Check the eCampus link to verify which books are used in your course.
If the library has an unlimited access ebook there will be a statement indicating and a link.
Mobility in Context : Principles of Patient Care Skills, 2e by
A focus on developing the foundational knowledge, clinical expertise, and problem-solving skills required to work safely and effectively in both common and unexpected patient situations. Icons throughout the text highlight important concepts and care skills. "Watch Out!" "Keeping Current," and "Clinical Tips" boxes cover important safety reminders, recent research, and pointers for effectiveness and efficiency in the clinic. "Try This," "Clinical Reality Check," "Thinking It Through," and "Pathophysiology" boxes provide additional learning enhancements. A wealth of clinical examples mirror today's patient populations. Over 750 photographs and illustrations to bring concepts to life. Narrated video clips with closed captioning online at DavisPlus demonstrate must-know techniques.
Physical Rehabilitation, 7e by
This book is every Physical Therapy Students Bible. If ... "you purchase this book during your first semester of PT school, it will help you immensely! Don't wait until Neuro PT to purchase this book. Use this book as a guide for every PT class from Integumentary to Pediatrics to Neuroanatomy!"--Amazon Reviewer êêêêê A must-have for all PT's, PTA's and PT/PTA students... "Basically Wikipedia for physical therapy only has a lot more specific information pertaining to client/patient care and doesn't require a computer."--Alex N., Amazon Reviewer Five Stars. "This book is very comprehensive and contains almost everything you need to know for the NPTE exam."--Laura M., Amazon Reviewer Rely on this comprehensive, curriculum-spanning text and reference now and throughout your career! You'll find everything you need to know about the rehabilitation management of adult patients... from integrating basic surgical, medical, and therapeutic interventions to how to select the most appropriate evaluation procedures, develop rehabilitation goals, and implement a treatment plan. Online you'll find narrated, full-color video clips of patients in treatment, including the initial examination, interventions, and outcomes for a variety of the conditions commonly seen in rehabilitation settings.
Daniels and Worthingham's Muscle Testing, 9th edition by
A practical handbook on evaluating muscular strength and function, Daniels and Worthingham's Muscle Testing: Techniques of Manual Examination and Performance Testing, 9th Edition makes it easy to understand and master procedures in manual muscle testing and performance testing. Clear, illustrated instructions provide a guide to patient positioning, direction of motion, and direction of resistance. In addition to muscle testing of normal individuals and others with weakness or paralysis, this edition includes new coverage of alternative strength tests and performance tests for older adults and others with functional decline (such as the inactive and obese). Written by educators Helen J. Hislop, Dale Avers, and Marybeth Brown, this classic physical therapy reference now features an Evolve companion website with video clips demonstrating key muscle testing techniques. Drawings and arrows along with clear written directions make it easy to understand and perform muscle testing procedures, allowing you to assess deficits in strength, balance, and range of motion. More than 600 illustrations clearly show testing sequences, muscle anatomy, and muscle innervation. Video clips of over 100 muscle tests on the Evolve companion website demonstrate the art and technique of muscle testing in a clinical setting. Details of muscle anatomy and innervation help in linking muscle topography with function. Helpful Hints and Substitutions boxes provide additional tips and highlight muscle substitutions that may occur during a test to ensure greater accuracy in testing. A constant reference number clearly identifies each muscle in the body, indexed in the Alphabetical List of Muscles by Region as well as in the Ready Reference Anatomy Manual on Evolve, to speed cross-referencing and help you quickly identify any muscle. NEW chapters on performance testing cover functional strength testing in older adults and those with functional decline, and testing muscle performance in various clinical settings. NEW chapters on manual muscle testing address when to use manual muscle testing, the limitations of manual muscle testing, and alternatives to manual muscle testing. UPDATED references for each chapter include the most current evidence-based information. NEW! An Evolve companion website helps you hone your manual testing skills with video clips of over 100 muscle tests and with the Ready Reference Anatomy Guide.
