Check the eCampus link to verify which books are used in your course.
If the library has an unlimited access ebook there will be a statement indicating and a link.
Introduction to Occupational Therapy by
Prepare for success in OT practice with a complete overview of the profession! Introduction to Occupational Therapy, 5th Edition helps you master the roles and responsibilities of the OT practitioner. Content promotes evidence-based OT practice, from client evaluation to planning interventions and goals to reaching optimal outcomes. You'll also learn valuable skills in clinical reasoning and in providing occupational therapy across the client's entire lifespan. Written by experienced educator and author Jane Clifford O'Brien, this comprehensive resource discusses today's OT treatment settings and adds a new chapter on cultural competence. Complete coverage of OT practice prepares you for care in areas such as adult, pediatric, geriatric, and mental health. A broad perspective fits the needs of both Occupational Therapy and Occupational Therapy Assistant students. Case studies and activities in each chapter help you apply concepts and develop problem-solving skills. Emphasis on evidence-based practice helps you learn to think logically and use research literature to formulate diagnoses and treatment plans. The OT Practice Framework provides a sound basis for decision making, defining occupational therapy areas of concern and the OT process. Chapter objectives, key terms, chapter summaries, and review questions highlight important content in each chapter. Student resources on the Evolve companion website include review questions with answers along with crossword puzzles to reinforce what you've learned in the book. NEW content on OT theory and practice includes the latest updates to the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework and OT Code of Ethics. New coverage of the role of certified Occupational Therapy Assistants shows where OTAs are employed, what licensure requirements they must meet, and how they fit into the scope of OT practice. NEW chapter on cultural competence provides the tools you need to work with culturally diverse clients in today's healthcare environment, and includes case studies with examples of cultural competence and its impact on the practice of OT. NEW Centennial Vision commentary provides a 'big picture' view of today's occupational therapy, and shows how OT is becoming a powerful, widely recognized, science-driven, and evidence-based profession as it reaches the age of 100.
Applied Theories in Occupational Therapy by
Applied Theories in Occupational Therapy: A Practical Approach, Second Edition provides a system-based, comprehensive overview of the theories, models, and frames of reference that influence occupational therapy around the world. Esteemed authors Marilyn B. Cole and Roseanna Tufano have updated their foundational text with an evidence-based focus derived from their experiences of more than 30 years teaching theoretical content to students. Applied Theories in Occupational Therapy: A Practical Approach, Second Edition offers practical templates to help readers learn the key constructs of each theory and assimilate knowledge based on Mosey's organizational structure. Each theory-based chapter is designed for ease in gathering content knowledge and comparing theories in a distinctive manner. The book includes: Summaries of the current trends found in practice, along with external influential models of health and wellness impacting populations of concern Exploration of some of the most common occupation-based models around the world. Each model's holistic conceptual nature is described, including theoretical assumptions and practice guidelines for evaluation and intervention Reviews of common frames of reference found in evidence-based practice, which address the secondary and tertiary needs of common populations In this Edition, learning activities and case-based analyses strengthen the application of theory into current practice contexts. Practical guidelines assist the reader in formulating an evaluation process and determining the relevant intervention strategies that promote occupational participation, engagement, and functioning across the lifespan and the continuum of health. Instructors in educational settings can visitwww.efacultylounge.com for additional education material to be used for teaching in the classroom.
Brunnstrom's Clinical Kinesiology by
Links theoretical concepts to their practical applications with Practice Points boxes. Examines the properties of bone, cartilage, ligaments, and fascia. Emphasizes the kinesiologic issue best illustrated for each region of the body. Discusses joints, ligaments, end-feels, accessory joint motion, the innervation and anatomical actions of muscles, and applications of mechanical and physiological principles.
Musculoskeletal Assessment : joint motion and muscle testing, 3rd ed by
Completely revised and updated, the Third Edition offers a student-friendly approach to muscle assessment, presenting the principles and methodology of assessing both joint range of motion (ROM)/goniometry and manual muscle strength for the head, neck, trunk, and extremities. Each chapter is devoted to a separate anatomical region and provides knowledge of pertinent surface anatomy and deep anatomy. Excellent photography and illustrations enhance comprehension of techniques and serve as a self-learning tool.
