Braddom's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation by
The most-trusted resource for physiatry knowledge and techniques, Braddom's Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation remains an essential guide for the entire rehabilitation team. With proven science and comprehensive guidance, this medical reference book addresses a range of topics to offer every patient maximum pain relief and optimal return to function. In-depth coverage of the indications for and limitations of axial and peripheral joints through therapies enables mastery of these techniques. Optimize the use of ultrasound in diagnosis and treatment. A chapter covering PM&R in the international community serves to broaden your perspective in the field. Detailed illustrations allow you to gain a clear visual understanding of important concepts. New lead editor - Dr. David Cifu - was selected by Dr. Randall Braddom to retain a consistent and readable format. Additional new authors and editors provide a fresh perspective to this edition. Features comprehensive coverage of the treatment of concussions and military amputees. Includes brand-new information on rehabilitating wounded military personnel, the latest injection techniques, speech/swallowing disorders, head injury rehabilitation, and the rehabilitation of chronic diseases. New chapters on pelvic floor disorders and sensory impairments keep you at the forefront of the field. Reader-friendly design features an updated table of contents and improved chapter approach for an enhanced user experience. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience gives access to the text, figures, over 2,500 references, 51 videos, and 750 self-assessment questions on a variety of devices.
Differential Diagnosis for Physical Therapists by
Learn how to screen for red flags and when to refer clients to a medical specialist! Differential Diagnosis for Physical Therapists: Screening for Referral, 6th Edition provides a step-by-step approach to screening for systemic disease and medical conditions that can mimic neuromuscular and musculoskeletal problems. It describes both red flags and yellow flags, so you can recognize the signs and symptoms for conditions outside the scope of physical therapy practice. This edition includes new information on women's health issues. Written by experienced PT practitioner Catherine Cavallaro Goodman, this book helps you determine whether a client's symptoms require physical therapy or physician referral! UNIQUE! Five-step screening model is systems- and symptoms-based, and follows the standards for competency established by the American Physical Therapy Association, covering past medical history, risk factor assessment, clinical presentation, associated signs and symptoms, and review of symptoms. UNIQUE! Case studies are based on clinical experience and give real-world examples of how to integrate screening information into the diagnostic process and when to treat or refer. Evidence for the screening process is based on peer-reviewed literature, reporting on the sensitivity, specificity, and likelihood ratios of yellow (cautionary) and red (warning) flags. Key Points to Remember boxes at the end of each chapter provide quick, bulleted summaries of critical information. Quick-reference summaries include tables, boxes, follow-up questions, clinical signs and symptoms, and case examples. Screening tools and checklists are found in the book and on the Evolve website, and are downloadable and printable for use in the clinic. Quick response (QR) codes that can be scanned on a smartphone, tablet, or other mobile device provide links to valuable screening tools such as lists of questions for screening specific problems, checklists, intake forms, and assessment tests New content on women's health expands coverage of this important topic. UPDATES reflect the most current information on screening for referral. New associate editors - John Heick and Rolando Lazaro - bring fresh insight, as respected physical therapy educators. New! Color tabs make it easier to locate chapters and topics.
Low Back Disorders by
"Low Back Disorders, Third Edition With Web Resource," guides readers through the assessment and treatment of low back pain, providing evidence-based research on the best methods of rehabilitation and prevention of future injury. In this book, internationally recognized low back specialist Stuart McGill presents the research and applications of back anatomy and biomechanics to build effective prevention and rehabilitation programs for patients or clients. This third edition of" Low Back Disorders" contains all of the essential tools for those with low back maladies. Strong foundational information on anatomy and injury mechanisms guide readers through the essential functions of the structures of the low back and related tissues, and common misconceptions about pain and discomfort are addressed and corrected. The text provides detailed insights into injury assessment by an extensively expanded set of tests with accompanying instructions. These provide guidance and recommendations for individualized rehabilitation strategies and exercises. Also new to this edition is a web resource featuring 20 fillable Handouts for Patients or Clients that can be edited and printed to suit practitioner and patients' needs. The web resource also contains an online video suite that showcases various exercises and assessments. In addition to offering strategies for relieving and potentially eliminating pain, the text provides insight into the conditions and environments that may initially cause back pain and makes recommendations on reducing these influences so that clients can be pain free. This book contains more than 500 photos, graphs, and charts on anatomy, biomechanics, and assessments; 50 tests and exercises with step-by-step instructions are available to aid readers in developing successful programs for patients and clients. In addition to the evidence-based foundation of this edition, the following enhancements have been made: - Completely updated information and streamlined chapter organization ensure that practitioners use best clinical practices. - Practical checklists throughout the text provide easy access to testing and assessment clinical techniques and information. - Practical Applications provide clinical information to aid readers in understanding concepts and theory. - To aid instructors, the text includes a newly added image bank to visually support class lectures. "Low Back Disorders, Third Edition With Web Resource," contains essential research and corresponding clinical applications in a clear and organized format. Part I introduces the functional anatomy and biomechanics of the lumbar spine. It also presents epidemiological studies on low back disorders and dispels common myths of lumbar spine stability. Part II reviews risk factors for low back disorders and common prevention methods, with specific attention paid to reducing workplace risk factors. Part III explains evaluating and diagnosing clients and developing exercise and rehabilitation programs. Specific exercises that are proven to enhance performance and reduce pain are also explained. Evidence-based research and cutting-edge application strategies from a leading spine specialist in North America make "Low Back Disorders, Third Edition With Web Resource," the authoritative text for the examination and rehabilitation of the low back. Its approach to back care will lead readers in developing intervention, rehabilitation, and prevention programs to address the unique needs of each patient or client.