Daniels and Worthingham's Muscle Testing, 10th ed by
A practical handbook on evaluating muscular strength and function, Daniels and Worthingham's Muscle Testing: Techniques of Manual Examination and Performance Testing, 10th Edition helps you to understand and master procedures in manual muscle testing and performance testing. Clear, illustrated instructions provide a guide to patient positioning, direction of motion, and direction of resistance. In addition to muscle testing of normal individuals and others with weakness or paralysis, this edition includes coverage of alternative strength tests and performance tests for older adults and others with functional decline (such as the inactive and obese). The tenth edition also includes coverage of muscle dynamometry and a sampling of ideal exercises. Updated by educators Dale Avers and Marybeth Brown, this classic physical therapy reference once again features a companion website with many new video clips demonstrating the latest muscle testing procedures and alternatives to muscle testing. In addition, two online only chapters - Cranial Nerve and Ready Reference Anatomy - have been added. Drawings and arrows along with clear written directions make it easy to understand and perform muscle testing procedures, allowing you to assess deficits in strength, balance, and range of motion. More than 500 illustrations clearly show testing sequences, muscle anatomy, and muscle innervation. Chapters on performance testing cover functional strength testing in older adults and those with functional decline, and testing muscle performance in various clinical settings. Chapters on manual muscle testing address when to use manual muscle testing, the limitations of manual muscle testing, and alternatives to manual muscle testing. Details of muscle anatomy and innervation help in linking muscle topography with function. Helpful Hints and Substitutions boxes provide additional tips and highlight muscle substitutions that may occur during a test to ensure greater accuracy in testing. A constant reference number clearly identifies each muscle in the body, indexed in the Alphabetical List of Muscles by Region as well as in the Ready Reference Anatomy Manual on Evolve, to speed cross-referencing and help you to quickly identify any muscle. NEW! Content on the muscle dynamometer and muscle dynamometry data introduces you to muscle dynamometry including muscle dynamometer methods and results with each muscle. NEW! Video clips demonstrate the latest muscle testing techniques and alternative muscle testing procedures in a clinical setting. NEW! Ideal exercises for selected muscles thoroughly explain procedures based on the literature. NEW! Additional Video Educational Content box alerts you when videos associated with that chapter are available to view.
Measurement of Joint Motion, 5th edition by
Measure joint range of motion with the manual that set the standard. Here is all of the guidance you need to identify impairments successfully and assess rehabilitation status effectively. Thoroughly updated and revised to reflect today's most current and complete research, the 5th Edition of this classic book retains the unique features that have set this manual apart as the reference of choice. For each measurable joint in the body, you'll find a consistent, easy-to-follow format and exceptional photographs that depict range of motion and alignment, making it easy for you to visualize the examination and technique for each joint motion and muscle length test. See what students are saying online about the previous edition... Great book "This book is a great guide to goniometry. I especially love the Appendix that has all the normal values. It's a must have for anyone starting out in physical therapy." Measurements made easy "This book is helpful because there are actual photographs that show you how to measure various ROM's. No confusing drawings. just pictures. So helpful. They also do a great job of summarizing the most important tips for each joint (i.e. normal ROM's, where to place the goni, etc.)"
Physical Rehabilitation, 7e by
Features more than 60 narrated, full-color video clips of patients in treatment, including the initial examination, interventions, and outcomes for a variety of the conditions commonly seen in rehabilitation settings. Incorporates current research in basic and clinical sciences with physical therapy assessments and treatment procedures. Includes "Evidence Summary" tables in most chapters which evaluate current research on specific topics and support evidence-based practice. Enhances critical-thinking skills with open-ended clinical case studies. Covers strategies for fall prevention, virtual reality rehabilitation, body-weight treadmill training, and upper extremity amputations and prosthetics. Integrates the goals, examination procedures, and interventions of the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice.
