems monitoring, hazards and safety features, maintenance and quality assurance, special situations/equipment for non-routine adult anesthesia, and future directions for the field. Includes ASA Practice Parameters for care, and helps you ensure patient safety with detailed advice on risk management and medicolegal implications of equipment use. Highlights the text with hundreds of full-color line drawings and photographs, graphs, and charts. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Perioperative Medicine by
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Peri-Operative Medicine is a highly practical textbook for trainees in anaesthesia and an invaluable guide for all those who work with anaesthetic equipment, including anaesthetic and intensive care nurses and operating department practitioners. The superbly organized and easy-to read format of the book has been retained from previous editions. The text has been comprehensively updated and more focused on the FRCA with the addition of exam tips and new questions. A new chapter addresses the topical and ever expanding field of 'Point of Care Testing' in anaesthesia and intensive care. Clear colour photographs and illustrations as well as over 100 interactive self-assessment OSCE questions complete this concise account of anaesthetic equipment and its use in clinical settings.
Monitoring Mechanical Ventilation Using Ventilator Waveforms by
This book discusses the interpretation of mechanical ventilator waveforms. Each page shows a screenshot from a real patient and explains one or two messages. It starts with basic information about the waveforms and goes on to address passive and spontaneous ventilation, non-invasive ventilation and specific measurements such as pressure-volume curves and esophageal pressure. Step by step, readers learn about advanced monitoring of patient-ventilator synchronisation. This unique teaching approach has been adapted to this topic. Covering the entire field of mechanical ventilation, it is of particular interest to physicians and respiratory therapist working in emergency departments, anesthesiology, intensive care and respiratory units.
Anatomy of Medical Errors : The Patient in Room 2 by
A surgeon unknowingly damages the intestines of a nurse expecting only an overnight stay after surgery, beginning a chain of more tragic and preventable errors. The consequences result in the nurse spending several weeks on an ICU ventilator in a drug-induced coma, having four additional surgeries, and requiring a pump to drain the raging infection from her open abdomen. As she awakens and tries to come to terms with what happened to her, she realizes the hospital and doctors will never tell her the whole truth; she has to find out what went wrong on her own. In order to heal, she determines to write and share her story so others may learn how infections, adverse events, and medical errors occur frequently in hospitals, sometimes resulting in death. More than a narrative, Anatomy of Medical Errors: The Patient in Room 2 shines light on the dysfunction that underpins many hospital organizations, especially teaching hospitals, including silencing of the patient, provider arrogance, flawed coordination of care, poor communication, and lack of ownership for outcomes. Forever changed by the experience, author Donna Helen Crisp uses her struggles to teach nurses, doctors, and other healthcare professionals how to prevent or avoid potentially dangerous situations, recognize warning signs, and work collaboratively to provide transparent patient care. This book provides an ethical and critical thought process framework for care providers and others through a compelling story about hospital culture. Readers who want to understand how delivery of care works in fast-paced and complex healthcare environments will come away engaged and informed.
Complications in Anesthesia by
This easy-to-use resource details all of the complications likely to be encountered in clinical practice. The scope has been expanded to include the critical care setting. Internationally renowned authorities explain the nature, likelihood, and causes of each problem, and then guide you through the appropriate treatment measures. Each type of complication is discussed in its own concise chapter making it easier to quickly locate and research specific topics of interest. Presents content in an updated, logical organization covering various types of complications (drugs, testing, intubation, line insertion, surgical procedures, etc.) followed by differential diagnosis and treatment of signs of complications (intraoperative, such as hypoxia or hypotension; and postoperative, such as MI). Follows a problem-based, practice-oriented approach throughout; case synopses are followed by concise coverage of recognition, risk assessment, implications, management, and prevention. Allows you to review the case reports, contemplate the implications, then check your response against what the experts have to say. Includes numerous photographs, diagrams, flow charts, and tables that illustrate key concepts. Ideal as a clinical reference and as a study tool when preparing for oral boards. Brings you up to date with new safety standards and the latest ASA guidelines. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Introduction to the Operating Room by 
Designing and Proposing Your Research Project by
Designing your own study and writing your research proposal takes time, often more so than conducting the study. This practical, accessible guide walks you through the entire process. You will learn to identify and narrow your research topic, develop your research question, design your study, and choose appropriate sampling and measurement strategies. The figures, tables, and exhibits offer a wealth of relatable examples, and students can use the many activities and worksheets to explore and apply concepts, as individuals or in groups. This book is part of the American Psychological Association's Concise Guides to Conducting Behavioral, Health, and Social Science Research series. Aimed at undergraduate students in research methods courses or others with a lab or research project, each book describes a key stage in the research process. Collectively, these books provide a solid grounding in research from start to finish. Book jacket.
