Applied Theories in Occupational Therapy by
Applied Theories in Occupational Therapy: A Practical Approach, Second Edition provides a system-based, comprehensive overview of the theories, models, and frames of reference that influence occupational therapy around the world. Esteemed authors Marilyn B. Cole and Roseanna Tufano have updated their foundational text with an evidence-based focus derived from their experiences of more than 30 years teaching theoretical content to students. Applied Theories in Occupational Therapy: A Practical Approach, Second Edition offers practical templates to help readers learn the key constructs of each theory and assimilate knowledge based on Mosey's organizational structure. Each theory-based chapter is designed for ease in gathering content knowledge and comparing theories in a distinctive manner. The book includes: Summaries of the current trends found in practice, along with external influential models of health and wellness impacting populations of concern Exploration of some of the most common occupation-based models around the world. Each model's holistic conceptual nature is described, including theoretical assumptions and practice guidelines for evaluation and intervention Reviews of common frames of reference found in evidence-based practice, which address the secondary and tertiary needs of common populations In this Edition, learning activities and case-based analyses strengthen the application of theory into current practice contexts. Practical guidelines assist the reader in formulating an evaluation process and determining the relevant intervention strategies that promote occupational participation, engagement, and functioning across the lifespan and the continuum of health. Instructors in educational settings can visitwww.efacultylounge.com for additional education material to be used for teaching in the classroom.
Best Practices for Occupational Therapy in Schools by 
Conditions in Occupational Therapy 5th edition by
Now in its 5th Edition, Conditions in Occupational Therapy: Effect on Occupational Performance is now fully aligned with the DSM-5 and Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, 3rd edition, reflects the most current research and brings in 5 new chapters covering conditions your students will see in practice. This with new features and tools further help enhance this essential book. Each chapter of the 5th Edition follows a consistent format--an opening case, followed by definition and descriptions, incidence and prevalence, signs and symptoms, course and prognosis, medical/surgical management, impact on occupational performance, and finally, two case illustrations. This format helps students to prepare for what they will see in practice. With new instructor resources and case studies that connect up-to-date content to practice, this is an essential resource for both occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant students.
Foundations of Theory and Practice for the Occupational Therapy Assistant by
Wolters Kluwer, publisher of the cornerstone Occupational Therapy text Willard & Spackman,,s Occupational Therapy, is pleased to announce an exciting new first edition that will start a tradition of publishing excellence in the Occupational Therapy Assistant program . Aligned with the most recent standards in the field, Foundations of Theory and Practice for the Occupational Therapy Assistant provides the evidence-based, practice-focused information students need to succeed from classroom to clinic. Throughout this comprehensive book, learning activities and clinical scenarios bring concepts to life and enhance student retention. In addition to covering, theory, principles, therapeutic processes, conditions, and more, this accessible text contains elements that span the curriculum, providing beginning occupational therapy assistant students with a solid resource for fieldwork and practice. Contributions from experienced practitioners working in a broad range of settings ground the theoretical concepts in the real-world, and invite the students to understand their role in the clinical setting. Thirteen case studies, referred to throughout the text with an icon, help students understand the relevance of the occupational therapy assistant,,s role in the clinical setting. In addition, the book includes a sample complete case summation, along with additional online forms students can use in their own work. Features: - Content is aligned with the most recent standards in the field, including the Occupational Therapy Framework (released in April 2014), the updated Code of Ethics (released in April 2015) and current ACOTE education standards for occupational therapy assistant programs. - A focus on evidenced- based practice prepares students for effective practice. - Useful, relevant pedagogy is backed by learning activities and clinical scenarios that break down each topic and make difficult topics easier to learn. - An inviting design and art program includes clear illustrations and photographs that clarify concepts and bring them to life. - From the Field boxes offer tips or additional practical information from practitioners. - Chapter-opening elements, such as key terms, help students prepare for the information to come. - End-of-chapter study tools, such as review questions and practice activities, give students an opportunity to assess their understanding of the materials.
Fundamentals of Occupational Therapy by
Fundamentals of Occupational Therapy: An Introduction to the Profession is a comprehensive, introductory text that provides first year students with foundational knowledge of occupational therapy as a profession and the construct of occupation. Due to the broadness of the profession this text identifies basic concepts and areas to novice students and helps inform them of the topics and components they will come across later in their studies. Inside the text, Dr. Bernadette Hattjar provides a general introduction, the historical development of the profession, and a basic review of the three major employment areas- physical disabilities, pediatrics and psychosocial occupational therapy. It also covers the topics of theoretical constructs, legislative and political influences on the profession, the use of adaptive devices in concert with major client groups, and the identification of influential professional individuals. Fundamentals of Occupational Therapy analyzes the historical foundation, philosophical assumptions, ethical issues, core concepts, theories, models and frames of reference that have shaped the profession of occupational therapy. Fundamentals of Occupational Therapy: An Introduction to the Profession will provide entry level occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant students with the information and tools they need to better understand, synthesize, and integrate the diverse elements of the profession into professional level courses, where in-depth understanding of these basic concepts occur in education programs.