Primary Care for the Physical Therapist by
Specifically designed to address the expanding role of physical therapists in primary care, Primary Care for the Physical Therapist: Examination and Triage, 3rd Edition covers all the information and skills you need to be successful in the field. Updated content throughout the text helps you stay up to date on the best practices involving patient examination, medical screening, patient management, and communication. This new third edition also features a new chapter on electrodiagnostic testing, a new chapter on patients with a history of trauma, and updated information on how to screen and examine the healthy population. It's a must-have resource for any physical therapist wanting to obtain the technical expertise and clinical decision-making abilities to meet the challenges of a changing profession. Tailored content reflects the specific needs of physical therapists in primary care. Emphasis on communication skills underscores this essential aspect of quality patient care. Overview of the physical examination is provided in the text to ground therapists in the basis for differential diagnosis and recognizing conditions. NEW! Updated content throughout the text reflects the current state of primary care and physical therapy practice. NEW! New chapter on electrodiagnostic testing helps familiarize physical therapists with indications for electrodiagnostic testing and implications of test results to their clinical decision-making. NEW! New chapter on patients with a history of trauma emphasizes the red flags that physical therapists need to recognize for timely patient referral for appropriate tests. NEW! Updated information on how to screen and examine the healthy population enhances understanding of the foundations of practice and the role that physical therapists can fill in primary care models.
Kinesiology of the Musculoskeletal System, 3rd Ed. by
With its focus on the normal and abnormal mechanical interactions between the muscles and joints of the body, Kinesiology of the Musculoskeletal System: Foundations for Rehabilitation, 3rd Edition provides a foundation for the practice of physical rehabilitation. This comprehensive, research-based core text presents kinesiology as it relates to physical rehabilitation in a clinically relevant and accessible manner. It provides students and clinicians with the language of human movement - and acts as a bridge between basic science and clinical management. Full-color anatomic and kinesiologic illustrations clearly demonstrate the anatomy, functional movement, and biomechanical principles underlying movement; and dynamic new video clips help you interpret new concepts with visual demonstration. More than 900 high-quality illustrations provide you with the visual accompaniments you need to comprehend the material. Clinical Connections boxes at the end of each chapter in Sections II through IV highlight or expand upon a particular clinical concept associated with the kinesiology covered in the chapter. Special Focus boxes interspersed throughout the text provide numerous clinical examples that demonstrate why kinesiologic information is needed. Critical thinking questions challenge you to review or reinforce the main concepts contained within each chapter. Evidence-based approach emphasizes the importance of research in physical therapy decision-making. Evolve site for students comes with video clips, answers to study questions, and references linked to Medline. Evolve site for instructors includes an image collection from the text, teaching tips, and lab activities. NEW! Kinesiology of Running chapter covers the biomechanics of running. NEW! Video clips help you interpret new concepts with visual demonstration. NEW! All-new content on the pelvic floor. NEW! Thoroughly updated references emphasize the evidence-based presentation of information in the text. NEW! QR codes linked to videos for easy viewing on mobile devices. NEW! Pageburst enhanced edition allows you to access multimedia content from the eBook without going to another website.
Porth's Pathophysiology, 10th edition by
The 10th edition of Porth's Pathophysiology: Concepts of Altered Health States continues a legacy of excellence by providing comprehensive, nursing-focused coverage designed to help grasp both the physical and psychological aspects of altered health. The book's unique emphasis on "concepts" of altered health states, as opposed to factual descriptions of diseases and disorders, helps students grasp both the physical and psychological aspects of altered health. Porth's Pathophysiology: Concepts of Altered Health States Tenth Edition Tommie L. Norris, DNS, RN Meet today's clinical challenges with the trusted authority in pathophysiology Make the most of your pathophysiology course and master the knowledge to ensure clinical success. Trusted for more than 30 years and updated to reflect today's nursing challenges, this engaging text makes complex concepts accessible and helps you easily and confidently grasp normal body function, the effects of disease on body systems, and the body's ability to compensate and adapt. This edition also considers the many technological advances that allow healthcare providers to diagnose earlier and with more accuracy. Highlights of the Tenth Edition Approachable presentation builds understanding from basic to advanced concepts and defines key terms as you progress. "Chunked" content keeps you focused on the most critical information and helps you review salient points efficiently. Unit-Opening Case Studies , which are revisited in one or more chapters in the unit, bring pathophysiology to life and equip you for success in clinical practice. Approximately 1,000 vibrant illustrations clarify the clinical manifestations of diseases and disease processes. Understanding boxes break physiologic processes and phenomena into their sequential parts, providing insight into the many opportunities for disease to disrupt the processes. Key Points boxes and In Summary sections reduce the need for memorization and help you incorporate important points into broader conceptual units. NEW! Pediatric Considerations and Geriatric Considerations boxes in each chapter specify how the chapter content applies to these two special populations. NEW! Concept Mastery Alerts explain topics that students can find confusing. Review Exercises at the end of each chapter test your retention and identify areas for further study. References provide fast, efficient access to normal laboratory values in both conventional and SI units, as well as a comprehensive glossary. Narrated animations referenced by icons in the text and available online enhance your understanding of the most challenging and clinically relevant concepts.