Rehabilitation of the Spine : a practitioner's manual by
The gold standard resource in the field, Rehabilitation of the Spine: A Patient-Centered Approach provides a practical overview of all aspects of spinal rehabilitation. The 3rd Edition has been completely revised, with new information and new videos to bring you up to date. Comprehensive and easy to read, this reference is invaluable for chiropractors and physical therapists, as well as spine surgeons, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners involved in the care of patients with spine problems. The most current and significant spinal rehab information, made easy to understand with full-color charts, graphs, tables, illustrations, algorithms throughout. Written by spine experts from the areas of chiropractic, orthopaedics, and physical therapy. New information on assessment triage for spinal pain, psychosocial risk factors for chronic pain, conservative care, and the clinical audit process, plus new videos that demonstrate key therapies and procedures. Extensive references at the end of every chapter provide suggestions for further reading. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Integrative Therapies in Rehabilitation: evidence for efficacy in therapy, prevention and wellness by
For more than 20 years, Integrative Therapies in Rehabilitation continues to be a most researched resource on complementary and alternative therapies in rehabilitation. This renowned text, now in its Fourth Edition, relates the updated scientific evidence and the clinical efficacy of integrating what have now become well known complementary and alternative therapies in rehabilitation to successfully improve patient outcomes. This text has been developed to accompany university courses in complementary and alternative therapies, as a reference manual for clinical practices, and as a resource for those interested in the science behind holistic therapies. Holistic therapies are those therapies not commonly found in allopathic medicine that are intended to stimulate a therapeutic response from both the body - neuromusculoskeletal and cardiopulmonary systems - and the mind. Integrative Therapies in Rehabilitation, Fourth Edition by Dr. Carol M. Davis is particularly designed for those health professionals who want to understand the scientific foundation and peer reviewed research supporting complementary and alternative therapies. The Fourth Edition is divided into two parts. The beginning chapters describe the latest cellular biology science and explain the theories put forth on the overall mechanisms of action of the effect of these various therapies on the soft tissue, fascia and nervous systems. The first part also chronicles the advancement of scientific research in the various therapies since the 1980's to explain, in cellular physiology terms, the outcomes observed by using a number of holistic therapies. The second part presents various therapies commonly integrated with allopathic therapies in rehabilitation - body work therapies, mind/body therapies, and energy work therapies. The text describes each therapy with a history, cellular mechanism of action, and an up-dated reference section of the evidence of efficacy for the therapy as reported in the literature, often concluding with a case example. Integrative Therapies in Rehabilitation, Fourth Edition will be the go-to resource for health professionals to understand the scientific evidence and efficacy of complementary and alternative therapies for rehabilitation and improving patient outcomes.