Handbook of Occupational Therapy for Adults with Physical Disabilities by
Handbook of Occupational Therapy for Adults With Physical Disabilities by Drs. William Sit and Marsha Neville provides quick and essential information for occupational therapists that are new to the adult practice setting. This handbook is primarily organized by body system into six sections: Occupational performance as a whole Central nervous system Peripheral nervous system, cranial nerves, and sensory system Musculoskeletal system Cardiovascular, lymphatic, respiratory, and integumentary systems Endocrine, digestive, urinary, and reproductive system At the beginning of each section, you will find a case study based on clinical experience that embodies the chapter subject. Within each section information is broken down into important aspects of the evaluation process, and then followed by the implications of each system on occupational therapy intervention. Handbook of Occupational Therapy for Adults With Physical Disabilities also includes a summary chart where readers can quickly and easily find the purpose, context, form, cost, and contact information for each assessment. Handbook of Occupational Therapy for Adults With Physical Disabilities is ideal for occupational therapy students, recent graduates, and practitioners who are newly entering an adult physical disability practice setting.
Illuminating the dark side of occupation : international perspectives from occupational therapy and occupational
Measuring Occupational Performance by
As the profession of occupational therapy continues to mature and expand its practice, the measurement of occupational performance is one of the key avenues that all practicing clinicians will need to explore and master. Measuring Occupational Performance: Supporting Best Practice in Occupational Therapy, Third Edition summarizes the measurement tools needed to assess client occupational performance, to provide the best intervention, and to document the effectiveness of that intervention. These measurement tools are not just a compilation of all that are available for measurement relevant to occupational therapy; they are an elite group of tools carefully selected by the editors through a process of rigorous theoretical, clinical, and scientific reasoning. In this Third Edition, Drs. Mary Law, Carolyn Baum, and Winnie Dunn have updated current chapters and added new topics that have not been covered in past editions, such as a chapter on measuring school performance, a key area of practice. Also included is a chapter on measurement principles and development to highlight the concepts common to all the measures included in the text. The Third Edition also has a focus on the best measures and measures that are used most frequently. Features of the Third Edition: Offers insight into the importance of measuring functional performance, methodologies, measurement issues, and best approach for outcome measurement Conveys a broad focus on occupational performance and offers examples from a wide range of practice settings and from multiple spots throughout the lifespan Explains the technical aspects of measurement development and methodologies and which components of functioning are to be measured and how Develops an understanding of the theoretical aspects and evidence for both standardized tests and non-standardized tests Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional material to be used for teaching in the classroom. New in the Third Edition: Focus on strengths-based approaches Measures health and disability at both individual and population levels using the International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF) An emphasis on evidence-based practice and using evidence from other disciplines, not just from occupational therapy New chapter focused on school-based practice New content on reliability, validity, and responsiveness New content on goal attainment Additional material on decision making in practice In this changing health care environment, Measuring Occupational Performance: Supporting Best Practice in Occupational Therapy, Third Edition explains how core values and beliefs can be put into everyday practice and is the essential reference manual for the evidence-based occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant student and practitioner.
Occupational Ergonomics : theory and applications by 
An Occupational Therapist's Role in Health Literacy and Integrated Care by
This book offers students a look into one of the most important roles of a therapist: health educator. This book describes the basics of health literacy, its intersection with preventative care, and how it can be incorporated into occupational therapy intervention. With a detailed look at theory bases and frames of reference, the book aims to create more well-informed and effective rehabilitation providers who promote health for all populations and diagnoses. This book also offers a look at many integrated care approaches that can be used on a macro and micro level to improve the care that patients receive. This is a comprehensive resource for anyone looking to delve deeper into the world of preventive and integrated medicine.
Occupational Therapy : A Guide for Prospective Students, Consumers and Advocates by
A helpful resource that explains occupational therapy for students, clients, families, school counselors, and health professionals, Occupational Therapy: A Guide for Prospective Students, Consumers, and Advocates provides an understanding of what occupational therapists do to help people function in everyday activities. Written by esteemed authors Drs. Franklin Stein and Kathlyn L. Reed, Occupational Therapy: A Guide for Prospective Students, Consumers, and Advocates explains one of the fastest growing professions in the world. Featuring information on the specific interventions used in daily work, the educational requirements for becoming an occupational therapist, and the clinical settings where occupational therapists work, this book is the perfect introduction to the profession. Chapters are designed to educate prospective students about occupational therapy as well as the personal qualities needed to be an effective clinician. Detailed information is included with up-to-date facts great for sharing with those interested in this career. A glossary of terms at the conclusion assists students, consumers, and advocates who want to better understand the profession. Topics include: What is occupational therapy? Comparing occupational therapy to similar health professions What is the history of occupational therapy? Personal characteristics of occupational therapists Professional codes of ethics Occupational therapy clients The perfect companion book for any aspiring student or interested health professional, Occupational Therapy: A Guide for Prospective Students, Consumers, and Advocates is a great resource for all things occupational therapy.
Occupational Therapy and Spirituality by
Spirituality is an important aspect of occupational therapy theory and practice, yet it remains little understood. This timely book adds to the current debate by exploring the meaning of spirituality within occupational therapy and by outlining evidence which supports this area of practice. Beginning with the three stances surrounding spirituality for the common good and the theology of occupation, throughout its 10 chapters the book goes on to cover topics such as: Spirituality of caring; Theories of spiritual development; Definition of spirituality from occupational therapy literature; Differences between assessing spirituality and religion; Spirituality and ethics; Spiritual and cultural diversity in the occupational therapy clinic; Therapeutic self. By the end of the volume the reader will have the toolset required to consider spiritual concepts and their application to health principles. Occupational Therapy and Spirituality is written in an accessible format and is designed for occupational therapy and occupational science academics, researchers, and graduate students.