Qualitative Methods for Health Research by
Packed with practical advice and research quick tips, this book is the perfect companion to your health research project. It not only explains the theory of qualitative health research so you can interpret the studies of others, but also showcases how to approach, start, maintain, and disseminate your own research. It will help you: Understand the role of the researcher Develop an effective research proposal Seek ethical approval Conduct interviews, observational studies, mixed methods, and web-based designs Use secondary and digital sources Code, manage, and analyse data Write up your results Whether you are studying public health, sports medicine, occupational therapy, nursing, midwifery, or another health discipline, the authors will be your surrogate supervisors and guide you through evaluating or undertaking any type of health research. Judith Green is Professor of Sociology of Health at King's College London. Nicki Thorogood is Programme Director, DrPH, at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine.
Understanding Research Methods by
A perennial bestseller since 1997, this updated tenth edition of Understanding Research Methods provides a detailed overview of all the important concepts traditionally covered in a research methods class. It covers the principles of both qualitative and quantitative research, and how to interpret statistics without computations, so is suitable for all students regardless of their math background. The book is organized so that each concept is treated independently and can be used in any order without resulting in gaps in knowledge¿allowing it to be easily and precisely adapted to any course. It uses lively examples on contemporary topics to stimulate students¿ interest, and engages them by showing the relevance of research methods to their everyday lives. Numerous case studies and end-of-section exercises help students master the material and encourage classroom discussion. The text is divided into short, independent topic sections, making it easy for you to adapt the material to your own teaching needs and customize assignments to the aspect of qualitative or quantitative methods under study¿helping to improve students¿ comprehension and retention of difficult concepts. Additional online PowerPoint slides and test bank questions make this a complete resource for introducing students to research methods. ¿ New to this edition: New topic section on design decisions in research Additional material on production of knowledge and research methods Significant development of material on ethical considerations in research Fresh and contemporary examples from a wide variety of real, published research Topic-specific exercises at the end of each section now include suggestions for further steps researchers can take as they build their research project.
Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia by
Trusted by anesthesiologists, nurse anesthetists, and pain management specialists through five outstanding editions, Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 6th Edition, continues to keep you fully informed and up to date in this fast-changing field. This practical how-to guide demonstrates each technique in an easy-to-follow manner, providing unmatched guidance on administering a wide range of nerve block techniques in all areas of the body. New videos, new illustrations, and new chapters improve your knowledge and expertise, helping you provide optimal, safe regional anesthesia to every patient. Covers the full range of key regional anesthesia topics including anatomy, local anesthetic pharmacology, traditional landmark-based and ultrasound-guided blocks, pediatric regional anesthesia, and chronic pain procedures. Features step-by-step instruction highlighted by superb artwork, new anatomical drawings, and clinical photographs-now entirely in full color. Includes access to a video library that includes numerous new videos covering every block described in the atlas, a new introductory video on daily clinical practice procedures, and enhanced voiceover on all videos. Contains an all-new section on obstetric regional anesthesia, plus new coverage of pic block, serratus anterior block, erector spinae block, stellate ganglion block, rectus sheath catheter block, and pediatric pudendal nerve block, with significant updates to pharmacology sections. Presents a wide variety of images to help you develop a 3-dimensional concept of anatomy essential to successful regional anesthesia: cross-sectional anatomy, illustrations of gross and surface anatomy, and ultrasound, CT, and MRI scans. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management, Second Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The ultimate text on the principles and practice of regional anesthesia and pain management - thoroughly updated A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Since its first edition, Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management has been the standard reference for students and practitioners of anesthesiology. Presented in full color, this classic covers the theory and practice of regional anesthesia in its entirety, providing readers with both the physiologic principles and specific, state-of-the-art patient-management protocols and techniques. This second edition has been completely updated to reflect the profound advances in the field. These developments include the use of ultrasonography for imaging of peripheral nerves and the central nervous system, advances in the up-to-date understanding of the role of regional anesthesia in preventing postoperative pain, and the use of point-of-care ultrasound for a vast number of other perioperative applications. The second edition features some of the most detailed and didactic anatomical artwork to date. Being a world-wide reference text, this edition also includes anatomical landmark-based and nerve stimulator guided peripheral nerve blocks. ● More than 200 expert contributors and collaborators ● Evidence-based information that spans the entire field of RAPM ● Full-color clinical images and functional anatomy illustrations - nearly all new to this edition ● Easy-to-follow clinical decision-making diagrams, flow charts, practical tables, and clinical pearls ● Up-to-date information on the etiology, prevention, and management of a wide range of complications ● Detailed chapters on pediatric regional anesthesia ● In-depth discussion of region-specific ultrasound te
Ultrasound Guided Regional Anesthesia by
Ultrasound technology is enabling anesthesiologists to perform regional anesthetic procedures with greater confidence in accuracy and precision. With improvements in visualizing neural anatomy and needle movement, ultrasound guidance improves patient safety and operating room efficiency. Thisbook offers a detailed, stepwise approach to this technique, identifying pearls and pitfalls to ensure success. Topics are organized into four chapters. The first chapter provides the basic principles behind ultrasound guided regional anesthesia, setting a strong context for the rest of the book.The last three cover the nerve blocks: upper extremity, lower extremity, and chest, trunk and spine. Each nerve block is comprehensively explained, divided up by introduction, anatomy, clinical applications, technique, alternate techniques, complications, and pearls.This new edition includes discussions of 6 new blocks: the suprascapular block, axillary nerve block for shoulder surgery, fascia iliaca block, lateral femoral cutaneous block, and the adductor canal block. This edition also contains over 40 new procedural and imaging figures, an appendix on whatblocks to perform for specific surgeries, and new information on choice of local anesthetic agent, types of catheters and practical ultrasound physics to help improve scanning. Ultrasound Guided Regional Anesthesia provides authoritative, in-depth coverage of ultrasound guided regional anesthesiafor the anesthesiologist beginning to use ultrasound and makes a great reference for the more seasoned physician.