Taber's quick reference for rehabilitation professionals
Communicating Clinical Decision-Making Through Documentation: Coding, Payment, and Patient Categorization by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Clear, concise, and simple to follow--everything you need to master the documentation process quickly and easily Communicating Clinical Decision Making Through Documentation is the top choice for professionals and students seeking complete coverage of the documentation process including billing and coding. It shows how to ensure every service rendered and billed is supported by showing what to document, how to do it, and why it is so important. This text includes a refreshing student-friendly approach to the topic. You will find an abundance of cases portraying real-life case scenarios and it delivers must-know information on writing patient/client care notes, incorporating document guidelines, documenting clinical decision making (includes evidence-based practice), and performing billing and coding tasks. With Communicating Clinical Decision Making Through Documentation, you'll effectively maintain and organize records, record appropriate information, and receive proper payment based on the documentation content. A to Z coverage of physical therapy documentation, including: Documentation Standards and Guidelines Medicare Home Health Electronic Medical Records (EMR) International Classification of Functioning (ICF) Model and Application Pediatrics Legal Issue Utilization Review & Management Skilled Nursing Facilities Sample Documentation Content Initial Examination and Evaluation Criteria Continuum of Care Content and Goal Writing Exercises Documentation Aspects of Supervising PTAs Abbreviations Payment ICD-10 and CPT Codes and Application Chapter Review Questions Content Principles
Physical Therapy Documentation : From Examination to Outcome, Third Edition by
Newly updated and revised, Physical Therapy Documentation: From Examination to Outcome, Third Edition provides physical therapy students, educators, and clinicians with essential information on documentation for contemporary physical therapy practice. Complete and accurate documentation is one of the most essential skills for physical therapists. In this text, authors Mia L. Erickson, Rebecca McKnight, and Ralph Utzman teach the knowledge and skills necessary for correct documentation of physical therapy services, provide guidance for readers in their ethical responsibility to quality record-keeping, and deliver the mechanics of note writing in a friendly, approachable tone. Featuring the most up-to-date information on proper documentation and using the International Classification of Functioning, Disabilities, and Health (ICF) model as a foundation for terminology, the Third Edition includes expanded examples across a variety of practice settings as well as new chapters on: Health informatics Electronic medical records Rules governing paper and electronic records Billing, coding, and outcomes measures Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional materials to be used for teaching in the classroom. An invaluable reference in keeping with basic documentation structure, Physical Therapy Documentation: From Examination to Outcome, Third Edition is a necessity for both new and seasoned physical therapy practitioners.
Using Narrative Writing to Enhance Healing by
The fields of writing as healing and health coaching have expanded to aid in the physical and emotional healing of patients. Using writing as a healing method allows patients to create new perspectives of their healing processes and professionals to propose new methods of healing that promote and maintain a positive outlook. Using Narrative Writing to Enhance Healing is an essential scholarly publication that approaches healing through the fields of education and medicine. Featuring a wide range of topics such as collaborative narratives, patient education, and health coaching, this book is ideal for writing instructors, physical therapists, teachers, therapists, psychologists, mental health professionals, medical professionals, counselors, religious leaders, mentors, administrators, academicians, and researchers.
The Comprehensive Manual of Therapeutic Exercises : orthopedic and general conditions by
Therapeutic exercises can be found spread out amongst numerous texts, handouts, card boxes, and websites, which has sent clinicians, practitioners, and trainers searching for reliable, evidence-based exercises for the entire body, all packaged into a single, all-inclusive manual. To that end, The Comprehensive Manual of Therapeutic Exercises: Orthopedic and General Conditions was written as a fundamental resource on exercise theory and techniques, and as a comprehensive guide for designing exercise programs. Dr. Elizabeth Bryan has compiled thousands of clinically relevant exercises to create a text that will teach students theory and proper application that they will then return to again and again in their career as a reference to aid in designing evidence-based exercise programs for their clients or patients. Introductory chapters cover exercise parameters, exercise progression, the importance of form, muscle soreness, and a reference for body position terminology, then subsequent chapters are organized by body area to cover most of the clinical exercises in use today. Each exercise includes photographs, a list of muscle systems that will be affected, specific substitutions to look for, and detailed instructions directed at students and clinicians. Also included are sections devoted to protocols and specialty exercises including yoga and tai chi. Embracing the principles of evidence-based practice, "Where's the Evidence?" boxes are prominently featured throughout the text to support the exercises and theory with up-to-date, relevant, sufficient, valid, and reliable studies. Combining theory with practice, The Comprehensive Manual of Therapeutic Exercises: Orthopedic and General Conditions is an essential tool for students as well as clinicians, practitioners, or trainers to find the most appropriate exercises for their client's or patient's needs and apply them properly.