Occupational Therapy Essentials for Clinical Competence by
Occupation, theory-driven, evidence-based, and client-centered practice continue to be the core of the profession and are the central focus of Occupational Therapy Essentials for Clinical Competence, Third Edition. The Third Edition contains updated and enriched chapters that incorporate new perspectives and evidence-based information important to entry-level practitioners. The Third Edition continues to relate each chapter to the newest ACOTE Standards and is evidence-based, while also addressing the guidelines of practice and terms from the AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, Third Edition. Dr. Karen Jacobs and Nancy MacRae, along with their 61 contributors, introduce every topic necessary for competence as an entry-level practitioner. Varied perspectives are provided in each chapter with consistent references made to the relevance of certified occupational therapy assistant roles and responsibilities. Additionally, chapters on the Dark Side of Occupation and Primary Care have been added to broaden the foundational scope of knowledge. Each chapter also contains a clinical case used to exemplify relevant content. New in the Third Edition: All chapters have been updated to reflect the AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, Third Edition Updated references and evidence-based practice chart for each chapter Updated case studies to match the current standards of practice References to the Occupational Therapy Code of Ethics (2015) Faculty will benefit from the multiple-choice questions and PowerPoint presentations that coincide with each chapter Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional material to be used for teaching in the classroom. Occupational Therapy Essentials for Clinical Competence, Third Edition is the perfect multi-use resource to be used as an introduction to the material, while also serving as a review prior to sitting for the certification exam for occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants.
Occupational Therapy in Mental Health by
A person-centered, recovery-oriented, and occupation-based approach to mental health across the lifespan This revision of a well-loved text continues to embrace the confluence of person, environment, and occupation in mental health as its organizing theoretical model, emphasizing the lived experience of mental illness and recovery. Rely on this groundbreaking text to guide you through an evidence-based approach to helping clients with mental health disorders on their recovery journey by participating in meaningful occupations. Understand the recovery process for all areas of their lives--physical, emotional, spiritual, and mental--and know how to manage co-occurring conditions. Content has been updated to follow the most current DSM-5 information and best practices from the evidence. New chapters highlight changes in occupational therapy practice and settings, and additional assessment and intervention content strengthens the applicability to current practice.
Philosophy and Occupational Therapy : Informing Education, Research, and Practice by
Philosophy and Occupational Therapy: Informing Education, Research, and Practice provides an overview of the most influential philosophical movements from past to present and shows how these philosophies are a foundational, yet underutilized, element of occupational therapy education, research, and practice. Editor Steven D. Taff, PhD, OTR/L, FNAP, FAOTA, fills a gap in existing occupational therapy literature by exploring the major thinkers and concepts of numerous different philosophical movements and examining their implications. Taff and a multitude of chapter authors demonstrate that the vital points of human existence are found in philosophy as well as science, and that occupational therapy should incorporate a clearly articulated philosophical perspective into its evidence-based and measurement-driven paradigm. Each chapter offers a basic description of a philosophy, outlines major thinkers and concepts and ultimately summarizes the implications for occupational therapy education, research and practice. Philosophy and Occupational Therapy: Informing Education, Research, and Practice is a unique and essential book for occupational therapy educators, researchers, and clinicians that will enrich the teaching-learning process, ground research with depth and clarity, and spark discussion among professionals about reviving the use of philosophy in current occupational therapy practice.
Pocket Guide to Intervention in Occupational Therapy by
Pocket Guide to Intervention in Occupational Therapy, Second Edition builds upon the strengths of the first edition as a useful quick reference of occupational therapy terms and interventions regarding specific diagnoses and conditions. Occupational therapy is an evidence-based health care profession that uses scientifically based research to justify clinical practice. Interventions in hospitals, clinics, and community and school settings continue to evolve based on scientific evidence. These interventions are intended to prevent injury and maintain or improve client function. Pocket Guide to Intervention in Occupational Therapy, Second Edition by Dr. Franklin Stein and Dr. Kristine Haertl is organized around the major conditions that occupational therapists encounter in their everyday practice. These include physical, psychosocial, cognitive, geriatric, and pediatric diagnoses. Intervention guidelines are outlined for the major disabilities. In addition, there are brief descriptions of the intervention techniques that therapists use and definitions of terms that are relevant to interventions. Intervention techniques encompass the following: Non-medical techniques such as client health education or counseling Instruction in activities of daily living, modifying of environment such as in ergonomics Teaching and demonstrating arts and crafts as therapeutic activities Providing sensory stimulating activities especially for children The appendices include an outline of essential skills for occupational therapists, general developmental guidelines, an overview of muscles and movements, orthotic devices, tables of muscles, average range of motion measurements, prime movers for upper and selected lower extremity motions, and substitutions for muscle contractions. Pocket Guide to Intervention in Occupational Therapy, Second Edition is based on the latest scientific evidence garnered from recent research studies, meta-analyses, scoping reviews, occupational therapy textbooks and their own wide experiences as a clinician, professor and researcher.
