Civetta, Taylor & Kirby's critical care by
Covering every problem encountered in today's intensive care unit, this leading critical care textbook presents the knowledge and expertise of more than 350 global experts in this fast-changing field. Beginning with the social aspects of medicine, it then discusses monitoring and organ system pathobiology followed by specific diseases states/syndromes. Each chapter begins with immediate concerns and proceeds to broader-based discussions of relevant pathophysiologic and clinical issues. KEY FEATURES: -Features new chapters on Critical Care Implications in Acute Care Surgery, The Obstetric Patient, and Brain Death and Management of the Potential Organ Donor; all chapters thoroughly revised including up-to-date discussions of what happens after the patient leaves the ICU. -Covers surgical critical care more thoroughly than any other text. -Includes expert coverage of pharmacology, nutrition, toxicology and the environment, disaster management, point-of-care testing, bedside ultrasound, surgical infections, and much more. -Presents information in a reader-friendly manner, streamlining the print text to focus on the material most important for bedside care in the ICU. -Expertly edited by leaders in every area of critical care: Dr. Mihae Yu (surgery), Dr. A. Joseph Layon (internal medicine), and Drs. Layon and Andrea Gabrielli (anesthesiology), who are joined in this edition by Dr. Kenneth Wood (internal medicine). Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: -The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time - providing a seamless reading experience online or offline -Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks -Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design -The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Mount Sinai Expert Guides : Critical Care by
Part of the Mount Sinai Expert Guide series, this outstanding book provides rapid-access, clinical information on all aspects of Critical Care with a focus on clinical diagnosis and effective patient management. With strong focus on the very best in multidisciplinary patient care, it is the ideal point of care consultation tool for the busy physician.
Textbook of Critical Care by
Comprehensive, concise, and readable, Textbook of Critical Care, 7th Edition, brings you fully up to date with the effective management of critically ill patients, providing the evidence-based guidance you need to overcome a full range of practice challenges. Drs. Jean-Louis Vincent, Edward Abraham, Frederick A. Moore, Patrick Kochanek, and Mitchell P. Fink are joined by other international experts who offer a multidisciplinary approach to critical care, sharing expertise in anesthesia, surgery, pulmonary medicine, and pediatrics. This highly acclaimed text offers ICU clinicians a new understanding of the pathophysiology of critical illness and new therapeutic approaches to critical care. Features a wealth of tables, boxes, algorithms, diagnostic images, and key points that clarify important concepts and streamline complex information for quick reference. Includes procedural videos online. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Includes many new chapters on echocardiography, antibiotic stewardship, antiviral agents, coagulation and anti-coagulation, , telemedicine, extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO), and more. Offers new coverage of biomarkers, bedside ultrasound, and the management of increasingly complex critically ill patients. Provides new approaches to sepsis, acute kidney injury, and management of acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), and other forms of respiratory failure.
Washington Manual of Critical Care by
The Washington Manual of Critical Care, similar to other volumes in this vaunted series, features authors and contributors who are faculty members and practicing physicians at Washington University's School of Medicine. Inside you'll find comprehensive and current information for bedside diagnosis and management of some of the most common illnesses and problems encountered in the ICU setting. Key Features - Covers the treatment and management of shock, sepsis, acute episodes of COPD and asthma, myocardial infarctions, organ failure, and other conditions and disorders. - Provides overviews of intubation and catheterization procedures, as well as of common drug side effects and drug-drug interactions. - Contributors hail from departments in Internal Medicine, Neurology, Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Anesthesiology. - New chapters have been added on ECLS, critical care ultrasound, rheumatology, and management of transplant patients. - Includes concise, easy-to-read diagnosis and treatment algorithms for common conditions, plus bibliographical references for additional, in-depth reading. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: - The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time - providing a seamless reading experience online or offline. - Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks. - Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design. - The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click.