Therapeutic Exercise by
The premier text for therapeutic exercise! Here is all the guidance you need to customize interventions for individuals with movement dysfunction. You'll find the perfect balance of theory and clinical technique--in-depth discussions of the principles of therapeutic exercise and manual therapy and the most up-to-date exercise and management guidelines. Full-color videos show you how! A complete video library of basic therapeutic exercises and techniques online at www.DavisPlus.com shows you how to achieve the best results for range of motion, stretching, joint mobilization, resistance, and spinal stabilization. You will also find supplemental tables and boxes and a glossary. See what students and practitioners are saying online about the previous edition... Great book... "with great explanation, descriptions and pictures to describe the various interventions that can be used for specific patient complaints or conditions. Highly recommended!"--Natalie B. Martinez Great Standard. "This book is a must have for any orthopedic physical therapist. Now it is even better with ICF information in it."--R.F. Sousa Good buy. "Initially bought this book for PT school. It's quite substantial. Most definitely one of the books I do not plan to sell after I am done with the program. Would recommend."--Talisa Swanson
Clinical Biomechanics in Human Locomotion : Gait and pathomechanical principles by
Clinical Biomechanics in Human Locomotion: Gait and Pathomechanical Principles explores the clinical management of gait-disturbing or gait-induced pathologies and biomechanical variances during gait between individuals. The book discusses what is required to make terrestrial human locomotion safe and what causes pathology within a context of high locomotive and morphological variability. The interaction of genetics, epigenetics, developmental biology and physiology under the influence of locomotive biomechanics and metabolic energetics drives evolution. Such biological pressures on survival are essential in understanding the locomotive biomechanics of modern humans. In addition, lifestyle, including gait speed adaptability established during the growth influences of anatomical development is also considered.
Observational Gait Analysis: A visual guide by
Observational Gait Analysis: A Visual Guide is a pedagogical manual and video library that provides a thorough review of key characteristics of normal gait that are important for observational clinical gait analysis. This visual guide by Drs. Jan Adams and Kay Cerny has unique features to further the understanding of examination and evaluation of the subject's gait, such as: Normal and pathological gait are described using figures and graphs, along with gait videos and 3D graphs to show the kinematics and kinetics described Functional tools used as outcome measures to evaluate gait performance in the community environment including Dynamic Gait Test, Six Minute Walk Test, Ten Meter Walk Test, to name a few In addition to the unique features, the pathological gait section presents descriptions of gait deviations included in a new clinical Observational Gait Analysis (OGA) tool, along with probable causes for each of the deviations. Case studies are presented using this new tool for examining and evaluating the subject's gait. Bonus! Students will be able to watch antero-posterior and lateral videos of individuals with gait deviations, complete the OGA tool to document their gait examination, and evaluate their examination results. They will then validate their observational skills by comparing their results to the text's case study OGA results and the skeletal model and motion and moment graphs completed by 3D instrumented analysis of the same individual. The student will then compare their evaluation of causes of deviations to that included in the case study. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional materials to be used in the classroom. Observational Gait Analysis: A Visual Guide will be the go-to resource for clinical tools to analyze gait for physical therapy and prosthetic and orthotic students and clinicians, as well as other professionals interested in the clinical analysis of persons with gait disability.
Primary Care for the Physical Therapist by
Specifically designed to address the expanding role of physical therapists in primary care, Primary Care for the Physical Therapist: Examination and Triage, 3rd Edition covers all the information and skills you need to be successful in the field. Updated content throughout the text helps you stay up to date on the best practices involving patient examination, medical screening, patient management, and communication. This new third edition also features a new chapter on electrodiagnostic testing, a new chapter on patients with a history of trauma, and updated information on how to screen and examine the healthy population. It's a must-have resource for any physical therapist wanting to obtain the technical expertise and clinical decision-making abilities to meet the challenges of a changing profession. Tailored content reflects the specific needs of physical therapists in primary care. Emphasis on communication skills underscores this essential aspect of quality patient care. Overview of the physical examination is provided in the text to ground therapists in the basis for differential diagnosis and recognizing conditions. NEW! Updated content throughout the text reflects the current state of primary care and physical therapy practice. NEW! New chapter on electrodiagnostic testing helps familiarize physical therapists with indications for electrodiagnostic testing and implications of test results to their clinical decision-making. NEW! New chapter on patients with a history of trauma emphasizes the red flags that physical therapists need to recognize for timely patient referral for appropriate tests. NEW! Updated information on how to screen and examine the healthy population enhances understanding of the foundations of practice and the role that physical therapists can fill in primary care models.