Professionalism Across Occupational Therapy Practice by
When most people think of professionalism, ethics, or moralism, they often think of a set of rules for distinguishing between right and wrong, such as the proverbial Golden Rule. However, the true definition of professionalism is not an easy one, and it is not necessarily black and white. In fact, it could be argued that it is often easier to describe what is not professional versus what is professional. It could also be disputed that although professionalism can be recognized when you see it, you may not necessarily be able to put your finger on what "it" is exactly. Professionalism Across Occupational Therapy Practice by Dr. Elizabeth D. DeIuliis provides an overview of the wide-ranging knowledge, skills, and attitudes that encompass professionalism across the occupational therapy profession. While there is no formal endorsed definition of professionalism in occupational therapy practice, suggestions are provided to serve as a blueprint for use. "Professionalism in occupational therapy practice is a dynamic sophistication, exemplified by a combination of an individual's personal skill set, knowledge, behaviors, and attitudes, and the adoption of the moral and ethical values of the profession and society." Dr. DeIuliis illustrates the concept of professionalism as a unique combination of intrinsic and extrinsic qualities surrounding key constructs of ethics, responsibility, competency and behavior. Professionalism Across Occupational Therapy Practice discusses these various expectations in the academic setting, the clinic, workplace, and in general society. Professionalism Across Occupational Therapy Practice utilizes a developmental approach to teaching and learning, paralleling the Revised Bloom's Taxonomy (2001). This classification system provides a graded, holistic methodology to human teaching and learning. The concept of professionalism will be exemplified by using both a knowledge-based approach to subject matter requiring higher-level learning such as metacognition, which is a crucial component of professionalism. The chapter objectives and learning activities will challenge the reader to recall, comprehend, apply analysis, synthesize, evaluate, and create knowledge directly to their context. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional materials such as informative appendices and resources include sample statements for syllabi & policy manuals, resume and CV templates, interview guidelines, professional development plans and more to be used for teaching in the classroom. Occupational Therapy practitioners at all levels, including fieldwork educators, leaders, managers and researchers will also benefit Professionalism Across Occupational Therapy Practice as it provides a synopsis of professional expectations beyond the classroom and fieldwork setting. Due to recent changes in healthcare, educational standards, and societal influence, the expectation of professionalism has been under greater scrutiny across health and social care professions. Professionalism Across Occupational Therapy Practice is the ideal text to provide a blueprint for occupational therapy students, faculty, and practitioners to fulfill our profession's potential and achieve the American Occupational Therapy Association's Vision 2025.
Ryan's Occupational Therapy Assistant, 5rh ed by 
Understanding and Managing Vision Deficits: A Guide for Occupational Therapists by 
Willard and Spackman's Occupational Therapy by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Celebrating 100 years of the Occupational Therapy profession, this Centennial Edition of Willard & Spackman's Occupational Therapy continues to live up to its well-earned reputation as the foundational book that welcomes students into their newly chosen profession. Now fully updated to reflect current practice, the 13th Edition remains the must-have resource that students that will use throughout their entire OT program, from class to fieldwork and throughout their careers. One of the top texts informing the NBCOT certification exam, it is a must have for new practitioners. Packed with first-person narratives that offer a unique perspective on the lives of those living with disease, this edition offers much that is new as it continues to help students and clinicians develop the knowledge and skills they need to apply a client-centered, evidence-based and culturally relevant approach across the full spectrum of practice settings. NEW! Each Unit is now reflective of the nomenclature for the new domains and processes covered in AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, 3rd Edition. NEW! "Centennial Notes" sections showcase perspectives from the history of OT, providing inspiring context to students entering the profession. NEW! A stronger global focus, which reflects more the professional as a global entity, prepares students to work effectively in today's global environment NEW! Coverage of the latest considerations in the field prepares students to work with the full range of clients, including veterans suffering from PTSD, the homeless, and individuals who identify as LGBTQI. COMPREHENSIVE: The 13th Edition is the only text in the field to cover the full breadth and scope of occupational therapy, summarizing important and complex material in a completely accessible way. INTEGRATED: Integrated coverage of evaluation and intervention processes gives students a holistic overview of the field. PRACTICE-ORIENTED: Case Studie s serve as models for problem-solving in dealing with clients, practice issues, and managing OT services and staff. INVITING: A striking full-color design filled with photos and illustrations welcomes today's students into this classic text. STUDENT-FRIENDLY : In-text learning aids, including Chapter Outlines. Learning Objectives, and Practice Dilemmas, help students master the material and prepare them for the current realities of OT practice. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
More titles are available in the online catalog.