Goodheart's Photoguide to Common Pediatric and Adult Skin Disorders by
Dr. Goodheart's award-winning and highly regarded guide to skin disorders has been fully updated in its 4th Edition, and now includes a separate section on common pediatric complaints. More than 900 high-quality illustrations provide a comprehensive visual guide to the vast majority of skin conditions you're likely to see. Clear descriptions of specific distinguishing features help you reach an accurate diagnosis, and similar or "look-alike" conditions are presented for easy comparison. All healthcare workers who encounter disorders of the skin will find this practical resourceinvaluable for dermatologic diagnosis and management. New co-author Dr. Mercedes E. Gonzalez shares her expertise in an all-new pediatric section, covering birthmarks, acne, eczema, superficial bacterial and viral infections, hair and nail disorders, cutaneous manifestations of systemic disease, neurocutaneous syndromes, and much more. Additional new chapters cover darker skin tones, dermoscopy, hyperhidrosis, and teledermatology. Hundreds of new, full-color photos and more information on ethnically and racially diverse populations, as well as aging populations brings this must-have resource fully up to date. Thoroughly updated content includes the latest information on over-the-counter and prescription medications, as well as recent "biologics" that have great potential in the targeted treatment of many immunologic and neoplastic disorders. Step-by-step descriptions of basic dermatologic procedures and a formatted approach to each disease help you find what you need quickly and use it immediately in your practice. Online resources include additional images of conditions as well as customizable Spanish/English patient handouts. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Handbook of Stroke by
Written by leaders in the field of stroke medicine,Handbook of Stroke, Third Edition, is a concise, one-stop guide covering all aspects of clinical management of patients with cerebrovascular disorders. This user-friendly handbook brings you up to date with the most recent advances and knowledge in the field, providing practice-oriented overviews and recommendations that save lives and reduce impairment of function. It addresses specific situations you're likely to encounter, offering clinical guidance based on available evidence and practical experience. Covers everything from clinical and laboratory assessment, differential diagnosis, and initial management to medical and surgical treatment, prognosis, rehabilitation, and stroke prevention. Includes new chapters on the global burden of stroke and restorative therapies following stroke. Provides expert state-of-the-art guidance on acute stroke treatment, cerebrovascular disease genetics, primary stroke prevention, management of unruptured intracranial aneurysms, and current therapies for stroke-related symptoms and disorders. Guides your decision making with clear presentations of the thought processes that experienced neurovascular clinicians typically use, including what can be learned from the history, clinical management algorithms, when patients with stroke should be hospitalized vs. evaluated as outpatients, and more. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Rosen & Barkin's 5-Minute Emergency Medicine Consult by
The sixth edition of this comprehensive yet concise Rosen & Barkin's 5 Minute Emergency Medicine Consult pulls together up-to-date and evidence-based practice guidelines for easy use in a busy emergency department. In just two brief, bullet-friendly, clutter-free pages, you can quickly decipher the information you need to confirm your diagnosis, order tests, manage treatment and more! Features new information--based on the latest practice guidelines and theoretical developments--and new approaches to diagnosis and management. Designed for integrating into your practice--in an urgent care setting with patients or during downtime between patients or meetings. Covers over 600 disease and condition topics, such as bleeding, orthopedic injuries, gastric conditions, domestic violence and more. Suitable for all practitioners, nurses and residents in an emergency room setting. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Atlas of Emergency Medicine 5th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most trusted visual guide to emergency medicine--with 2,100+ full-color images and clinical management guidance from leading experts The Atlas of Emergency Medicine is your "look quick, act fast" guide to accurately diagnosing acute medical problems in emergency practice settings. Packed with the highest-quality images available and fully updated clinical information, this is the definitive resource to assessing, diagnosing, and treating patients quickly, safely, and effectively. Top experts in their field, the authors cover basic and subtle diagnosis of a broad spectrum of typical and atypical conditions. Organized by organ-system/special populations/general issues and then by problem, The Atlas of Emergency Medicine includes one or more images per topic, succinct "need-to-know" information for each clinical problem, and management options and clinical pearls--making this the most efficient visual learning guide you'll find. This updated edition includes streamlined text to allow for more images, new chapters on Rheumatologic and Mental Health Conditions, and new video clips highlighting the most important topics.
