AHU Resource Guides: Physical Therapy (Doctoral): Journal Searching / Finding Articles

Databases to find articles

Here are some key databases to assist with finding articles.

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to more than 4,000 journals covering most areas of study.
CINAHL Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window CINAHL Complete is an authoritative resource for nursing and allied health articles. It searches an indexed collection of nearly 3 million articles from more than 3000 journals covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, rehabilitation, radiography, sonography, and more. CINAHL Complete also includes the full text of articles from nearly 600 of the journals in the index.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Healthcare information from full-text nursing and health journals and dissertations.
Ovid AHU Journals (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Search full-text medical and nursing journals available from Ovid.
PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database This link opens in a new window The Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro)is a free database of over 26,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
PubMed (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window Search the National Librarian of Medicine database of biomedical and health sciences journals through the publicly available NLM search interface.
ScienceDirect Health & Life Sciences College Edition (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Access an index of millions of journal articles covering a broad range of topics in science, technology, and medicine.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window A full-text database of literature pertaining to sports, rehabilitation, and physical fitness and education topics.

Advanced Journal Searching

Advanced Database Searching CINAHL
Purdue University
CINAHL Advanced Search Tutorial
EBSCO
PubMed: Using the Advanced Search Builder
NLM

Levels of Evidence

Physical Therapy Journal Titles

Key Physical Therapy Journals

American journal of physical medicine & rehabilitation (peer-reviewed)

Cardiopulmonary physical therapy journal

Clinical rehabilitation (peer-reviewed)

Journal of geriatric physical therapy (2001) (peer-reviewed)

Journal of physical therapy education (peer-reviewed)

Journal of physical therapy science [Japan, indicates reviewed by peers]

Journal of sport rehabilitation (peer-reviewed)

Journal of women's health physical therapy

Pediatric physical therapy

Physical therapy

Physical therapy in sport

PT in motion

Spine journal