Foundations of Clinical Research, 4th edition by
Conceptual descriptions of analytic procedures used in EBP as well as tables that demonstrate simple calculations Algorithm for choosing a statistical procedure based on a study's design Diagrams that help students understand experimental and observational design variations Guidelines for critical appraisal of various types of studies Focus on sensitivity/specificity and likelihood ratios, number needed to treat, and measuring clinically meaningful change Special features that illustrate how research applies to practice, including, "Case-in Point," "Fun Facts," "Historical Notes," and end-of-chapter 'take-away' commentaries from the author
Physical Therapy Documentation, 3rd Edition by
Newly updated and revised, Physical Therapy Documentation: From Examination to Outcome, Third Edition provides physical therapy students, educators, and clinicians with essential information on documentation for contemporary physical therapy practice. Complete and accurate documentation is one of the most essential skills for physical therapists. In this text, authors Mia L. Erickson, Rebecca McKnight, and Ralph Utzman teach the knowledge and skills necessary for correct documentation of physical therapy services, provide guidance for readers in their ethical responsibility to quality record-keeping, and deliver the mechanics of note writing in a friendly, approachable tone. Featuring the most up-to-date information on proper documentation and using the International Classification of Functioning, Disabilities, and Health (ICF) model as a foundation for terminology, the Third Edition includes expanded examples across a variety of practice settings as well as new chapters on: Health informatics Electronic medical records Rules governing paper and electronic records Billing, coding, and outcomes measures Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional materials to be used for teaching in the classroom. An invaluable reference in keeping with basic documentation structure, Physical Therapy Documentation: From Examination to Outcome, Third Edition is a necessity for both new and seasoned physical therapy practitioners.
Dutton's Orthopaedic: Examination, Evaluation and Intervention, Fifth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The #1 orthopaedic evidence-based textbook and reference guide Dutton's Orthopaedic: Examination, Evaluation and Intervention provides readers with a systematic logical approach to the evaluation and intervention of the orthopedic patient. In this comprehensive and up-to-date fourth edition, Dutton strikes the perfect balance in its coverage of examination and treatment. The textbook emphasizes the appropriate use of manual techniques and therapeutic exercise while outlining the correct applications of electrotherapeutic and thermal modalities as adjuncts to the rehabilitative process. The content reflects the consistent unified voice of a single author-a prominent practicing therapist who delivers step-by-step guidance on the examination of each joint and region. This in-depth coverage leads you logically through systems review and differential diagnosis aided by decision-making algorithms & features new coverage on balance and concussions. New videos on concussion testing and method techniques are available on AccessPT. This edition has an added 10-15 board review questions per chapter as well as updated chapters to reflect the latest research and treatment techniques.
Netter's Orthopaedic Clinical Examination: An Evidence-based Approach by
With its unique combination of classic Netter artwork, exam photos and videos, and rigorous evidence-based approach, Netter's Orthopaedic Clinical Examination, 3rd Edition, helps you get the most clinically significant information from every orthopaedic examination. This new edition, by Drs. Joshua Cleland, Shane Koppenhaver, and Jonathan Su, allows you to quickly review the reliability and diagnostic utility of musculoskeletal physical exams and make it easier to incorporate evidence into your clinical decision making. Extremely user-friendly and well organized, this unique text walks you through the anatomy and clinical exam, then critically reviews all literature for given diagnostic tests. A tabular format provides quick access to test reliability and diagnostic utility, study quality, anatomy and biomechanics, and summary recommendations for applying evidence in practice. Quality ratings for 269 studies, investigating a test's reliability using the 11-item Quality Appraisal of Diagnostic Reliability Checklist. Evidence-based approach helps you focus on the effectiveness of the clinical tests available and review recent studies quickly to determine which test will best predict a specific diagnosis. 84 new studies, 34 new photos and 25 new videos on Student Consult. QAREL (Quality Appraisal for Reliability Studies) checklists included for each reliability study. A downloadable Student Consult eBook is included with this printed book.
Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapy: From Art to Evidence by 
Orthopedic Physical Assessment by 
Dutton's Orthopaedic Examination Evaluation and Intervention by
Updated edition of the #1 orthopaedic evidence-based textbook and reference guide A Doody's Core Title for 2017! Dutton's Orthopaedic: Examination, Evaluation and Intervention provides readers with a systematic logical approach to the evaluation and intervention of the orthopedic patient. In this comprehensive and up-to-date fourth edition, Dutton strikes the perfect balance in its coverage of examination and treatment. The textbook emphasizes the appropriate use of manual techniques and therapeutic exercise while outlining the correct applications of electrotherapeutic and thermal modalities as adjuncts to the rehabilitative process. The content reflects the consistent unified voice of a single author - a prominent practicing therapist who delivers step-by-step guidance on the examination of each joint and region. This in-depth coverage leads you logically through systems review and differential diagnosis aided by decision-making algorithms & features new coverage on balance and concussions. New videos on testing and method techniques are available on AcessPT (if adopted) Also this edition has added 10-15 board review questions per chapter and has updated chapters to reflect the latest research and treatment techniques.
Netter's Orthopaedic Clinical Examination by
With its unique combination of classic Netter artwork, exam photos and videos, and rigorous evidence-based approach, Netter's Orthopaedic Clinical Examination, 3rd Edition, helps you get the most clinically significant information from every orthopaedic examination. This new edition, by Drs. Joshua Cleland, Shane Koppenhaver, and Jonathan Su, allows you to quickly review the reliability and diagnostic utility of musculoskeletal physical exams and make it easier to incorporate evidence into your clinical decision making. Extremely user-friendly and well organized, this unique text walks you through the anatomy and clinical exam, then critically reviews all literature for given diagnostic tests. A tabular format provides quick access to test reliability and diagnostic utility, study quality, anatomy and biomechanics, and summary recommendations for applying evidence in practice. Quality ratings for 269 studies, investigating a test's reliability using the 11-item Quality Appraisal of Diagnostic Reliability Checklist. Evidence-based approach helps you focus on the effectiveness of the clinical tests available and review recent studies quickly to determine which test will best predict a specific diagnosis. 84 new studies, 34 new photos and 25 new videos on Student Consult. QAREL (Quality Appraisal for Reliability Studies) checklists included for each reliability study. A downloadable Student Consult eBook is included with this printed book.
Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapy by 
Orthopedic Manual Therapy: an evidence-based approach by 
Neuro Notes -- Clincial Pocket Guide by
Whatever the practice setting--acute care, rehabilitation, outpatient, extended care, or in a school--turn to this handy pocket guide to the neurological examination. Small in size, but not in content, it covers all of the common neuromuscular conditions, disorders, and diseases you might encountered in patients throughout their lifespans. A spiral binding, thumb tabs and nearly 240 illustrations insure you can find just what you're looking for. Waterproof, reusable pages let you record clinical data and then wipe the pages clean with alcohol.
Observational Gait Analysis by Physical Rehabilitation, 7e by
Features more than 60 narrated, full-color video clips of patients in treatment, including the initial examination, interventions, and outcomes for a variety of the conditions commonly seen in rehabilitation settings. Incorporates current research in basic and clinical sciences with physical therapy assessments and treatment procedures. Includes "Evidence Summary" tables in most chapters which evaluate current research on specific topics and support evidence-based practice. Enhances critical-thinking skills with open-ended clinical case studies. Covers strategies for fall prevention, virtual reality rehabilitation, body-weight treadmill training, and upper extremity amputations and prosthetics. Integrates the goals, examination procedures, and interventions of the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice.