Making Sense of the ECG : hands-on guide, 5th edition by
Interpreting an ECG correctly and working out what to do next can seem like a daunting task to the non-specialist, yet it is a skill that will be invaluable to any doctor, nurse or paramedic when evaluating the condition of a patient. Making Sense of the ECGhas been written specifically with this in mind, and will help the student and more experienced healthcare practitioner to identify and answer crucial questions. This popular, easy-to-read and easy-to-remember guide to the ECG as a tool for diagnosis and management has been fully updated in its fifth edition to reflect the latest guidelines.
Fenoglio-Preiser's Gastrointestinal Pathology by
With extensively revised content and an expanded contributor list of experts, Fenoglio-Preiser's Gastrointestinal Pathology, Fourth Edition keeps you current in this fast-changing field. This highly regarded text remains your go-to reference on gastrointestinal pathology, with coverage of everything from anatomy, physiology, and histology to the full spectrum of congenital disorders, structural alterations, diseases, injuries, and other entities. This comprehensive reference is an ideal resource for pathologists, radiologists, gastroenterologists, and others interested in gastrointestinal diseases. Key Features: - Contains extensively revised and updated content throughout, while maintaining the same practical, easy-to-use format as the previous edition. - Covers benign and malignant gastrointestinal diseases not often included in other texts, as well as in-depth discussions of pathophysiologic processes and molecular mechanisms wherever possible. - Features more than 3,000 high-quality illustrations, including gross and microscopic photographs (many new to this edition), electron micrographs, radiographs, and line drawings. - Includes separate chapters on hereditary polyposis, cancer syndromes, motility disorders, and inflammatory bowel disease, as well as neuroendocrine, hematopoeitic, and mesenchymal neoplasms. - Integrates pathologic analyses of specimens with anatomic, clinical, radiologic, pathophysiologic, and microbiologic information to give you a clear understanding of each disease process. - Serves as a comprehensive resource for the pathologist evaluating biopsies, cytologic, or resection specimens from all GI sites. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: - Complete content with enhanced navigation - Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web - Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation - Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text - Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues - Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Sitaraman and Friedman's Essentials of Gastroenterology by
This revised and updated second edition of the popular and comprehensive guide to the study of gastroenterology The revised second edition of Essentials of Gastroenterology provides a highly practical and concise guide to gastroenterology. The text covers every major disorder likely to be encountered during both GI training and in clinical practice. It also offers a handbook for preparing for Board examinations (e.g., USMLE and Internal Medicine Board examinations) as well as a handy clinical consultation tool. Fully updated to reflect the latest scientific information and practice guidelines, each section of the book covers a specific area of the gastroenterology tract and follows a standard outline: general information, normal physiology, etiology and pathophysiology, clinical presentation, diagnosis, differential diagnosis, complications, prognosis, and treatment. The text provides easy-to-assimilate information on each disorder and includes the key facts, concise, bulleted paragraphs, and a structure that lends itself to accessibility and point-of-care use in a busy clinical setting. In addition, Internal Medicine Board-style multiple choice questions allow users to self-assess their knowledge, a photo gallery provides a great visual element, and clinical cases throughout allow readers to identify with real-life clinical scenarios. Essentials of Gastroenterology is the hands-on guide that: * Covers the whole of gastroenterology in one highly practical volume * Presents updated pedagogic features to help achieve rapid clinical understanding, such as case studies, practice points, key weblinks and potential pitfalls boxes * Includes more than 100 Internal Medicine Board-style multiple choice questions ideal for self-assessment * Contains comparison of major society (BSG, ASG, ACG, UEGF, etc.) guidelines for all main GI conditions Designed for us by gastroenterologists and GI trainees, Essentials of Gastroenterology is therevised and improved edition of the popular manual that is filled with up-to-date information on all the GI disorders. Trainees will learn the essentials of their specialty, as well as providing the seasoned gastroenterologist with a useful refresher tool.
