AHU Resource Guides: Faculty Development Resource Guide: Faculty Teaching Resources

Faculty Focus / Teaching newsletter

Source: Faculty Focus website

Faculty Focus
A free publication from the creators of THE TEACHING PROFESSOR
Teaching professor Offers concise information to help faculty members teach more effectively. Topics include giving lectures, testing, planning courses, student passivity and working with teaching assistants.
more...less...
Newsletter style. Not peer-reviewed. Quick teaching points.

The Faculty Lounge

Source: The Faculty Lounge website

The Faculty Lounge
Harvard Business Publishing Education / The Faculty Lounge

The Faculty Lounge is a weekly email newsletter offering unfiltered insights and opinions on the challenges and triumphs of being an educator in today's changing world. Published by Harvard Business Publishing Education.

Magna Digital Library

Magna Digital Library This link opens in a new window The Magna Digital Library is a collection of video-based programs designed to answer a specific question related to teaching and learning. Each video contains a focused 20-minute presentation. Topics areas include administration, traditional classroom teaching, blended learning, and online teaching. All of the videos featured in the Monday Morning Mentor are available in the Magna Digital Library, making them available any time.

The Magna Digital Library is a collection of video-based programs designed to answer a specific question related to teaching and learning. Each video contains a focused 20-minute presentation. Topics areas include administration, traditional classroom teaching, blended learning, and online teaching. All of the videos featured in the Monday Morning Mentor are available in the Magna Digital Library, making them available any time.

Associations / Organizations /Journal

Case Studies

National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science
The mission of the National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science at the University at Buffalo is to promote the development and dissemination of materials and practices for case teaching in the sciences.

Other Helpful Resource Guides

Active Learning
by Mary Rickelman Last Updated Apr 17, 2024 3 views this year
Bloom's Taxonomy & Rubrics
by Mary Rickelman Last Updated May 14, 2024 9 views this year
Faith and Learning
by Mary Rickelman Last Updated Jul 24, 2023 0 views this year
Images, Archives & Digital Libraries
by Mary Rickelman Last Updated Jul 6, 2023 0 views this year
Information Literacy (IL) Resources for Librarians and Teaching Faculty
by Mary Rickelman Last Updated Jun 28, 2024 0 views this year
Journal Alerts and Search Alerts -- how to create
by Mary Rickelman Last Updated Jul 22, 2024 0 views this year
Mobile Apps for Library Resources
by Neal Smith Last Updated Jul 5, 2023 6 views this year
Poster Creation
by Mary Rickelman Last Updated Apr 24, 2024 2 views this year
Publishing and Presenting
by Mary Rickelman Last Updated Sep 23, 2024 0 views this year

Teaching Journal Titles & Directory

Teaching journals of possible interest....

Log-In may be required if on laptop or off campus.

Active Learning in Higher Education
Advances in Physiology Education Advances in Physiology Education promotes and disseminates educational scholarship in order to enhance teaching and learning of physiology, neuroscience and pathophysiology. The journal publishes peer-reviewed descriptions of innovations that improve teaching in the classroom and laboratory, essays on education, and review articles based on our current understanding of physiological mechanisms.
Chronicle of Higher Education Provides news reports and editorials on all facets of higher education in the United States, Canada, and abroad, with reference lists of relevant research, books, seminars, workshops, fellowships, and grants; for senior administrative, business, and academic officers.
College teaching Focuses on how teachers can improve student learning.
Currents in Teaching and Learning Currents in Teaching and Learning is a peer-reviewed electronic journal that fosters exchanges among teacher-scholars across the disciplines. Published twice a year (typically one issue in fall, one in spring), Currents seeks to improve teaching and learning in higher education with short reports on classroom practices as well as longer research, or theoretical articles related to teaching and learning.
Curriculum & teaching dialogue Provides information about teaching and curriculum.
Journal of diversity in higher education Founded in 2001, the Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (JoSoTL) is published by Indiana University's Faculty Academy on Excellence in Teaching (FACET). Peer reviewed.
Journal of effective teaching Aims to promote discussion on teaching excellence in colleges and universities.
more...less...
Freely Accessible Social Science Journals
Journal of Faculty Development
Journal of Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
Journal on Centers for Teaching and Learning Published through Miami University. Focuses on the operations, achievements, and potentials of Centers for Teaching and Learning at colleges and universities.
Teaching and learning in nursing Focuses on the advancement of associate degree nursing education and practice, and promotes collaboration in charting the future of health care education and delivery.
Teaching in higher education Addresses the roles of teaching, learning and the curriculum in higher education in order to explore and clarify the intellectual challenges which they present.
more...less...
18 month embargo
Teaching professor Offers concise information to help faculty members teach more effectively. Topics include giving lectures, testing, planning courses, student passivity and working with teaching assistants.
more...less...
Newsletter style. Not peer-reviewed. Quick teaching points.

List of Teaching Journals by Title
This is a beginning list.

Directory of Teaching Journals
Kennesaw State University compiled a list of journals related to teaching. AHU does not necessary subscribe to all of these.

Teaching & Education Conferences -- Lists

Directory of Upcoming Education and Technology Conferences from Around the World
From Teachonline.ca
Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Resources and Conferences
University of CIncinnati
Teaching Conferences Directory
Compiled by Kennesaw State University (Ga)

Universal Design for Learning (UDL)

UDL Guidelines