Sex Differences in Sports Medicine by
This is the first book dedicated to the musculoskeletal, physiological, hormonal, and other differences between the sexes as they manifest in sports medicine. Organized anatomically from head to toe, this unique reference focuses on the sex-specific differences of men and women to inform clinical care and the management of common sports injuries. Other chapters cover nutrition, hormones, concussion, pain, sports cardiology and pulmonology, and the particular care of adolescent and geriatric patients. The editors have assembled a world-class team of specialists to collaborate on each chapter, and specially commissioned illustrations and tables help visualize the data and findings. While some books focus on ' the female athlete' as a discrete category, this book discusses how the many physical stresses of athletics affect both sexes based on the inherent biological differences. The goal is to foster a more comprehensive understanding of the latest research and practice in sports medicine as it applies to all patients. As the field of sports medicine has grown exponentially over the last few decades, this book will serve as an essential resource for physicians, trainers, coaches, and anyone involved in athletics and medicine. Key Features: Provides an evidence-based review of how sex differences affect the risk of injury, presentation, and clinical course of sports-related injuriesAnatomically based chapters highlight differences in static structures, dynamic movement, and pathology between the sexesAuthors summarize key differences at the end of each chapterIncludes special chapters on running and throwing, sports cardiology, sports pulmonology, nutrition, and unique athlete populations
Acute Care Physical Therapy by
Acutely ill patients are found in the hospital, in the skilled nursing facility, in inpatient rehabilitation facilities, in outpatient practices, and in the home. The role of the physical therapist and physical therapist assistant is to rehabilitate these vulnerable and frail patients to enhance their health and functioning. The goal of Acute Care Physical Therapy: A Clinician's Guide, Second Edition is to provide the acute care practitioner with the necessary knowledge to improve patients' structural impairments and activity limitations so they can more successfully participate in life. Nothing could be more challenging and rewarding. Inside, Drs. Daniel Malone and Kathy Lee Bishop, along with their contributors, provide a comprehensive review of acute care physical therapist best practice. This text builds upon fundamental knowledge by addressing important components of the patient examination ranging from the patient's medical history to laboratory testing to life supporting equipment. Following this introduction, each chapter highlights specific organ systems with a review of pertinent anatomy and physiology followed by common health conditions and medical management. Important physical therapy concerns, examination findings, and rehabilitation interventions are discussed in detail. This Second Edition includes numerous tables, figures, review questions, and case studies that highlight clinical reasoning and the physical therapy patient care model as outlined in the Guide to Physical Therapist Practice. New in the Second Edition: Increased focus on evidence-based examination, evaluation, and intervention The latest technology in physiologic monitoring and patient support equipment Introduces the "PT Examination" and "ICU" algorithms to promote safe and progressive rehabilitation Emphasis on clinical decision making through the application of a clinical reasoning model applied to the end of chapter cases Acute Care Physical Therapy: A Clinician's Guide, Second Edition will serve as a valuable education tool for students, newer professionals as well as post-professionals who provide therapy services to the acutely ill patient regardless of setting.
Ethics in Physical Therapy by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A Case-Based Approach to Learning Ethics in Physical Therapy Ethics in Physical Therapy utilizes a unique case-based approach to teach students and clinicians how to apply theoretical concepts to real-world situations. The cases were carefully selected to encourage thinking and discussion. The accompanying text provides a framework to answer the "should" questions, such as "What should I do?" and "How should I act?" The format provides the opportunity to move beyond the individual realm, when appropriate, resolving issues within an institutional or societal perspective. The text is divided into two sections: "Ethics for the Physical Therapist" and "Types of Ethical Decisions: Case Analysis". They are designed to integrate with one another, but, each section can also be used separately. Part I provides more didactic, foundational material, while Part II strives to apply ethical decision-making tools to relevant cases in physical therapy practice, with the second section focusing on case analyses. The purpose of Ethics in Physical Therapy is to give students and clinicians a lens through which to analyze contemporary ethical challenges. Philosophical theory within the text is limited to that which can be applied practically in the clinical setting. This book is not intended to be a work on ethical behavior, rather, it is designed to provide students and clinicians with a framework in which to approach the uncertainty of ethical decision making with tools to aid their inherent judgment.
Clinical Guide to Positional Release Therapy by
"Clinical Guide to Positional Release Therapy With Web Resource "provides professionals in the sports medicine and therapy fields with an easy-to-read reference on the clinical application of positional release therapy (PRT). The book is an invaluable resource for those who desire to learn, practice, and perfect the art of PRT to gently treat patients of all ages who have acute and chronic somatic dysfunction, including tightness and pain. Author Timothy E. Speicher, president of the Positional Release Therapy Institute, uses contemporary science and evidence-based practice to provide health care practitioners--including athletic trainers, physical therapists, massage therapists, and chiropractors--with a manual of PRT treatment techniques. The text is also suitable for students enrolled in upper-level courses in athletic training, physical therapy, and massage therapy programs. The highly visual book is organized in a manner that enables the reader to acquire a foundation of the applications, procedures, and theory of PRT. Part I explores the research surrounding PRT, providing articles that support the use of PRT through evidence-based practice. Readers will consider special populations, such as elderly patients, competitive athletes, and patients with disabilities. Part II explores PRT techniques by anatomical area. Each region (lower quarter, pelvis, spine, upper quarter, and cranium) contains an overview of common injury conditions and their myofascial triggers, differential diagnoses, and instructions on palpating and treating specific anatomical structures. Each chapter in part II also contains self-treatment techniques where appropriate. "Clinical Guide to Positional Release Therapy" dedicates considerable attention to palpation instruction, a core skill that enables successful diagnoses and applications of many orthopedic assessments and therapeutic techniques. Readers also will gain knowledge of anatomical and kinesiological structures to ensure success in assessment. Application of adjunctive therapies, such as ultrasound, electronic stimulation, massage, joint stabilization, and therapeutic exercise, is provided throughout the text to complement PRT and facilitate an optimal healing environment. "Clinical Guide to Positional Release Therapy "includes more than 400 full-color photos and illustrations. The unique layout of the book displays the anatomy, palpation, and treatment techniques in one or two pages, making the techniques visually easy for practitioners and students to follow and put into practice. In addition, scanning charts listing structures and mapping of the anatomical areas specific to the chapter content appear at the end of each chapter. The text is supplemented by a web resource featuring 61 videos demonstrating various PRT techniques described in the book. The most common conditions and the techniques used to treat them are detailed, and Dr. Speicher provides advice about adapting the techniques to other conditions and muscle groups. The supplemental videos can be accessed online. Whether students are just being introduced to PRT or medical professionals are already seasoned practitioners, " Clinical Guide to Positional Release Therapy "will assist them in using PRT in a simplified and structured manner to improve patient outcomes.