Gerontology : perspectives and issues by
This newest edition of a core graduate level textbook has added six new chapters to further enrich the gerontological imagination, and encourage an interdisciplinary approach to the study of aging. Academically rigorous yet clear and accessible, the text provides the most current findings from leading gerontological researchers and practitioners. New and updated chapters examine biology, exercise science/nutrition, communication science, geriatric medicine and nursing, demography, anthropology, economics, human development, psychology, political science, sociology, social work, and law, to provide broadly drawn perspectives on the study of aging. Special emphasis is placed on current challenges regarding policy and service delivery in the face of fiscal uncertainty. Additionally, this new edition covers international outlooks on aging given the increasing influence of globalization on individual lives. By interweaving knowledge from a broad range of disciplines, Wilmoth and Ferraro have created a comprehensive picture of gerontology today that will enhance course instruction and provide a new window into the future of the discipline. New chapters address: .: Geriatric medicine and nursing; Communication disorders and aging; International and cross-cultural perspectives on aging; Public policy and the needs of diverse aging populations; Geriatric social work; Legal perspectives on aging Key Features: .: Interweaves current gerontological research and ideas from multiple disciplines; Addresses biology, psychology, human development, sociology, and economics as they relate to gerontology; Presents additional disciplinary perspectives including exercise science/nutrition, communication science, geriatric medicine and nursing, demography, anthropology, political science, social work, and law.; Includes Ferraro's classic chapter on The Gerontological Imaginati
Te Linde's Operative Gynecology 12th Edition by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Te Linde's Operative Gynecology, Twelfth Edition, remains your authoritative resource on the comprehensive perioperative care of gynecologic patients. New features in this edition include a primer on anesthesia, a chapter on positioning for pelvic surgery, a practical review of pediatric gynecology, and a section on the use of surgical instruments. All chapters have been updated to reflect contemporary gynecologic practice and the latest minimally invasive surgical approaches. New illustrations are included and each chapter includes step-by-step descriptions of surgical techniques. Today's best surgeons and teachers offer a readable, intuitive, and concise reference for trainees as well as the experienced gynecologist. A completely restructured table of contents that reflects the needs of today's novice and experienced surgeons - ideal for quick reference and as a clinical refresher. An intuitive, chronological structure, covering relevant topics from preoperative preparation through postoperative care, as well as an expansive section on gynecologic procedures and surgical management of selected conditions. The same readable, easy-to-digest presentation you've come to expect from Te Linde's. Expanded "Steps in the Procedure" boxes are supplied for all surgical chapters - a favorite feature that provides clear, easy-to-follow roadmaps for each procedure. More than 650 color illustrations, photographs and line drawings.. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Moss's and Adams Heart Disease in Infants, Children, and Adolescents, Including the Fetus and Young Adult by
The 9th edition of the gold standard in pediatric cardiology offers up-to-date, comprehensive coverage of this challenging and rapidly changing field. New chapters based on reader requests, two new associate editors, new contributing authors, and an enhanced digital version of the text make Moss and Adams,, Heart Disease in Infants, Children, and Adolescents the reference you,,ll turn to when caring for patients. From cover to cover, this award-winning two-volume resource provides the authoritative, state-of-the-art information you need when caring for young patients with heart disease. - New, reader-requested chapters cover Development of Myocardial Structure and Function, Global Challenge of Heart Disease, Impact of Congenital Heart Disease on Other Organ Systems, Non-Compaction Cardiomyopathy, Beyond the Cardiac Device, and Transition to Adult Care. - All chapters have been updated and revised, including vital new information on genetics and embryo development. - Two new associate editors, Drs. Daniel J. Penny and Frank Cetta, offer fresh perspectives in their areas of expertise. - Enhanced digital access includes the full text; bonus question and answer sections similar to those on the pediatric cardiology board examination; videos of echoes, angiograms, aortic arch anomalies, open-heart operations, and more; and phonocardiograms with accompanying audio of various heart sounds and murmurs. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: - Complete content with enhanced navigation - Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web - Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation - Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text - Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues - Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Cardiac Imaging: the Requisites by 
The Clinician's Handbook of Natural Medicine by
Get instant, easy access to the natural medicine expertise you need with The Clinician's Handbook of Natural Medicine, 3rd Edition. Written by leading authorities in complementary and integrative medicine, this portable handbook offers clear and rational directives on diagnosing and treating 80 diseases and disorders with natural medicine. Inside the pages you'll find concise summaries of diagnostic procedures, general considerations, therapeutic considerations, and therapeutic approaches for each condition, as well as naturopathic treatment methods like dietary changes, physical therapy advice, exercise modifications, and recommended supplements and botanical medicines. Based on Pizzorno's trusted Textbook of Natural Medicine, 4th Edition and the most current evidence available, it's your key to accessing reliable, natural diagnosis and treatment options in any setting. More than 80 algorithms throughout text synthesize therapeutic content and provide support for clinical judgment with a conceptual overview of case management. Combination of expert author team and scientifically verified content assures this handbook contains the most reliable coverage of diagnostic and natural treatment methods. Well-organized format utilizing consistent headings helps you make fast and accurate diagnoses. Light, portable size enables you to easily carry the handbook along with you in practice. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest research, data, and trends - including the most current recommendations related to specific diseases and newly emerging treatments. NEW! Four new chapters cover female infertility, maldigestion, bronchitis and pneumonia, and pregnancy health and primary prevention of adult disease.