Medication Safety During Anesthesia and the Perioperative Period by
With medication errors in healthcare an internationally recognised problem, this much-needed book delivers a comprehensive approach to understanding medication safety in the perioperative period. It reviews what medication adverse events are, and how often and where these errors occur, as well as exploring human cognitive psychology and explaining why things can go wrong at any time in a complex system. Detailed discussions around mistakes, judgement errors, slips and lapses, and violations, are presented alongside real-life examples of the indistinct line between negligence and inevitable error. The co-authors bring a wide and practical perspective to the theories and interventions that are available to improve medication safety, including legal and regulatory actions that further or impede safety. Essential reading for anesthesiologists, nurses, pharmacists and other perioperative team members committed to improving medication safety for their patients, and also an invaluable resource for those who fund, manage and regulate healthcare.
Quality and Safety in Anesthesia and Perioperative Care by
Quality and Safety in Anesthesia and Perioperative Care offers practical suggestions for improving quality of care and patient safety in the perioperative setting. Chapters are organized into sections on clinical foundations and practical applications, and emphasize strategies that supportreform at all levels, from operating room practices to institutional procedures. Written by leading experts in their fields, chapters are based on accepted safety, human performance, and quality management science and they illustrate the benefits of collaboration between medical professionals andhuman factors experts. The book highlights concepts such as situation awareness, staff resource management, threat and error management, checklists, explicit practices for monitoring, and safety culture. Quality and Safety in Anesthesia and Perioperative Care is a must-have resource for thosepreparing for the quality and safety questions on the American Board of Anesthesiology certification examinations, as well as clinicians and trainees in all practice settings.
Anatomy of Medical Errors : The Patient in Room 2 by
A surgeon unknowingly damages the intestines of a nurse expecting only an overnight stay after surgery, beginning a chain of more tragic and preventable errors. The consequences result in the nurse spending several weeks on an ICU ventilator in a drug-induced coma, having four additional surgeries, and requiring a pump to drain the raging infection from her open abdomen. As she awakens and tries to come to terms with what happened to her, she realizes the hospital and doctors will never tell her the whole truth; she has to find out what went wrong on her own. In order to heal, she determines to write and share her story so others may learn how infections, adverse events, and medical errors occur frequently in hospitals, sometimes resulting in death. More than a narrative, Anatomy of Medical Errors: The Patient in Room 2 shines light on the dysfunction that underpins many hospital organizations, especially teaching hospitals, including silencing of the patient, provider arrogance, flawed coordination of care, poor communication, and lack of ownership for outcomes. Forever changed by the experience, author Donna Helen Crisp uses her struggles to teach nurses, doctors, and other healthcare professionals how to prevent or avoid potentially dangerous situations, recognize warning signs, and work collaboratively to provide transparent patient care. This book provides an ethical and critical thought process framework for care providers and others through a compelling story about hospital culture. Readers who want to understand how delivery of care works in fast-paced and complex healthcare environments will come away engaged and informed.
Counting Backwards : a doctor's notes on anesthesia by 
The Washington Manual of Surgery by
Written by teams of Washington University residents and faculty, The Washington Manual® of Surgery, 8th Edition, focuses on the essential information you need to know, providing concise, high-yield content that covers the broad spectrum of patient care in general surgery. In one convenient, portable resource, you'll find practical information on all surgical subspecialties (thoracic, GI, colorectal, cardiac, vascular, breast, trauma, critical care, and more)--all at your fingertips for quick review and reference. This bestselling manual is an excellent source of expert guidance for surgical residents, attendings, medical students, and others who provide care for patients with surgical disease. Presents information in a succinct, consistent, outline format that conveys the most important diagnostic and management information for a given topic. Features new chapters on Radiology, Trauma Resuscitation and Adjuncts, and Intraoperative Considerations. Includes more clinical algorithms of disease work-up, diagnosis, and management, as well as updated board-style questions in every chapter. Covers the latest advances in surgical technique, instrumentation, and standards of practice, including more information on HIPEC and new coverage of the pregnant patient. Provides updated references for readers who would like additional information on a particular topic. Written by faculty and residents from the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, one of the world's top surgical training programs. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
WO Surgery
WO 200-460 Anesthesia
WY Nursing
WY 151 Nurse anesthetists.
WY 154 Emergency nursing. Critical care. Recovery room care. Postanesthesia nursing.
WY 161 Perioperative nursing.
WY 162 Operating room techniques.