Joint Range of Motion and Muscle Length Testing, 4th edition by
Gain the skills you need to accurately measure joint range of motion and muscle length! Joint Range of Motion and Muscle Length Testing, 4th Edition provides a comprehensive guide to the techniques and devices used in measuring range of motion for the joints of the spine and extremities. Clear, step-by-step instructions show how to make reliable measurements with instruments such as the goniometer, inclinometer, tape measure, and even smartphone apps. Written by noted educators Nancy Berryman Reese and William D. Bandy for physical therapy and occupational therapy students, this manual includes a fully searchable eBook version with each print purchase. Guidelines to range of motion and muscle length testing cover techniques including goniometric measurement as well as measurements using inclinometers, tape measures, and smartphone apps. More than 600 full-color photos and drawings demonstrate various techniques, anatomy, and landmarks for each joint. Anatomical landmarks provide a fast visual reference showing exactly where to place measuring devices. Clear template for techniques allows you to quickly and easily identify the information you need. Chapters on length testing make it easy to locate information on measuring each of the upper and lower extremities as well as the head, neck, and trunk. NEW! Instructions for use of smartphone apps provide another option for measuring range of motion. NEW! Revised content and updated references provide the current information you need to be an effective practitioner. NEW! eBook version is included with print purchase. The eBook includes more than 100 videos demonstrating the ROM and muscle length testing techniques discussed in the print book, and allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Manual Therapy of the Extremities by
Manual Therapy Of The Extremities Presents Manual Therapy Techniques For The The Upper And Lower Extremities From A Variety Of Perspectives. The Presentation Of Multiple Techniques For Each Joint Restriction Is A Unique Feature Of This Book That Provides Students With A Comprehensive And Well-Rounded Approach To Mobilization. The Consistent Format In The Presentation Of Techniques Makes For An Easy-To-Use Resource For Students And Practicing Physical Therapists. With A Comprehensive Art Package Including More Than 570 Photos And Illustrations, And Accompanying Tutorial Videos Demonstrating The Step-By-Step Technique For Each Therapy, These Key Visuals Will Precisely Depict Movements For Optimal Student Learning And Reference. INSTRUCTOR RESOURCES Anatomical Labeling Exercises Case Studies Image Bank Instructor's Manual Learning Objectives Skills Checklist Slides In Powerpoint Format Test Bank MANUAL THERAPY TECHNIQUES General Flexion Extension Abduction Adduction Internal Rotation - Shoulder External Rotation - Shoulder Every Technique Will Have The Following: • Type Of Manipulation • Joint Dysfunction • Patient Position • Therapist Position • Notes
Manual of Pediatric Balance Disorders by
"This thoroughly updated second edition of Manual of Pediatric Balance Disorders remains a vital resource for clinicians and students specializing in pediatric vestibular and balance disorders. The text is organized for effective use in the clinic, classroom, bedside, or laboratory, and is separated into four parts: Basic Mechanisms, Clinical Evaluation, Pediatric Vestibular Disorders, and Treatment. Each chapter ends with Self-Assessment Questions to aid in reader comprehension and address important chapter topics. Manual of Pediatric Balance Disorders features contributions from 45 experts across the fields of otolaryngology, audiology, neurology, and physical therapy, and represents the distillation of years of cumulative clinical and research experience"--
Pharmacology for the Physical Therapist, Second Edition by
An innovative new edition, completely reformatted to make it more valuable to students and faculty Based on the classic Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, this ground-breaking book illuminates the ever-expanding role of pharmacology in rehabilitation practice. In it you'll find unmatched insights on the full range of pharmacology topics, from drug receptor pharmacodynamics and general anesthetics, to cancer chemotherapy-all told from the vantage point of the authors' extensive first-hand experience. This new edition has been thoroughly revised with a fresh, new approach that includes improved pedagogy, better case discussion, and a complexity level more appropriate for a learning/teaching tool. PowerPoint slides, case discussions, test banks, and other resources will also be available to instructors.
