Geriatric Rehabilitation by
Rehabilitation of the geriatric patient poses a unique set of challenges and conditions often not seen in younger patients, but which are common among older adults. This quick, practical resource helps physiatrists and other members of the rehabilitation team overcome these challenges, covering the wide range of topics necessary to provide the highest level of care to this rapidly increasing population. Presents practical guidance on arthritis and joint replacement, polypharmacy and mobility, swallowing dysfunction, nutritional recommendations, psychiatric and cognitive disorders, assistive technology, and more. Covers the physiologic changes and epidemiology of aging, osteoporosis and fragility fractures, fall prevention and intervention, and prevention of hospital-acquired deconditioning. Consolidates today's available information on geriatric rehabilitation into one convenient resource.
Occupational Therapy for Older People by
This book focuses on evidence-based occupational therapy in the care of older adults in different clinical settings, from home to acute hospital, from intensive care unit to rehabilitation centers and nursing homes. Occupational therapy has progressively developed as a new discipline aiming to improve the daily life of individuals of different ages, from children to older adults. The book first reviews the interaction between occupational therapy and geriatrics and then discusses in depth how occupational therapy interventions are applied in the community, in the acute hospital and in the nursing home. It highlights the key role of occupational therapy in the management of frail patients, including critically ill older patients and persons with dementia, and describes in detail how to maintain occupational therapy interventions across different settings to avoid the fragmentation of care. The ageing population requires new innovative approaches to improve the quality of life, and as such this book provides clinicians with handy, key information on how to implement occupational therapy in the daily clinical care of older adults based on the current scientific evidence.
Occupational Therapy with Elders : Strategies for the Occupational Therapy Assistant, 3rd ed by
The only comprehensive book on geriatric occupational therapy designed specifically for the COTA, Occupational Therapy with Elders: Strategies for the COTA, 3rd Edition provides in-depth coverage of each aspect of geriatric practice, from wellness and prevention to death and dying. A discussion of foundational concepts includes aging trends and strategies for elder care, and coverage of emerging areas includes low-vision rehabilitation, mobility issues including driving, and Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia. Expert authors René Padilla, Sue Byers-Connon, and Helene Lohman offer an unmatched discussion of diverse populations and the latest on geriatric policies and procedures in this fast-growing area of practice. Unique! A focus on the occupational therapy assistant highlights the importance of COTAs to the care of elder clients. Case studies illustrate principles and help you apply what you've learned to actual situations. Key terms, chapter objectives, and review questions highlight important content in each chapter. Use of the term "elder" reduces the stereotypical role of dependent patients and helps to dispel myths about aging. A multidisciplinary approach demonstrates how the OT and the COTA can collaborate effectively. Unique! Attention to diverse populations and cultures prepares you to respect and care for clients of different backgrounds. Unique! The companion Evolve website makes review easier with more learning activities, references linked to MEDLINE abstracts, and links to related OT sites. Unique! A discussion of elder abuse, battered women, and literacy includes information on how the COTA can address these often-overlooked issues. New information on alternative treatment settings for elders reflects new trends in OT care. Updated information on Medicare, Medicaid, and HIPAA regulations discusses the latest policies and how to incorporate the newest procedures into practice. Significant additions are made to the chapters on public policy, dementia, and oncology.
Occupational Therapy with Elders : strategies for the COTA, 4th ed by
Get the focused foundation you need to successfully work with older adults. Occupational Therapy with Elders: Strategies for the COTA, 4th Edition is the only comprehensive book on geriatric occupational therapy designed specifically for the certified occupational therapy assistant. It provides in-depth coverage of each aspect of geriatric practice - from wellness and prevention to death and dying. Expert authors Helene Lohman, Sue Byers-Connon, and René Padilla offer an unmatched discussion of diverse populations and the latest on geriatric policies and procedures in this fast-growing area of practice. You will come away with a strong foundation in aging trends and strategies for elder care in addition to having a deep understanding of emerging areas such as low-vision rehabilitation, driving and mobility issues, Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia, new technological advancements, health literacy, public policy, dignity therapy, and more. Plus, you will benefit from 20 additional evidence briefs and numerous case studies to help apply all the information you learn to real-life practice. It's the focused, evidence-based, and client-centered approach that every occupational therapy assistant needs to effectively care for today's elder patients. UNIQUE! Focus on the occupational therapy assistant highlights the importance of COTAs to the care of elder clients. Unique! Attention to diverse populations and cultures demonstrates how to respect and care for clients of different backgrounds. UNIQUE! Discussion of elder abuse, battered women, and literacy includes information on how the OTA can address these issues that are often overlooked. User resources on Evolve feature learning activities to help you review what you have learned and assess your comprehension. Case studies at the end of certain chapters illustrate principles and help you understand content as it relates to real-life situations. Multidisciplinary approach demonstrates the importance of collaboration between the OT and OTA by highlighting the OTA's role in caring for the elderly and how they work in conjunction with occupational therapists. Key terms, chapter objectives, and review questions are found in each chapter to help identify what information is most important. NEW! 20 Additional evidence briefs have been added to reinforce this book's evidence-based client-centered approach. NEW! Incorporation of EMR prevalence and telehealth as a diagnostic and monitoring tool have been added throughout this new edition. NEW! Expanded content on mild cognitive impairment, health literacy, and chronic conditions have been incorporated throughout the book to reflect topical issues commonly faced by OTs and OTAs today. NEW! Coverage of technological advancements has been incorporated in the chapter on sensory impairments. NEW! Other updated content spans public policy, HIPAA, power of attorney, advanced directives, alternative treatment settings, dignity therapy, and validation of the end of life. NEW! Merged chapters on vision and hearing impairments create one sensory chapter that offers a thorough background in both areas.