Textbook of Natural Medicine , 5th Edition by 
Wyllie's Treatment of Epilepsy by
Comprehensive, yet accessible, Wyllie's Treatment of Epilepsy: Principles and Practice has provided a detailed and cohesive overview of seizure disorders and treatment options through six well-regarded editions. The 7th Edition remains the definitive reference in the field with extensive updates from Dr. Elaine Wyllie and her team of world-renowned editors and authors. Ideal for both clinical reference and exam preparation, this single-volume work on contemporary epileptology is an indispensable resource for neurologists, epilepsy specialists and epilepsy neurosurgeons, neurology and neurosurgery residents and fellows, and neuropsychologists. Features considerable new or significantly revised content reflecting the most current evidence-based treatment options. Offers an in-depth review of all aspects of epileptology, including neuroimaging; epilepsy surgery; antiseizure medications; principles of electroencephalography; psychosocial impact, quality of life, and comorbidities; economics of epilepsy; and more. Provides more than 500 CME-eligible review questions online, highlighting key concepts for the ABPN subspecialty exam and clinical practice. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Textbook of Palliative Medicine and supportive care [ebook] by 
Fleisher & Ludwig'S 5-Minute Pediatric Emergency Medicine Consult by
The second edition of Fleisher & Ludwig's 5-Minute Pediatric Emergency Medicine Consult helps anyone working in a busy emergency or urgent care setting diagnose, treat and manage over 500 diseases and common pediatric conditions. You'll instantly find clear answers--summarized succinctly--on clinical orientation, differential diagnosis, medications, management, discharge criteria and more. Practice guidelines are evidence-based, and the book is formatted for quick reference, double-checking or a 5-minute refresher. Organized alphabetically and filled with brief, templated bullet points for quick and easy reading. Contributors include pediatric emergency physicians from the worlds of emergency medicine and pediatrics, and--new for this edition--pediatric pharmacists. Not just for emergency or urgent care clinicians--also helpful for academic clinicians, family physicians, and trainees Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Fundamentals of Pediatric Orthopedics by
Ideal for anyone involved in the care of children with musculoskeletal problems, this best-selling resource has been completely updated to be even more relevant to your everyday practice. Comprehensive and user-friendly, it covers the diagnosis and management of pediatric orthopedic issues with an emphasis on the welfare of the whole child. More than 1,700 color illustrations make it easy to visualize everything from normal variations to treatment plans to potential pitfalls, for virtually any pediatric orthopedic challenge you may encounter. Features: Thoroughly up-to-date and evidence-based, including expanded material on sports medicine. Lavishly illustrated with over 1,700 color drawings and photographs - a uniquely visual approach you'll appreciate for rapid reference and quick understanding. Parent education guides make it easy to provide important information to caregivers and increase compliance. Comprehensive coverage includes growth, evaluation, management, trauma, sports, infections, and tumors, as well as each anatomical area: lower limb, foot, knee, hip, spine, and upper limb. Designed to meet the everyday needs of health care practitioners who are involved with pediatric musculoskeletal problems, including primary care physicians, pediatricians, and orthopedists. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Pediatric Neuroimaging by
This newest addition of the comprehensive Pediatric Neuroimaging combines thousands of images with detailed textual descriptions to help you diagnose a wide range of brain, spinal, and head and neck disorders in the pediatric patient. The authors have chosen a clear, concise writing style that encourages you to grasp information quickly. By dealing with a broad range of disorders, from everyday problems to less common ones, and explaining how to recognize and differentiate them, this book offers you the opportunity to provide a concise differential diagnosis on most patients you are likely to encounter in your practice. - Packed with more than 2,500 high-quality illustrations, drawings, photographs, and figures. - Emphasizes CT and MRI imagery-widely regarded as the optimal modalities for assessing and diagnosing children. - Most chapters organized by disease group, and describe the pathologic bases of each disorder to illustrate important clinical contexts. - Broadly discusses common imaging techniques in children, as well as images of normal childhood development in the brain, skull, and spine. - Prominently displayed lists of disorders help quickly identify a disorder within the text. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! - Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone - Customize for your language, including right-to-left reading, vertical writing, and enhanced annotation in over 30 languages - Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech - Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more