Evidence-Based Practice in Action : Comprehensive Strategies, Tools, and Tips From The University of Iowa Hospitals And Clinics by
One of the biggest challenges of evidence-based practice (EBP) is translating knowledge, research, and clinical expertise into action. Failure to execute EBP well is rarely due to lack of information, understanding, or experience; rather, it comes down to lack of tools and practicality for implementing EBP into care. Evidence-Based Practice in Action is a unique, application-oriented EBP resource of The Iowa Model Revised: Evidence-Based Practice to Promote Excellence in Health Care. This book offers a detailed plan to guide nurses and healthcare leaders in promoting EBP adoption and implementation. This practical, easy-to-use guide directs healthcare leaders through preparing, implementing, and evaluating any EBP process model and provides tools for topic selection, literature searches, research and evidence review, implementation, and evaluation. The authors provide comprehensive building blocks along with strategies, tools, and tips to guide individuals and teams who make the important day-to-day decisions that ultimately affect patient outcomes. Book jacket.
Understanding Physiotherapy Research by
Understanding Physiotherapy Research by Littlewood and May is an introductory level text that aims to be accessible and understandable to all physiotherapists who appreciate the need to integrate research evidence into their practice. The requirement for physiotherapists to engage with evidence-based practice has never been more apparent and the benefits of such an approach are clear. Evidence derived from research is a cornerstone of evidence-based practice, but before such evidence can be incorporated into an evidence-based paradigm, it should be appraised and its trustworthiness and applicability considered. This means that evidence-based physiotherapy practitioners need to be aware of the inherent strengths and limitations of research studies and what these mean for their practice. However, this is not always a straightforward process and it is not uncommon for both novice and experienced physiotherapists to become lost in the language of research. To facilitate the evolution of evidence-based physiotherapy practice, this book aims to bridge the gap by presenting a clinically focused range of methodological discussions in relation to specific research study designs in physiotherapy. The intention of the book is to offer a platform upon which readers can develop their understanding of meaningful critical appraisal and consequently gain confidence when reading published research.
5-Minute Sports Medicine Consult by
Practical and highly organized, The 5-Minute Sports Medicine Consult, 3rd Edition, is a reliable, go-to resource for clinicians in primary care, sports medicine, nursing, pediatrics, athletic training and physical therapy. This popular title provides rapid access to guidance on diagnosis, acute treatment (including on-field management), long-term treatment (including rehabilitation and referrals), and commonly asked questions for common sports-related problems seen in adult and pediatric patients. The 5-Minute Sports Medicine Consult delivers maximum clinical confidence as efficiently as possible ... allowing you to focus your valuable time on giving your patients the best possible care. Get quick access to all-new content , including Ankle Impingement, Femero-acetabular Impingement, Myositis Ossificans, and Vocal Cord Dysfunction, in print and online. Find the answers you need quickly thanks to an intuitive, at-a-glance format, with concise, bulleted text; return-to-play and secondary prevention information; and much more. Make confident decisions aided by current evidence-based designations in each topic. Consult useful appendices for quick answers on musculoskeletal radiography and joint and soft tissue injection. Written by esteemed primary care and sports medicine practitioners and published by the leading publisher in medical content, The 5-Minute Sports Medicine Consult, 3rd Edition includes a 10-Day Free Trial to 5MinuteConsult.com. 5MinuteConsult.com is an evidence-based, online workflow tool easily integrated at the point of care. 5MinuteConsult.com provides online-exclusive content, including: A thoroughly updated and expanded appendix on Office Rehabilitation More than 1,500 additional topics, including the full contents of The 5-Minute Clinical Consult and The 5-Minute Pediatric Consult Differential diagnosis support from an extensive collection of algorithms Current evidence-based designations highlighted in each topic Thousands of images to help support visual diagnosis of all conditions A video library of procedures, treatment, and physical therapy techniques An A-to-Z Drug Database from Facts & Comparisons® Guidance on laboratory test interpretation from Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests More than 3,000 patient handouts in English and Spanish Approximately 100 Diseases and Conditions in Spanish FREE point-of-care CME and CE: 0.5 credits each time you search the site to find the best treatment for your patients. This activity has been reviewed and is acceptable for up to 20 prescribed credits by the AAFP and the ANCC. Consider a subscription to 5MinuteConsult.com, available for 1 year with the purchase of The 5-Minute Sports Medicine Consult Premium: 1-Year Enhanced Online Access + Print, 3rd Edition or an online-only subscription, available at www.5MinuteConsult.com
Football Traumatology by
This book provides a comprehensive guide to the evaluation, treatment, and rehabilitation of musculoskeletal injuries commonly experienced by football (soccer) players. It will be of particular value for orthopedists and sports medicine practitioners, and will provide the information required by trainers and medical staff regarding the traumatic lesions associated with the sport. It is also anticipated that the book will assist in reducing the risk of trauma in footballers. The new edition has been revised to reflect advances in knowledge and practice and will be more valuable than ever, given that the risk of trauma continues to increase owing to the intensity and speed of modern football, the current training methods, and technical and tactical innovations. Injuries are a major adverse event during a footballer's career, and they require appropriate medical and/or surgical treatment and rehabilitation. The overviews provided in this book will help in delivering such care.
