AHU Resource Guides: Physician Assistant (MS): Key Resources for Physician Assistant

UpToDate

UpToDate (Wolters Kluwer) This link opens in a new window UpToDate is a clinical decision support tool of evidence-based information on drugs, medical specialties, and treatment recommendations.

Calculators (0:57)
Produced by Wolters Kluwer
UpToDate Advanced Tutorial (4:36)
UpToDate Advanced includes pathways and lab interpretation.
Produced by Wolters Kluwer
UpToDate Features and Shortcuts (3:40)
Produced by Wolters Kluwer
UpToDate User Academy
Short videos created by Wolters Kluwer show tips on using UpToDate.

Visual DX

VisualDx This link opens in a new window VisualDx is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. Features include: Large medical image library Leading skin of color atlas Smart search for chief complaints, diagnoses, and drug reactions Custom patient-specific differential diagnosis builder Tools to improve patient engagement and satisfaction

ViisualDX tutorials/ short videos
Created by VisualDX

UpToDate LexiDrug (Wolters Kluwer) -- Drug database

UpToDate Lexidrug (Wolters Kluwer) This link opens in a new window UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) is an evidence-based drug reference tool that offers a comprehensive collection of drug information databases. Lexidrug includes drug comparisons, reports, and reviews, interaction checkers, dosage calculators, patient education resources, and more for hundreds of medications and natural remedies. To learn more about Lexidrug and how to navigate the tool, visit the UpToDate Lexidrug User Academy.

UpToDate Lexidrug User Academy
Short videos to learn about LexiDrug.
Videos by Wolters Kluwer.

UpToDate Lexidrug was formerly called LexiComp.

Access Databases by McGraw-Hill

Updated regularly, ACCESS databases provide access to key medical textbooks, procedural videos, animations, and case studies. Case Files Collection helps students learn and retain knowledge through exposure to realistic patient cases.

AccessMedicine (McGraw-Hill) This link opens in a new window AccessMedicine is a compendium of more than 130 medical titles, full length drug monographs, and self-assessment tools that provide wide coverage of medical information. AccessMedicine also features a unique collection of  examination and procedural videos, patient safety modules, audio files, animations, and case studies.
AccessMedicine Case Files Collection (McGraw Hill) This link opens in a new window Case Files® Collection provides premier case content with the goal of improving learning outcomes through exposure to clinical cases. The Case Files® Collection features: The complete collection of basic science, clinical medicine, and post-graduate level cases from 23 Case Files® series booksAn interactive format to help students learn and retain knowledge through exposure to realistic patient casesPersonalized functionality to let users mark their progress through completed and unseen cases
AccessSurgery (McGraw Hill) This link opens in a new window AccessSurgery introduces a whole new dimension to surgical education and clinical practice. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online surgery resource enhances medical knowledge and delivers quick answers to surgical inquiries. AccessSurgery features fully searchable surgical textbooks and surgical videos, animations, and images demonstrating visual diagnosis and step-by-step procedures.

Here is more details about resources in the different Access Databases -- Access Medicine, Access Anesthesiology, and Access PhysioTherapy.

Access Medicine Flashcards
Access Medicine (3:08)
Diagnosaurus (Access Medicine -- under Quick References -- DDX)
Access Medicine -- (46 sec video)
How to download book chapters and sections (Access textbooks)
Access databases -- steps handout

Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination (Wolters Kluwer) This link opens in a new window Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.

Complete Anatomy -- 3D model and videos

Complete Anatomy (3D4Medical) This link opens in a new window Transform your anatomical learning with Complete Anatomy. Download the app for free to access the full 3D model for your own exploration. Featuring 12 body systems, structure-specific features including innervation and arterial supply, and fully interactive muscle movement, plus with a suite of powerful Tools and an extensive library of anatomical content, you have everything you need to pass your exams. Create reference material to share and collaborate with your classmates. Screens allow you to set up the model position with custom edits or record a brief overview of an area complete with voiceover and share it to your study group. Or test your friends’ knowledge by creating a Quiz.

Help Websites

Complete Anatomy (2:23)
Complete Anatomy Tutorials
Basics | Complete Anatomy
4 videos sharing the basics of using Complete Anatomy
Getting Started Help
How to Smash your A&P Studying with 3D
Tips on using Complete Anatomy to its fullest (29 min)

Educator Resources

Complete Anatomy is available to all students, faculty and staff. Follow the download instructions located under Databases on the library homepage.

Webinars

Physician Assistant Clinical Year Book

The Physician assistant student's guide to the clinical year (7 volume, 1st edition) by Knechtel, Maureen, MPAS, PA-C
Call Number: Online / ebook -- Ebook Central
ISBN: 9780826195210
Publication Date: 2019

Scholarships / Financial Assistance for school

National Health Service Corps -- Scholarships
PA Student Scholarships
PA Foundation
Physician Assistant Education Association
Search scholarships

Avoiding Clinician Burnout

Clinician Well-Being Knowledge Hub [National Academy of Medicine]
Clinicians of all kinds, including doctors, nurses, pharmacists, dentists, medical trainees, and others are experiencing alarming rates of burnout. This poses a significant threat to the sustainability of our health system and the safety of our patients. Solutions to systematically combat burnout are needed and they are needed now.