Seriously Funny : disability and the paradoxical power of humor by 
Special Seating: An Illustrated Guide by 
Crafts and Creative Media in Therapy by
For more than 20 years, Crafts and Creative Media in Therapy, Fifth Edition has been an illuminating reference for the use of creative approaches in helping clients achieve their therapeutic goals. Carol Crellin Tubbs has included a range of craft and creative activity categories, from paper crafts, to cooking, to the use of recycled materials, and everything in between. Each chapter includes a brief history of the craft, several projects along with suggestions for grading or adapting, examples of related documentation, and a short case study. The text also features chapters on activity analysis, general strategies for implementation of creative activities, and documentation, as well as a chapter describing the relevance of this media from both historical and current occupation-based perspectives. In this updated Fifth Edition, the craft projects have been updated and numerous resources and links for more ideas have been added. There are new chapters on making therapy tools and crafting with a purpose, and the recycled and found materials chapter has been expanded in keeping with cultural trends. A flow chart has been added to each case study to help students better understand the process and rationale for tailoring activities for individual client needs, and project suggestions for working on specific performance skills or client factors are scattered throughout the chapters. Other additions include a behavioral observation checklist as an aid in evaluation and documentation, and several illustrations to help students distinguish between the use of occupation as means and occupation as end. This Fifth Edition also includes an updated instructors' manual with additional resources and suggestions for lesson planning. Crafts and Creative Media in Therapy, Fifth Edition not only provides a wide assortment of craft ideas and instructions, but also provides multiple suggestions for therapeutic uses for activities in each category. It includes ways to grade activities to best achieve therapy objectives, and examples of documentation for reimbursement. For each craft category, there is discussion on precautions for use with certain populations, contextual limitations, and safety considerations. Information is presented in several different formats such as examples, tables, illustrations, and other formats to promote student understanding. Instructors in educational settings can visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional material to be used for teaching in the classroom. Crafts and Creative Media in Therapy, Fifth Edition is the foremost resource for using creative approaches in helping clients achieve their therapeutic goals and should be used by all occupational therapists, occupational therapy assistants, and recreational therapists.
Crafts in Therapy and Rehabilitation by
Crafts in Therapy and Rehabilitation, Second Edition illustrates how therapists can efficiently and effectively apply the use of crafts for patient rehabilitation. This text examines the history and development of crafts, the process of selecting an activity, and assessing therapeutic application. Specific chapters cover traditional crafts such as woodworking, mosaics, and ceramics. Nontraditional crafts and media activities are also discussed, including cooking, computer art, drawing, and painting. Crafts are presented so that projects may be tailored to support an individual patient's needs. Cost containment and efficacy are also discussed throughout this text. In this second edition Margaret Drake, PhD, OTR/L, ATR-BC, FAOTA has included two new chapters, one on uniform terminology related to crafts, and one on found materials appropriate for home health care. Other changes include rewritten chapters on theories relative to specific crafts, crafts using a computer, and the inclusion of theoretical models in case studies. Crafts in Therapy and Rehabilitation, Second Edition uses up-to-date theories and language, includes new craft assessments and diagrams, as well as addresses changes in new practice settings. Crafts in Therapy and Rehabilitation, Second Edition is the perfect resource for using activities in treatment. Features: Chapters include historical accounts of craftwork, discussion questions, and case studies. Uses language consistent with Uniform Terminology of the American Occupational Therapy Association. Presents situations in home health care, acute inpatient care, and long-term outpatient treatment. Includes an extensive appendix listing craft vendors as well as an annotated bibliography.
Assistive Technologies : Principles & Practices 5th edition by
Master the assistive strategies you need to make confident clinical decisions and help improve the quality of life for people with disabilities. Based on the Human Activity Assistive Technology (HAAT) model developed by Al Cook, Sue Hussey and Jan Polgar, Assistive Technologies: Principles & Practice, 5th Edition, provides detailed coverage of the broad range of devices, services, and practices that comprise assistive technology. This new text offers a systematic process for ensuring the effective application of assistive technologies - and focuses on the relationship between the human user and the assisted activity within specific contexts. It features over 30 new photos and illustrations, as well as, updated chapters and case studies that reflect current technology. Human Activity Assistive Technology (HAAT) framework locates assistive technology within common, everyday contexts for more relevant application. Focus on clinical application guides application of concepts to real-world situations. Study questions and chapter summaries in each chapter help assessment of understanding and identification of areas where more study is needed. Coverage of changing AT needs throughout the lifespan emphasizes how AT fits into people's lives and contributes to their full participation in society. Principles and practice of assistive technology provide the foundation for effective reasoning. Ethical issues content provides vital information to guide AT service delivery. Explicit applications of the HAAT model in each of the chapters on specific technologies and more emphasis on the interactions among the elements make content even easier to understand. New! Thoroughly updated chapters to reflect current technology and practice. New! Expanded discussion on assistive robotics and smart technologies. New! Review of global initiatives on Assistive Technology. New! Updated art program with 30+ new photos and illustrations. New! Updated case studies to reflect changes in technology and practice since last edition.
Assistive Technology Assessment Handbook by
Assistive Technology Assessment Handbook, Second Edition, proposes an international ideal model for the assistive technology assessment process, outlining how this model can be applied in practice to re-conceptualize the phases of an assistive technology delivery system according to the biopsychosocial model of disability. The model provides reference guidelines for evidence-based practice, guiding both public and private centers that wish to compare, evaluate, and improve their ability to match a person with the correct technology model. This second edition also offers a contribution to the Global Cooperation on Assistive Technology (GATE) initiative, whose activities are strongly focused on the assistive products service delivery model. Organized into three parts, the handbook: gives readers a toolkit for performing assessments; describes the roles of the assessment team members, among them the new profession of psychotechnologist; and reviews technologies for rehabilitation and independent living, including brain-computer interfaces, exoskeletons, and technologies for music therapy. Edited by Stefano Federici and Marcia J. Scherer, this cross-cultural handbook includes contributions from leading experts across five continents, offering a framework for future practice and research.