Assistive Technologies : Principles & Practices 5th edition by
Master the assistive strategies you need to make confident clinical decisions and help improve the quality of life for people with disabilities. Based on the Human Activity Assistive Technology (HAAT) model developed by Al Cook, Sue Hussey and Jan Polgar, Assistive Technologies: Principles & Practice, 5th Edition, provides detailed coverage of the broad range of devices, services, and practices that comprise assistive technology. This new text offers a systematic process for ensuring the effective application of assistive technologies - and focuses on the relationship between the human user and the assisted activity within specific contexts. It features over 30 new photos and illustrations, as well as, updated chapters and case studies that reflect current technology. Human Activity Assistive Technology (HAAT) framework locates assistive technology within common, everyday contexts for more relevant application. Focus on clinical application guides application of concepts to real-world situations. Study questions and chapter summaries in each chapter help assessment of understanding and identification of areas where more study is needed. Coverage of changing AT needs throughout the lifespan emphasizes how AT fits into people's lives and contributes to their full participation in society. Principles and practice of assistive technology provide the foundation for effective reasoning. Ethical issues content provides vital information to guide AT service delivery. Explicit applications of the HAAT model in each of the chapters on specific technologies and more emphasis on the interactions among the elements make content even easier to understand. New! Thoroughly updated chapters to reflect current technology and practice. New! Expanded discussion on assistive robotics and smart technologies. New! Review of global initiatives on Assistive Technology. New! Updated art program with 30+ new photos and illustrations. New! Updated case studies to reflect changes in technology and practice since last edition.
Assistive Technologies : Principles & Practices 4th Edition by 
Conditions in Occupational Therapy 5th edition by
Now in its 5th Edition, Conditions in Occupational Therapy: Effect on Occupational Performance is now fully aligned with the DSM-5 and Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, 3rd edition, reflects the most current research and brings in 5 new chapters covering conditions your students will see in practice. This with new features and tools further help enhance this essential book. Each chapter of the 5th Edition follows a consistent format--an opening case, followed by definition and descriptions, incidence and prevalence, signs and symptoms, course and prognosis, medical/surgical management, impact on occupational performance, and finally, two case illustrations. This format helps students to prepare for what they will see in practice. With new instructor resources and case studies that connect up-to-date content to practice, this is an essential resource for both occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistant students.
Case-Smith's Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents by
The number one book in pediatric OT is back! Focusing on children from infancy to adolescence, Case-Smith's Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents, 8th Edition provides comprehensive, full-color coverage of pediatric conditions and treatment techniques in all settings. Its emphasis on application of evidence-based practice includes: eight new chapters, a focus on clinical reasoning, updated references, research notes, and explanations of the evidentiary basis for specific interventions. Coverage of new research and theories, new techniques, and current trends, with additional case studies, keeps you in-step with the latest advances in the field. Developmental milestone tables serve as a quick reference throughout the book! Full-color, contemporary design throughout text includes high-quality photos and illustrations. Case-based video clips on the Evolve website demonstrate important concepts and rehabilitation techniques. Research Notes boxes and evidence-based summary tables help you learn to interpret evidence and strengthen clinical decision-making skills. Coverage of OT for children from infancy through adolescence includes the latest research, techniques and trends. Case studies help you apply concepts to actual situations you may encounter in practice. Learning objectives indicate what you will be learning in each chapter and serve as checkpoints when studying for examinations. A glossary makes it easy for you to look up key terms. NEW! Eight completely new chapters cover Theory and Practice Models for Occupational Therapy With Children, Development of Occupations and Skills From Infancy Through Adolescence, Therapeutic Use of Self, Observational Assessment and Activity Analysis, Evaluation Interpretation, and Goal Writing, Documenting Outcomes, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, and Vision Impairment. NEW! A focus on theory and principles Practice Models promote clinical reasoning. NEW! Emphasis on application of theory and frames of reference in practice appear throughout chapters in book. NEW! Developmental milestone tables serve as quick reference guides. NEW! Online materials included to help facilitate your understanding of what's covered in the text. NEW! Textbook is organized into six sections to fully describe the occupational therapy process and follow OTPF.
Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction by
Succeed in the course and master the concepts and skills you need to be an effective, reflective practitioner with Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction, 7th Edition . The authors introduce the highly acclaimed, easy-to-understand Occupation Functional Model (OFM) in the first section, setting the stage for subsequent discussions that guide you through the assessment and treatment of adult patients with physical dysfunction from initial evaluation to treatment to follow-up. Featuring engaging and practical coverage, the Seventh Edition includes the latest research in the field, new activity analysis case examples, new photos, new online videos, and a streamlined organization that includes 45 chapters in the print textbook with three additional chapters posted online. Develop a theoretical foundation to guide your professional decisions through the OFM framework used consistently throughout the book. Access the best evidence for the effectiveness of the interventions discussed in the text with Evidence tables that summarize research studies. Prepare for professional practice with Assessment tables that highlight the psychometric properties and the strengths and weaknesses of individual assessment methods. Understand how chapter topics inform occupational therapy practice with Case Example s that describe both the occupational therapy process and the clinical reasoning behind the interventions. Broaden your understanding of occupational therapy practice with Procedures from Practice, research notes, safety notes, clinical reasoning examples, and review questions. Maximize your study time with learning objectives, clinical reasoning questions, and a comprehensive glossary. Extend your learning online with a wide range of resources, including compelling videos that bring key concepts to life, answers to the book's Clinical Reasoning questions, and Learning Objectives, as well as access to the fully searchable eBook online.
Pedretti's Occupational Therapy by
Pedretti''s Occupational Therapy: Practice Skills for Physical Dysfunction, 8th Edition prepares you for occupational therapy practice with adults who have physical disabilities. This cornerstone text provides a foundation for the development of clinical reasoning skills in a comprehensive, case-based learning approach to physical dysfunction. New full color photos and helpful pedagogy, including threaded case studies, OT Practice Notes, ethical considerations, and end-of-chapter review questions, reinforce learning, enhance retention, and prompt you to apply principles in a clinical setting. UNIQUE! Threaded case studies, woven throughout each chapter, help you apply concepts to real-life clinical practice. UNIQUE! Ethical Considerations boxes highlight the key ethical concerns of treatment options so you can practice ethically. UNIQUE! OT Practice Notes convey important considerations for professional practice. Focuses on the occupational therapist''s role in health and wellness, which the OTA'has identified as a key practice area in the 21st century. Information on prevention, rather than simply intervention or treatment, shows how OTs can take a proactive role in patient care. Evidence-based content included throughout, especially in regards to evaluation and intervention. Content on occupational therapy''s commitment to considering cultural and ethnic diversity in every chapter. Key terms, chapter outlines, chapter objectives lay out the information you can expect to learn from each chapter. NEW! Coverage of the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework (OTPF-3) increases your understanding of the OTPF-3 and its relationship to the practice of occupational therapy with adults who have physical disabilities. NEW! All new section on the therapeutic use of self, which the OTPF lists as the single most important line of intervention occupational therapists can provide. NEW! Chapter on hospice and palliative care presents the evidence-base for hospice and palliative care occupational therapy; describes the role of the occupational therapist with this population within the parameters of the third edition of the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework (OTPF-3); and recommends clinician self-care strategies to support ongoing quality care. UPDATED! Completely revised Spinal Cord Injury chapter addresses restoration of available musculature; self-care; independent living skills; short- and long-term equipment needs; environmental accessibility; and educational, work, and leisure activities. It looks at how the occupational therapist offers emotional support and intervention during every phase of the rehabilitation program. UPDATED! Completely revised chapter on low back pain discusses topics that are critical for the occupational therapist including: anatomy; client evaluation; interventions areas; client-centered occupational therapy analysis; and intervention strategies for frequently impacted occupations. UPDATED! Revised Special Needs of the Older Adult chapter now utilizes a top-down approach, starting with wellness and productive aging, then moving to occupation and participation in meaningful activity and finally, highlighting body functions and structures which have the potential to physiologically decline as a person ages. NEW and EXPANDED! Additional section in the Orthotics chapter looks at the increasing array of orthotic devices available in today''s marketplace, such as robot-assisted therapy, to support the weak upper extremity. UPDATED! Revised chapters on joint range of motion and evaluation of muscle strength include new full color photos to better illustrate how to perform these key procedures. EXPANDED! New information in the Burns and Burn Rehabilitation chapter, including expanded discussions on keloid scars, silver infused dressings, biosynthetic products, the reconstructive phase of rehabilitation, and patient education. UPDATED and EXPANDED! Significantly updated chapter on amputations and prosthetics includes the addition of a new threaded case study on "Daniel", a 19-year-old combat engineer in the United States Army who suffered the traumatic amputation of his non-dominant left upper extremity below the elbow.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
The Library subscribes to the tool Academic Writer. This tool teaches the APA rules and provides a way to write your paper in APA. You can link to this tool under the Databases link on the library home page.
