AHU Resource Guides: Occupational Therapy (Undergraduate &amp; Graduate)): Finding Articles

General Search Tips

State what you need in a sentence.
Select keywords from your statement.
Use these keywords as search terms.
If searching a phrase, enclose the phrase in "quotation marks". (not all databases offer this feature)
Use truncation * , if relevant --- example: nurs* ; therap* ; librar* (not all database offer the truncation feature)

Finding OT journal articles

These databases/indexes will assist with locating journal articles.

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to more than 4,000 journals covering most areas of study.
CINAHL Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window CINAHL Complete is an authoritative resource for nursing and allied health articles. It searches an indexed collection of nearly 3 million articles from more than 3000 journals covering nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, rehabilitation, radiography, sonography, and more. CINAHL Complete also includes the full text of articles from nearly 600 of the journals in the index.
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers, and a federated search feature that incorporates results from external databases.The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (the systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials. The CDSR also has occasional supplements. The CDSR is updated regularly as Cochrane Reviews are published ‘when ready' and form monthly issues.
OTseeker This link opens in a new window A database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist in evaluating their validity and interpretability.
Ovid AHU Journals (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Search full-text medical and nursing journals available from Ovid.
APA PsycARTICLES (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to 63 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations.
PubMed (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window Search the National Librarian of Medicine database of biomedical and health sciences journals through the publicly available NLM search interface.
PubMed Central (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window PMC is a free digital archive of full-text biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
SocINDEX with Full Text (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window SocINDEX is a comprehensive full-text sociology research database encompassing all sub-disciplines and related areas of sociology study. Over 2.1 million records from 1895 to present day on a wide range of subjects such as criminology, demography, abortion, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development & psychology, substance abuse, and many others.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window A full-text database of literature pertaining to sports, rehabilitation, and physical fitness and education topics.

Google Scholar

Full Database List

OT Journal Titles

This is a list of journals possibly useful for future OTA's and OT's. This is not an exhaustive list, but the major journals available in the library databases.

AJOT (American Journal of Occupational Therapy)

American Journal of Physical Med & Rehab

American Rehabilitation

Australian Occupational Therapy Journal

Autism

British Journal of Occupational Therapy

British Medical Journal

Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy

Child Development

Child Development perspectives

Clinical Rehabilitation

Disability and Rehabilitation

Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders

Journal of Back and Musculoskeletal Rehabilitation

Monographs of Society for Research in Child Development

Journal of Hand Therapy

Journal of Head Trauma Rehabilitation

Journal of Occupational Rehabilitation

Journal of Rehabilitation

Journal of Rehabilitation Medicine

Journal of Rehabilitation Research & Development

Neuropsychological Rehabilitation

Occupational Therapy International

Occupational Therapy in Mental Health

OT Practice

OTJR

Psychiatric Rehabilitation Journal

Rehabilitation Psychology

Rehabilitation R&D Progress Reports

Scandinavian Journal of Occupational Therapy

Topics in Geriatric Rehabilitation

Topics in Stroke Rehabilitation

Have Citation, Need Journal Article

Steps to take if you have a journal article citation and you need the full-text article.

Step 1: Try Googling the article title. Often the article is available via the Internet. If not for free go to Step 2.

Step 2: Try pasting article title in the OneSearch box on Library Home page. This will search all the library databases to see if available full-text. If article doesn't show then go to Step 3.

Step 3: Go to E-Journals on the library page found under FIND. Type in journal title, if listed then select from options go to year, volume, issue etc. On last place to try in Step 4.

Step 4: Try Pub Med. Pub Med also has free, full-text articles. Single citation matcher helps verify an article citation.

Step 5: If you cannot locate the article via the above, then request the article via Request an article on the library home page. Remember it can take several days maybe more to get an article. Article is usually sent to you PDF.

PubMed (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window