Assistive Technology for People with Disabilities by
How would you make a phone call or send email if you couldn't hear, see, or use your hands? This book shows how assistive technology helps individuals with disabilities perform tasks that people without disabilities may take for granted. Assistive technology can be used in two ways: to help people with disabilities to do things that people without disabilities can do without technology, and to improve access to everyday technology that is not designed for people with disabilities. In both cases, the focus is on matching individuals with the tools best suited to fill their needs. A part of Greenwood's Health and Medical Issues Today series, Assistive Technology for People with Disabilities explores what technologies are available to individuals with disabilities, what they can help them to accomplish, and potential hurdles to their use that must be overcome. It explores this exciting field broadly and in depth while still keeping the "people-first" mindset that is the hallmark of assistive technology. In addition, it provides guidance and resources for individuals seeking assistive technology for themselves or for a loved one. * Explores the many types of assistive technology available for individuals with a variety of physical and cognitive disabilities, with emphasis placed on high-tech solutions * Examines key issues related to assistive technology, such as access and affordability * Illuminates through case studies how various forms of assistive technology may be applied in the real world and what challenges individuals must overcome to maximize the benefits of these tools
Handbook of Electronic Assistive Technology by
Electronic Assistive Technology (EAT) is a subset of a wider range of products and services known as Assistive Technology (AT). AT is designed to support and enable people with disabilities, either acquired or congenital, to participate in activities with greater independence and safety. With a global aging population, it has an important role to play in enabling and supporting those with disability and their carers. Handbook of Electronic Assistive Technology discusses a range of commonly available or emerging electronic assistive technologies. It provides historical background, advice when assessing for these devices and references different models of provision. It includes both medical and engineering aspects of provision. It is anticipated that the book will support students, trainees, and newly qualified Assistive Technology Practitioners to develop their understanding of the field, by considering the variables that could potentially influence the decision-making process when assessing for and providing this equipment. It also provides a reference point for those already practicing in this field and offers coverage of a broader range of technologies than clinicians may be exposed to, in their daily work This is the first reference book to focus on a comprehensive set of electronic assistive technologies and discuss their clinical application.
Physical Disability and Rehabilitation Sourcebook, First Edition by
Physical Disability and Rehabilitation, First Edition, provides an overview of the types of disability that limit an individual's physical functioning, mobility, dexterity, and stamina, either as a structural or functional impairment. The characteristics of specific physical disability are outlined and examples of the ways in which physical disability affects individuals-including physical and motor disability, and activity and participation restrictions-are explained, along with information on how to find government and local disability programs and resources.
Integrative Therapies in Rehabilitation: evidence for efficacy in therapy, prevention and wellness by
For more than 20 years, Integrative Therapies in Rehabilitation continues to be a most researched resource on complementary and alternative therapies in rehabilitation. This renowned text, now in its Fourth Edition, relates the updated scientific evidence and the clinical efficacy of integrating what have now become well known complementary and alternative therapies in rehabilitation to successfully improve patient outcomes. This text has been developed to accompany university courses in complementary and alternative therapies, as a reference manual for clinical practices, and as a resource for those interested in the science behind holistic therapies. Holistic therapies are those therapies not commonly found in allopathic medicine that are intended to stimulate a therapeutic response from both the body - neuromusculoskeletal and cardiopulmonary systems - and the mind. Integrative Therapies in Rehabilitation, Fourth Edition by Dr. Carol M. Davis is particularly designed for those health professionals who want to understand the scientific foundation and peer reviewed research supporting complementary and alternative therapies. The Fourth Edition is divided into two parts. The beginning chapters describe the latest cellular biology science and explain the theories put forth on the overall mechanisms of action of the effect of these various therapies on the soft tissue, fascia and nervous systems. The first part also chronicles the advancement of scientific research in the various therapies since the 1980's to explain, in cellular physiology terms, the outcomes observed by using a number of holistic therapies. The second part presents various therapies commonly integrated with allopathic therapies in rehabilitation - body work therapies, mind/body therapies, and energy work therapies. The text describes each therapy with a history, cellular mechanism of action, and an up-dated reference section of the evidence of efficacy for the therapy as reported in the literature, often concluding with a case example. Integrative Therapies in Rehabilitation, Fourth Edition will be the go-to resource for health professionals to understand the scientific evidence and efficacy of complementary and alternative therapies for rehabilitation and improving patient outcomes.
Documenting Occupational Therapy Practice by 
ICF Core Sets : manual for clinical practice by
Practical, standardized tools to assess and document functioning, disability, and health according to the WHO ICF in a variety of health conditions and settings The WHO¿s International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF)
is the accepted common framework for understanding and documenting functioning and disability. The ICF Core Sets selected for this book have now been developed to facilitate the
standardized use of the ICF in real-life clinical practice and thus improve quality of care. By using this collection of clear checklists, definitions, and forms, clinicians will quickly and easily be able to assess clients with a range of typical health conditions
at different stages and in a variety of health care contexts.
This manual:
¿ Introduces the concepts of functioning and disability.
¿ Describes how and why the ICF Core Sets have been developed.
¿ Shows, step-by-step, how to apply the ICF Core Sets in clinical practice.
¿ Includes all 31 ICF Core Sets plus documentation forms (more than 1,400 pages
of printable PDFs) on a CD-ROM.