Pediatric Radiology by
Your accessible guide to the essentials of pediatric diagnostic imaging! Pediatric Radiology: Practical Imaging Evaluation of Infants and Children provides vital insights on how to diagnose both common and rare, congenital and acquired disorders in infants and children using the best imaging approaches available today. And, it does so in a highly concise, practical manner that makes this information easy to understand and apply. Contributions from a host of respected international authorities put the most relevant, expert information from around the world at your fingertips. Key Features -Diagnose essential pediatric disorders with comprehensive sections on pediatric neuroradiology, pediatric thoracic imaging, pediatric abdominopelvic radiology, and pediatric musculoskeletal radiology. -Compare your imaging findingsto abundant representative examples of all appropriate modalities. -Find all the guidance you need on any topic through discussions of practical imaging techniques, normal anatomy and variants, imaging findings, and selected pathological features of congenital and acquired pediatric disorders in each chapter. -Review the clinical features and imaging findings for each disorder; pathological correlations, when applicable; up-to-date management information; and, when relevant, differential diagnostic considerations and differentiating features, both clinical and radiological, between disorders that produce the similar imaging findings.� -See how practical radiology principles apply to current practice through a collection of illuminating case studies. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks. The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click.
Principles and Practice of Pediatric Oncology by
Now thoroughly updated to include new advances in the field, Principles and Practice of Pediatric Oncology, 7th Edition remains the gold standard text for the care and research of children with cancer. This authoritative reference is the single most comprehensive resource on the biology and genetics of childhood cancer as well as its diagnosis, multimodal treatment, as well as long-term management of young patients with cancer. Also addressed are a broad array of topics on the supportive and psychosocial aspects of care of children and families. Covering virtually every aspect of the breadth and depth of childhood cancer, this 7th Edition provides expert guidance on state-of-the-art, multidisciplinary care for children and families. Stay up to date with the most recent advances in the field with the contributions by new and returning contributors, including the perspective from patients and parents in the chapter titled "The Other Side of the Bed." Chapters included on palliative care and education. Supportive care is covered broadly and specifically - in contexts such as emergencies, infectious disease, and nutrition. Benefit from completely new and updated information throughout. The most updated and authoritative information is provided by the leading experts in the field. Gain a thorough understanding of every aspect of pediatric oncology, with comprehensive information regarding basic science, diagnostic tools, principles of treatment, and clinical trials, as well as highly detailed, definitive coverage of each pediatric malignancy. Collaborate more effectively with others on the cancer care team to enhance quality-of-life issues for patients and families. Understand the cooperative nature of pediatric oncology as a model for cancer research with information from cooperative clinical trial groups and consortia. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation A highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Rogers' Textbook of Pediatric Intensive Care by