Home Exercise Programs for Musculoskeletal and Sports Injuries by
Home Exercise Programs for Musculoskeletal and Sports Injuries: The Evidence-Based Guide for Practitioners is designed to assist and guide healthcare professionals in prescribing home exercise programs in an efficient and easy to follow format. With patient handouts that are comprehensive and customizable, this manual is intended for the busy practitioner in any medical specialty who prescribes exercise for musculoskeletal injuries and conditions. The most central aspect of any therapeutic exercise program is the patient's ability to perform the exercises effectively and routinely at home. This book is organized by major body regions from neck to foot and covers the breadth of home exercises for problems in each area based on the current literature. Each chapter begins with a brief introduction to the rehabilitation issues surrounding the types of injuries that can occur and general exercise objectives with desired outcomes, followed by a concise review of the specific conditions and a list of recommended exercises. The remainder of the chapter is a visual presentation of the exercises with high-quality photographs and step-by-step instructions for performing them accurately. The most fundamental exercises to the rehabilitation of each specific region are presented first as the essential building blocks, followed then by condition-specific exercises that advance throughout the chapter. Using this section, the healthcare practitioner can provide patients with handouts that require little to no explanation and can customize the program and modify instructions to fit individual patient needs and abilities-- with confidence the handouts will be a valuable tool to help patients recover successfully from musculoskeletal and sports injuries. Key Features: Concise evidence-based guide for practitioners who prescribe home exercise programs for musculoskeletal and sports injuriesPresents foundational, intermediate, and more advanced exercises for each body region and condition based on the current literature to achieve desired outcomesHighly visual approach with over 400 photographs demonstrating each exercise effectively with step-by-step instructionsEach chapter includes evidence-based recommendations and goals for advancement of the exercise programIncludes digital access to the ebook for use on most mobile devices and computers
Sports hip injuries [ebook]: diagnosis and management
Modalities for Therapeutic Intervention by Using Narrative Writing to Enhance Healing by
The fields of writing as healing and health coaching have expanded to aid in the physical and emotional healing of patients. Using writing as a healing method allows patients to create new perspectives of their healing processes and professionals to propose new methods of healing that promote and maintain a positive outlook. Using Narrative Writing to Enhance Healing is an essential scholarly publication that approaches healing through the fields of education and medicine. Featuring a wide range of topics such as collaborative narratives, patient education, and health coaching, this book is ideal for writing instructors, physical therapists, teachers, therapists, psychologists, mental health professionals, medical professionals, counselors, religious leaders, mentors, administrators, academicians, and researchers.
Some call number areas of interest:
QT 260's -- Athletics. Sports.
QT 261 -- Sports Medicine. Athletic Injuries.
WB -- 300 -- 962 Therapeutics
WB -- Physical Therapy/Occupational Therapy
WB 275 Palpation
WB 460 Physical Medicine. Physical Therapy.
WB 535 Musculoskeletal manipulations.
WB 890 Kinesiology.
WE -- Musculoskeletal System
WE 103 Movement. Locomotion.
WE 168 Orthopedic Procedures.
WE180 Fractures.
WL 704 Pain and Pain Management
Resources listed on these guides are compiled by librarians at the R.A. Williams Library. We accept content recommendations, and after review, may include suggested resources on a guide. Our time is limited, so we generally do not reply to unsolicited recommendations from individuals not affiliated with AdventHealth University or notify them regarding whether or not we have linked to suggested content.