This manual is inherently multi-professional and will be of benefit not only for practitioners working in various health care contexts but also for students and teachers. See page 2 for table of contents
Attention Games by 
In Control : book of games to teach children self-control skills by 
The Whole Spectrum of Social, Motor and Sensory Games by 
The Accessible Home by
"One of the best new guides I have run across to achieve this goal is The Accessible Home: Designing for All Ages & Abilities, by Deborah Pierce. The structure of this handbook is smart" - Meg White, REALTOR® Magazine "I found myself paging through The Accessible Home, foraging for ideas for my own home--having forgotten that this was a specialized book only for those with disabilities." - Lee Wallender, About.com Guide, Home Renovations "As author, Deborah Pierce understands and conveys it, "universal design" aims at creating buildings and spaces that allow use by the disabled and able-bodied alike." - The Detroit News "A terrific guide" - The Wall Street Journal Millions of baby boomers are approaching the golden years. While it's a marker worth celebrating, it can also be a reminder of uncertain times ahead. How will I manage? Can I stay in my home? The Accessible Home goes beyond ramps and grab-bars to help aging boomers, or those faced with disabilities, accomplish home accessibility on a deeper level. With a focus on closing the gap between home and homeowner, architect Deborah Pierce leads readers through the steps of universal design--from hiring the right architect to creating a pleasing space with the final details. Plus, an insider's look at 25 case studies shows that the best design is built in, not tacked on, and that "accessible" can be both beautiful and functional. The Accessible Home empowers people of all ages and challenges them to create homes that restore independence and the grace of daily living.
Moving and Handling Patients at a Glance by 
More Than Ramps : guide to improving health care quality and access for people with disabilities by
Nearly twenty percent of Americans live today with some sort of disability, and this number will grow in coming decades as the population ages. Despite this, the U.S. health care system is not set up to provide care comfortably, safely, and efficiently to persons with disabilities.Individuals with disabilities can therefore face significant barriers to obtaining high quality health care. Some barriers result from obvious impediments, such as doors without automatic openers and examining tables that are too high. Other barriers arise from faulty communication betweenpatients and health care professionals, including misconceptions among clinicians about the daily lives, preferences, values, and abilities of persons with disabilities. Yet additional barriers relate to health insurance limits on items and services essential to maximizing health and independence.This book examines the health care experiences of persons who are blind, deaf, hard of hearing, or who have difficulties using their legs, arms, or hands. The book then outlines strategies for overcoming or circumventing barriers to care, starting by just asking persons with disabilities aboutworkable solutions. Creating safe and accessible health care for persons with disabilities will likely benefit everyone at some point. This book has three parts. The first part looks at the historical roots of healthcare access for persons with disabilities in the United States. The second partdiscusses the current situation and the special challenges for those with disabilities. The third part looks forward to discuss the ways in which healthcare quality and access can improve.
Seating and Wheeled Mobility by
Seating and Wheeled Mobility: A Clinical Resource Guide presents clinical assessment considerations when working with a person with a disability who may need wheelchair seating for postural support, skin integrity, or a wheelchair base to best meet dependent or independent mobility needs. Michelle L. Lange and Jean Minkel have designed this text to support occupational and physical therapists, complex rehabilitation technology suppliers, and even third-party payers who are interested in wheelchair seating and mobility assessment and applications. Seating and Wheeled Mobility provides a wide spectrum of information from foundational information for those practitioners who are new to the field to in-depth, population-specific information for practitioners who perhaps have not worked with a particular population in the past. Information sharing, opportunities for demonstration and trial, and patience on the part of the clinician working with the person with a disability are all critical precursors to the actual process of making equipment recommendations. Seating and Wheeled Mobility is divided into sections, each addressing a different area of clinical practice. The first section is an in-depth presentation of the assessment process and the critical understanding of pressure management needed by the clinical team when working with a client population who rely on wheeled mobility. The second section focuses on postural support. Also included is a completely updated method to measure and describe the seated person and related support surfaces needed when recommending a device. The third section lays the foundation for clinical decision making around the assessment for and application of the most appropriate wheeled mobility device. The fourth section provides in-depth clinical applications for each category of mobility devices. Also addressed is proper documentation to assist in the funding of these devices. The fifth section provides population-specific information regarding the clinical application of position, pressure management, and functional mobility as it applies to the pediatric, geriatric, and bariatric populations, as well as persons with both degenerative and complex neuromuscular impairments. The last section presents additional considerations when working with persons who are aging with a disability, environmental assessments, transportation, and the application of standards. Seating and Wheeled Mobility: A Clinical Resource Guide provides the depth and breadth of the clinical practice of wheelchair seating and mobility to both those who are new to the field, as well as seasoned professionals.
Infant and Child Feeding and Swallowing: Occupational Therapy Assessment and Intervention by 
1001 Pediatric Treatment Activities by 
The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook for Kids by
Children pay close attention to their parents' moods. When parents feel upset, their kids may become anxious, and when parents wind down, children also get the chance to relax. When you feel overwhelmed and stressed, it can be hard to help your child feel balanced. The Relaxation & Stress Reduction Workbook for Kids, written by two child therapists, offers more than fifty activities you can do together as a family to help you and your child replace stressful and anxious feelings with feelings of optimism, confidence, and joy. You'll learn proven relaxation techniques, including deep breathing, guided imagery, mindfulness, and yoga, and then receive guidance for teaching them to your child. Your child will also discover how taking time to do art and creative projects can create a sense of fulfillment and calm. By completing just one ten-minute activity from this workbook each day, you'll make relaxation a family habit that will stay with both you and your child for a lifetime.