Physical Agent Modalities : theory and application for the occupational therapist by
The successful Physical Agent Modalities: Theory and Application for the Occupational Therapist has been updated and revised into a comprehensive Second Edition that logically provides a foundation for understanding the bio-physiological effects of physical agents and their impact on an individual's occupational performance and functioning. Recognized as an expert in physical agent modalities, Dr. Alfred Bracciano clearly and effectively explains difficult concepts in an easy-to-understand format and presents information that can be readily applied in the clinical setting. Physical Agent Modalities, Second Edition provides the occupational therapist and student with a user-friendly and organized reference on the application of physical agent modalities, commonly used by occupational therapists, as well as emerging technologies and interventions such as lasers and electromyographic biofeedback. This Second Edition outlines the application procedures for each modality, indications for their use, and the precautions and contraindications of the modality. New graphics and pictures enhance the reader's understanding of the physical agents, while case studies facilitate clinical reasoning and provide a practical resource to safely and effectively understand and use physical agents. New to the Second Edition: * A chapter outlining a theoretical framework for physical agent modalities used by occupational therapists based on the AOTA Occupational Therapy Practice Framework * Extensive coverage of the changes in state regulatory issues and guidelines impacting the use of physical agents by occupational therapists * A discussion on the impact of the revised AOTA PAM Position Paper, NBCOT Practice Analysis, and the ACOTE requirements on the education and training of occupational therapists in physical agent modalities * A chapter reviewing laser and light therapy, clinical applications, precautions, and indications for use Each Chapter Contains: * Objectives * Glossary of Key Terms * Case Studies * References With a user-friendly format, updated chapters, and volumes of new information, Physical Agent Modalities: Theory and Application for the Occupational Therapist, Second Edition provides clinicians, educators, and students with a common language to facilitate the incorporation of physical agents into clinical practice grounded in evidence-based practice.
Orthotic Intervention for the Hand and Upper Extremity by
Excel in your career as an occupation therapist with the expert information and easy-to-understand presentation in Orthotic Intervention for the Hand and Upper Extremity: Splinting Principles and Process, 2nd Edition. This proven book provides orthosis patterns for most upper extremity diagnoses and provides the information you need to make an informed decision about whether the best solution for a patient is to fabricate a thermoplastic or neoprene splint, or to cast, tape, or choose an over-the-counter solution. This detailed and easy-to-use reference demonstrates splint fabrication techniques and related interventions, highlights anatomical and biomechanical principles, discusses associated indications and precautions, details common orthotic interventions, and provides an overview of popular taping methods. Master key concepts and skills with pattern descriptions and photographs for each intervention, along with "Clinical Pearls," and "Pattern Pearls" that provide fabrication and orthosis modification tips, as well as insight for improving cost containment and maximizing time efficiency. Apply concepts to the clinical experience with case studies that stimulate clinical reasoning and help you synthesize text information. Find the information you need fast with lists of splints by name and by diagnosis in the index. See how research informs practice with evidence-based examples. Prepare for practice with consistent use of ASHT orthotics nomenclature throughout the book.