Portable and easy to use, Rogers' Handbook of Pediatric Intensive Care, Fourth Edition, contains key information from the best-selling Rogers' Textbook in a handy format designed for everyday use. Nearly 100 chapters offer a clinically relevant synopsis of core information needed for quick reference and safe practice in the PICU. Key Features: New chapters cover Rapid Response Systems; Non-Invasive Ventilation; Abusive Head Trauma; Pulmonary Hypertension; Dengue and Other Viral Hemorrhagic Fevers (including Ebola); Gastrointestinal Bleeding; Diagnostic Imaging of the Abdomen; and more. All chapters have been thoroughly updated and rewritten. Numerous tables and line drawings facilitate quick retrieval of information. Distills the authoritative, essential information you need in the PICU, in an easy-to-manage handbook format. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Sports Medicine in the Pediatric Office by
The second edition of this best-selling pediatric sports medicine resource provides step-by-step demonstrations of the examination and evaluation techniques for common sports injuries. The book includes more than 100 images, plus 2+ hours of video covering physical examination keys; when to order radiographs, CT scans, and MRIs; treatment plan development; case-based coverage of common injuries, including ankle and foot, knee and lower leg, shoulder, wrist and elbow, hip and spine, and concussions and preventive strategies. This all encompassing resource allows you to: Walk through case studies that highlight the issues most commonly seen at specific stages of development. View examinations and tests that can help you identify the extent and location of injury. See demonstrations of preventive strengthening exercises. Use proven approaches to diagnosing and managing sports injuries to improve your practice. Learn which test results to obtain and when. And more! New features All chapters fully reviewed and updated New chapter on Trends in Prevention of Sports Injury in the Young Athlete 5 new sport-specific chapters on Soccer Baseball Collision sports (football, hockey, lacrosse, and rugby) Gymnastics Running Chapters provide Overview of the sport(s) Overview of the sport history and demographic information in young athletes Cases-based scenarios that highlight the major issues in the sport Suggestions on how pediatric health professionals can ensure the safest sport experience in the sport
Stocker and Dehner's Pediatric Pathology by
Effectively diagnose the complete range of pediatric pathologies, from neonatal disorders through adolescence. Intended for a broad audience including general and pediatric pathologists, pediatricians, surgeons, oncologists, and other pediatric subspecialties, Stocker & Dehner's Pediatric Pathology is widely recognized as the definitive go-to comprehensive clinical reference in the unique subspecialty of pediatric pathology - which, unlike other subspecialties, is defined by an age group rather than an organ system or process. The tumors that occur in infants and children are distinct from those that develop in adults, and they often exhibit exceptional clinical behavior, thus requiring different diagnostic and therapeutic protocols. Authored by a host of prominent authorities on this challenging area, the fourth edition of Stocker & Dehner's Pediatric Pathology was designed to be a comprehensive volume on all major aspects of the pathologic anatomy of childhood disorders, providing the in-depth, richly illustrated guidance you need to confidently evaluate and dependably report your findings. Sweeping updates in this edition put all of the very latest knowledge and techniques at your fingertips. Key Features Find authoritative answers on everything from how to perform a pediatric autopsy or apply the latest molecular techniques, to diagnosing chromosomal abnormalities, congenital anomalies and malformation syndromes, inborn errors of metabolism, and congenital and acquired systemic infectious diseases; from how to approach forensic pathology and transplant pathology, to evaluating the pathologies of each organ system and pediatric tumors. Content and observations are integrated from other chapters to convey a sense of unity in the study of the child as a whole. Appendices featuring over 50 seminal charts and tables on fetal, infant, and child development. A focus on key pathologic findings as well as the latest molecular genetic tools and the role that these findings play in pathologic diagnosis. Locate the information you need quickly thanks to an intuitive organization by disease classification and organ system. Identify pathologic features successfully with the aid of more than 1,300 gross and microscopic images, including 1,200 in full color. Exclusive online content with over 300 additional images. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use Over 300 additional images available only online.