Kielhofner's Research in Occupational Therapy : methods of inquiry for enhancing practice by
Discusses the newest forms of research and the philosophic basis of research. Covers all aspects of systematic inquiry, including qualitative research and quantitative research, and summarizes how inquiry is used in evidence-based practice. Explores statistical analysis, including meta-analysis-research design and measurement tools that are part of quantitative research. Incorporates OT-specific examples throughout the text. Presents contributions from an international team of authors, recognized experts in their fields. Features a consistent presentation in each chapter with highlighted quotes, feature boxes, tables, figures, and cross-referencing between chapters to enhance comprehension and navigation through the text. Includes a comprehensive glossary at the end of the book. Offers current sources for further study (journals, books, associations and Internet resources) in the appendix.
Starting Sensory Therapy by
Starting Sensory Integration Therapy offers 100+ activities and games for children with Sensory Processing Disorders (SPDs). Parent of a son with SPD, author Bonnie Arnwine chose activities that require minimal time, money, and clean-up. Most "ingredients" are already on hand: empty yogurt cups, string, soap, Kool-aid, flour, paper plates, etc. If the kids tire of an activity, an "Extend It!" section shows how to use the same ingredients in new and different ways. Kids have fun while activities exercise the seven sensory "muscles": the visual, auditory, tactile, olfactory, oral, vestibular, and proprioceptive senses. Activities can be enjoyed with others, so children also benefit from interacting socially with their peers, parents, and teachers.
Uptight and Off Center: How Sensory Processing Disorder Throws Adults Off Balance and How to Create Stability by
Do you feel uptight and also off center - spacey, disorganized, confused, hyperactive, clumsy, impulsive, compulsive, distracted, or confusing left from right? Do you also experience anxiety, depression, OCD or even depersonalization? If so, you may have sensory processing disorder (SPD), a common, though relatively unknown condition in which sensory messages get scrambled in the brain and you cannot make accurate sense of or respond appropriately to your world. "Uptight and Off Center" will help you discover the symptoms, causes and many treatments for SPD. It will teach you how to implement a sensory diet for your unique nervous system, along with mind-body interventions to get past a "nothing will work" attitude that, consciously or unconsciously keeps you caught in SPD's lair. By implementing sensori-motor activities and mind-body interventions, you will rewire your brain to enable you to take better control over your life. Over time, this will translate into being more balanced, upbeat, productive, energetic and loving in your life.
A writer's toolkit for occupational therapy and health care professionals : an insider's guide to writing, communicating, and getting published by 
Journal article writing and publication : your guide to mastering clinical health care reporting standards by
The ability to demonstrate that a specific health care profession provides valuable and effective services that meet society's health needs is a major objective for all health care academicians and researchers. Such skills are critical to ensure service reimbursement from an increasingly small pool of health care dollars. Demonstrating clinical effectiveness depends on the reporting of written research results through journal publication so that the health care community and larger society will be able to access and read evidence supporting health care services. Today, several clinical reporting standard guidelines have been created by researchers to enhance the ability of readers to evaluate the quality and value of studies. Journal Article Writing and Publication is the first text to compile those clinical research reporting standards in one source and helps educators and novice researchers to better understand the skills needed for journal publication. Health care researchers must begin using these reporting standards in order to write manuscripts that are both correctly formatted and transparently convey all critical study strengths and limitations. Educators must teach these reporting standards to students who must evaluate research reports as consumers and possible future contributors to the literature through their own writing. Journal Article Writing and Publication by Dr. Sharon A. Gutman (a former editor of the American Journal of Occupational Therapy) provides specific guidelines, based on the most commonly accepted reporting standards, for the preparation and writing of general research studies, intervention effectiveness studies, instrument development and testing studies, and case reports. A section is devoted to helping authors understand the rules governing the reporting of statistical data in text and tables. Separate sections help authors understand the manuscript preparation and submission process, the revision process, and the etiquette guiding communication with editors and reviewers. Guidelines for the preparation of scholarly discussion papers and editorials are also provided. Journal Article Writing and Publication also features a section that aims to help doctoral students and newly minted faculty turn academic work and dissertations into publishable journal articles. Suggestions are provided to help clinicians turn clinical data into research databases that could serve as the foundation for pilot studies. Finally, information is provided to help authors better understand the ethical considerations of publication including plagiarism, dual submissions, inappropriate authorship, copyright, and conflict of interest.
Using Narrative Writing to Enhance Healing by
The fields of writing as healing and health coaching have expanded to aid in the physical and emotional healing of patients. Using writing as a healing method allows patients to create new perspectives of their healing processes and professionals to propose new methods of healing that promote and maintain a positive outlook. Using Narrative Writing to Enhance Healing is an essential scholarly publication that approaches healing through the fields of education and medicine. Featuring a wide range of topics such as collaborative narratives, patient education, and health coaching, this book is ideal for writing instructors, physical therapists, teachers, therapists, psychologists, mental health professionals, medical professionals, counselors, religious leaders, mentors, administrators, academicians, and researchers.
Occupational Therapy related books are found in the WB 555 and WE area.
Other Call Numbers helpful for OT:
TH 48.16.15 -- Houses/Dwellings, Barrier-Free design
WB 320 Rehabilitation for the Disabled
WE -- Musculoskeletal System (includes posture and kinesiology)
WL -- Brain eschemia. Stroke.
WM -- Psychiatry
WS 350 -- Child Psychiatry
WT -- Geriatrics
Circulating books check out for 3 wks and can be renewed online.