Neuro Notes -- Clincial Pocket Guide by
Whatever the practice setting--acute care, rehabilitation, outpatient, extended care, or in a school--turn to this handy pocket guide to the neurological examination. Small in size, but not in content, it covers all of the common neuromuscular conditions, disorders, and diseases you might encountered in patients throughout their lifespans. A spiral binding, thumb tabs and nearly 240 illustrations insure you can find just what you're looking for. Waterproof, reusable pages let you record clinical data and then wipe the pages clean with alcohol.
Observational Gait Analysis by 
Physical Rehabilitation by
Features more than 60 narrated, full-color video clips of patients in treatment, including the initial examination, interventions, and outcomes for a variety of the conditions commonly seen in rehabilitation settings. Incorporates current research in basic and clinical sciences with physical therapy assessments and treatment procedures. Includes "Evidence Summary" tables in most chapters which evaluate current research on specific topics and support evidence-based practice. Enhances critical-thinking skills with open-ended clinical case studies. Covers strategies for fall prevention, virtual reality rehabilitation, body-weight treadmill training, and upper extremity amputations and prosthetics. Integrates the goals, examination procedures, and interventions of the APTA's Guide to Physical Therapist Practice.
Modalities for Therapeutic Intervention by
Evidence-based content presents standards of care that you can build upon as new research appears. "Clinical Controversy" boxes offer different opinions on the appropriate use of modalities. "Points for Decision Making" boxes promote problem-solving and critical thinking. Question-driven case studies with provide you with rationales to select and apply to therapeutic modalities. Illustrations, photographs, and graphs bring the text to life and familiarize you with the equipment you'll need to know when you enter your clinical rotations. Important facts, highlighted in each chapter, prepare you for tests on the clinical application of the modality. "Key Word Literature Searches" and "Websites for Literature for Evidence" boxes enhance your understanding of research and evidence.
Wound Management Principles and Practices -- Access Card Pearson eText by
For physical therapy education programs covering wound management; and for clinicians (including PT, PTA, OT, and nursing) involved in treating patients with, or at risk for, open wounds or lymphedema. This ISBN is for the Pearson eText access card. A complete practical guide to wound care, for both learners and practitioners Wound Management: Principles and Practices is the most thorough, up-to-date practical learning resource on wound management for physical therapy students and general practitioners. It's been cited as the reference text for preparing students to pass the Certified Wound Specialist Certification exam. Opening with the basic science of wounds and wound healing, Myers then presents the nuts and bolts of wound examination and intervention and, finally, detailed information for managing various types of wounds. Integrated case studies prepare students to make sound clinical decisions for holistic care interventions. The 4th edition includes the most current wound care information available. Pearson eText is a simple-to-use, mobile-optimized, personalized reading experience that can be adopted on its own as the main course material. It lets students highlight and take notes all in one place, even when offline. Educators can easily customize the table of contents, schedule readings, and share their own notes with students so they see the connection between their eText and what they learn in class - motivating them to keep reading, and keep learning. And, reading analytics offer insight into how students use the eText, helping educators tailor their instruction. NOTE: Pearson eText is a fully digital delivery of Pearson content and should only be purchased when required by your instructor. This ISBN is for the Pearson eText access card. In addition to your purchase, you will need a course invite link, provided by your instructor, to register for and use Pearson eText.
No textbooks for this course.
No textbooks for this course.
Gray Matter : a neurosurgeon disovers the power of prayer by
A perfect blend of medical drama and spiritual insight, Gray Matteris a fascinating account of Dr. David Levy's decision to begin asking his patients if he could pray for them before surgery. Some are thrilled. Some are skeptical. Some are hostile, and some are quite literally transformed by the request. Each chapter focuses on a specific case, opening with a detailed description of the patient's diagnosis and the procedure that will need to be performed, followed by the prayer "request." From there, readers get to look over Dr. Levy's shoulder as he performs the operation, and then we wait--right alongside Dr. Levy, the patients, and their families--to see the final results. Dr. Levy's musings on what successful and unsuccessful surgical results imply about God, faith, and the power of prayer are honest and insightful. As we watch him come to his ultimate conclusion that no matter what the results of the procedure are, "God is good," we cannot help but be truly moved and inspired.