Adult-Gerontology Practice Guidelines by
Because of the way it is organized, this book meets the needs of both novice and experienced advance practice nurses. Each chapter defines the problem, how often it occurs, and what leads to the problem. To aid in assessment, the book includes the physical examination landmarks as well as diagnostic tests that might be needed. A plan of care is offered with several different alternatives for treatment and then notes what type of follow-up is needed. This would be a great resource for anyone working in the field of geriatrics...Score: 92 - 4 Stars Au AiCarol Ann Siem, MSN, MU Sinclair School of Nursing, Doody's Reviews The first book to encompass adult-gerontology practice guidelines for primary care, this comprehensive resource is designed as a text and reference for health care practitioners specializing as adult-gerontology nurse practitioners (A-GNP). It provides current national practice guidelines for delivering high-quality primary health care to adult, older adult, and pregnant patients in the outpatient setting. The book delivers chapters that focus on the older adult person, including a chapter describing the major effects of aging on each body system. For quick and easy access, practice guidelines are organized primarily by body system, disorders listed alphabetically within each body system, and each disorder presented in a consistent format throughout. With an emphasis on history taking, the physical exam, and key features of the aging population, each of the more than 240 disorder guidelines include definition, incidence, pathogenesis, predisposing factors, common complaints, other signs and symptoms, subjective data, physical exam, diagnostic tests, differential diagnoses, plan of care, health promotion including dietary recommendations, follow-up guidelines, and tips for consultation/referral. Particularly useful features include "Practice Pointers" highlighting crucial information for a disorder and bold-faced "Alerts" from experienced practitioners. The book also describes 19 procedures commonly used within the office or clinic setting. More than 140 Patient Teaching Guides are included (perforated for ease of use) as well as in digital format for customizing and printing. These include important information for patients about safety and medications. Appendices feature normal lab values and dietary guidelines. Key Features: Focuses specifically on the adult, older adult, and pregnant patient populations Delivers consistent presentation of more than 240 disorders by body system for ease of access Step-by-step review of 19 commonly used procedures "Practice Pointers" indicate highly important care points Includes more than 140 extensive Patient Teaching Guides for "take home" information Useful as a review text when preparing to take the A-GNP certification course and exam "
McWhinney's Textbook of Family Medicine by
Highly acclaimed in its first three editions, McWhinney's Textbook of Family Medicine is one of the seminal texts in the field. While many family medicine texts simply cover the disorders a practitioner might see in clinical practice, McWhinney's defines the principles and practices of familymedicine as a separate and distinct field of practice. The fourth edition presents six new clinical chapters of common problems in family medicine: respiratory illness, musculoskeletal pain, depression, diabetes, obesity and multimorbidity. This new edition also provides information on stewardship of resources, patient information and data, delivery of care in the home, and consultation and referral. The volume also covers continuing advances in the research base of family medicine. Readers will come away with a deeper appreciation forthe role of the generalist in healthcare.
Murray and Nadel's Textbook of Respiratory Medicine, 2-Volume Set by 
Handbook of Chronic Kidney Disease Management by
Offering authoritative coverage of all aspects of diagnosing, treating, and preventing the progression of chronic kidney disease (CKD), this highly regarded handbook is an invaluable resource for nephrologists, internists, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other healthcare professionals who care for early-stage CKD patients. Incorporating the considerable advances in the field since the previous edition, Handbook of Chronic Kidney Disease Management, 2nd Edition , provides a truly global perspective on managing patients with mild to moderate CKD. Shares the evidence-based expertise of cardiologists, endocrinologists, general internists, and nephrologists, focusing on the care of non-dialysis CKD patients in stages 1-5. Describes guidelines, practices, and approaches to problems associated with CKD, including recent clinical guidelines from both U.S. and international organizations. Includes a new chapter on risk of CKD after acute kidney injury. Features an all-new two-color design for improved visual appeal and new, streamlined content for conciseness and ease of use. Includes case vignettes and management algorithms throughout. Covers special topics such as children, pregnant women, and the elderly. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Resources listed on these guides are compiled by librarians at the R.A. Williams Library. We accept content recommendations, and after review, may include suggested resources on a guide. Our time is limited, so we generally do not reply to unsolicited recommendations from individuals not affiliated with AdventHealth University or notify them regarding whether or not we have linked to suggested content.